sagethesausage
post Jun 9 2016, 12:39 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Jun 8 2016, 11:58 PM)
try unlock using china dev rom

http://en.miui.com/forum.php?mod=viewthrea...e=93#pid4883547
go to security apps, turn off permissions
Already running China dev rom, this is a different error where their servers won't recognise my device yet. When I go to i.mi.com, it shows 0 device connected in the top left but I am able to use the find my device function on the website. Take a look at the latest pages of the thread you posted, got users with beta rom and China dev rom also with same error. Basically they have shitty slow servers and god knows how long do I have to wait.

This post has been edited by sagethesausage: Jun 9 2016, 12:41 AM
sagethesausage
post Jun 9 2016, 10:49 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 9 2016, 09:52 AM)
its good so that the vendor want to do it for 1000s of their device will think twice.

Actually vendor can do it too and unlock, install vendor rom with malware, and then only sell to end user.

but because now you need to put in sim card, then request, it will be harder.

Also, you cannot put in same sim card because Xiaomi know something is wrong already.

If they plan to sell 100 phone with malware, they need to have 100 sim card to unlock bootloader.

I think what Xiaomi does is the best.

All hail Xiaomi.

Xiaomi phone is the best in the world.!!!  icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbsup.gif
Many AP sets still come with vendor rom with spyware apps though, as evidenced by the postings on this forum, so I would say it's a failure step.
sagethesausage
post Jun 9 2016, 12:36 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Jun 9 2016, 11:37 AM)
A very solid reason why xiaomi lock the bootloader
Solid my ass. You're not getting your phone back once it's stolen. Even iPhone also got people steal although iPhones have the most secure encryption (Apple ID is pretty much impossible to hack). My customer's iPhone got stolen and he used Find My iPhone to trace it but the location is high-rise apartments, then the phone is turned off. By the way, our local police won't care about phone theft one. You just file a police report and then they won't take any action to follow up.
sagethesausage
post Jun 10 2016, 10:11 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jun 10 2016, 09:41 AM)
Get approval sms finally on 2 day ago... Now can't unlock due to couldn't verify device, then say current acc different from device in acc.. Early say can't detect device..
The problem is on their end.

I refused to play their bullshit game so I unlocked unofficially in 15 minutes and flashed AOSP rom.

Difference between AOSP and MIUI is night and day. Rom is lighter and less RAM consumption (1.8 GB free ram), everything feels smoother than MIUI, I also like the layout of things better (Hate how notifications and toggles are split into 2 different in MIUI).

Once CM13 is ready, I will flash that too. Big fan of CM, the no.1, most popular custom rom in the Android world.

This post has been edited by sagethesausage: Jun 10 2016, 03:07 PM
sagethesausage
post Jun 10 2016, 10:32 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 10 2016, 10:20 AM)
Custom ROM always buggy. It may be fast. But not worth it.
Some more why you need to much free RAM?
Also, MIUI update is very good while AOSP need to wait until got developer do it.
Very marfan.
All charger auto stop because the phone stop it. Not the charger.
I've used CM since the Android 2,1 days. It just feels more natural and power user-friendly to me. Casual users would prefer and should stick to MIUI due to its iOS-like UI.
sagethesausage
post Jun 11 2016, 07:34 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 11 2016, 07:25 PM)
Is there any option to turn the phone on and off at a scheduled time?

I just turn off mobile data and wifi, whole night sleep 9 hours battery drained only 1%.
sagethesausage
post Jun 14 2016, 01:03 PM

657 posts

I can't move pictures from phone internal to sd card using Quickpic?

Any solutions?
sagethesausage
post Jun 14 2016, 02:20 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 14 2016, 02:11 PM)
Root
Already rooted. What's next?
sagethesausage
post Jun 14 2016, 05:21 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jun 14 2016, 03:48 PM)
stop using quickpic. it has been bought by cheetah mobile which is known for ads and tracking stuff.
I use the pre-Cheetah buyout version signed to never update from xda. Still the fastest and easiest to use gallery app imo.
sagethesausage
post Jun 14 2016, 08:18 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(Estheryong @ Jun 14 2016, 07:14 PM)
Just saw it behind the box, its MTK Helio x10. Anything I can do about it?
Yes, get a refund. Even Snapdragon 3gb AP set also cost only rm700++.
sagethesausage
post Jun 14 2016, 08:19 PM

657 posts

For a 5.5 inch phone, the dpi of the notification bar is so damn small...
sagethesausage
post Jun 15 2016, 08:14 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jun 15 2016, 05:44 PM)
how to change background of the setting page to black ... can prolong screen on time .
That only works on AMOLED screen lah, RN3 is using IPS LCD panel...
sagethesausage
post Jun 16 2016, 06:30 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Jun 16 2016, 09:24 AM)
apparently from the upcoming miui 8 test for redmi note 3, still using base android 5.1 .. meh
Or you can use CM13 marshmallow and I'm sure you will not come back to miui.
sagethesausage
post Jun 20 2016, 07:41 PM

657 posts

Where is the microphone on RN3? Top or bottom?
sagethesausage
post Jun 20 2016, 09:39 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Jun 20 2016, 07:56 PM)
Bottom, next to USB port
Thanks. Any idea what the 2 things on the left of the front camera are?
sagethesausage
post Jun 21 2016, 02:53 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(Zack_Fair @ Jun 21 2016, 12:07 AM)
Well sorry for the late reply. Actually my courier is not city link but ninja van have u heard of em weird name isnt it, seems after the email i have gotten from ninja van about my missing item i emailed lazada to get my order cancelled, but they told me my item is not missing that ninja van will deliver it to me in another 2 days and so i waited. I send another email to ninja van about the reply from lazada that my item is coming for the next 2 days and it seems they confirmed it with me and apologize for the bad service. So i waited ......and waited .....when the day came it seems they were talking cock as i didnt get what i ordered. sad.gif i need to call lazada again and have them cancel the order. My fate doesnt want me to get an import redmi note phone.I may just have to wait for the malaysia version of mi5 launching soon and get that for sure and forget this nightmare i m having .
What wrong item did they send to you instead?

By the way, if you email their cs angrily you might get sorry voucher.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0522sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:36 PM