Ramjade
post May 13 2016, 10:44 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ May 13 2016, 10:06 AM)

What fish oil supplement should I take with a typical controlled Malaysian diet, controlled in the sense where the usual common unhealthy junk (such as packed snacks, carbonated drinks, high cholesterol foods like squid) is avoided to help with a very healthy lifestyle?

There seem to be several that I came across, but:
> they are to be taken with Western diet
> possibility of available of Mecury, etc.

Please advise.
Nordic naturals
Carlson labs (if you are on budget)

These two products have been tested by IFOS for purity and freshness.
Ramjade
post May 13 2016, 11:00 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ May 13 2016, 10:52 AM)
Yes, fish supplements are expensive, and thanks, but what about the lead, mercury, etc. content?
Why liquid over tablets? Aren't tablets more convenient?
From Nordic Naturals, what would you recommend?
IFOS tested fish oil are free from those and guaranteed freshness (oil is not rancid - rancid fish oil is bad for you)
Liquid is cheaper in the long run. Capsule for convenience and on the go.
Liquid: Nordic naturals omega-3
Capsule: Nordic naturals ultimate
Ramjade
post May 16 2016, 09:04 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ May 15 2016, 10:36 PM)
Any problem with common brands like Seven Seas, a big name pharma product?
Not certified by IFOS. They can say molecularly distilled but how you know if the oil is not rancid or still contain contaminations?

And how do you know if the fish oil you consume is in ethyl ester (EE) form and not triglyceride (TG) form? There's a big difference between EE and TG. TG being more expensive and better
A bit old news but still relevant
http://ausfoodnews.com.au/2015/01/22/fish-...arch-study.html

If they can show me their certificate of analysis + certified by IFOS and in TG form, I will buy regardless of brand. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 16 2016, 09:06 AM
Ramjade
post May 16 2016, 01:27 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ May 16 2016, 11:56 AM)
What are their amount of EPA & DHA ?

NOW Nutrition has about 500 EPA /250 DHA
PRISTIN has 396 EPA and 264 DHA
325mg EPA/225mg DHA/capsule. It might be lesser but it's TG (better absorbed, less prone to oxidation). When your fish oil is in EE, it will be much more concentrated than TG but it's poorly absorbed. Goes rancid faster.
As far as I know NOW refused to give me their certificate of analysis. For fish oil, I will not take something that they won't show their freshness and purity. Why hide the certificate if your product is good?
Don't know if Pristin is EE or TG. But I am sure it's EE cause is cheaper to produce. Very few oil in the market are in TG form.
Ramjade
post May 16 2016, 01:57 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(dextm @ May 16 2016, 01:34 PM)
The EPA and DHA is very little. 2 capsule = 1 Nordic/Pristin content of EPA and DHA. shocking.gif
Ramjade
post May 16 2016, 05:30 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ May 16 2016, 04:17 PM)
Yea you are right. Something is fishy with the fish oil. Pun intended.  laugh.gif

How do I classify EE/TG? It is shown in the Cert of Analysis?

Is there other places I could get Nordic/ Carlson besides via iherbs?
Ask the manufacturer straight away. Email them. For IFOS, it's stated. There's a ultra selection (highly concentrated) on IFOS site. You can run through the whole thing to find out which oil have been certified.

Amazon, local reseller at klcc (bloody expensive - personal experience - call them up). Almost double the original price. laugh.gif
Ramjade
post May 16 2016, 11:19 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ May 16 2016, 11:07 PM)
As expected from a big company. Questionable quality.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 16 2016, 11:20 PM
Ramjade
post May 20 2016, 08:39 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ May 20 2016, 08:22 PM)
For Omega-3 content per consumption, the more the better (for example Nordic Naturals 1280mg > 690mg), or...?
Yes. Higher the better. But keep in mind, it needs to be in TG form, oil is not ranicd/contaminated.
Ramjade
post Sep 11 2016, 06:49 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 11 2016, 04:56 PM)
Kordel's Hi Omega fish oil good or not? Seems most affordable from the pharmacy...
Affordable does not means good. For malaysian market, pristin.
If you can get access to fish oil sold in US, Nordic Naturals is the best but it will burn a hole in your pocket. For those who bothers about money, Carlson very finest liquid fish oil.
The 2 brand I mentioned above are
(i) have high EPA-DHA ratio (which means take once a day is enough + lesser amount to consume)
(ii) certified by IFOS that the fish oil is free of contamination/pollutants, fresh (very important factor!), meets the label description.
(iii) triglycerides form (personal preference-absorb better, less prone to oxidation compare to ethyl ester oil-most oil on the market are ethyl ester which are cheaper to produce)

Something to look into when buying fish oil
http://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/diet-and-f...120-12uof5.html
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4300506/

This is exactly why I choose IFOS certified fish oil. With IFOS, the manufacturer cannot lie about their products and the consumer have a 3rd party vetification.

Ramjade
post Sep 12 2016, 07:59 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Sep 12 2016, 12:35 AM)
Pls do not take fish oil if you have low blood pressure cos it will further decrease your BP.  Studies have proven consumptions of fish oil helped those with high BP  but is not advisable for those with low BP. So do take with care!
I don't know about low blood pressure situation. But I am student with normal blood prrssure and I take 1 capsule of Nordic a day and so far, my blood pressure have never drop.
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2016, 12:40 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ Sep 17 2016, 10:54 AM)
Thanks for informing, nauticat99! I quickly stopped the one who started taking it a few days ago right after reading what you said and double-checking your point. You're a lifesaver!
If you have normal, it won't lower your blood pressure. I have been taking for >5 years and my BP is always in the same place.
Ramjade
post Sep 18 2016, 01:47 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Strength @ Sep 18 2016, 01:39 PM)
Are you selling Nordic fish oil? You seem to be promoting it a lot in this thread.  laugh.gif

Do you know where to buy Carlson fish oil?
I only recommend and consume what's good. If there are other cheaper brand which is certified by IFOS and in triglyceride form, I will have no problem buying it too.

Yes. I carry both nordic and carlson. I consume Nordic when I am on the go and carlson when I am at home.

Check your PM.
Ramjade
post Sep 18 2016, 02:32 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Sep 18 2016, 02:28 PM)
Hi, does taking fish oil cause fatty liver?  I take 1-2 tsp of Nordic Naturals Liquid everyday.

I heard from someone that taking coconut oil will cause fatty liver  and am wondering if it's the same for fish oil.

Nope. I have been taking coconut oil for 6 months + and my liver enzyme test are normal. In fact coconut oil is one of those oil which is actually recommended for cirrhosis patients (people who have liver damage).
Fatty liver is caused by 2 stuff:
(i) alcohol drinker
(ii) obese people who takes lots of fried food (cooking palm oil is the fault here)
Ramjade
post Sep 18 2016, 02:39 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Sep 18 2016, 02:36 PM)
Ahh...good to know.  Thank you!

2 tsp is a lot. I usually take 1 tsp/day to save cost. laugh.gif Did uou refrigerate the fish oil?
Ramjade
post Sep 18 2016, 03:07 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Sep 18 2016, 02:54 PM)
Haha is it?  I used to take 1 tablespoon  biggrin.gif

Yes, I keep the fish oil in the fridge with my vitamins.
If you are perfectly healthy, then 1 tsp/day is enough. If you have disease like heart problem, eye problem, painful joints then >2 tsp.
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2016, 11:23 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ Nov 3 2016, 09:21 AM)
I've been taking iHerb Nordic Naturals, Omega-3, Lemon, 1000 mg, 180 Soft Gels for months now, seems to be working well but it took some time for my body to adjust.
Carlson and Nordic are good brand with high quality fish oil. Highly recommended. Take carlson if your budget cannot afford Nordic. If you can afford Nordic, go for Nordic.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 3 2016, 11:37 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2016, 11:41 AM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Nov 3 2016, 11:31 AM)
Hi.

How well?

Any difference?

You can check reviews on amazon. Those are real users.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 3 2016, 11:47 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 29 2017, 01:23 PM

24,358 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Feb 28 2017, 10:21 PM)
Anyone tried now foods ultra omega 3 fish oil? Or nutrigold triple strength?
I wouldn't take now. No IFOS certification and they refuse to give me certificate of analysis. Nutrigold is ok as they are certified by IFOS.

Some now products are good. My family uses some of their products.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 29 2017, 01:24 PM

0.0266sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:58 AM