Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

SUSMike3300
post Jun 7 2007, 06:56 PM

6,866 posts

I don't see iPhone as a GPS phone. It's more of the power application: Google Maps that makes it look like a GPS functioning phone.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 8 2007, 01:22 AM

6,866 posts

iMac, iBook, iPod, iLife, iTunes, iWork, iPhone and much more. What's with all the i's, it's more like Apple's labeling to their product to make it sounds interesting.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 8 2007, 01:35 AM

6,866 posts

Can you elaborate on the glorified iPod? Why don't Apple named it as iPod-aPhone? It is a phone, and it's music player is iPod. That's it. They are not gonna use any crappy music player like Nokia and Sony Ericsson do, they'll use back their own creativity and product and upgrade it to even much better than all. You see, Cover Flow feature on iPod in iPhone. The biggest achieve that iPod in iPhone have is touchscreen, so touch your music.

Added on June 8, 2007, 1:35 amOne more thing, the screen is bigger too for you to watch videos on it.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 8 2007, 01:37 AM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 8 2007, 01:43 AM

6,866 posts

What I mean is something new.

Added on June 8, 2007, 1:46 amDo you own an iPod btw? If you do, you'll understand why the battery's are not so easily removable. It's because it's embedded together with the hardware, so no mess around the edges and sides to make it look beautiful/cleaner and sleeker. Most MP3 players out the in the market does not have expandable slot, all are fixed. From 1GB-80GB. You name it. That's how flash player works.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 8 2007, 01:46 AM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 8 2007, 05:10 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jun 8 2007, 05:07 PM)
ooooo..is there all to the (i) in the Apple products..

hmm..so hv v agreed to classify the iphone as a multimedia device??

its has a really cool design though..

but with such a large touch screen..users will hv to b really really careful..

can u imagine hving to fix the screen after its warranty has expired..

hey wats with the worldwide launch of the iphone..
does it mean in M'sia oso will hv?
Yes, early 2008.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 8 2007, 08:41 PM

6,866 posts

Yes, there is gonna be SIM card slot inside the back cover along with the battery, so no easy operation. Probably they'll give telcos on how to do it.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2007, 03:42 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(FoX^ @ Jun 8 2007, 08:20 PM)
methinks there aren't gonna be a 3G version. Probably just jump from EDGE to WiMax.

And, is there even a lubang for you to put ur sim carD? Malaysian users don't get your hopes up yet, since its exclusive to AT&T in the US, they might have a built in SIM or something.

For those who thinks there are already existing products that trumps this, we'll have to wait and see how smooth the OS flows. Personally i am more interested in the web browsing WIFI capability.
You're wrong. I read from a magazine called Mac Home, that Apple will be releasing a new iPhone with 3G for Europe and Asia. As we're waiting longer than current US citizens who are waiting till end of the month.

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jun 9 2007, 03:48 AM)
u getting 1 frm ATT??
hmm..meaning u needs to unlock??
but i tot we had unlocking issues here..forumers say here maybe can't unlock...

2008..hmm..i wonders hw hw much..
thanks mike btw for the enlightenment..hehehe
No problem dude.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 13 2007, 06:58 PM

6,866 posts

What to expect from that price range, it's Apple. If our country does have the contract for buying mobile phones, then it'll be great. Worse comes to the worse, go Singapore and get contract with the iPhone. Still it may cost alot though, just like the latest N95 with 2 years contract (StarHub/Singtel/M1 Singapore) but still have to pay around S$900+ for the phone. Usually it's cheaper though.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 13 2007, 09:59 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 13 2007, 08:32 PM)
I agree that RM 2k+ is expensive for a phone. Not that I'm justifying it in any way but don't forget that this is also the top of the line iPod so that is part of the price.

However I still wonder why people are making such a big deal about the lack of 3G. Do people use 3G all that much? Are you paying RM 100-120 for the unlimited plan? I cancelled my unlimited plan simply because it wasn't worth it, I would rather go for Wifi.

So an honest query to everyone out there, do people use 3G all that much?
Some of my friends who does not/never/rarely use 3G video calls still got 3G phone to use but actually just for voice calling and SMS-ing. 3G phone is just a trend statement I guess in what Malaysian's mind think. They think that if you have a 3G phone, you rocks and you followed the latest trend and tech stuff. It's fine but what's the point getting a 3G device but not fully utilized it? Might as well just get normal phone without 3G, might save you few hundred bucks. Please wake up people, 3G doesn't mean anything/everything. Just video calls and broadband speeds on mobile phones but I'm sure most of you does not video call everyday.

Don't take too much pride about 3G. 3G technology is not on the top of the world of technology.

Added on June 13, 2007, 10:01 pmWhat I'm trying to say is stop mumbling around about 'iPhone without 3G sucks'. It's ok, go get an iPhone yourself and enjoy it. I'm sure your mobile lifestyle will be better with iPhone, and not with 3G cellphones.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 13 2007, 10:01 PM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 23 2007, 03:18 PM

6,866 posts

If you want to understand more about the iPhone, go stream or download the Tour Guide video on Apple.com. It gives you some basic guides and features about how to use the iPhone. The headset jack that comes together with the iPhone is the 2nd gen iPod earphone with built in microphone. Sweet~! For almost 25 minutes tour guide from the video, I am smitten. rclxms.gif
SUSMike3300
post Jun 23 2007, 03:43 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 23 2007, 03:29 PM)
the video is boring. he is so monotonous tongue.gif taking away the iphone attractive features.
but it's a very useful video tour guide. H.264 encoding is awesome. Total 24 minutes are about eye candy. rclxms.gif

This is the earphone with mic built in:

SUSMike3300
post Jun 24 2007, 01:35 AM

6,866 posts

Yeah, else they won't say that they've made the best iPod ever. Cover Flow in an iPod. Nice~! For those of you who does not know how to appreciate or love iPhone, it's all about the 'eye candy'.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 24 2007, 02:23 AM

6,866 posts

Not throw away the phones, maybe move to iPhone. Steve Jobs claimed that he wanted Apple.Inc to gain at least 1% market share in mobile phone industries.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 24 2007, 10:56 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Jun 24 2007, 08:53 PM)
insya Allah ..i will change my phone to iPhone ....need to check what type of carrier suitable for this device
Don't worry pal, by the time it hits Asia I'm sure it's unlocked at compatible with all carriers. I think for now is only AT&T.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 27 2007, 06:58 PM

6,866 posts

Here's some snapshots of the camera quality!

Part One

Added on June 27, 2007, 7:00 pmPart Two

Source: iPhone Review by David Pogue in NY Times

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 27 2007, 07:00 PM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 28 2007, 08:42 PM

6,866 posts

You guys always mumbling/complaining about 'will it works outside the States'? Do some research to get the answer.

David Pogue, Tech Editor for NYTimes.com is one of the few lucky guys who got the iPhone unit first before others to test it out and review it.

Here is a mini FAQ answered by him in NY Times site.

Click Here To View The Site - NYTimes

My favourite:

Will the iPhone work overseas? If you mean to use your AT&T account, yes; call AT&T to turn on international roaming, and then prepare to pay big roaming charges. If you mean to insert some other country's SIM card, no.

Added on June 28, 2007, 8:44 pmNo unlocking can be made so stick with your AT&T simcard! Others, sorry.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 28 2007, 08:50 PM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 29 2007, 06:45 PM

6,866 posts

I just wanna see live pictures and reviews from it. hehe
SUSMike3300
post Jun 30 2007, 07:39 PM

6,866 posts

The SIM Card tray on top of the phone. At first I think it was just to slide in & out for the SIM Card to fit in. Amazing iPhone. thumbup.gif
SUSMike3300
post Jul 1 2007, 01:39 AM

6,866 posts

This hurt even more! My heart will stop beating if this happen to me. cry.gif

SUSMike3300
post Jul 2 2007, 04:32 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(slumberus @ Jul 2 2007, 12:32 PM)
That's nice Steve. iPhones and all.... now WHERE's mah WIDESCREEN iPod?

zzzzzz.
Don't you got the idea from the iPhone's iPod? Cover Flow represents the widescreen iPod and watch your video in widescreen mode. Watch the keynote to learn all out.

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 2 2007, 12:48 PM)
I think this is the Widescreen iPod !
Yeah, I love the from 'fit to screen to widescreen' changing mode. smile.gif smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0191sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:01 PM