Sony-Ericsson :: Sony Ericsson M600/P990/W950 ::, [ UIQ 3 ] For Life
sniperwolf
May 3 2007, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(teikwing @ May 2 2007, 02:39 PM) I been quoted a new ap telstra set for below rm1.3k. Really thinking of getting it I heard that the phone is quite stable now after all the latest firmware upgrade. Anyway would like to know something on the hand writing recognition. Did it utilize some special writing like those in palm or just recognize normal writing? Hope to get more feedbacks from the current users. This post has been edited by sniperwolf: May 3 2007, 10:35 AM
sniperwolf
May 3 2007, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 3 2007, 04:10 PM) You're telling me you able to get at 1.3k for a new set ? Darn it , i paid for 1.4k for 5 to 6 months set and it's kinda scratch on the keypad. Urgh !  Well actually is rm1.2k+ according to the seller. When you purchase your 2nd hand set? I think even before the price drop its listed at around 1.6k+ for a brand new ap set in the garage sales forum This post has been edited by sniperwolf: May 3 2007, 04:24 PM
sniperwolf
May 3 2007, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(unknowndevices @ May 3 2007, 04:39 PM) erksss...AP-set from Telstra priced below rm1.3k?.... that is soooooooo cheeeeeaaaaappppppp..... mind to share where is the shop? as for the latest firmware...many find its good and ok... erksss...scratch on your unit? wah!...the seller told you priced at rm1.2k?...this is even more cheaper... is it your friend the one selling it?...just asking...  Not friend just one of those known phone seller in the garage sales forum
sniperwolf
May 3 2007, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 3 2007, 05:22 PM) I do really very dissapointed with the outer keypad as it's kind of many part color fade. But then , I know what i had been searching for this Long while ! I'll confirm that the P series is the best.  Will not changing others phone for sure. Anyway , Since you guy say that it's around at 1.2k to 1.3k , can you confirm it ? If able , i'm going to sell my set and get the new one.  I should be getting it together with n95 within this week so will let you guys know whether the price I been quoted is true or not.
sniperwolf
May 3 2007, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 3 2007, 06:09 PM) Thanks buddy. Anyway , i think that P990i is way better than N95 minus GPS and High Megapixels Camera. Bla bla bla bla bla , I'm lovin it.  Well I do agree on that. I bought the n series for its multimedia capabilities, especially at the video shooting part. Where as for the p990, I will use it like a business phone as it should be like. Previously was considering p990 or asus p535 but finally decide on p990 due to its cheap price tag
sniperwolf
May 4 2007, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(unknowndevices @ May 4 2007, 11:20 AM) wah!...buying two high-end phone... do provide is the differences... don't forget to report it here once you bought the two phone... all the best...  Just pick my n95 last night. As for the p990, will pick it up next week. Price is less than rm1.3k as you guys can search up in phone garage sales. The n95 is really an awesome piece of multimedia device.
sniperwolf
May 4 2007, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(iRonTech @ May 4 2007, 12:39 PM) n95 pricing also 'awesome'....  Good things never comes cheap. But at least I get mine cheaper than market price
sniperwolf
May 5 2007, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ May 5 2007, 02:13 AM) I'm a P990i owner myself, I dun really agree with your statement, the N95 is in a different class, the camera, multimedia functions (including VGA video recording), true 16-bit colour screen, etc ...... are some of the strong features of the phone. A P990i should be compared with something like Nokia's N80 IE. P990i is more belong to the communicator, pda class. Nokia n series are more on multimedia oriented smart phone.
sniperwolf
May 7 2007, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(fulat @ May 7 2007, 07:41 AM) Any available for p990i? Looking one suitable 1 for my p990i
sniperwolf
May 7 2007, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(blinky @ May 7 2007, 10:14 AM) Eh guys, I dropped my 2-day-old P990i yesterday. Nothing serious, but the top part of the back has a small little chip at the camera area, that's all. Not visible as it's very small but I'm still conscious about it. Any idea if SE sells the top back (above the battery cover) part of the phone? Thanks. Added on May 7, 2007, 10:33 amGuys, I have a query. Will this work on a P990i?If it does, I'm sure to get it today! GPS on P990i! It will work without any problem. You only require network connection for map downloading if you didnt preinstall the map into your p990i, where you should able to download with pc and transfer to your mobile device. But is that Nemerix gps chipset good enough as compare to sirf star 3?
sniperwolf
May 8 2007, 12:13 PM
Just 1 more thing need to know before I proceed to order my unit. For those ap owners, are you guys able to update the firmware on your own?
sniperwolf
May 8 2007, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(blinky @ May 8 2007, 12:15 PM) Yes you can through SEUS, but I'd rather not take the risk, I'd just pay RM50 to SE service centres to get it done for me =) But seeing that you're only getting your unit now, I guess the firmwares are pretty much alright already. Any reason why you wanna pay since you can diy?
sniperwolf
May 8 2007, 05:09 PM
Ok then since can diy flash I should be confirm with my purchase. Was struggling between wm5 device and p990i but since p990i is hell lot cheaper, I guess I grab it.
sniperwolf
May 8 2007, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 8 2007, 05:30 PM) If you are new to both OS, better get try of the WM5 first, cause it is more easy to operate and at least, more application and games to choose. But most of the WM phone lag of the 3G function, if you want an all in one phone, get the P990i, with the latest firmware, you wont regret. About the wlan function, i think that the reception is kinda weak compare to my previous WM phone (O2 atom and Eten M500 (with SDIO) . If the signal status there appear only one bar, means that if you successful connect to the network, you still cannot use it to browse the net. For an example, in my school there, the building got 5 floor, when i am in the 2nd floor (inside the classroom), the signal is extremely strong, full 3 bars, and i can browse all the website i want. When i go up to 3rd floor, in the same position as 2nd floor, the signal became 1 bar only, sometimes even cannot connect to it. I wonder if it is cause by the 802.11b (but not g) . I had bad experience with old ppc device before therefore I usually will go for other alternative. I do find that symbian aint that bad compare to wm and most important, its much more affordable. Previously was using palm before changing to symbian.
sniperwolf
May 8 2007, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ May 8 2007, 08:47 PM) Remember to get the generic world version. Don't get other version if you want the most stable and up to date firmware.  How to know whether the firmware is generic world? I thought update through online official site, there should only 1 type firmware available?
sniperwolf
May 9 2007, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(jceh83 @ May 8 2007, 11:21 PM) First match your CDA on the left box then you'll know what provider your in... like mine is 162008/68 so my set is from Hong Kong and its generic trade. the latest firmware is R9F i'm using R9E so still quite ok http://uiq3.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/CDA/P990iThanks for info dude. Lucky didnt buy the p990i earlier. Guess what guys, the price now for new ap set is below rm1.2k  .
sniperwolf
May 9 2007, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ May 9 2007, 12:55 PM) And the fact that it has twice the RAM of P990i (so your phone won't reboot by itself due to lack of RAM). This is one of the most important feature that will make me trade in my p990i for it. In addition, it looks much better than P990i. More stylish. Hopefully the price difference isn't that great.  Since I still havent got my p990, so I wont comment much on the memory reboot thing. And 1 thing which I can garantee would be it wont as cheap as p990 now. I bet the price of the p1 will at least cost more than 2 units of p990i ap set, which can be get around rm1.1k+ now.
sniperwolf
May 10 2007, 10:49 PM
New p990i user reporting in. Just got my p990i 2 hours back. Grab it at rm1175. Kinda like how it feel and doesnt look too bulky to me. The qwerty keyboard is good to use, and I mean it even I got big fingers
sniperwolf
May 10 2007, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ May 10 2007, 10:52 PM) Welcome to the club bro. How come not waiting for P1i? Well its still unknown when P1 will be available and I guess it wont be a good choice also getting it straight after launch, due to price and firmware stability. I think in order to convince myself to get the P1, maybe a year later after its launch. Also I dont see much improvement over the p990. The higher mp camera dont look attractive to me since I already had a better multimedia device which is the n95 QUOTE(sonyclie77) Where did you get it at RM 1,175? From 1 of the seller in the garage sales forum, Hairul Added on May 10, 2007, 11:07 pmWell the sound output from the speaker is bit too soft even I had adjust to the max volume. Still need sometime to get use to it since its my 1st se phone and p series. Overall it give me quite a comfortable experience This post has been edited by sniperwolf: May 10 2007, 11:07 PM
sniperwolf
May 10 2007, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ May 10 2007, 11:09 PM) You're using the N95 and P990i concurrently? Not bad.  Yup since both had its strength and weakness and honestly the p990i is super worth at the rm1175 price tag. I dont think any other model can offer the similiar functionality of p990i with the similiar price tag