VDSL2 Vectoring by TM, New technology that make copper 100mbps

Xefron
post Jan 5 2017, 09:35 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 5 2017, 09:26 AM)
Too bad we will forever stuck with this speed..u wanna fibre,move from ur current place
this is what I say to my friends... there must be a reason why u still stuck at the same place.
JayceOoi
post Jan 5 2017, 11:11 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(killerjeya @ Jan 5 2017, 02:37 AM)
[attachmentid=8358772]

Honestly, I don't really care about download speed anymore...Over the years, I've gotten so used to it, I don't even get mad anymore when I have to leave downloads overnight to complete...At this point, I'll take whatever I can get, even just double the speed to 8Mbps...A price cut would be nice too... But then again, seeing how TM likes to screw us Streamyx users upside down, it does seem unlikely...

The one thing that DOES annoy the hell out of me is the f***ing upload speed...In this day and age, an upload speed of 500Kbps is a cruel joke...At least give us 5Mbps upload speed this year, goddamnit TM... ranting.gif
Same here. Need faster upload speed. Everything hangs once a person uploading files. vmad.gif
GOPI56
post Jan 5 2017, 01:21 PM

1,494 posts

TM is performing cable upgrade works at my place.

Xefron
post Jan 5 2017, 01:34 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jan 3 2017, 04:15 PM)
Yes. VLAN will be implemented. VDSL has been used in old type Condos and apartments for years and so far it runs on VLAN too. So HyppTV, Phone and Internet should be seperated if it is on VDSL2 Vectoring.
VLAN will not be implemented for Streamyx area which is SUBB.

Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 5 2017, 03:03 PM

959 posts

later come out price reduce only, no free upgrade doh.gif

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 5 2017, 01:21 PM)
TM is performing cable upgrade works at my place.

this is unifi right? unrelated to this thread, later other user will get confuse about this.

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Jan 5 2017, 03:06 PM
GOPI56
post Jan 5 2017, 03:13 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jan 5 2017, 04:03 PM)
later come out price reduce only, no free upgrade doh.gif
this is unifi right? unrelated to this thread, later other user will get confuse about this.
The black cable is copper cable but not sure what is the cable in the last picture.
mztang52
post Jan 5 2017, 03:40 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jan 5 2017, 02:34 PM)
VLAN will not be implemented for Streamyx area which is SUBB.
Wow.. So VLAN will not be implemented on VDSL2 Vectoring?
dannychen
post Jan 5 2017, 09:59 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 5 2017, 04:32 PM)
lagi bad news

so this SUBB just waste of money lah

1.8B wasteeddddd

Meanwhile, the SUBB infrastructure will also be rolled out over a period of ten (10) years, involving the upgrading of existing copper lines to deliver high-speed broadband access speeds of up to 20Mbps and up to 100Mbps in areas deployed with Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) technology, to over 420,000 premises by 2019.

The total cost of the HSBB 2 investment for a period of ten (10) years is RM1.8 billion whereby the Government will be investing RM500 million and the remaining RM1.3 billion will be invested by TM. The total cost of the SUBB investment for a period of ten (10) years is RM1.6 billion with the Government investing RM600 million and TM investing RM1.0 billion.
they added RM1b this year.

84. Offer a more competitive price for broadbands (higher speed at the same price)
85. Increase ethernet broadband speed in public universities to maximum 100 Gbps
86. Widen the coverage and enhance the quality of broadband up to 20 Mbps throughout
the nation (RM1 billion)

afiq10
post Jan 5 2017, 10:26 PM

394 posts

will VDSL vectoring have better ping/latency than ADSL? (this is my main concern)
westlife
post Jan 6 2017, 05:35 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Jan 5 2017, 03:27 PM)
maybe take out copper and replace with fibre
There is no need to remove existing copper cabling as they are still used for telephone line which it is impossible for them to remove.
westlife
post Jan 6 2017, 05:48 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jan 5 2017, 09:59 PM)
they added RM1b this year.

84. Offer a more competitive price for broadbands (higher speed at the same price)
85. Increase ethernet broadband speed in public universities to maximum 100 Gbps
86. Widen the coverage and enhance the quality of broadband up to 20 Mbps throughout
the nation (RM1 billion)

I dun think TM will really invest in new technology to make the existing copper. Given the quality of the copper wire, for certain area they cannot even support 4Mbps or 8Mbps but limits to 1Mbps or 2Mbps.

The existing copper infra is already broken even in terms of profits for TM, to do something just to boost the maximum speed to 100Mbps? They might as well expand the unifi coverage in a faster rate since this is what they are pushing currently.
Ebony & Ivory
post Jan 6 2017, 05:59 AM

959 posts

384/512kbps, 1/2/4/8mbps -> unifi 10?

free or paid upgrade sweat.gif
GOPI56
post Jan 6 2017, 09:08 AM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Jan 6 2017, 06:59 AM)

384/512kbps, 1/2/4/8mbps -> unifi 10?

free or paid upgrade sweat.gif
There is no much information for streamyx users.
dannychen
post Jan 6 2017, 08:52 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 6 2017, 09:08 AM)
There is no much information for streamyx users.
384/512kbps, 1/2/4/8mbps -> unifi 10
SUSnemesisz
post Jan 7 2017, 12:06 PM

176 posts

I dunno if this is new or what but suddenly I got call by TM to upgrade my streamyx from 2 to 4Mbps. Last time I ask they say my place cannot support 4. Last month I see lots of TM guy in my area working with wiring and other thing. And this month I got a call saying that they have upgrade my area and now can support 4Mbps.
mztang52
post Jan 7 2017, 03:23 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(nemesisz @ Jan 7 2017, 01:06 PM)
I dunno if this is new or what but suddenly I got call by TM to upgrade my streamyx from 2 to 4Mbps. Last time I ask they say my place cannot support 4. Last month I see lots of TM guy in my area working with wiring and other thing. And this month I got a call saying that they have upgrade my area and now can support 4Mbps.
But cannot support 8Mbps.
rhytion
post Jan 7 2017, 03:54 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jan 7 2017, 03:23 PM)
But cannot support 8Mbps.
I wonder why TM don't provide 8Mbps support since it's already 2017 and instead just upgrade to provide 4Mbps support. With this kind of effort put in I wonder how are we going to get minimum 20Mbps internet for 50% of households in our country by 2020 as someone mentioned before. confused.gif

This post has been edited by rhytion: Jan 7 2017, 03:56 PM
Maxieos
post Jan 8 2017, 11:41 PM

3,757 posts

How to know which area support the VDSL2 ?
JayceOoi
post Jan 9 2017, 10:08 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Any news today?
ricstc
post Jan 13 2017, 10:08 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ May 18 2016, 12:54 AM)
I have just chatted with my friend from TM and he revealed that TM is now testing a new technology called VDSL2 Vectoring. With this new technology, existing copper cables throughout nationwide will be capable to reach 100 Mbps. This new technology has already taken place in Europe and US.

VDSL2 Vectoring is noise-canceling technology. It cuts out all of the noise, or interference, among the VDSL2 lines in a bundle. With no interference, every VDSL2 line can operate at peak speeds, as if it were the only line in the bundle.

So we are looking at new Streamyx plans with 30, 50 or even 100Mbps!
what kind of plan are you using now that your speed test is so terra? what plan or hack is this?

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:54 AM