Kodi Official Discussion Thread V2, Free and Open Source (GPL) Media Center

NotTheOne
post Sep 17 2016, 04:07 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 14 2016, 01:25 PM)
do u have an android box or just the sharp smart tv?

if just the tv, try using both remotes to navigate. conventional mouse may not work due to the apps tailored to the smart tv, not a generic box.

if u r just starting with androids, it will be diff to get kodi into yr tv (well, easy for those who already know kodi).

see, the smart tv is meant to just install the apps and play.

kodi is special, a platform, need to key in a lot of stuff for a good build.
but, don't give up. try to build it yrself slowly. for a start, try these:

superepo - this is a great repo, enable a few addons that u have read people talk about.
http://srp.nu
adriansupertv - some links no longer work, but some still work.
http://teamavengers.net23.net/AdrianSuper/repo
I don't have a box, only installed the Kodi on the UE630X, and I can open and navigate through the Kodi fine.

Which air remote do you use? I'm thinking of getting the A2 - does that come with a USB receiver to plug at the USB port of the TV?

I will prefer going with a Build because of high learning curve in installing repos and selecting the addons - which one will you recommend?

Lastly, can you share what settings I will need to do for Kodi, i.e what is the known good practices?
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2016, 10:20 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Sep 17 2016, 04:07 AM)
I don't have a box, only installed the Kodi on the UE630X, and I can open and navigate through the Kodi fine.

Which air remote do you use? I'm thinking of getting the A2 - does that come with a USB receiver to plug at the USB port of the TV?

I will prefer going with a Build because of high learning curve in installing repos and selecting the addons - which one will you recommend?

Lastly, can you share what settings I will need to do for Kodi, i.e what is the known good practices?
for ue630x, i am fine with the tv remotes, not using anything else.
i am not sure if some other remote will work as like i said, apps for the tv may be customized.
but u can try, other remote may need to be paired first.
u may want to check with other users in the ue630x thread.

i have tried many builds. i find most not useful as they become obsolete fast.
now using superbox which is the best i have used - this one has no update since may.
i will dump it some point in time as many addons not longer work with it.

kodi 16.1 default settings are fine, no need to tweak.
tweaking was necessary for older versions, older devices, small memory devices and special setups.
for std devices, no need.

TSvoncrane
post Sep 17 2016, 10:29 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Sep 17 2016, 04:07 AM)

Yes, the Minix Neo A2/A2 Lite Airmouse does come with a USB dongle...

The Beast build..

Kodi settings.. Go through the settings and adjust as necessary depending on personal preferences..
blurjoey
post Sep 17 2016, 01:41 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Sep 15 2016, 08:26 AM)
Alternative to AzDrama, I will recommend ICdrama which give you more options for the links.
Install ICDrama in Kodi and there is nothing inside... This correct?
shaeshi
post Sep 17 2016, 10:07 PM

96 posts

Dear Siffus,
I'm using fiber broadband 10mbps plan, tried to play video 1080 or 480 in KODI its keep buffering especially live streaming video such as football [EPL]. However if i use MYIPTV apk its smooth. Do i need to do any tweak setting in KODI in order to play live streaming or 1080 video quality to run smooth. Currently iam using Hookies build for KODI.
TSvoncrane
post Sep 17 2016, 10:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(shaeshi @ Sep 17 2016, 10:07 PM)
Dear Siffus,
I'm using fiber broadband 10mbps plan, tried to play video 1080 or 480 in KODI its keep buffering especially live streaming video such as football [EPL]. However if i use MYIPTV apk its smooth. Do i need to do any tweak setting in KODI in order to play live streaming or 1080 video quality to run smooth. Currently iam using Hookies build for KODI.
If the source is overloaded (as is often for EPL streams), buffering will occur... Doesn't matter if your network can handle 1080p or not..
shaeshi
post Sep 17 2016, 10:14 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 17 2016, 10:11 PM)
If the source is overloaded (as is often for EPL streams), buffering will occur... Doesn't matter if your network can handle 1080p or not..
Thanks bro, But i watch normal 1080 movie also its buffering as well. Thats the reason asking need to do any tweak setting? or need to U/G the BW
TSvoncrane
post Sep 17 2016, 10:36 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(shaeshi @ Sep 17 2016, 10:14 PM)
Thanks bro, But i watch normal 1080 movie also its buffering as well. Thats the reason asking need to do any tweak setting? or need to U/G the BW
If it isn't the source, then perhaps your network isn't ideal... Sure you can increase the size of the cache & the speed at which it fills (Read about advancedsettings.xml)... For most, it works and others, well...not... In summary, the following works for me on an Android box..:
Latest stable Kodi version (Stock_no Build) + Unifi 10Mbps + Healthy network (Ethernet, etc) + Good 1080p source = Profit!
muncheno
post Sep 18 2016, 10:56 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Sep 17 2016, 01:41 PM)
Install ICDrama in Kodi and there is nothing inside... This correct?
U need to install also the script.module.urlresolver-2.10.0.zip
AVFAN
post Sep 18 2016, 11:55 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(shaeshi @ Sep 17 2016, 10:07 PM)
Dear Siffus,
welcome to the world of kodi! biggrin.gif

over time, u will understand it better.

see, kodi is a platform where thousands of aspiring developers do their stuff and put the links there for others to use foc.

some do a better job than others; some maintain well, some don't care much.

add on top traffic congestion, your local broadband hiccups, country geoblocks, anything can happen.

theoretically, 10mbps can do 1080p rips smoothly but speed is only one of many requirements.

higher speeds may not necessary do better for reasons mentioned.

"tweaking" in kodi will not help a bit if the stream itself is poor.

so, it is about trying diff links in diff addons (for same video), play the best one u can find.

to that effect, understandably, many users prefer kodi as a "one stop" center - do movies, news, sports, anime, youtube, eng or other language - all in one place. but alas, that does not work very well, pretty poor for some videos.

it is for this reason one is better off using both kodi (and diff addons, links) as well as standalone apps for the same streams.

shaeshi
post Sep 18 2016, 08:40 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 18 2016, 11:55 AM)
welcome to the world of kodi! biggrin.gif

over time, u will understand it better.

see, kodi is a platform where thousands of aspiring developers do their stuff and put the links there for others to use foc.

some do a better job than others; some maintain well, some don't care much.

add on top traffic congestion, your local broadband hiccups, country geoblocks, anything can happen.

theoretically, 10mbps can do 1080p rips smoothly but speed is only one of many requirements.

higher speeds may not necessary do better for reasons mentioned.

"tweaking" in kodi will not help a bit if the stream itself is poor.

so, it is about trying diff links in diff addons (for same video), play the best one u can find.
to that effect, understandably, many users prefer kodi as a "one stop" center - do movies, news, sports, anime, youtube, eng or other language - all in one place. but alas, that does not work very well, pretty poor for some videos.

it is for this reason one is better off using both kodi (and diff addons, links) as well as standalone apps for the same streams.
Wow, Awsome reply.. thanks.
shaeshi
post Sep 18 2016, 08:42 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 17 2016, 10:36 PM)
If it isn't the source, then perhaps your network isn't ideal... Sure you can increase the size of the cache & the speed at which it fills (Read about advancedsettings.xml)... For most, it works and others, well...not... In summary, the following works for me on an Android box..:
Latest stable Kodi version (Stock_no Build) + Unifi 10Mbps + Healthy network (Ethernet, etc) + Good 1080p source = Profit!
Thanks bro, currently iam on WIFI connection due to MODEM location is far as alternate option can I use power line adapter so I can use LAN connection to my KODI box?
TSvoncrane
post Sep 18 2016, 11:48 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(shaeshi @ Sep 18 2016, 08:42 PM)
Thanks bro, currently iam on WIFI connection due to MODEM location is far as alternate option can I use power line adapter so I can use LAN connection to my KODI box?
Yes you could. However powerline adapters will only work on the same electrical phase. So confirm that both circuits are on the same phase before purchase.. There's also CAT6 cabling.. brows.gif
shaeshi
post Sep 18 2016, 11:55 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 18 2016, 11:48 PM)
Yes you could. However powerline adapters will only work on the same electrical phase. So confirm that both circuits are on the same phase before purchase.. There's also CAT6 cabling.. brows.gif
How to identify that electrical in same phase or not? Any advice
TSvoncrane
post Sep 19 2016, 12:29 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(shaeshi @ Sep 18 2016, 11:55 PM)
How to identify that electrical in same phase or not?  Any advice
You'll have to go take a look at your circuit-breaker panel.. If after awhile, it still looks like alien tech? Get an electrician.. smile.gif
shaeshi
post Sep 19 2016, 02:31 PM

96 posts

Ok
cchean
post Sep 19 2016, 05:26 PM

176 posts

I am using a powerline adapter. I got my electrician to advise. So the connection is in the same phase and circuit.
Having this set-up has worked very well for me.
misz_sha
post Sep 20 2016, 10:37 PM

25 posts

Hi all sifu, i just get to know this KODI things, really newbie. I have problem that need to be encounter. I install KODI to my hubby PC. I got the problem whereby when I play the video, the video keluar red line byk sgt. All video also the same. Firstly i thought maybe some of the torrent or provider have problem with video, but unfortunately not.

I need some advise here.

Details of the device:

SYSTEMS MODEL: OPTIPLEX 745
RAM: 4.00 GB
MONITOR: DELL HD

Khalid21
post Sep 20 2016, 11:05 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(misz_sha @ Sep 20 2016, 10:37 PM)
Hi all sifu, i just get to know this KODI things, really newbie. I have problem that need to be encounter. I install KODI to my hubby PC. I got the problem whereby when I play the video, the video keluar red line byk sgt. All video also the same. Firstly i thought maybe some of the torrent or provider have problem with video, but unfortunately not.

I need some advise here.

Details of the device:

SYSTEMS MODEL: OPTIPLEX 745
RAM: 4.00 GB
MONITOR: DELL HD
Set resolution as monitor spec ( model)
NotTheOne
post Sep 21 2016, 01:38 AM

241 posts

short answer: look at the fuses on your tnb meter outside your house wall - if only one fuse (small rectangular black box) then you have a single phase.

302 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:10 AM