Kodi Official Discussion Thread V2, Free and Open Source (GPL) Media Center

yc1437
post Oct 29 2016, 09:22 PM

159 posts

Hi all sifus, I just bought a Himedia Q5 pro which come pre-installed with Kodi Mimic Superbox Mod v2 skin, with various content. However I mess up the menu and worst press reset skin before making any backups. Now I wish to reset back the kodi but where can I get the installer for Mimic Superbox Mod v2 skin? Thanks in advance, had tried Google but only this forum talked about Mimic Superbox Mod v2 skin.
yc1437
post Oct 30 2016, 09:55 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 29 2016, 11:11 PM)
you can get any of the available skins quite easily, no need for special backup.

go to settings, appearance, skin, wait a few seconds for the list to come out, choose what u want.
Thank for the reply. What I need is to restore to original menu with various addon drop down list. I know skin can be changed at the setting.

yc1437
post Oct 30 2016, 01:36 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 30 2016, 10:12 AM)
what do u mean by "original menu"?

u mean every repo, addon u added, enabled or preinstalled?

how did u lose that in the first place?
I thought pressing the skin reset option can back to original layout....
yc1437
post Oct 30 2016, 05:20 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 30 2016, 02:20 PM)
ah, i think i know what u mean...

u had an customized superbox mimic v2 that came with the box.

u pressed the skin reset, correct?

the reset removes all the customized skin settings for font, vertical/horizontal, colors, shades of black, etc., back to defaults.

once u do that, they are gone - u will need to rebuild the skin settings/subsettings one by one if u want it.

not too difficult, i tried it before. can actually be fun to build it to yr own taste.
just curious... assuming yr box is quite new... can u check this superbox build version u have, is it dated 18 may 2016?

if yes, it confirms there is no more update since then... which is no good... i already stopped using this build.
Bro where to check the version of superbuild?

yc1437
post Oct 31 2016, 10:55 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 30 2016, 06:09 PM)
which skin r u on now?

.. if on mimic v2, it is under a special option in the main menu where u get to update the build - open that and see if what version u on, what is available.

.. if confluence, u can see it in settings... one of the options there.

a build skin has only a few differences with the basic confluence, esp the look, background and colors; structurally, all the rest are still the same.
Dont think can check the version as I've just reset my kodi and install Nemesis build, really nice. Couldn't locate the Mimic superbuild installer... Anyway my seller told me the Mimic Mod V2 I got no longer get updated.
yc1437
post Oct 31 2016, 11:34 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 31 2016, 11:04 AM)
ok, never mind.

as long as u are now happy with a new build!

one thing u may want to check...

depending on how you "reset" kodi before u reinstalled some other build, i.e. removed everything totally or kept the user data folder, some kodi files/folders can stay on in the memory incl kodi recycle bin, taking up memory.

superbox build can take up to 2gb memory whereas a typical average build is <1gb.

yr g5pro has only 8gb total, so do check this bit.

can check with es file explorer.
Thanks for the info. Yes my Q5 Pro internal storage left ~2gb after all.

yc1437
post Oct 31 2016, 05:25 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 31 2016, 11:40 AM)
that is to be expected from a 2/8gb box net of opsys and apps.

it's fine for most purposes, except for torrent based apps that need big memory to work, e.g. popcorn time and kodi/quasar.

it is for this reason i did not buy this model alto i really want the hdr/60fps/10bit/dtsx capabilities.

now waiting for an upgrade version, hopefully a "q5iipro 2/16gb android 6.0"! biggrin.gif
You may consider Q10 Pro which is same features as Q5 Pro but 16gb internal storage. However it is bulky due to incorporate hdd enclosure.

0.2023sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:33 AM