iTunes 7.0.2 : Unable to connect to Update server, Windows Version

TSpreducer
post Jan 8 2007, 03:08 PM, updated 19y ago

2,839 posts

hey guys,

im badly need help. my itunes doesnt want to connect to the server. i cant update or restore my ipod.

Connection attempt to Apple web site was unsuccessful.
The network connection was reset.
Connection attempt to iTunes Store was unsuccessful.
The network connection timed out.
Secure connection attempt to iTunes Store was successful

help me pls !!

This post has been edited by preducer: Jan 8 2007, 10:16 PM
artfiq14
post Jan 8 2007, 05:02 PM

110 posts

me too.im trying to restore my ipod using itunes7 and it says the network is not working etc.
mac user
TSpreducer
post Jan 8 2007, 10:06 PM

2,839 posts

just tried to restore on mac, unable to connect to server. same prob

can someone check is the server down ? can music store be assess ?
OKLY
post Jan 8 2007, 10:08 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Most probably the problem is caused by this.
TSpreducer
post Jan 8 2007, 10:10 PM

2,839 posts

i was thinking that could be the problem but the speed is getting better. is there any other way to restore without using itunes ?
LittleGhost
post Jan 8 2007, 10:11 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

YEAH RIGHT

Finally someone created a thread about this.

I'm in the same boat as you all.

Anyone knows if i should send it to Apple Warranty Centre?
OKLY
post Jan 8 2007, 10:29 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Jan 8 2007, 10:10 PM)
i was thinking that could be the problem but the speed is getting better. is there any other way to restore without using itunes ?
Pinging www.apple.com.akadns.net [17.254.0.91] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 17.254.0.91:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

No connection at all to Apple's server from my connection.
The Scourge
post Jan 8 2007, 11:11 PM

367 posts

Yup, Gracenote CDDB also won't connect/update tracks.....
oneeleven
post Jan 9 2007, 11:26 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(The Scourge @ Jan 8 2007, 11:11 PM)
Yup, Gracenote CDDB also won't connect/update tracks.....
Finally found some ppl discussing same problem...

I'm a bit of n00b at this, will Yamipod or some other software work and do the same thing?

Bummer that other web stuff getting back to normal except for iTunes. What's happened to Apple support?

rhesusv
post Jan 9 2007, 11:31 PM

182 posts

act you can use the itunes CD provided by Apple when you 1st bought yr ipod. It should help you restore yr ipod to the factory settings.

but if still tak boleh , then jsut sent it to any mac shops . that time when i messed with my IPod , i couldn't do anything at all. neither my comp nor my itunes is detecting it , no choice so have to send it in. i dunno wat they did , but i got a functioning ipod after that.

This post has been edited by rhesusv: Jan 9 2007, 11:33 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 9 2007, 11:32 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

All Apple support on standby at MacWorld 2007 icon_idea.gif
TSpreducer
post Jan 10 2007, 10:56 AM

2,839 posts

my ipod is 5.5g so it doesnt come with cd and cant use ipod updater. need to use itunes sad.gif
siawgu
post Jan 10 2007, 11:34 AM

996 posts

i also one of the victim kenot connect to iTunes Store
OKLY
post Jan 10 2007, 02:31 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Pinging www.apple.com.akadns.net [17.254.0.91] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 17.254.0.91:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

Still unable to connect.
LittleGhost
post Jan 10 2007, 04:32 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

i was able to ping the site but still updating firmware through the ipod did not work.

babyk
post Jan 10 2007, 04:43 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

i have no problems on updating it smile.gif
LittleGhost
post Jan 10 2007, 04:46 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

something's definitely wrong with Itunes.

The latest firmware for the 5Gs should be 1.2.1 right? The Update button is disabled on my PC and it Itunes reports that the current 1.1.2 firmware i have right now is the latest.
babyk
post Jan 10 2007, 04:48 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

hehe...come out and we update on the spot at E-Gate laugh.gif
oneeleven
post Jan 10 2007, 06:38 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Jan 10 2007, 04:48 PM)
hehe...come out and we update on the spot at E-Gate laugh.gif
OK, so pls explain, where/what's that? What's it cost?

Many of us are saying, there was no problem with the iTunes we already were using before the earthquake. The web functions stopped working. Will reinstallation from CD solve it?

LittleGhost
post Jan 10 2007, 06:46 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

okay, i found a way to update/restore the firmware to the latest version (1.2.1) instead of the old one without itunes for the 5G and 5.5G enhanced models.

First, download the appropriate firmware from this site

http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/

the downloaded file has an .ipsw extension. It is actually a zip file, change the extension to .zip and extract the contents. Afterwards, change the firmware file's extension to .bin

Next, download ipodwizard from sourceforge, and then proceed to restoring /updating the ipod's firmware using the .bin file.

oneeleven
post Jan 11 2007, 11:28 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 10 2007, 06:46 PM)
okay, i found a way to update/restore the firmware to the latest version (1.2.1) instead of the old one without itunes for the 5G and 5.5G enhanced models.

First, download ....... (etc)
TQ! Good work, so there's hope yet. Any others who try this and get it working please report.

However, it's hard to believe that such a name brand can't/won't get its own site back up and working without all this. After all, isn't Apple supposed to be the ultimate user friendly line?

Doesn't anyone know whom to ask/complain to locally?!?!!

TSpreducer
post Jan 14 2007, 03:41 PM

2,839 posts

method given doesnt work and itunes still cant connect to server sad.gif
abekage
post Jan 14 2007, 08:52 PM

87 posts

I am having the same problem with my iTunes. I can't connect to iTunes Store or do an update. I think the problem is with iTunes web browser, as I can connect to the internet (and Apple pages) just fine using Firefox.

I just want to download podcasts sad.gif
youngkies
post Jan 14 2007, 09:00 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

I think the prob shud be as follow:

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Jan 8 2007, 11:08 PM)
Most probably the problem is caused by this.
because i hv no prob accessing i-tunes and update at all in UK

someone shud email Apple regarding the prob, they might not know what malaysian suffers since the earthquake prob.
LittleGhost
post Jan 14 2007, 09:58 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Jan 14 2007, 03:41 PM)
method given doesnt work and itunes still cant connect to server sad.gif
if your unit can enter diskmode, the solution i provided should logically work properly.
lkm51
post Jan 14 2007, 10:51 PM

Hello! Kennot!
2,260 posts

could it be the international cable disruption problem ?
Sinque
post Jan 15 2007, 01:21 PM

Evertonian
1,199 posts

QUOTE(lkm51 @ Jan 14 2007, 10:51 PM)
could it be the international cable disruption problem ?
You guys still having the same problem today? Mine is super fast today and its the best since the disruptions due to the earthquake.
oneeleven
post Jan 15 2007, 05:13 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 14 2007, 09:58 PM)
if your unit can enter diskmode, the solution i provided should logically work properly.
Are we talking about the same thing? I'm afraid I got your terms wrong....??? rclxub.gif

Disk mode update: My Pod registers in the left hand panel, I can connect Pod and update whatever changes made in iTunes, so doesn't this mean disk mode is OK?

Network connection update: This is the error message when trying to connect to the Apple Store. Gracenotes cannot be accessed to update titles and other info for CDs. This is what has stopped working since the earthquake. It's different from ordinary internet connection to reach Apple webpage.

I reinstalled from CD, which had old version 6. New installation wouldn't accept library from version 7, so downloaded and reinstalled version 7, and old library OK, but still the same problem -- no network.

I'm surprised not more people have complained about it right here. Is it possible only certain owners having this problem, not all? Do any of you have friends who can fully access iTunes?

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Jan 15 2007, 05:19 PM
wintzen
post Jan 15 2007, 06:17 PM

1,416 posts

I have tried to connect to Itunes the whole of last week, but still not able to connect. I did tried to call up apple support to ask for help, but the reply I get is, the itunes store is not launch in malaysia yet, that's why you cant access it. And when I said that I can't even update my firmware from 1.2 to 1.2.1, the lady said that I can download it from the apple website....sigh
minde
post Jan 15 2007, 07:29 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

cant connect to check updates. yea using v7 WinXP here.
LittleGhost
post Jan 15 2007, 07:40 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jan 15 2007, 05:13 PM)
ah, i'm sorry, i've mistaken you for the thread starter, i thought you were having problems restoring the ipod.

oneeleven
post Jan 15 2007, 10:04 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(wintzen @ Jan 15 2007, 06:17 PM)
the reply I get is, the itunes store is not launch in malaysia yet, that's why you cant access it.
Sounds like a load of bull vapour excuses. I don't think she's ever used iTunes herself at all.

OK so no store in Malaysia, but I logged into the Japan one which was working fine before. Never mind, no store, we don't buy, but what about Gracenotes service for original CDs we already paid for?

QUOTE(wintzen @ Jan 15 2007, 06:17 PM)
tried to call up apple support to ask for help, but
What's the number, any email? Maybe if more people get on their case they'll do something (or at least educate themselves about the facts instead of spewing out crap).

ymtoh
post Jan 15 2007, 11:42 PM

155 posts

IT's not because of the Earth quake damaged link or anything... cos rite... i was trying to restore my ipod whole nite yesterday... but then i couldn't connect to the server like u all...

i tried to install the ipod updater from the CD provided when we bought the ipod... but then after installing it, the updater kept on crashing...

so i gave up...

then this morning... i reached my office... i tried using the itunes i had in that PC... guess what it works!!! the version is 7.0.1...

so i think there is something wrong wif the 7.0.2...

u all can try getting 7.0.1 to restore ur ipod...

i got mine done!
wintzen
post Jan 16 2007, 08:07 AM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jan 15 2007, 10:04 PM)
Sounds like a load of bull vapour excuses. I don't think she's ever used iTunes herself at all.

OK so no store in Malaysia, but I logged into the Japan one which was working fine before. Never mind, no store, we don't buy, but what about Gracenotes service for original CDs we already paid for?
What's the number, any email? Maybe if more people get on their case they'll do something (or at least educate themselves about the facts instead of spewing out crap).

well i am not convinced about what she said lor, the call centre doesnt sound local...could be in india......the toll free is 1800 803-638. no email address available.

but what she said is not true, because previously i am still able to connect to itunes store, just that i can't buy any unless i have those countries specify credit card.
oneeleven
post Jan 16 2007, 11:57 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(ymtoh @ Jan 15 2007, 11:42 PM)

u all can try getting 7.0.1 to restore ur ipod...

i got mine done!
I uninstalled, deleted the left-over 7.0.2 library.it file. Then installed 7.0.1.8 but still "no network" message. Uninstalled again, tried with 6.0, no luck. Even tried the repair mode.

The copy in office is working still? Can reach Store and Gracenotes?

Sigh. What now? rclxub.gif

siawgu
post Jan 17 2007, 10:14 AM

996 posts

any clue how to solve the iTunes "Unable to connect to iTunes Store server" problem?

This post has been edited by siawgu: Jan 17 2007, 10:19 AM
wintzen
post Jan 17 2007, 05:33 PM

1,416 posts

guys, have just tried it again...and miraculously, this time it is connected..
so hurry and try if you could connect to itune store....
civic98
post Jan 17 2007, 05:47 PM

1,255 posts

Just want to share this, don't leave your iTunes at the iTunes Store page (whether leaving it on or before quiting), if u do, you'll get stuck when operating from Front Row if it can't connect to iTunes Store.

Reason is iTunes will prompt u that it couldn't connect, waiting for your response but u can't press "OK" from Front Row.
oneeleven
post Jan 17 2007, 09:11 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jan 17 2007, 05:47 PM)
Just want to share this, don't leave your iTunes at the iTunes Store page (whether leaving it on or before quiting), if u do, you'll get stuck when operating from Front Row if it can't connect to iTunes Store.

Reason is iTunes will prompt u that it couldn't connect, waiting for your response but u can't press "OK" from Front Row.
Dunno Front Row ...... please explain, apologies, n00by here.

Interesting discovery. I downloaded and installed 7.0.2 on another PC and reached the Store with icons of chains instead of any coloured CD covers. Did not plug in iPod nor register anything. After a while, it gave the network problem message.

Next, deleted/uninstalled/reinstalled, got message about no Store in your country, but clicked on Japan choice, and voila, opened with J-stuff! Unfortunately that PC didn't have a working CD drive, so I couldn't test the Gracenotes DB.

rclxub.gif What to make of all this??? shakehead.gif

wintzen
post Jan 18 2007, 08:44 AM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jan 17 2007, 09:11 PM)
Dunno Front Row ...... please explain, apologies, n00by here.

Interesting discovery. I downloaded and installed 7.0.2  on another PC and reached the Store with icons of chains instead of any coloured CD covers. Did not plug in iPod nor register anything. After a while, it gave the network problem message. 

Next, deleted/uninstalled/reinstalled, got message about no Store in your country, but clicked on Japan choice, and voila, opened with J-stuff! Unfortunately that PC didn't have a working CD drive, so I couldn't test the Gracenotes DB.

rclxub.gif  What to make of all this???  shakehead.gif

i also have the same issue, i managed to download my firmware update, but the itunes store is showing all those broken chain.....

oneeleven
post Jan 18 2007, 08:16 PM

1,515 posts

I just posted this as a separate topic. Maybe some of you here who have experience with these could suggest something:

---------------------------------------------

iTunes has stopped working properly for several of us iPod owners on LKN.

Can anyone recommend one of these do the job of automatically retrieving titles off a CD loaded into your PC?

Musicbrainz

Free CDDB

minde
post Jan 20 2007, 05:46 AM

2,911 posts

tried at 5.45.. it worked!

This post has been edited by minde: Jan 20 2007, 05:54 AM
wintzen
post Jan 20 2007, 09:05 AM

1,416 posts

it's down again....seems like the connection is still unstable......
going up and down.....cant even download any podcast....
zincbreaker
post Jan 20 2007, 05:44 PM

Was having this network connection problem the whole of today until I connected VPN to my company (i worked for a US company). Not sure what this means..but I am connected now. Hope this helps.

tookinen
post Jan 20 2007, 06:22 PM

Wish you were here
2,269 posts

darn
i've tried installing a new iTunes it keeps on stopping at the part
"registering iTunese automation server" doh.gif doh.gif
anyone has this same error ? doh.gif
minde
post Jan 20 2007, 07:09 PM

2,911 posts

try to connect it on at 5.45am .. mayb it works...
ianng
post Jan 23 2007, 02:55 AM

so does anyone have a final solution on how to fix this? or has tm net blocked iTunes
TSpreducer
post Jan 23 2007, 12:06 PM

2,839 posts

^ hope not, it has been almost 2 weeks. i cant use my ipod sad.gif
Blackhart
post Jan 24 2007, 09:51 PM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

Yeah I have trouble accessing Gracenote CDDB nor the iTunes Store.It only works sometimes but most of the time they give me the server is reset bla bla bla nonsense.I wonder when this frustrating issue will finally be fixed mad.gif .
oneeleven
post Jan 25 2007, 10:13 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Jan 24 2007, 09:51 PM)
Yeah I have trouble accessing Gracenote CDDB nor the iTunes Store.It only works sometimes but most of the time they give me the server is reset bla bla bla nonsense.I wonder when this frustrating issue will finally be fixed mad.gif .
On the Support page there is a suggested solution for the "no network connection" problem but it does not work. I replied to their user survey with a complaint.

Maybe if more of you do the same someone there might wake up and check. Please try too.

0.0267sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:59 AM