Kodi Official Discussion Thread V2, Free and Open Source (GPL) Media Center

Maxieos
post Feb 25 2017, 03:24 AM

3,757 posts

Hi , been sometimes i didn't drop by.
Just wanted to ask , How to backup kodi tranfer to new devices and upgrade it to a newer version and retain the addons ?

eg
Kodi v15 device dual core xiaomi
backup all
Transfer to kodi v17 to a quad core media play ( still search for reliable android mediaplayer)
Maxieos
post Feb 26 2017, 12:15 AM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 25 2017, 03:32 AM)
Use the Backup addon. Can be found in the Kodi repo.

From v15 to v17 is a huge jump and a lot has changed under the hood. I'd recommend that you reinstall the Addons afresh on the V17 instead.
Hm.. quite a lot of addons need to install. Is there any other way to list out the addon name which I had install to a text file ?
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 25 2017, 10:07 AM)
v15 to v17... not advisable. the 2 versions are too different.
u will likely end up redoing everything.
with same version, can use the methods already described or... what i use:
use file explorer to copy and paste the folder org.xbmc.kodi from one device to another.
that speed is good enough for most addons incl exodus, icdrama.
possible explanations:
.. u r on wifi, too far away.
.. u hv too much stuff in yr box, memory/storage running out.
.. hardware acceleration not set correctly.
Nothing much can be do since xiaomi lags and 17 not working very well and crash out.
Possible way to retain the by backup ver 15 addon , install on a new media player ver15 , then upgrade from ver 15 to 17 ?
Never done that before , but did you tried before ?
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 25 2017, 02:26 PM)
I gave up and subscribed to CloudTV for this month. tongue.gif
what is cloudTV ? which and how to subscribe ? costly ?
Maxieos
post Feb 26 2017, 09:29 PM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 26 2017, 12:39 AM)
Can be easily Googled. Subscribe from the app or website. To me, it's not, affordable for me.
A lot of Cloudtv , can recommend me one ?

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 26 2017, 02:39 AM)
no... it doesn't work like that.

when u upgrade from one version to another, many things old will not work - repos, addons, dependencies.

u still need to get new. cleaner to start afresh.

yes, kodi 17 is more demanding than 16 or 15.
Ok , guess need to list out all the repo and etc.I install a lot one by one during the olympic , and sometimes the repo auto install thousand channel list too.
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 26 2017, 04:24 AM)
You don't have to install all addons..only those that do what you need and are still functioning.. Personally, don't think I have more than 10 video addons installed. There's already a suggestive list on page one.

Possible to backup as described..only results are mixed. As already pointed out, Krypton is a whole new beast and very fussy if asked to migrate addons, etc to its new format. I updated once from Jarvis and settings, addons, custom code, etc were successfully migrated. But ran into some issues and had to roll back. Tried again a few days later (same installation and device) and surprisingly after updating to Krypton, launching it either crashes or shows a blank screen. So, roll back again... YMMV... For best results, do a fresh install and setup.. Only take a few minutes. smile.gif
Search the garage sales section... Sure got a few sellers willing to provide such..
Guess only way to do fresh install. Will list them down one by one sad.gif many trouble.

Will let you guys know if I encounter any error because you all really helpful thumbup.gif
Maxieos
post Apr 15 2017, 10:20 PM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 14 2017, 10:56 PM)
do not jump into that conclusion so soon, better reserve judgment.

say bye-bye ONLY if u have used enough of the ALTERNATIVES offer in kodi and other apps - what u like and what u dun.

"pro-sports"... i assume u mean live sports telecast - this will be your most challenging task.

keep in mind: live sports telecast is worth BILLIONS of $, everyone in the biz will try to stop u from getting free.
Since you mention about it , which kodi interface is similar with A$tro navigation ?
I read somewhere few plugin reassemble it.
Pseudotv plugin + sickbeard auto upload.Any gudie around installing them and work with kodi addon tv channel ?
Thank you smile.gif
Maxieos
post Apr 18 2017, 12:44 AM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 16 2017, 12:02 AM)
i have not come across anything useful like that.

i can think of using favorites as shortcuts.

but give it a month or 2, more than half would be dead as addons and plugins die off, need new ones.
I don't know about the addon but I am interested on the skin interface whether it's possible to set it similar to a$tro.
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 16 2017, 02:35 AM)
Asking about Live TV with EPG Guide? Can be a pain to setup and maintain.. Especially if free. Need to have a bunch of addons and setup the channels to call up the particular channel from the live TV section of the addons. Major issues are dead links. Feel free to take a crack at it.
Sorry , I do get it's a addon but it is a skin with addon ? Though of getting the skin only implemented into kodi to work and similar to a$tro function.?
Maxieos
post Jan 13 2018, 07:37 PM

3,757 posts

voncraneAVFAN

Not much related with kodi but more on how do I connect HDMI to a LCD Monitor.
What device converter I should get splitting up HDMI to DVI and sound ?
HDMI in , DVI out on monitor

The problem is the LCD is or something with 16:10 which is not 16:10.Most probably only support 1440x900.

I only know HDMI only support HD or full HD resolution but not other resolution , only converter box will work but I didn't find any result on which boxes will work.

0.0731sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:58 AM