84 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

FoX^
post Jun 9 2007, 12:00 AM

197 posts

methinks, iphone will update before coming malaysia. But, oh well im gettin one with ATT anyway
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 9 2007, 03:48 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2007, 03:42 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(FoX^ @ Jun 8 2007, 08:20 PM)
methinks there aren't gonna be a 3G version. Probably just jump from EDGE to WiMax.

And, is there even a lubang for you to put ur sim carD? Malaysian users don't get your hopes up yet, since its exclusive to AT&T in the US, they might have a built in SIM or something.

For those who thinks there are already existing products that trumps this, we'll have to wait and see how smooth the OS flows. Personally i am more interested in the web browsing WIFI capability.
You're wrong. I read from a magazine called Mac Home, that Apple will be releasing a new iPhone with 3G for Europe and Asia. As we're waiting longer than current US citizens who are waiting till end of the month.

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jun 9 2007, 03:48 AM)
u getting 1 frm ATT??
hmm..meaning u needs to unlock??
but i tot we had unlocking issues here..forumers say here maybe can't unlock...

2008..hmm..i wonders hw hw much..
thanks mike btw for the enlightenment..hehehe
No problem dude.
FoX^
post Jun 9 2007, 05:02 PM

197 posts

Hmm just read that it does indeed have a sim tray.

Anyway, theres a huge 3G gg-fied recently in US. A lot of 3G stuff are affected by it, and if President Bush choose to embargo one company's 3G technology the whole 3G market in the US could be crippled. iPhone is not affected tho, they can still implement the 3G later as the company they are working with holds the rightful patent.

If most of the market is crippled, i doubt the carriers will work on 3G coverage in the near future. That's why i think iPhone will skip the 3G. But there may be 3G versions for export, although i dont think its been in apple's history to have such significant spec difference for different regions.
allvin
post Jun 9 2007, 05:19 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(FoX^ @ Jun 9 2007, 06:02 PM)
Hmm just read that it does indeed have a sim tray.

Anyway, theres a huge 3G gg-fied recently in US. A lot of 3G stuff are affected by it, and if President Bush choose to embargo one company's 3G technology the whole 3G market in the US could be crippled. iPhone is not affected tho, they can still implement the 3G later as the company they are working with holds the rightful patent.

If most of the market is crippled, i doubt the carriers will work on 3G coverage in the near future. That's why i think iPhone will skip the 3G. But there may be 3G versions for export, although i dont think its been in apple's history to have such significant spec difference for different regions.
It should have sim tray. How on earth if it doesn't has one? then, how to make call? blink.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 9 2007, 06:34 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm..sure r need sim tray..
u can't open up da back as its battery is embedded..

heheh
groucho
post Jun 10 2007, 05:15 PM

120 posts

this is from engadget, and should clear up some speculation and rumors that have been flying around.......

lots of comments have been made in this thread with no proof, here's whay we do know smile.gif from a leaked training manual.

Here's some dirt that's sure to heat up the iPhone debates over the next 20 days. According to alleged scans from the "iPhone Sales Training Workbook," we're seeing a vast array of features that we were already fully aware of, but here's the skinny on what you may have not known until now:

* No one-touch dialing (two touches at a minimum)
* Vibrate mode is included
* Voice dialing is not mentioned as a feature, though it's not specifically excluded either
* Users can have a voice conversation whilst browsing the web "when WiFi access is available"
* iPhone users will not be able to conduct IM conversations with instant messaging users
* Emailing videos and pictures are a go, MMS is not supported
* MEdia Mail won't be used for ringtone and answertone downloads
* MEdia Net, MobiTV, and Cellular Video are (unsurprisingly) not available for the iPhone
* iTunes will sync iPhone with the Address Book on Macs or Outlook/Outlook Expess on PCs
* No GPS or TeleNav support, sorry Google hopefuls

Of note, it seems that AT&T and / or Apple has conjured up a few canned, customer responses that point out the obvious shortcomings of Apple's handset, so do click on to see what you're up against.

Update: It's worth pointing out that only 15 of at least 33 pages have been published so far.

Alright, so we're sure just about everyone has a bone to pick with Apple's first stab at a mobile phone, but it seems like many of these quibbles have already been recognized and accounted for. Namely, it appears that the Apple is already aware that some potential buyers will be clamoring for more than 8GB of onboard storage, yet the recommended "solution" is just a runaround about keeping your excess data stored in iTunes until you absolutely need it (gee, thanks). Furthermore, a blurb concerning the on-screen keyboard for customers used to "real buttons" lends even more legitimacy to the worries that have cropped up already around this questionable "feature." Lastly, don't think the selling agents will act surprised when you question the lack of integrated GPS. They are pre-programmed with a response of "thanks for the feedback, we'll let Apple know of your interest" which insinuates that someone at Cupertino is fully aware of how beneficial this would be (in a second generation?).

Interestingly, Cindynjgirl79 (the source of these leaks) claims to have acquired this information while not being employed by either AT&T or Apple, but we can't help but question the outrightness of her actions which includes posting a picture of herself holding the manual and stamping her email address on every scanned page. Of course, it would certainly be quite the feat if every single scan here was faked, but you can never ignore that minute possibility. So, now that you're in the know, feel free to sound off in comments.

Added on June 10, 2007, 8:56 pmuser posted image

This post has been edited by groucho: Jun 10 2007, 08:56 PM
Rithrade
post Jun 11 2007, 10:24 AM

360 posts

Oh my god! Thanks groucho!

But no GPS doesn't really effect M'sia in particular. I mean, what are we going to use GPS for? I don't see the point in it.

I'm surprised MMS is not supported though. Since it's mostly pictures, gifs and rich text. Strange.

Hmm already knew about the talking while surfing and and vib mode....

Anyways, lets see what US ppl have to say about it. ONly 18 more days to US launch.
groucho
post Jun 11 2007, 03:59 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 11 2007, 10:24 AM)
Oh my god! Thanks groucho!

But no GPS doesn't really effect M'sia in particular. I mean, what are we going to use GPS for? I don't see the point in it.

blush.gif smile.gif

i agree with the GPS, there are no maps at the moment that are any good!

FoX^
post Jun 11 2007, 05:26 PM

197 posts

Hmm, for the price it's plenty good already. And i think the iphone wont update as often as other phone/smartphones.
tishaban
post Jun 11 2007, 09:36 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(groucho @ Jun 11 2007, 03:59 PM)
blush.gif  smile.gif

i agree with the GPS, there are no maps at the moment that are any good!
Malsingmaps has a very good Malaysian map, the road details are every bit as good as the commercial Garmin maps I've used in the US & Europe. Have you even used a GPS in Malaysia?

Besides, GPS is not just for mapping. Geocaching, while small is a popular past time in Europe and US. I have a friend who's promoting Malaysia as a travel destination to these people and all the better for him if he had the iPhone as another gadget biggrin.gif

Seriously though I'm still wondering where they put the SIM card. Most phones I know have it under the battery, and given that the iPhone doesn't have a user swappable battery, plus Apple's penchant for not putting slots where they're not needed, I wonder where the SIM slot/tray is and whether it's even user accessible?

kwekeugene
post Jun 11 2007, 09:48 PM

1,479 posts

tishaban,

No worries. Wait a few more hours and the details will be all out...
groucho
post Jun 11 2007, 09:57 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 11 2007, 09:36 PM)
Malsingmaps has a very good Malaysian map, the road details are every bit as good as the commercial Garmin maps I've used in the US & Europe. Have you even used a GPS in Malaysia?

I wonder where the SIM slot/tray is and whether it's even user accessible?
evening,

yes i have used a GPS here but dont find it overly useful. Apple can't use the malsing maps, they're not commercial. the ones sold with those holux stand alone units are not that good, so if they used those the GPS would have no coverage and b pretty bad.

also,
GPS is not really a move sensible either. think about it. if they want to release a worldwide standard unifying, everywhere the same product. GPS is too inconsistent to fit into the package. GPS would complicate things immensely as they would have to make a different build of software for like every country. not to mention drain even more battery life. and another thing, most countries don't even have their own GPS maps.

think about the iPod, popularity because of simplicity and style! the already fancy iPhone does not need another feature to complicate things. it looks good as it is, and the package fits well together. it just doesn't make sense, it's not the way apple do things.

apple are making a simple product which should be the same everywhere so it's cheaper and easier to produce and simple to use/buy/sell, its not as simple as just "adding GPS" even if there are good maps.

This post has been edited by groucho: Jun 11 2007, 09:59 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 12 2007, 01:20 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

GPS oso no need maps 1 mer..

gps uses satelites and receieves..u dun need to dl any maps/ maps software or anything like dat..

u b surprise r..many many ppl use gps as part of their daily routines nowadays..
civic98
post Jun 12 2007, 01:37 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jun 12 2007, 01:20 AM)
GPS oso no need maps 1 mer..

gps uses satelites and receieves..u dun need to dl any maps/ maps software or anything like dat..

u b surprise r..many many ppl use gps as part of their daily routines nowadays..
Friend, GPS gives you coordinates, you won't know where you are if you don't have a map to refer to, you need maps, constantly updated maps. You will need hardware + software + map.

I've been using GPS on my pda for some time now, with Malsingmaps.

But in the end, GPS works nicely on a pda or pdaphone, but not a mobile phone. Take Nokia N95 for example, it has built in GPS, but it's terribly slow. If you have used GPS for navigation driving before, you will realize that updating speed is very important.

This post has been edited by civic98: Jun 12 2007, 01:42 AM
Rithrade
post Jun 12 2007, 09:55 AM

360 posts

Which brings me back to the point, I think it's going to be an underused feature, ESP in M'sia.

I've mates coming over here and complaining that it's so slow. But I've never been over Amelika to find out how fast their service is.

Sigh, still got 2 digits of days left. Faster la.
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 12 2007, 10:15 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

oooooooo...ic ic..

haihz..sometimes damn confusing r...

hmm..so wats v da built in GPS??
do u still softaware whcih hv maps??
tishaban
post Jun 12 2007, 10:59 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(groucho @ Jun 11 2007, 09:57 PM)
evening,

yes i have used a GPS here but dont find it overly useful. Apple can't use the malsing maps, they're not commercial. the ones sold with those holux stand alone units are not that good, so if they used those the GPS would have no coverage and b pretty bad.

[...]

apple are making a simple product which should be the same everywhere so it's cheaper and easier to produce and simple to use/buy/sell, its not as simple as just "adding GPS" even if there are good maps.
I wasn't exactly arguing that a GPS should be built into the iPhone, more like the use of a GPS in the iPhone shouldn't be discounted altogether. I agree with you that Apple will never put a GPS into any iPhone simply because the want the simplicity. However don't discount the features the iPhone already has. The 3.5" screen of the iPhone is reasonably large enough for a GPS screen (my Nuvi is 3.5" for example) and the automatic portrait/landscape sensor will be very useful on a GPS.

The mashups of Google Maps & GeoIP locations is just an indicator of what's possible today, imagine what can be done with more accurate locations. I think the Nuvi 680 is a step in the right direction, but with a bit more thought put into it, I think Apple can do it better.

harmeet15
post Jun 13 2007, 01:11 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

iPhone arrives on June 29. iPhone features an amazing mobile phone, is the best iPod we've ever created, and puts the Internet in your pocket with desktop-class email, web browsing, searching, and maps. And iPhone makes it all easy to use with its revolutionary multi-touch user interface. iPhone syncs with your PC or Mac just like an iPod, so organizing your content now will help you start calling, texting, emailing, surfing, listening, and watching even faster when you get your iPhone. Here are a few suggestions to help you get ready:

Making a call with iPhone is as simple as tapping a name. You won't need to re-enter all your contacts because iPhone syncs with the address book you already use on your computer-Address Book or Entourage on a Mac, or Outlook or Outlook Express on a PC. If you keep your contacts on the web using Yahoo! Address Book, iPhone can sync with them, too. To get ready for iPhone, organize your contacts in one of these applications and make sure they're up to date with the latest phone numbers and email addresses. If you don't have contacts on your computer, don't worry. You can still enter them directly into iPhone.

Using its built-in calendar, iPhone lets you check your appointments with the flick of a finger. iPhone uses iTunes to sync with the calendar application you already use on your computer-iCal or Entourage on the Mac, or Outlook on a PC-just like it does with your contacts. If you don't already use one of these applications to manage your appointments, now is a great time to start, so you'll be ready to sync when your iPhone arrives. If you choose not to use a calendar program, that's OK. You'll be able to enter appointments directly into the iPhone calendar.

iPhone is the first phone to come with a desktop-class email application. So now your phone can display rich HTML email with graphics and photos alongside the text. iPhone will even fetch your latest email every time you open the application and automatically retrieve your email on a set schedule, just like a computer does. iPhone works with the most popular email systems-including Yahoo! Mail, Gmail, AOL, and .Mac Mail. If you're not already using one of these services, now would be a great time to get an account. iTunes will make email setup on iPhone a breeze by automatically syncing the settings from email accounts stored in Mail on a Mac or Outlook on a PC. Don't worry if you're not on one of these email services; iPhone also works with almost any industry-standard POP3 and IMAP email system.

iPhone has a 2-megapixel camera and a gorgeous 3.5-inch display, so it's a great way to enjoy and show off your digital photos. iPhone uses iTunes to sync your photos from iPhoto on a Mac or Adobe Photoshop Elements, Adobe Photoshop Album, or any picture folder on a PC. You can carry thousands of photos on iPhone, but you can start by creating an album or two with 50 to 100 of your favorite photos, so that when you first sync your iPhone, you'll be ready to quickly show off some of your best shots.

iPhone is the best iPod ever. Its beautiful, 3.5-inch widescreen display allows you to easily enjoy the music, TV shows, and movies you have in your iTunes library. If you already use iTunes, you can start getting ready for iPhone by creating a playlist of a few hundred of your favorite songs. If you don't have iTunes, now is a good time to download it and start a music and video library. That way, when you sync your iPhone with iTunes, you'll be able to take your favorite music, as well as a few of your TV shows and movies, with you wherever you go.

To set up your iPhone, you'll need an account with Apple's iTunes Store. If you already have an iTunes account, make sure you know your account name and password. If you don't have an account, you should set one up now to save time later. To set up an account, launch iTunes, select the iTunes Store, and click the Sign In button in the upper right corner of iTunes. Sign in and you're ready to go.

Source

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 13 2007, 01:13 AM
seveneleven
post Jun 13 2007, 01:15 AM

359 posts

No MMS, 3G, GPS, 2MB Cam, No Flash/Java Support for a could-be RM3K phone. I'd think about it.

84 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:29 AM