Tuberculosis Infection

TStekoo
post May 1 2016, 09:37 PM, updated 4y ago

176 posts

Hi, I am looking for anyone who has undergone the TB medication course, completed or undergoing.

I am undergoing the medication for 2 months now (treatment under Institut Perubatan Respiratori) and I still continue to feel the chest discomfort/dull pain.
It is just like dull pain, pressure kind of discomfort. Is that normal?
Lately it gets more intense, but sometimes it fades away.
It is not those kind of Sharp Pain suppose to be, mentioned by doctor.

FYI, i have informed my doctor on it, they doesn't seem to care about it. Just say continue medication and see how.

Plus, how are they actually monitoring whether the medication is working?
Ever since started medication, I have been to several appointment so far, everytime only say "ok continue medication". No further test done etc.

TQ
TStekoo
post May 2 2016, 12:04 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 2 2016, 08:17 AM)
Most likely is fiborsis of your lungs. Some part of the lungs are having scar. Hence the dull pain. Had any previous TB infection before?

Specutum analysis under microscope, x-ray are the ways to evaluate.

In the mean time, take lots of fruits and vege, fish chicken, tofu, tempe (proteins). Avoid fish oil, olive oil. Increase your intake (TB causes the body to use lots of energy - hence TB patients are usually wasted). Add virgin coconut oil to your food (high in calorie and easily ultilise by the body) Expose yourself to morning sun for 30 minutes to get vit D to enhance immune system. Take 5 cloves of garlic/day with food - to boost immune system.

Do you have serai, kayu manis, rosemary? Boil a pot of water until can see steam coming out, off the fire, cut them into pieces, chuck the serai, kayu manis, rosemary into the pot and put your face into the pot to inhale the steam. Cover yourself with a towel so the steam cannot escape. DO it for 10 minutes 2x/day. Essential oil works better for TB but since is hard and expensive to get pure essential in Malaysia, these will do. (if you want essential oils, PM me)

Also, since you are on TB drugs, take milk thistle, dandelion supplement to protect your liver.

DO NOT forget to take your TB meds even if you feel cure cause it needs 6 months to fully cure. Forgetting to take them will cause the TB to evolve into MDR/XDR-TB. Takes 1-2 years to heal with very bad sideeffects.
No, first time gets Tb infection.
I thought it was fibrosis as well, but a few other GP I consulted, they say that lung doesn't feel dull pain, the pain is something else. That's why its bothering me.
Even bothering part is my consultation with IPR doctor, they evaluate me only based on Q & A:
Doc: "How are you feeling? Feeling any better?".
Me: "Feeling just as usual, and the chest discomfort is still there."
Doc: "How is your cough and appetite?"
Me: "I mentioned already I don't cough since the beginning of diagnosed and my appetite is just as usual"
Doc: "Oh I think you are getting better"
Me: "Huh? No going to do any test? Liver function test? Blood test? Vision test?"
Doc: "No, no need for those. Just continue your medicine. When courses finish, if the pain is still there, then we explore other possibility"

The doctor is really giving me a feeling of "Do they know what are they doing?"

But meanwhile I still continue my meds haiz...
TStekoo
post May 2 2016, 10:05 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ May 2 2016, 09:18 PM)
well.........

mostly clinical........

cough should reduce.
the fever, night sweats, weight loss should be absent
the sputum for AFB should reduce or be negative after some time of treatment

the strain and sensitivity of the tuberculosis would take a lot of time to test
The problem is, from the beginning I do not have any of those symptom.
No cough, fever, night sweats, and my Sputum AFB is negative.
The only thing is confirmed is I lost weight that's it.

Which is why if they base on those clinical ways, I don't see how is it going to help in my case you see.

TStekoo
post May 2 2016, 11:47 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ May 2 2016, 11:24 PM)
i see...........

then it is likely they treat you based on high suspicion of exposure and probably where tb is endemic, not an easy decision to start you on treatment.......unless no other cause of weight loss or very suggestive chest x-ray
They suspected based on X-ray, there are shadows shown.
In Sunway Medical, they run a PCR on my sputum and say confirmed its TB.
So I transfer myself to IPR and started my medication there cause Sunway would require me to go consultation every week which will cost a bomb and inconvenient to my work.

At IPR they only do triple confirm on the AFB test, which shown negative in all test including during in Sunway Mecical.
After consideration then they decided to start my medication.
TStekoo
post Aug 2 2022, 02:28 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 1 2022, 03:49 PM)
Hi there tekoo are you considered healthy, and clear of TB now ? Or TB is under "Latent TB" controlled unactive stage?

My father was under suspicion of TB by HKL (non-Respiratory related body organ), somehow was told to go to IPR for TB screening.
Checked Chest X-Ray in IPR was cleared, they kept on collected tons of blood and saliva samples every time my fathers visits them for appointment, and it has been like 3-4 months we didn't hear back from them.

It is very scary that the doctor consulted her superior mentor, and they just gave out antibiotic drugs out without waiting for the TB results.
Cleared long time, after finish the meds course of six months.
My initial test done was in private medical centre which they confirm me positive of TB. Thereafter I went to IPR for meds course since it's almost free. Hence I don't really care if their test is done or so.
And yes, every visit they will collect sputum sample since mine is lung. My understanding is they are trying to cultivate the bacteria, but it doesn't necessarily mean they will success lol.

TStekoo
post Aug 2 2022, 10:14 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 2 2022, 10:23 PM)
Congrats being cleared.
Well, any recommendation which type of TB Screening to take?

Your one only collect sputum for lung?
My dad went multiple times, always "sputum" the saliva and they go collect "blood sample"  rclxub.gif
Wait for multiple weeks but no results.  rclxub.gif

Do you feel that your body is very weaken by Antibiotics at the 6 months of treatment?

My dad was given TB Medication, when HKL suspect my dad has TB in other parts of his body.
Ask my dad go IPR do Chest X-Ray, then was consult some young doctors getting some family background, say chest x-ray is clear no issues.
But, since under suspicion of TB, the young doctor consult with her supervisor, the supervisor pass down to the doctor say for "safety precaution" just put on TB Antibiotics medications.

Then I follow my dad go through the long briefing session on TB medication.

I feel something not right, then go consulting doctors in private as second opinion.
The private doctor say better don't start.

Few months later, my dad weight loss is increasing,  hmm.gif  I now suspect is TB causing issues.
And IPR macam not transparent with my dad's conditions la, after waiting so long, no sound on the culture results.
Then since we not on the TB Antibiotics treatment, they mentioned that we 'declined' treatment over their side. When themselves can't even confirm whether my dad has TB  sweat.gif

Also I don't feel safe bringing myself and my dad go to IPR, with people there coughing and patient with poor hygiene all the time...  sweat.gif
Sendiri Tak ada Lung Disease, will easily contracted with TB/Lung disease.  rclxub.gif 

I went there few times really packed in the morning session...  sweat.gif
I was having shadow in my lung and unexplainable weight loss. Went private medical centre, they did the Mantoux Test.

Weaken? Not really.

Well if already suspected with TB, didn't the private hospital did their checking when you seek for second opinion? To sit on it doing nothing is dangerous no...?

Tbh even after completing the 6m course, both private & IPR also failed to culture the bacteria. So I guess it's normal for your case as well.
TStekoo
post Aug 3 2022, 03:45 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 3 2022, 12:11 AM)
I see.

Weaken as in due to heavy antibiotics causing side effects. Because I heard the pharmacy doctor say
will cause pee orange, skin rash and sticky sweat...

Well we actually visit private first, then also go to GH as back up and go there get cheaper medication.

Private Hospital did some biopsy on the body organ and sent to outsourced pathology lab, report come out have some bacteria that looks like TB in the slides. (not sure the actual way to describe this)
Then my parents took the report to GH as well, doctors suspect it is TB, then send to IPR do Chest X-Ray. But nothing in lungs, seems healthy.
The we thought might be Latent-TB become active in other parts of body when my father get UTI. (My father did surgery in GH to remove a mass on his nose in January, I wonder is it at surgery there tools not clean get infection la.)

After first visit at IPR, they told my dad start 6 month long treatment, I feel something not right in the procedure. Go to the private hospital on the same day hear second opinion from the doctor.
Private Doctor advise he will request from pathology lab to do slide reading again, confirmed it isn't TB, and told us not to take the TB medication at the mean time.
So we just follow private doctor's instruction.

Then we just go back IPR told them, we don't want to take medication until the culture say positive for TB then only start take medication....
But IPR never came back with culture results despite my dad did few blood and sputum collections in GH and IPR...
So we kinda gave up on Government Healthcare side...

==========================================
But 6 months later TS, you finished your TB Medication, but negative from the initial culture (first sputum) sample. Then I feel weird lah, since initial Mantoux Test you say positive edi, kinda weird they can't grow it...
If you say 6 month later, you did another sputum test, the lab didn't managed to grow the TB sample, that one would be normal, means you cleared from TB.

"A normal sputum culture can take 1 to 8 weeks to provide results. A rapid sputum test can tell if a person has TB within 24 hours."
Ahh you mean the side effects during the course of meds. Yea I got Orange pee only as far as I can remember. But if the patient's age is high, the side effects will be more severe.

Since you decided to trust the private side, maybe it's time to revisit them to get some idea on the continuous weight loss.

As for the culture, if you read about it, you will see it is actually difficult in culturing them, and long time as well. Even my initial sputum submitted to private side, also fail to do so.

0.0138sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:37 PM