CPU Heatsinks Roundup, Remake a tidy and more organise ones

TSsup3rfly
post Jan 9 2007, 09:41 PM, updated 18y ago

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Introduction:
This heatsink roundup is tested on the LGA775 platform as the Core 2 Duo seems like the new current flavor that everyone is crazy about around world.
The purpose of this roundup is to compare the coolers which is tested in this roundup. I wont be talking much about the product and the packaging as this is a non profit roundup. Please bear in mind that the results is not 100% accurate. Its just a reference. smile.gif

Test Bed:
Processor: Intel C2D E6700 L628A303 @ 3.2GHz @ 1.368 Vcore
Mobo: Asus P5B 0701
Memory: Team Xtreem Micron D9GMH DDR2 Special OPB Edition
Graphic Card: XFX 6600 GT
PSU: FSP Fortron Epsilon FX700-GLN PSU
HDD: Maxtor 20GB IDE 5400 RPM Hard Drive

Contenders:
1. Intel Stock Heatsink
2. Scythe Infinity
3. Scythe Ninja
4. Scythe Mine
5. Thermalright Ultra 120
6. Thermalright SI-120
7. Thermalright XP-120
8. Thermalright SI-128
9. Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX
10. Coolink UB-120
11. TTIC NPH Big

Software Used:
Everest Ultimate Edition 2006
Orthos Beta
Windows XP SP2

Test Method:
1. The ambient temperature is set at 23°C but the result might not be 100% accurate as it might be affected by the mounting method, temperature fluctuations and user error.

2. The Fan speed is kept at the speed of 1600 rpm as the main opbejective of this test is to find out the best heatsink that can be operate in silent mode.

3. The Idle Temperature is measured after the system left open for 5 minutes and the Load Temperature is measured after 10 minutes of Orthos Stress. Everest Ultimate Edition 2006 was used to get the value of the temperature for each of the criteria, idle and load.

4. The Test is conduct without casing as the different kind of casing has different kind of airflow and thethermal compound used is Arctic Ceramique.

Way we apply the thermalpaste
TSsup3rfly
post Jan 9 2007, 09:42 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Intel Stock Cooler

The Intel Stock Heatsink is used to set a standard for all the other third party heatsinks. The Intel stock heatsink is relatively small, the fins are made from aluminum while the core is made from copper. Intead of using the original push pin method, we have changed the mouting method of this heatsink to a different method which we believe that it will provide more pressure and better contact between the processor and the heatsink. The mounting method is as shown in the pic below.

Picture of how the thermalpaste spreaded on the core

Picture of the thermalpaste on the heatsink base

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:47 PM
TSsup3rfly

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Scythe Ninja

Scythe Ninja is rather big, it consist of 6 U-Shapped copper heatpipes which helps to transfer heat faster to the aluminium fins. During the test the Ninja still performs well when compared to many new coolers. Lets check out the result to see how it performs in the later page.

This shows good contact between the core and the heatsink base

More picture on the thermalpaste spreaded

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:48 PM
TSsup3rfly

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Scythe Infinity

Scythe Infinity is a gigantic heatsink. It consist of 5 U-Shaped copper heatpipes and a mirror finish copper base. You might face some difficulty installing this heatsink becasue of it size. The original mounting method which is provided by the scythe is the push pin which is the same as the Intel stock heatsink, we have changed it to our own modded mouting which should provide better pressure.

The 10 Heatpipes heatsink in action

Thermalpaste on the core

The stock mirror finished base

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:49 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Jan 9 2007, 09:43 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Scythe Mine

The scythe Mine uses the Midship Fan Mounting Mechanism where the fan is placed in between the fins, it work similar to the Tuniq Tower 120 cooler. The only drawback of this heatsink is that only 25mm thick fan can be used. It has 3 U-Shaped copper heatpipes and a mirror finish copper base too. We used our own mounting method during the test as it provide better pressure.

Scythe Mine in action

The modded mounting method gives better contact thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:54 PM
TSsup3rfly

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Thermalright SI-120

SI-120 is a non tower heatsink which is featured in the roundup together with the brother XP-120, the advantage over the SI-120 compared to XP-120 is that its easier to install than the XP-120 as XP-120 has some clearance problem with the mobo. It consist of 5 nickle plated heatpipes and a nickle plated base.

The old school mounting provided better pressure than the Thermalright new mounting mechanism

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:55 PM
TSsup3rfly

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Thermalright XP-120

The XP-120 look similar to the SI-120. The different is that the part of the fins is connected to the base where the SI-120 doesnt. We facing some difficulty installing this heatsink as the base is too big and it hits the capasitors around the processor area. Owners of XP-120 please take note of this.

SI-120 elder brother in action rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:55 PM
TSsup3rfly

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Thermalright SI-128

The SI-128 is the latest non tower heatsink produced by Thermalright, it has more fins and the copper heatpipes is actually thicker, the heatsink doesn't perform as expected as there is issue with the mounting mechanism, it doesn't provide sufficient pressure to the core and the heatsink.

SI-128 ready to go

This picture indicates the bad contact between the core and the base.

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:56 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Jan 9 2007, 09:44 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Thermalright Ultra 120

The Ultra 120 is rather dissapointed in the test as it provided insufficient pressure and caused the processor to overheat. It consist of 4 U-Shapped nickle plated copper heatpipes and nickle plated copper base. We have tried its original mounting mechanism and our own modded mounting mechanism, it give the same result, lolhalol has already sent email to Thermalright and hope they will look into the problem because we believe its a very good cooler. Hopefully they relase some better version.

Another bad contact of the core and heatsink rclxub.gif

TSsup3rfly

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX

The Big Typhoon VX is Consist of 6 copper heatpipes and by far would be the best cooler ever made by Thermaltake. Its usin push pin mounting mechanism, and the pressure which provided by it is very good. We will show you in the pic later below.

Black Horse in action!! flex.gif

Closeshot on the core

TSsup3rfly

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Coolink U8-120

The Coolink heatsink look very similar to the Noctua NH-U12. It consist of 4 U-shaped copper heatpipes, 38 aluminium fins and the base are made out of copper. The installation of this heatsink is easy but to prepare the heatsink before mounted the mobo is rather tricky.

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 9 2007, 09:57 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Jan 9 2007, 09:45 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

nPower NPH Big

The nPower NPH Big uses a very thick cooper heatpipe, the diameter of it is around the size of a 20 cents. Its another gigantic cooler which is featured in the review. The mounting system is something similar to Ultra 120, the screw will be attaching to a backplate which come together with the package.

TSsup3rfly
post Jan 9 2007, 09:45 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Results

Conclusion

In this roundup we have a conclusion that the contact of the core and the heatsink is very important. There is a lot of surprises we gotten that the Thermaltake BTVX is actually the best cooler and there is some problem with the Thermalrights's new heatsinks which we have very high hope on them. I hope you guys enjoy reading this and hope this could help you guys to choose the heatsink that is suitable for you.

Different between good contact and bad contact of the heatsink.

Credits

Big thanks to those guys who contributed in this project:
1. Prem aka pcmoddingmy for providing us 5 heatsinks from various brands.
2. Moderno for sponsoring us the Arctic Ceramique.
3. Darksythe for borrowing me his Scythe Infinity.
4. Sanko for borrowing us the TR Ultra 120 heatsink.
5. shawTy for borrowing us the TR XP-120 heatsink.
6. My friend who is not a lyn forumer for borrowing me the Ninja
7. lolhalol for supporting and did the test with me.
8. Thanks to everyone who read this and hope you guys good luck in overclocking rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

DaRkSyThE
post Jan 9 2007, 09:46 PM

4,809 posts

thread pinned for easy reference for all smile.gif
please keep the thread clean, and not another replicate of the old thread smile.gif
previous thread closed due to too much spam.
general discussion will continue from here!

thanks tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Jan 9 2007, 10:01 PM
lolhalol
post Jan 10 2007, 11:34 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

yay...finally got the thread pinned.... thx ya bro....
neways guys look out fior the comparisons v2 , coming soon. as darksythe said, no spam please....last time go so manmy different disccusions going on..
DaRkSyThE
post Jan 11 2007, 08:37 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 10 2007, 11:34 AM)
yay...finally got the thread pinned.... thx ya bro....
neways guys look out fior the comparisons v2 , coming soon. as darksythe said, no spam please....last time go so manmy different disccusions going on..
u are welcome bro. when V2 comes, remember to post here, i will push the posts up for u smile.gif
lolhalol
post Jan 13 2007, 12:43 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ok man...will do....thx again ye....appreciated.... peace
vassalle
post Jan 19 2007, 03:14 PM

610 posts

Found something about modding the mounting mechanism which you guys use. It's step by step and filled with pictures.

Modifying ure mounting mechanism

TSsup3rfly
post Jan 19 2007, 03:30 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Jan 19 2007, 03:14 PM)
Found something about modding the mounting mechanism which you guys use. It's step by step and filled with pictures.

Modifying ure mounting mechanism
yeah i m doin this now smile.gif
vassalle
post Jan 19 2007, 03:49 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jan 19 2007, 03:30 PM)
yeah i m doin this now smile.gif
while u're at it please list places in Malaysia where we can find those things. the petrashop bulk is already closed and might have to wait 3 months to get it. hehe. But would really love to try it if i could though.
TSsup3rfly
post Jan 19 2007, 07:01 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

well the spring and the knob wont be available anywhere ler... unless someone can try to get them from malaysia
taxidoor
post Jan 22 2007, 11:50 AM

1,008 posts

how about buy those screw and knob at the hardwre shop?
replace the spring with Pilot G4 spring?
vassalle
post Jan 22 2007, 11:55 AM

610 posts

HHmm.. how sturdy are those pilot g4 springs anyway? In the link i gave above, they utilise brass springs for some reasons.

Dont really how crucial to have those springs actually. What would happen if i just used bolt, some spacers (washers, whatever you call em) and a suitable knob?
lolhalol
post Jan 22 2007, 01:09 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

no the pen springs are not strong enough to hold, they are design to have very little preesure... best bet is to call manufacturors to make for u , bulk it thenall of us buy also tongue.gif

inteluser
post Jan 26 2007, 01:15 AM

300 posts

for d knob.. instead from the picture.. i think u can use the butterfly nuts 1.. like dis..
source from hollowbean modified rig..

as for d spring.. i think u can get it from the typical kiddo plastic gun where u can put plastic bullet 1.. the spring shud b like tat in d pic..

This post has been edited by inteluser: Jan 30 2007, 02:55 AM
AceCombat
post Jan 27 2007, 04:02 PM

5,434 posts

Maybe can get the spring which use in the on-road r/c car?they are strong and short enough too....
btw...in the second round,is there any CM cooler take part?
TSsup3rfly
post Jan 31 2007, 04:37 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

CM cooler... if can get sure... why not... the more the merrier tongue.gif
kingsthii
post Feb 3 2007, 01:01 PM

128 posts

nice testing, thx very much coz i am choosing tt bigtypn
toughnut
post Feb 8 2007, 01:19 PM

3,239 posts

when will the test get going? cant wait to see the final result:D

good luck to all that involved in this heatsink roundup.
TSsup3rfly
post Feb 14 2007, 10:22 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(kingsthii @ Feb 3 2007, 01:01 PM)
nice testing, thx very much coz i am choosing tt bigtypn
no prob.... hope the ttbt serve u well smile.gif

QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 8 2007, 01:19 PM)
when will the test get going? cant wait to see the final result:D

good luck to all that involved in this heatsink roundup.
well i will start to collect heatsink contribution after cny smile.gif
lolhalol
post Feb 15 2007, 04:59 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

please pass hsf to superfly .... as he is now incharge of this roundup...so sorry because i had some financial issues and also my a levels finals is in may...need to study this time tongue.gif
Kataro
post Feb 15 2007, 08:07 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Feb 15 2007, 04:59 PM)
please pass hsf to superfly .... as he is now incharge of this roundup...so sorry because i had some financial issues and also my a levels finals is in may...need to study this time tongue.gif
Just concentrade on your study...it is alright... icon_rolleyes.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 16 2007, 05:58 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

hurmm, nice review
perhaps should have "rent" raymond's tuniq tower so can compare the performance amongst all high-end air-cooling solution wub.gif

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Feb 16 2007, 05:58 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Feb 17 2007, 04:59 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Feb 16 2007, 05:58 PM)
hurmm, nice review
perhaps should have "rent" raymond's tuniq tower so can compare the performance amongst all high-end air-cooling solution wub.gif
we tried pm him...but no reply >.<||
well i m getting Tuniq also... so if can make it on time i will just use it as review as well
nazerry
post Feb 25 2007, 02:47 AM

274 posts

nice nice! glad to be TTBT vx user! rclxms.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Feb 26 2007, 03:56 PM

628 posts

any chance of including arctic cooler? this thread is actually very very useful, can add price of cooler, so it'll be a better guide for readers to choose too. tq..
Kataro
post Feb 26 2007, 04:33 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Feb 26 2007, 03:56 PM)
any chance of including arctic cooler? this thread is actually very very useful, can add price of cooler, so it'll be a better guide for readers to choose too. tq..
This thread already have the price and where to get for those third party heatsink... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSsup3rfly
post Feb 27 2007, 08:34 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

price is not included because the price for all the coolers changes a lot...the best way is do a search in garage and bulk order section....u can get from the sellers there smile.gif
taxidoor
post Mar 5 2007, 05:41 PM

1,008 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/419513 found sumthing with screew and spring dunno uglyvamp selling saperate ?

lolhalol
post Mar 5 2007, 05:48 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

definately not , coz if he take out, cant sella nymore. its a package.
taxidoor
post Mar 5 2007, 06:31 PM

1,008 posts

= = gather asum ppl get sum bulk order = = not other choice then that do bulk right ?
campsol2k
post Mar 11 2007, 08:42 AM

1,214 posts

Are you sure that intel temp at idle is 73 degree unless the intel stock fan speed lowered down below 2000 rpm? the numbers of other tests seem doesnt make sense except for TT Big Typhoon VX. You might have to redo the test and put the thermal paste at least 80% covers the cpu heat spreader... just a suggestion. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by campsol2k: Mar 11 2007, 08:53 AM
TSsup3rfly
post Mar 12 2007, 10:27 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Mar 11 2007, 08:42 AM)
Are you sure that intel temp at idle is 73 degree unless the intel stock fan speed lowered down below 2000 rpm? the numbers of other tests seem doesnt make sense except for TT Big Typhoon VX. You might have to redo the test and put the thermal paste at least 80% covers the cpu heat spreader... just a suggestion.  icon_rolleyes.gif
well fully covering the proc with thermalpaste doent mean that its good.... the point of me doin is that testing which hsd give better contact to the proc.... i think the method i am using is correct....
cstkl1
post Mar 17 2007, 12:45 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jan 9 2007, 09:45 PM)
Results

Conclusion

In this roundup we have a conclusion that the contact of the core and the heatsink is very important. There is a lot of surprises we gotten that the Thermaltake BTVX is actually the best cooler and there is some problem with the Thermalrights's new heatsinks which we have very high hope on them. I hope you guys enjoy reading this and hope this could help you guys to choose the heatsink that is suitable for you.

Different between good contact and bad contact of the heatsink.

Credits

Big thanks to those guys who contributed in this project:
1. Prem aka pcmoddingmy for providing us 5 heatsinks from various brands.
2. Moderno for sponsoring us the Arctic Ceramique.
3. Darksythe for borrowing me his Scythe Infinity.
4. Sanko for borrowing us the TR Ultra 120 heatsink.
5. shawTy for borrowing us the TR XP-120 heatsink.
6. My friend who is not a lyn forumer for borrowing me the Ninja
7. lolhalol for supporting and did the test with me.
8. Thanks to everyone who read this and hope you guys good luck in overclocking  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
ish if i had known u wanted to do this... would have lend u the tuniq before i sold it.
y not u ask tennishero

DaRkSyThE
post Mar 17 2007, 03:05 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 17 2007, 12:45 AM)
ish if i had known u wanted to do this... would have lend u the tuniq before i sold it.
y not u ask tennishero
he already owns one. he doesnt need one now i think
TSsup3rfly
post Mar 17 2007, 09:30 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Mar 17 2007, 03:05 PM)
he already owns one. he doesnt need one now i think
yeah owned one liao... its dam satisfactory tongue.gif flex.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
cstkl1
post Mar 18 2007, 01:05 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Mar 17 2007, 09:30 PM)
yeah owned one liao... its dam satisfactory tongue.gif  flex.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif
yeah tennishero told me overclock e6600 to 3.6 1.55 vcore idle at 40c
load hmm 60 ..
but still awesome.
DaRkSyThE
post Mar 29 2007, 07:27 PM

4,809 posts

please do not run away from the topic title. keep the thread clean smile.gif
TSsup3rfly
post Mar 30 2007, 06:43 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

i will PM prem and get some hsf from him and conduct the test ASAP liao
sry for waiting the response of contributing the hsf is not that great this time =\
blessedvillain
post Apr 1 2007, 02:32 AM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

May I know, which heatsink is the quitest among all?
TSsup3rfly
post Apr 1 2007, 12:41 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

well i m using the same fan on all the heatsinks and its dead silent smile.gif

taxidoor
post Apr 3 2007, 12:28 AM

1,008 posts

http://www.petrastechshop.com/ekcpuwamoha.html

how about this mouting screw?
bombman is bulking now tongue.gif
TSsup3rfly
post Apr 4 2007, 09:58 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Apr 3 2007, 12:28 AM)
http://www.petrastechshop.com/ekcpuwamoha.html

how about this mouting screw?
bombman is bulking now tongue.gif
how much is that???i like the brass nut smile.gif
taxidoor
post Apr 4 2007, 10:55 PM

1,008 posts

from petrach shop that screww set 5.99USD not + shipping yet more info pls go bombman bulk store tongue.gif
stone13
post Apr 10 2007, 09:47 PM

272 posts

i thank you sup3rfly for provide this referance to me rclxms.gif
extreem
post Apr 17 2007, 07:03 PM

205 posts

helo guys....
for u all information....i got that spring at motocycle shop...
u all just buys a suitable skru at hardware shop and go to motocycle shop....asking them about spring...they will gave u that spring...the spring more hard than normal hsf spring....
I just try by my self,i feel the difrent...my pc now run at 29c on standart HSF INTEL(idle).........
okies gud luck
ghozone
post Apr 26 2007, 01:21 PM

698 posts

walau eh man.. u r so great!@@!
mattchin
post Apr 27 2007, 12:30 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

yo broz..

i am using a pentium D stock fan.. i am having trouble wif the noise level currently. can any1 plz recommend me a good fan? budget is not more than rm200.. and i am having space trouble too.. i have onli 10cm of space.. plz help notworthy.gif
TSsup3rfly
post Apr 27 2007, 06:46 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

what do u mean by 10cm space??? i think u might want to consider scythe mine.... it shd be able to fit....
mattchin
post Apr 27 2007, 05:45 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

this is how my casing look like.. any recomendation? biggrin.gif

thank Q thank Q notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by mattchin: Apr 27 2007, 05:48 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Apr 27 2007, 10:34 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Apr 27 2007, 05:45 PM)
this is how my casing look like.. any recomendation?  biggrin.gif

thank Q thank Q  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
erm...i think ur only choice is to get low profile hsf already.... i cant think of any hsf that can fit without hitting ur PSU... u try to go to the heatsink collection thread and find smile.gif
simcheking
post Aug 22 2007, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 27 2007, 10:34 PM)
erm...i think ur only choice is to get low profile hsf already.... i cant think of any hsf that can fit without hitting ur PSU... u try to go to the heatsink collection thread and find smile.gif
Try to see and compare both of this test:-

http://xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/displ...ex_5.html#sect0

http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?...eid=2082&page=3

with the fan 1200rpm, i think Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme is the best of all...
IcEMoCHa
post Oct 2 2007, 08:50 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Anyone tested thermaltake v1? it looks cool with the copper fins. But does it cool as good as it looks?
waif
post Oct 2 2007, 09:30 AM

270 posts

I tried it out already( ThermalTake V1 ).
But I didn't have any screen capture to back it up. I will upload soon.

My processor is e4300 running 333 X 9, 1.275v.
Idling 35 and full load orthos cpu 59.
Any comment?
IcEMoCHa
post Oct 2 2007, 02:16 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(waif @ Oct 2 2007, 09:30 AM)
I tried it out already( ThermalTake V1 ).
But I didn't have any screen capture to back it up. I will upload soon.

My processor is e4300 running 333 X 9, 1.275v.
Idling 35 and full load orthos cpu 59.
Any comment?
I see... How does the cooling performance compared to Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120VX.. I'm thinking of getting big typhoon...
mysticaldodo
post Nov 12 2007, 11:33 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Apr 27 2007, 05:45 PM)
this is how my casing look like.. any recomendation?  biggrin.gif

thank Q thank Q  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Wish you didn't delete your casing pic.

I'm using the Thermaltake Matrix Linkhttp://www.thermaltake.com/product/Chassis/midtower/matrix/vd2000.asp

Quite small, might not fit those huge HSF I see in around LYP.

I think the best method would be too just measure the empty space. Any idea how much headroom I shoulld have (for example like 2cm from the PSU?). I prefer not to change the casing if possible (there are benefits to having a small light casing in my case)
coolkwc
post Feb 21 2008, 09:52 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

http://www.tomshardware.com/2008/02/20/cpu...er_charts_2008/
dro
post Aug 24 2008, 08:55 AM

N00B1E5
558 posts

anybody tried the sunbeam's core contact freezer?
how does it perform side by side with S1283?

CHiNO730
post Sep 4 2008, 02:23 AM

526 posts

IMO, more thermal grease needs to be added to the base of those heatsinks.

The purpose of the grease is not merely for transmission of heat (conduction) but to bridge any gaps that will arise from the inherent imperfect fit between cooler and processor. Because equal load distribution is difficult to attain using the majority of coolers (screwdrivers don't usually have torque adjustability like automotive wrenches) - its a given that some heatsink/processor combos might not have perfect seating.

UltramanToron
post Sep 10 2008, 02:26 AM

241 posts

im looking for a hsf right now for my c2d..

wana use for oc 24/7 but not so hardcore n don want so noisy..

any to rekemen?

plan to get the thermalright hr05 sli for chipset...

This post has been edited by UltramanToron: Sep 10 2008, 02:27 AM
hilmiangah
post Sep 10 2008, 02:48 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

hyper 212 is good and quite.
i got mine for 132 include postage.
UltramanToron
post Sep 10 2008, 03:30 AM

241 posts

the sunbeamtech ok o not?

tot of wana get those....
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 10 2008, 03:48 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

the current new king that i can see is sunbeam corecontact and deep cool killer whale... they both perform well smile.gif
hilmiangah
post Sep 10 2008, 03:52 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

ccf is a must buy if u have the budget.
syahirax
post Oct 1 2008, 10:06 PM

anomie!
562 posts

anyone been using xigmatek HDTD1284?is it good btw

This post has been edited by syahirax: Oct 1 2008, 10:06 PM
domo_kun
post May 26 2010, 08:42 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

hello and good morning!

i'm currently running on a asus p5ql-pro intel lga775 p43 chipset with a intel core 2 quad 2.83 ghz q9550. i've replaced my ori cpu intel heatsink/fan with a coolermaster v8 heatsink/fan. my enquiry is if the coolermaster v8 requires a higher input of power to fully utilize it? my current psu is a coolermaster extreme power 550w. please advice. TQVM!

the reason that i replaced my old heatsink/fan is due to the loud sound emitting from the fan and also that i notice an error from my bios indicating that my cpu is overheated.

any feedback on the cooling part is greatly appreciated, TQVM!

faiz2036
post Aug 10 2010, 01:47 PM

1,384 posts

can i know the right way applying thermal paste for CM hyper 212+??
fazryle
post Aug 16 2010, 09:35 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Aug 10 2010, 01:47 PM)
is there any wrong way? biggrin.gif
MidTower
post Aug 18 2010, 12:23 AM

98 posts

the paste applying is diffrent due to the small space between then copper pipe and alu block?

This post has been edited by MidTower: Aug 18 2010, 12:26 AM
eddie2020
post Sep 16 2010, 09:15 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

nice collection...all pea type thermal to apply lol

This post has been edited by eddie2020: Sep 17 2010, 02:29 AM
satoshi.mifune
post Nov 11 2010, 03:24 AM

~Kero Kero Kero Kero~
544 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Aug 10 2010, 01:47 PM)
usually the popular method is the pea method, apply thermal paste in the middle of the heatsink of the size of a pea but I don't think using other method will give a significant drop or improvement in temperature so don't let it bug you smile.gif
n8210
post Nov 19 2010, 05:59 PM

2,678 posts

I have a Cooler Master 101, and I have added a second fan. I have 2 questions:-

1) I have a second fan that spins faster and the wind is stronger. Should I use this fan to replace the original fan position, meaning put the direction of blowing wind from A to B, refer picture?

2) When I add a second fan, should the second fan blow in the same direction from A to B? Or should it also suck wind from B and blow into A, in the direction against the first cpu fan is blowing?

arimii
post Nov 18 2012, 02:25 AM

hey , how much does an aftermarket heatsink cheapest cost ? rm50 can get ?
Economics Crisis
post Mar 29 2013, 12:55 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(arimii @ Nov 18 2012, 02:25 AM)
can but u cant see the cooling potential so is waste of money...
top up another rm50 and get hyper evo 212..

This post has been edited by Economics Crisis: Mar 29 2013, 12:55 AM
merinyu
post Aug 29 2014, 09:01 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(arimii @ Nov 18 2012, 02:25 AM)
I got myself a replacement DeepCool CPU Cooler DC-GAMMAXX 300 about RM70 replacing my 'kon' standard Intel CPU cooler.

You can use it for Intel or AMD processor and make sure it support your CPU socket. The thermal compound already applied to the base of the heatsink. The CPU fan use 4-pin connector which can control the fan speed. So far all the cheaper CPU cooler only have 3-pin connector.

It took me quite a while to figure out and properly install the plastic legs. The flexible plastic legs designed to support different Intel sockets is loose and difficult to install correctly.

Make sure your PC casing is big enough to house the tall CPU heatsink.

Overall performance very good with CPU temperature maintaining below 40 deg. celsius even with heavy load and the big fan is quiet too.

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Dee...ler-Review/1558

This post has been edited by merinyu: Aug 29 2014, 09:03 AM

0.0492sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:42 PM