Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

OmniAtlas
post Sep 20 2007, 09:39 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Sep 20 2007, 07:47 AM)
just wait until apple release iphone in malaysia..at that time sure can use 1
I doubt that will happen for awhile. It seems steve jobs likes to lock up his iphone with telcom companies such as AT&T, O2 and T-mobile. Sources say he shares the pie by as much as 40% with the carrier fees. Can you imagine, iphone locked up with Celcom! (I had the worst experience with celcom and am now happy with maxis)

Why wait? The unlock is here and the iphone is finally affordable.

spacecopgaban
post Sep 20 2007, 10:50 AM

244 posts

Have you experienced any more glitches so far mr stringman?
stringfellow
post Sep 20 2007, 11:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Nothing so far, mr gabanman. Im trying to resolve the iTunes connection error on my line here, short of going to Starbucks for faster connection.
trixx316
post Sep 21 2007, 01:51 AM

255 posts

i just did one iphone unlocking...guess wat,SUCCESS!!

question:can sumone confirm me,does bluetooth headset works wit the iphone?
i dun have..tongue.gif

This post has been edited by trixx316: Sep 21 2007, 02:06 AM
zc_squash
post Sep 21 2007, 03:46 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(trixx316 @ Sep 21 2007, 01:51 AM)

i dun have..tongue.gif
From the articles and reviews i read, yeah. And in fact, that's the only function of the bluetooth.
zekrycortez
post Sep 21 2007, 04:28 AM

157 posts

Ok i got this news maybe true and maybe not. I was browsing in lelong.com.my and saw this thread that sell unlock iphone for Rm 2999 for the 8GB package, and then at the bottom of the page, forummer can sms/call the seller and ask anything about the iphone prob such as the maxis call in prob. I msg him and ask everything about the iphone and all the problems that u guys had while using it and he says that the iphone is fully unlock where any telco network can be use and no problem or watsoever about the call in/sms in thingy. So i have the cash and i dont mind paying it but is it worth it if let say that they success solve the call in problem for maxis? Just wanna ask from u guys who already owner of an iphone..thanks!

P.S - The shop is in subang parade.
tishaban
post Sep 21 2007, 05:39 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(zekrycortez @ Sep 21 2007, 04:28 AM)
Ok i got this news maybe true and maybe not. I was browsing in lelong.com.my and saw this thread that sell unlock iphone for Rm 2999 for the 8GB package, and then at the bottom of the page, forummer can sms/call the seller and ask anything about the iphone prob such as the maxis call in prob. I msg him and ask everything about the iphone and all the problems that u guys had while using it and he says that the iphone is fully unlock where any telco network can be use and no problem or watsoever about the call in/sms in thingy. So i have the cash and i dont mind paying it but is it worth it if let say that they success solve the call in problem for maxis? Just wanna ask from u guys who already owner of an iphone..thanks!

Way way too expensive, his cost today can be as low as RM1700 or even lower depending on how he got the phone. Don't be so gullible or willing to trust a phone salesperson on lelong. My guess is this is the pre-price drop phone and he has no way to get the $100 credit offered by Apple biggrin.gif *and* it has the same problem with Maxis as everyone here has.

This post has been edited by tishaban: Sep 21 2007, 05:40 AM
limyusiong
post Sep 21 2007, 08:53 AM

2,815 posts

yes, tat is true....2 wellknown seller selling at 2888-2990....one of it, stock reach yesterday, 2 units, ord sapu by my partner...another stock will reach by next wed...tested, tis unit oso doesnt work wif maxis...successfull with digi...
stringfellow
post Sep 21 2007, 09:00 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(trixx316 @ Sep 21 2007, 01:51 AM)

i dun have..tongue.gif
It should work. I mmyself tried connecting the iPhone BT to other BT devices but the iPhone BT only connects to a headset device and nothing else. It does connect to my Garmin Nuvi, so i can answer the iPhone it when im driving around with that GPS device. This only makes it as an aswering BT headset-like device, it does not access the GPS function of the Garmin.

Doubtful. If everyone else already have a solution on Maxis, you'd see it here with that person excitedly claiming it. Why would the solution be this hush-hush, shady and that expensive too? Unlockers like these knew that the unlocking process is already free, therefore tries to stay one-up with the already available unlocking methods by claiming this and tries to make money with unsuspecting desperate users. Do not fall for this. I suggest waiting till the Maxis issue is resolved. Until then, the iPhone is slim enough to become an iPod Touch, while you still carry another cellphone with you. Dont pay unnecessarily for a solution that may be temporary.

I went on my stroll around Apple stores in KL yesterday, asking about the availability of the iPod Touch locally. Imagine my shock when i hear that there were local attempts of getting the iPhone through these local Apple Stores, but at exuberantly potong-leher chicken-farm slaughterhouse price of between RM3500....even RM4000! I was angry......and shakes my head in disbelief at how desperate these users are, and how easily they allow themselves to be taken advantage off , all in the name of getting an iPhone. We've already tolerated (read: forced to accept) a 22% price hike, under the excuse of government tax, shipping, etc , and now you even allow your neck at the end of a sharp slaught knife just so you can get an iPhone for yourself? shakehead.gif
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 09:08 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I wonder why there's still no non-profit bulk here?
If you guys gather enough order, everyone chip in a bit, it might even enought to fund 1 fella to fly there and bring it back directly.

I think everyone just want to make moeny to fund their own toys. Oh well life goes on.
hokkianu
post Sep 21 2007, 09:49 AM

257 posts

brother .... 讲多无谓。。。吃多会挤

lets go to their shop and test out the iphone with maxis call in function ler ... easier

Added on September 21, 2007, 9:52 am
QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 21 2007, 05:39 AM)
Way way too expensive, his cost today can be as low as RM1700 or even lower depending on how he got the phone. Don't be so gullible or willing to trust a phone salesperson on lelong. My guess is this is the pre-price drop phone and he has no way to get the $100 credit offered by Apple biggrin.gif *and* it has the same problem with Maxis as everyone here has.
RM1700!? where?

now I already appointed three persons from lowyat.net just to help me to get the iphone, but after two weeks still no one have the stock ler

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by hokkianu: Sep 21 2007, 09:52 AM
yaosiang
post Sep 21 2007, 09:56 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(hokkianu @ Sep 21 2007, 09:52 AM)
RM1700!? where?

now I already appointed three persons from lowyat.net just to help me to get the iphone, but after two weeks still no one have the stock ler

icon_question.gif
It Will Be RM 1,700.00 If You Do The Import Yourself.. And Manage To Go Through The Custom Without Any Tax Or SIRIM Fees.. smile.gif
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 10:05 AM

6,496 posts

There's one way to get incoming call with Maxis SIM. Diverting calls. So I hope you guys don't get cheated on that.
yaosiang
post Sep 21 2007, 10:19 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 21 2007, 10:05 AM)
There's one way to get incoming call with Maxis SIM. Diverting calls. So I hope you guys don't get cheated on that.
Yea.. Incoming Calls Cannot Work With Maxis Line Right Now.. By The Way, Any Progression From Maxis? biggrin.gif

wei, You Are Very Close To Get Your Hands On The iPhone Already, Right? tongue.gif
lailaikatong
post Sep 21 2007, 10:35 AM

601 posts

I feel super tempted to order an iPhone, I have an aunt in the US that could send one for me... The thing is i'm using Three in Australia which is 3G native (the sim card will work in 3G phones ONLY), and I'm using Maxis in Malaysia... One totally can't work with the iPhone, and one has issues with incoming calls.... Tough luck!

Thinking of terminating my contract with Three and switching to another carrier but I'd have to pay early exit penalties... cry.gif Is it worth it?? My brain says wait for the iPhone to officially arrive in Aussie (God knows when!), but my heart says just get one now... hmm.gif
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 10:40 AM

6,496 posts

Not yet not yet... one more week to go. tongue.gif
Don't worry, I'm sure will come in to "taruk" poisons.

On the maxis problem, I finally gotten my hand on the right person's contact. Thanks to my friend working in Ogilvy (the ad agency that's doing maxis stuff). Given the contact to my buddy that understand better on GSM & techincal stuff, he also holding an iPhone. So he's a better position to talk to maxis. Should be talking with the contact person today. Just wait for update.

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 21 2007, 10:45 AM
terranova
post Sep 21 2007, 11:06 AM

1,161 posts

Sorry but I think I should remind ppl again here .... if u plan to use the iPhone as an iPod Touch i.e. as a multimedia device, pls pls bear in mind that the iPhone doesn't accept std headsets/earplugs jacks .... unless u buy an adapter from third party like Griffin. In other words, you can only use the std crappy white earplugs from Apple which for me is not that great (audio quality wise) and fits poorly in my ears (one size fits all). If you can live with the bundled earplugs from Apple, then of course you should have no problem.

On a brighter note, at least the iPhone has speakers, unlike the iPod Touch. Hahaha .... BUT BUT the iPod Touch has that cute little stand to make the unit sit up diagonally, whereas I find myself having to hold the iPhone or lean against something to make it sit up, not good for watching videos on the plane.

zekrycortez
post Sep 21 2007, 11:08 AM

157 posts

he said that the stock will arrived this saturday. im planning to see and try the in call problem. if its true that they solved it, then im gonna think twice if i should get it or not. Pain wey the price sweat.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 21 2007, 11:21 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I hope you're just kidding on the stand for the iPod Touch, coz simply DIYs can make stands for the iPhone as well, and looking mighty fine too. Phone stands from one of those cellphone booths , for example. I myself am using the stand that comes with the BT keyboard i had, that is also detachable. Or the Nokia 770 Internet tablet stand that i had back inside the box.

I'd still like the ability to answer calls while listening to the iPhone, so the earphones that comes with it, stays until a better solution arrives. Cllipping the iPhone out the holster every time, only increases the chance of scratching, or God forbid, a fall to the hard concrete floor.
trixx316
post Sep 21 2007, 11:39 AM

255 posts

rm2999??!! WTF...

USD399 = RM1373.48 (according to gocurrency dated 21/09/2007)
u do the math...

p.s:just wait till it release in asia..

question:im unable to use youtube...izzit just me?

This post has been edited by trixx316: Sep 21 2007, 11:43 AM

84 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:03 AM