University Honours and non honours, what's the difference ?

tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 05:57 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I don't think there's much elaboration needed on the UK-Honours which most have spoken about.

As few have mentioned above, the Australian-Honours system is indeed different. An Australia-based student will need to complete an additional year before Honours is awarded to his degree but entry requirement into Honours is determined and offered to the student by the University [student decides if he wants to take it up but he's unable to pursue it if he's not been offered a place].

Generally, those who were offered membership into the 'Golden Key Club' would have secured themselves an Honours position in their universities.

Having said that, an Australian Honours is still classified as an undergraduate degree, and not a postgraduate degree.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jan 8 2007, 05:58 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 07:29 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

seantang,
I agree wif u but if i remember my facts right, having completed the Honours degree, one can get straight into the uni's Masters program and do away with Year 1 or something like dat.

I didn't take that route as I didn't think it would've made much difference spending the additional RM80k on an undergrad program (even if it was an Honours) and thought it be best to just use the $ on a 2nd degree or a Masters, etc.
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 07:52 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

seantang,
RM80k was gonna be the additional cost should I have accepted the uni's offer to do my Honours. Even with the additional scholarship or financial help given by the uni, it would have cost my poor struggling folks here RM80k for the additional year (oh btw, exchange rate was than 2.75)

Anyhow, that's the past and thus will look into the future now smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 08:02 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

seantang,
You smart mah, I not that smart. Plus Ok, I lucky also lah. And besides, me FA-MA scholarship also covered uhm slightly more than 2 Years of fees onli mah :pPppPppPp.......

Eh, we're seriously going off topic here.. Let's uhm..... get outta here before we get 'screwed' !! wink.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 08:09 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

TS, I hope we have answered ur question..... biggrin.gif

seantang,
At the v least, I'm getting back on topic but stop responding or we're gonna go OFF THREAD again unsure.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 09:50 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

chibi_tenko,
It doesn't matter. At the end of the day, it's just a piece of paper. It's your attitude at work that will take you up the corporate ladder smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 09:58 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

morph,
Yes, to complete up to Honours at UniSA you will need to spend an additional year hence 1+1 = 2 years. But do know that NOT everyone who wants to do Honours can do it. You must be offered a place before you can take it up - look at it as a 'by invitation only' kinda thing blush.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 14 2007, 10:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

morph,

You need to score X% before u be offered a position to do your Honours. Honours is different from postgrad and is not a pre-requisite into a postgraduate programme so you don't need to worry.

tinkerbel
post Jan 16 2007, 11:56 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

IpohBoY,
We have discussed this issue of Honours & No Honours at length within this thread. Please scroll up and read through before asking us the same questions over and over. Thanks! smile.gif

0.0161sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:25 AM