Wei, you got an iPhone?
Btw, is celcom and digi works fine in iPhone?
Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones
Sep 11 2007, 07:51 PM
4,967 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuching,Sarawak Status: Same Same |
Wei, you got an iPhone?
Btw, is celcom and digi works fine in iPhone? |
Sep 11 2007, 08:00 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Got meself an Iphone 2 days back, shipped to my LA home. Currently stuck in "phoneless" mode, all other functions accessible. Looking for solutions to bail out of AT&T deal.
Lexta, UGPM. Im pretty apprehensive when it comes to cracking open the Iphone, but all other resellers listed at IphoneSimFree have exhausted their licenses. Are there other solutions other than doing it via hardware tinkering? I'll be back in Malaysia in 4 days and will be looking to anyone with a solution. Oh BTW, got it for for USD399. |
Sep 11 2007, 08:04 PM
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
abang, no, yet to get it. but have 3 frens using it. All tested with digi, celcom & maxis.
Everything is fine except for maxis. you can check mymug forum if you want the details. stringfellow, can help me grab one? lol... will do the unlocking if I have the phone, don't mind doing it together. |
Sep 11 2007, 08:07 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
As for the unlocking, what's your preferred method, Wei?
Get you one? That's a lotta dough, you trust me? Gotta go, i got errands to run around the house. HomeDepot is expecting me. |
Sep 11 2007, 08:58 PM
hmmm... if you have the moolah to burn, I would prefer the TurboSIM, as it is not that difficult to do as the Silvercard and it does not void your warranty or do any permenant hardware mod to the phone. And the best thing it should work even after the firmware update.
Until I test the iphonesimefree, TurboSIM should be the best bet at the moment. |
Sep 11 2007, 09:31 PM
1,149 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Even if it's hacked, some other fucntions wont be useable, am i right?
Sep 11 2007, 09:40 PM
Only the visual voice mail (exclusive AT&T feature) & call in for Maxis not working.
The rest is working just fine. This is the last time I'm going to repeat. |
Sep 11 2007, 10:35 PM
1,149 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
LOL. Ok, noted.
Sep 12 2007, 12:54 AM
4,249 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
looks like v going to see..more n more iphones on the street of Malaysia before the year ends......
Sep 12 2007, 08:37 AM
427 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Sep 12 2007, 08:58 AM
490 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
can anyone confirm if maxis(call in) working with this unlock?
Sep 12 2007, 11:21 AM
1,161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The wiki boys released their FREE unlocking software. tested it out and the software works with local operators where i am. haven't tested with malaysian telco yet, so no comments on that part.
i hardwired my other iphone earlier which also works. roamed in singapore and works on all 3 operators. however, the wiki software is a much better solution since don't have to pry open the iphone and risk soldering. |
Sep 12 2007, 11:25 AM
i bet it was still not working with maxis with this software unlock also as the steps taken was actually same on the baseband erase.
seems like maxis gonna loose big customer who is using iphone hahaha |
Sep 12 2007, 11:34 AM
1,161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Since I'm posting here, might as well share some of my gripes re. iPhone.
The SMS interface is nice, with an instant messanger chat-like interface. However, you cannot send SMS to multiple receipients in a single message i.e. if I want to send the same SMS to say 3 parties, I gotta type the same SMS 3x and send it to 3 persons individually!! Also, cannot forward SMS received. The iPhone will NOT recognise any of the contacts stored on your existing SIM card. So you need to copy it all over to your iPhone from scratch. Caller ID only works if your Contacts does not include the country code pre-fix (i.e. if my Contact list includes say +6012 for Mr. A, when Mr. A calls, my iPhone won't caller ID it, but just shows the number. When I remove +6012 from his Contacts info, then Mr. A shows up on caller ID when he calls me). Edit - Battery drains pretty fast. Won't last a single day on medium/heavy usage of just purely sms/phone calls. I can't imagine how fast if I even use it for ipod features. Also, battery heats up my face on long-time calls. This post has been edited by terranova: Sep 12 2007, 11:39 AM |
Sep 12 2007, 11:58 AM
some further note to that.
there's no disk mode if you're thinking to use the iphone 4GB/8GB as your thumbdrive. there is an app to enable it, but it is still not there yet, you have to install on each computer you want to use the iphone as disk. browsing on safari is fine, but it doesn't handle downloading of files. let's say your fren email you a link of a .mp4 and you would like to download and watch it later on your iphone. you can't. you can view but you can't save the file. also, attachmeant in email can be viewed, but not save into other location as local file. Same as above. you wont get call-in when you're using EDGE browsing unless you have the Apple Bluetooth headset. |
Sep 12 2007, 12:15 PM
374 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(wei @ Sep 12 2007, 11:58 AM) some further note to that. Wei and Terranova,there's no disk mode if you're thinking to use the iphone 4GB/8GB as your thumbdrive. there is an app to enable it, but it is still not there yet, you have to install on each computer you want to use the iphone as disk. browsing on safari is fine, but it doesn't handle downloading of files. let's say your fren email you a link of a .mp4 and you would like to download and watch it later on your iphone. you can't. you can view but you can't save the file. also, attachmeant in email can be viewed, but not save into other location as local file. Same as above. you wont get call-in when you're using EDGE browsing unless you have the Apple Bluetooth headset. Just a simple question Do you think the iphone is worth all the hoo haa? I was really excited about it. I Like pda's in general but more particularly on qwerty based (using 838pro now) I might consider Iphone when it is release but the poor battery life and it really long list of restrictions kinda make me think again. Do you think there will be an software update to rectify those minor restrictions or even on battery efficiency? Strange, MAC OS have always been an excellent power saver... |
Sep 12 2007, 12:45 PM
battery is fine so far as i was told. it's not "short". just average. powering such huge screen need a lot of power. so charging every the other day seems ok for me.
for sure once you get it for the first few weeks, it's very hard to let it go. therefor you need more recharging... lol. I always follow this moto when dealing with gadgets: Buy only if you need it, not you want it. My 3 years old phone is now giving me problem, so i think the iphone is a good replacement Hey iPhone is my 3rd phone This post has been edited by wei: Sep 12 2007, 12:46 PM |
Sep 12 2007, 12:58 PM
4,574 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ = Pudu Jail? :P |
i wan ipod touch
Sep 12 2007, 01:00 PM
3,657 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hey guys...I'm new to Iphone....thinking what's the best in Malaysia....already available or not?
Sep 12 2007, 01:01 PM
Just to add on if youre using IPOD function only without the screen on
The battery wont decrease at all after 3-4 hour usage. Im using my ipod function for 7 hours during my working hours i still have 70-80 percent of my battery. So the main thing that decrease the power fast is the screen |
| Change to: | 0.0181sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:05 PM |