YI 4K Action Camera Discussion Thread v1, this time you can record 4K

munak991
post Jul 13 2016, 12:36 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Hi all, I'm one of the person who pre ordered with Dfaro at lazada and got 10% discount using bank cc card

And I want to expand my inventory by pairing with Feiyu Gimbal

So I check YouTube google and etc etc no one has answer and decide to check with Feiyu Directly.

And I got the answer!

FEIYU recommend any Yi 4k users to use their G4 series only, and add on xiao Yi v1 mounting plate(due to both of them same size measured at height 42mm)

If you are like me pairing with Feiyu gimbal, here's the answer directly from Feiyu

[attachmentid=7073370]
[attachmentid=7073377]
[attachmentid=7073394]
[attachmentid=7073400]

This post has been edited by munak991: Jul 13 2016, 12:55 AM
munak991
post Jul 21 2016, 10:43 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 20 2016, 11:53 PM)
Anyone bought from DFARO?
Is it reliable?
Well me..

[attachmentid=7135745]
munak991
post Jul 22 2016, 09:06 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(hazzly1 @ Jul 22 2016, 08:05 AM)
Omg  sweat.gif , I already bought at lazada from DFARO seller 2 days ago. Didn't get any news from Dfaro. Thanx for the update.
Well got update,
My item on 20th is on warehouse de. hope it will arrive next week
munak991
post Jul 25 2016, 02:52 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Got it last Saturday

munak991
post Jul 25 2016, 03:10 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jul 25 2016, 03:06 PM)
how much did u get it for ? any freebies ?
They sent late, they gave me silicon case
munak991
post Jul 26 2016, 12:26 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jul 25 2016, 10:39 PM)
good job!  thumbsup.gif
guess i should do a owner list on first page.  biggrin.gif

btw im more interested in the stabalizer u got there munak991
QUOTE(hazzly1 @ Jul 25 2016, 11:21 PM)
Still need stabilizer even yi 4k have Electronic Image Stabilization (EIS)?  confused.gif
QUOTE(deadravel @ Jul 25 2016, 11:46 PM)
stabilizer x stabilizer = stastabalizer thumbsup.gif
I've made this video, when i came back from work

munak991
post Jul 26 2016, 08:46 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(hazzly1 @ Jul 26 2016, 06:04 AM)
Awesome thumbup.gif  where you buy that stabilizer?
Better buy 32gb or 64gb micro sd card?
Gimbal got from Aliexpress ship from China
U can get from Lazada and it is cheaper

U have to get at least U3 rated Micro SD aka 30mb/s write speed.
Sandisk extreme rated 45mb/s write speed for 32/64gb
Again lazada is cheapest

Why 30mb/s write speed?? Cause 4k need at least 40mb/s writing speed

For me im getting 2x 64GB. Rough estimate each 30 sec video 1080/60fps will be at least 150mb -200mb
So it can film roughly 1.5hour of video and 2x is 3 hours of video.

Personal advice, read up SD card speed and you'll learn something.
If you likely to see Cheap SD card with large capacity. the fall back is speed.
You dont want while you record, your video turn out to be stuttering.

This post has been edited by munak991: Jul 26 2016, 08:54 AM
munak991
post Jul 26 2016, 12:06 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jul 26 2016, 10:19 AM)
nice comparison video.
just a queston, how come running video with IS will shake left right left right like that  sweat.gif
check post #2 or use the search function below. alot ppl have shared the pricing and where to buy in previous comments dy
still thinking whether to buy the Feiyu stabiliser hmmm.
i bet IS+feiyu vs feiyu without IS will have similar outcome in the video? do you mind test it as well?  biggrin.gif
Yea i also suprise, why it swing left right.
How i hold, its all the same for all test
When I got time yah haha.
I film this took me 30mins. Editing takes 2 hours

This post has been edited by munak991: Jul 26 2016, 12:10 PM
munak991
post Jul 28 2016, 08:38 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 28 2016, 12:12 AM)
cry.gif I have the Feiyu G4s, and I thought it will be awesome if I can get the Yi 4k to work with it... because I really need that back lcd screen. I am currently using gopro 3 , and to upgrade to gopro 4 silver for the screen, is not budget friendly.... Too bad. sad.gif
Cant, cause Feiyu said they got their "CHARGING DOCKING" which cannot support for other cam
munak991
post Aug 1 2016, 10:24 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Comparing Low Light Performance

Made by me

6D vs Yi 4k

munak991
post Aug 7 2016, 10:46 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Getting ready for diving... The Backscatter Flip series is meant for gopro but the Yi is slightly off scale from Go pro. But I heard King Ma the made their housing as close as go pro so all the acceseries can transfer from go pro to Yi.

Here's my own DIY to fit the Yi4k

munak991
post Aug 8 2016, 08:30 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Aug 8 2016, 01:50 AM)
not plug and play? what modification needed?
The Yi housing front lens cover is slightly smaller than go pro.
You cannot plug and play with flip 3 or flip 4.

I use some acrylic tape to stick on it.
it mount perfectly, now all i have to test is under water. cause it will compress the tape and become loose

This post has been edited by munak991: Aug 8 2016, 10:02 AM
munak991
post Aug 8 2016, 10:40 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Aug 8 2016, 10:31 AM)
when will you be going for a dive? Can share with me how it goes after your dive? Planning to get one but am unsure how it will perform underwater. Haha
I previously use Yi cam version 1. turns out very good already.

With this new yi 4k. with 1080p 60 fps built in image stabilizer. it will definitely has better quality
munak991
post Aug 8 2016, 05:16 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Aug 8 2016, 03:40 PM)
Where to get the underwater casing?
Aliexpress, Lazada
munak991
post Aug 13 2016, 06:49 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(azim61 @ Aug 13 2016, 06:22 PM)
Hi
is the Feiyu G4 can also be use on a smartphone?
Izit just use a different mount on a phone?
Phone different mount
munak991
post Sep 5 2016, 09:20 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Look what i got =D
Good for Diving case!
A Touch Screen HOUSING!

Video by me =)

munak991
post Sep 6 2016, 12:24 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Sep 5 2016, 10:23 PM)
is the backscatter perfect fit or need to add tapes as previously? as for the touch, gopro has it quite a while but its only useable around few meters, for diving, lets say 20m and below, will it still be responsive?  sweat.gif
No need, This 3rd party make it identical to Go pro.
The touchscreen whether it function below 20m i dont know. cause i just got it =)
Maybe the next dive ill let you all know, which is next year most probably
munak991
post Sep 6 2016, 07:27 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Sep 6 2016, 12:31 AM)
ive just got my official housing, trying out this week in tioman. what brand is this housing? if can touch even 15-20m i think its worth already as yi 4k is very hard to change settings without the touchscreen.  sad.gif
The YouTube there got link. I bought from there.
The official housing is useless I hardly use and ii cracks on the third use
munak991
post Sep 6 2016, 07:52 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Sep 6 2016, 11:23 AM)
wew, damn it looks good !
let us know once u tried it out diving deep  rclxms.gif

btw, ur official housing cracked? such mistakes by xiaoyi. can complain them leh  doh.gif
before answering ur question.

FYI
hero3 black upgrade to 1st version xiaoyi = not an upgrade.  biggrin.gif
xiaoyi 1st gen is actually almost similar in term of specification n quality compared to hero3.
xiaoyi 1st gen have their own discussion thread, u can have more info there -->  https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3540306

this current discussion thread is about 2nd gen xiaoyi (yi4k).
See the crack? I bought this < 1 month

munak991
post Sep 6 2016, 08:22 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Lucky there's no leakage during diving.

If not GG