Need recommendation for 2 different laptops

TSAshroft98
post May 3 2016, 11:58 PM, updated 10y ago

228 posts

hi guys! happy labour day! tho cuti ended already sad.gif

so straight up,i need two recommendations for laptop.

The first laptop is for home use only. Moderate spec is okay. If possible:
1)intel i3
2)500gb hdd
3)no need dedicated gpu.
4)comfortable keyboard.
5)budget is 1.8k and below.
6)prefer asus or lenovo or dell.

The second laptop is for my college use. Got special laptop money from scholarship offer up to 3.5k max. Preferably:
1)intel i5/i7
2)500gb hdd/256 ssd
3)dedicated gpu is a plus (casual gaming like fifa or old nfs games)
4)very needed:
a)lightweight(1.8kg and below coz need to carry here and there)
b)slim(maybe 2.4-1.8cm to put in backpack)

5)budget under 3.5k or much lower is also okay.
6)any brand but not those gaming brands like msi razor etc

I did my research and found that the first laptop's choice is VERY WIDE confused.gif so really need advice on that.

On 2nd laptop i found three very amusing slim w/ lightweight laptops

Acer TravelMate P6 (1.6kg,2.08cm)
Lenovo ThinkPad E460 (1.9kg,2.44cm)
Dell Vostro 14 V5459 50814G (1.53kg,1.85cm)

but maybe i had probably missed some other better laptops.

Any suggestions or reviews among the laptops i highlighted are welcome.

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
geforce88
post May 4 2016, 12:17 AM

2,841 posts

i dont quite understand.

are u going to get two laptops for two different usage or only one?
TSAshroft98
post May 4 2016, 07:17 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ May 4 2016, 12:17 AM)
i dont quite understand.

are u going to get two laptops for two different usage or only one?
for two purposes. first one to keep at home for my mom's use while the second is for me to bring to college. sorry made you confused.
X_F@cT0R
post May 4 2016, 07:24 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ May 3 2016, 11:58 PM)
hi guys! happy labour day! tho cuti ended already  sad.gif

so straight up,i need two recommendations for laptop.

The first laptop is for home use only. Moderate spec is okay. If possible:
1)intel i3
2)500gb hdd
3)no need dedicated gpu.
4)comfortable keyboard.
5)budget is 1.8k and below.
6)prefer asus or lenovo or dell.

The second laptop is for my college use. Got special laptop money from scholarship offer up to 3.5k max. Preferably:
1)intel i5/i7
2)500gb hdd/256 ssd
3)dedicated gpu is a plus (casual gaming like fifa or old nfs games)
4)very needed:
a)lightweight(1.8kg and below coz need to carry here and there)
b)slim(maybe 2.4-1.8cm to put in backpack)

5)budget under 3.5k or much lower is also okay.
6)any brand but not those gaming brands like msi razor etc

I did my research and found that the first laptop's choice is VERY WIDE  confused.gif  so really need advice on that.

On 2nd laptop i found three very amusing slim w/ lightweight laptops

Acer TravelMate P6 (1.6kg,2.08cm)
Lenovo ThinkPad E460 (1.9kg,2.44cm)
Dell Vostro 14 V5459 50814G (1.53kg,1.85cm)

but maybe i had probably missed some other better laptops.

Any suggestions or reviews among the laptops i highlighted are welcome.

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
laptop 1
Asus X540LJ Intel i3-4005U, 4GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GT 920M 1GB, 500GB SATA HDD, 15.6" HD, 1.9KG RM1.6k

laptop 2
Asus K401U Intel i5-6200U, 4GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GT 940M 2GB, 1TB SATA HDD, 14" FHD, 1.65KG RM2.6k
Dell Vostro 14 V5459 Intel i7-6500U, 8GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GT 930M 4GB, 1TB SATA HDD, 14" HD, DOS, 1.53KG RM3.2k
chengyue
post May 4 2016, 05:35 PM

111 posts

Hey bro. What's scholarship is it? Mind sharing with me tongue.gif
TSAshroft98
post May 4 2016, 06:53 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ May 4 2016, 07:24 AM)
laptop 1
Asus X540LJ Intel i3-4005U, 4GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GT 920M 1GB, 500GB SATA HDD, 15.6" HD, 1.9KG RM1.6k

laptop 2
Asus K401U Intel i5-6200U, 4GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GT 940M 2GB, 1TB SATA HDD, 14" FHD, 1.65KG RM2.6k
Dell Vostro 14 V5459 Intel i7-6500U, 8GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GT 930M 4GB, 1TB SATA HDD, 14" HD, DOS, 1.53KG RM3.2k
laptop 1 specs was great rclxms.gif really looking forward to that

laptop 2 i think i might go for asus for that slim and lightweight. either way i will go to the store itself for hands-on and decide there. Thanks X_F@cT0R

QUOTE(chengyue @ May 4 2016, 05:35 PM)
Hey bro. What's scholarship is it? Mind sharing with me tongue.gif
petronas scholarship btw. hahaha wish i could. i might not using it fully 3.5k pun nanti
chengyue
post May 4 2016, 07:12 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ May 4 2016, 07:53 PM)
laptop 1 specs was great  rclxms.gif really looking forward to that

laptop 2 i think i might go for asus for that slim and lightweight. either way i will go to the store itself for hands-on and decide there. Thanks X_F@cT0R
petronas scholarship btw. hahaha wish i could. i might not using it fully 3.5k pun nanti
Congratulations bro. I wanted to apply that too.. But hesitated. What course are you in? smile.gif
TSAshroft98
post May 5 2016, 12:05 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(chengyue @ May 4 2016, 07:12 PM)
Congratulations bro. I wanted to apply that too.. But hesitated. What course are you in? smile.gif
Thanks biggrin.gif yeah me too at first. i wanted Mara eduloan but after seeking advice at pros here at this forum they told to take up pertronas bcoz job offer after study and a full scholarship. I'm in electrical engineering,study at utp for foundation (1yr) and degree (4yrs) there.

how about you chengyue ?
chengyue
post May 5 2016, 02:00 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ May 5 2016, 01:05 AM)
Thanks biggrin.gif yeah me too at first. i wanted Mara eduloan but after seeking advice at pros here at this forum they told to take up pertronas bcoz job offer after study and a full scholarship. I'm in electrical engineering,study at utp for foundation (1yr) and degree (4yrs) there.

how about you chengyue ?
That's a very good opportunity to go petronas indeed. thumbsup.gif I got matrix but then I am planning to go TARUC for accounting. I'm a pure science stream student in high school tho. Taking a leap to arts. Kind of worrying doh.gif
TSAshroft98
post May 5 2016, 02:28 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(chengyue @ May 5 2016, 02:00 AM)
That's a very good opportunity to go petronas indeed. :thumbsup: I got matrix but then I am planning to go TARUC for accounting. I'm a pure science stream student in high school tho. Taking a leap to arts. Kind of worrying doh.gif
Thanks biggrin.gif TARUC is like one of the BEST uni in Malaysia even i have no guts to even apply there. And about changing streams is no problem. I got many seniors (i was in all science stream fully boarding school) currently working as professional accountants at Bank Negara. As long u are interested its totally fine.

Sometimes those seniors take a visit back to school and drive like audis , volkswagens at such young age. Kinda jealous hahaha
myway1985
post May 5 2016, 08:19 AM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ May 5 2016, 02:28 AM)
Thanks biggrin.gif TARUC is like one of the BEST uni in Malaysia even i have no guts to even apply there. And about changing streams is no problem. I got many seniors (i was in all science stream fully boarding school) currently working as professional accountants at Bank Negara. As long u are interested its totally fine.

Sometimes those seniors take a visit back to school and drive like audis , volkswagens at such young age. Kinda jealous hahaha
1. 3458-50452G-W10 W5643103MYW10 i3-5005U 4GB 500GB 14.0" NonTouch NVIDIA® GeForce® 920M 2GB DDR3 W10 Home 1-yr Pro Support RM1,799

3458-5045SG-W10 W561130MYW10 i3-5005U 4GB 500GB 14.0" NonTouch Intel® HD Graphics W10 Home 1-yr Pro Support RM1,699

2. vostro 5459 i5-6200u,4gb ram, 250gb samsung evo 850 (customize) , win10, gt 930m,1 yr warranty, RM2900

>inspiron 3459-20452G-W10 W5643104MYW10 i5-6200U 4GB 500GB 14.0" NonTouch AMD Radeonâ„¢ R5 M315 2GB DDR3 W10 Home 1-yr Pro Support RM2,099
>> add samsung evo 850 ssd 250gb @ RM 480

> inspiron 7559 i5-6300hq, 4gb, win10, 250gb samsung evo 850 ssd, gtx 960m 4gb, 1yr warranty onsite RM3500

This post has been edited by myway1985: May 5 2016, 09:38 AM
chengyue
post May 8 2016, 10:53 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ May 5 2016, 03:28 AM)

Thanks for giving me such precious information bro. Let's work hard for our future and wish you all the best in your future undertakings!!

This post has been edited by chengyue: May 8 2016, 10:53 AM
shirogawawa
post May 8 2016, 03:20 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ May 5 2016, 02:28 AM)

drove audis , vw at such young age? sound like MLM biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
arifzainurin
post May 8 2016, 04:15 PM

25 posts

Hey same here! Hahaha been looking for laptop under 3.5k too. Currently Inspiron 7559 under the radar but it doesn't come with OS sadly
shirogawawa
post May 8 2016, 04:23 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(arifzainurin @ May 8 2016, 04:15 PM)
Hey same here! Hahaha been looking for laptop under 3.5k too. Currently Inspiron 7559 under the radar but it doesn't come with OS sadly
blink.gif got variant with OS. but slightly over you budget only, rm 35xx can get brows.gif
myway1985
post May 8 2016, 05:11 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(arifzainurin @ May 8 2016, 04:15 PM)
Got ah.. 3450 nia.. Keke
shirogawawa
post May 8 2016, 05:16 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ May 8 2016, 05:11 PM)
Got ah.. 3450 nia.. Keke
biggrin.gif i know. devil.gif devil.gif
myway1985
post May 8 2016, 05:17 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ May 8 2016, 05:16 PM)
biggrin.gif i know.  devil.gif  devil.gif
Wan me supply u win key from dell
shirogawawa
post May 8 2016, 05:25 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ May 8 2016, 05:17 PM)
Wan me supply u win key from dell
tony said no need
myway1985
post May 8 2016, 06:05 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ May 8 2016, 05:25 PM)
tony said no need
Haha..

0.0181sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:54 AM