Investment 5 Strangers Purchase a 700k property, Is it feasible?

TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 01:22 AM, updated 10y ago

39 posts

I am a ACCA student from TARUC , Setapak. Last week, I went to a kopitiam for breakfast with my bf and heard someone next to our table were discussing property stuffs. "Accidentally , I heard some of their discussion....they are couple and the female was planning to buy a property with her bf at Puchong.

But, they have some debate about it. The case was the woman wanted to invite her immediate sisters to join the "party" and they will sell the property after 5 years or once it appreciated to 20% over the original price. The guy seem have a lot of concerns about this. After that, I quickly finish my plate and pay the bill, as worrying my bf will.... hmm.gif

I understand a lot of news and experts saying that 2016 is the good opportunity to purchase a property in Malaysia. All of us want to be part of the "party member", including me of course. I wonder what kind of challenges would a group of 5 peoples( family members or strangers) face if they are going to purchase a property and have drafted an agreement to sell it after 5 years or once other conditions have been met?

1) Loan approval?
2) Loan installment?
3) and what?
4)
5)

icemanfx
post May 1 2016, 01:32 AM

21,454 posts

QUOTE(ZapZapk @ May 1 2016, 01:22 AM)
I am a ACCA student from  TARUC , Setapak. Last week, I went to a kopitiam for breakfast with my bf and heard someone next to our table were discussing property stuffs. "Accidentally , I heard some of their discussion....they are couple and the female was planning to buy a property with her bf at Puchong.

But, they have some debate about it. The case was the woman wanted to invite her immediate sisters to join the "party" and they will sell the property after 5 years or once it appreciated to 20% over the original price. The guy seem have a lot of concerns about this. After that, I quickly finish my plate and pay the bill, as worrying my bf will.... hmm.gif
I understand a lot of news and experts saying that 2016 is the good opportunity to purchase a property in Malaysia. All of us want to be part of the "party member", including me of course. I wonder what kind of challenges would a group of 5 peoples( family members or strangers) face if they are going to purchase a property and have drafted an agreement to sell it after 5 years or once other conditions have been met?

1) Loan approval?
2) Loan installment?
3) and what?
4)
5)
What will happen if one or two members don't contribute their share of loan repayment for whatever reason?

In the unlikely event that you break-off with your bf, how you intend to settle repayment made and future installments?

The more members you have, the higher the risk for failure.

Whenever any market attract students, da ma, obasan to invest mean the price crash is near.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 1 2016, 02:00 AM
mthc
post May 1 2016, 07:45 AM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 1 2016, 01:32 AM)
What will happen if one or two members don't contribute their share of loan repayment for whatever reason?

In the unlikely event that you break-off with your bf, how you intend to settle repayment made and future installments?

Whenever any market attract students, da ma, obasan to invest mean the price crash is near.
Agree with u for the first time.
danieln
post May 1 2016, 07:50 AM

1,306 posts

this is a major red flag

if 5 person's name as the property owner, what would happen is some wants to sell but some not willing? what happens if one person got into financial problem? will all willing to sell in lost or less profit? what if kena bankrupt? what is relationship issue happen? what is someone not able to pay loan?

there are just too many factors to coz a havoc
ketnave
post May 1 2016, 08:08 AM

868 posts

Will this work ?

1. Setup a co. sdn bhd
2. 5 are director of the co.
3. Buy the prop with the co.

The foreseeable challenge would be getting loan under co. to buy the property.

danieln
post May 1 2016, 08:19 AM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(ketnave @ May 1 2016, 08:08 AM)
Will this work ?

1. Setup a co. sdn bhd
2. 5 are director of the co.
3. Buy the prop with the co.

The foreseeable challenge would be getting loan under co. to buy the property.
it cost you a few thousands to maintain a sdn bhd per year. unless one of the share holders is a qualified accountant & company secretary that agrees to do it free or super cheap.

but then if the house is under company then need to check what are the fees & tax rate, it might be much higher.
aurora97
post May 1 2016, 09:44 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

1. Company got not full financing. I think is 70:30 only.
2. Sell within first five years get hit by real property gain tax of 30%.
3. Loan may be granted based on a few persons credit worthiness. Meaning there r some in ur GRP may not be eligible.
4. Risk of someone defaulting need to pick up the tab.

This post has been edited by aurora97: May 1 2016, 09:48 AM
TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 12:07 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 1 2016, 01:32 AM)

Ya, you guys are right and I quite agree with you .I have thought of that, the risk of default and so on. Of course, I do not mean buyers are students. It's a group of 5 adult who earn RM 4 k or above a month.
Non-technically speaking, if I am wrong or if it is not feasible, please correct me . IF there is a legal agreement was set at the outset and lay down all the condition to tackle all the possible risk. For example,

1) If anyone of the member don’t contribute their share of loan repayment for 3 month over the total period of loan repayment, the fella would have to “out of the party” automatically and immediately. He/she can sell “his share of the property” to someone at the amount of he/she had paid or below/ higher than that amount. The person can be from the “insider of the party” or “outsider of the party”.

2) For sure, in order to be the member of the “party”, we would have to filter the applicants’ ability to pay.

3) Agreement also set the rental of the property must be used to pay the loan instalment.
a) The rental amount is set at the market value and would be increase 2 % from years to years.

4) The shareholder couldn’t or could stay at the property provided he/she pay rent.

5) The agreement also laid out the condition to sell, for example :
a) sell the property once it appreciated to 120- 150%
b) sell the property when the shareholder reduce to 3 people
c) sell the property after 6 years no matter whatever the price

From the technically point of view [legal side and the bank (i.e., loan transfer?)],

6)is it possible that an agreement is set to override the S&P agreement for including all the above condition? And,

7}what is the other risks that might cause this investment to fail?

This post has been edited by ZapZapk: May 1 2016, 12:09 PM
TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 12:10 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(danieln @ May 1 2016, 07:50 AM)
this is a major red flag

if 5 person's name as the property owner, what would happen is some wants to sell but some not willing? what happens if one person got into financial problem? will all willing to sell in lost or less profit? what if kena bankrupt? what is relationship issue happen? what is someone not able to pay loan?

there are just too many factors to coz a havoc
Ya, you guys are right and I quite agree with you .I have thought of that, the risk of default and so on. Of course, I do not mean buyers are students. It's a group of 5 adult who earn RM 4 k or above a month.
Non-technically speaking, if I am wrong or if it is not feasible, please correct me . IF there is a legal agreement was set at the outset and lay down all the condition to tackle all the possible risk. For example,

1) If anyone of the member don’t contribute their share of loan repayment for 3 month over the total period of loan repayment, the fella would have to “out of the party” automatically and immediately. He/she can sell “his share of the property” to someone at the amount of he/she had paid or below/ higher than that amount. The person can be from the “insider of the party” or “outsider of the party”.

2) For sure, in order to be the member of the “party”, we would have to filter the applicants’ ability to pay.

3) Agreement also set the rental of the property must be used to pay the loan instalment.
a) The rental amount is set at the market value and would be increase 2 % from years to years.

4) The shareholder couldn’t or could stay at the property provided he/she pay rent.

c) sell the property after 6 years no matter whatever the price

From the technically point of view [legal side and the bank (i.e., loan transfer?)],

6)is it possible that an agreement is set to override the S&P agreement for including all the above condition? And,

TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 12:12 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ May 1 2016, 09:44 AM)
1. Company got not full financing. I think is 70:30 only.
2. Sell within first five years get hit by real property gain tax of 30%.
3. Loan may be granted based on a few persons credit worthiness. Meaning there r some in ur GRP may not be eligible.
4. Risk of someone defaulting need to pick up the tab.
Do you know where I could get the detailed information on how to buy property using company?
danieln
post May 1 2016, 12:20 PM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(ZapZapk @ May 1 2016, 12:10 PM)
Ya, you guys are right and I quite agree with you .I have thought of that, the risk of default and  so on. Of course, I do not mean buyers are students. It's a group of 5 adult who earn RM 4 k or above a month.

c) sell the property after 6 years  no matter whatever the price

you can have what ever side agreement or even have it drafted & stamped. but those are your closest relatives, do you think if the agreement is used and enforced on them you relationship will still be good after it? your problem now is not just about $$ and the property, its also about your relationships.

I have been through such shit before and my advise for you is as long as it involves $$ especially huge sum of $$, don't get relatives involvement. the aftermath will be longer and deadlier than your full house long term. tongue.gif

icemanfx
post May 1 2016, 12:29 PM

21,454 posts

QUOTE(ZapZapk @ May 1 2016, 12:07 PM)
Ya, you guys are right and I quite agree with you .I have thought of that, the risk of default and  so on. Of course, I do not mean buyers are students. It's a group of 5 adult who earn RM 4 k or above a month.

Basically you are asking for trouble.

Property is not the only investment opportunity available. Why must invest jointly and severally?

Jasoncat
post May 1 2016, 12:36 PM

9,913 posts

The "shareholders" can have legal binding agreement among them but from the financier (bank) perspective it is not a party to the shareholders agreement and if loan is not serviced on time then it will take the necessary action to protect its interest.
TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 12:43 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(danieln @ May 1 2016, 12:20 PM)
you can have what ever side agreement or even have it drafted & stamped. but those are your closest relatives, do you think if the agreement is used and enforced on them you relationship will still be good after it? your problem now is not just about $$ and the property, its also about your relationships.

I have been through such shit before and my advise for you is as long as it involves $$ especially huge sum of $$, don't get relatives involvement. the aftermath will be longer and deadlier than your full house long term. tongue.gif
I would involve my relatives when it come to money. My family experienced thousand of these kind of shit before.
Set aside the relative part, what would be the case like if it is you, me and other eligble lowyat members?
TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 12:47 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 1 2016, 12:29 PM)
Basically you are asking for trouble.

Property is not the only investment opportunity available. Why must invest jointly and severally?
hahah.Is troublesssssssss.

Ya. I know property is not the only investment opportunity. But , from the conversation I heard and I figure out everyone want to invest in property but they are not able to do so individually. Therefore , I try to figure out is it possible to carry out as what I mentioned and what kind of challenge I would face.

Btw, any other good lobang to recommend?
TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 12:49 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Jasoncat @ May 1 2016, 12:36 PM)
The "shareholders" can have legal binding agreement among them but from the financier (bank) perspective it is not a party to the shareholders agreement and if loan is not serviced on time then it will take the necessary action to protect its interest.
Yes. Of course , bank won't "layan". I am just trying to figure out how to " work' it efficiently and effectively with bank side legally.
icemanfx
post May 1 2016, 12:52 PM

21,454 posts

QUOTE(ZapZapk @ May 1 2016, 12:47 PM)
hahah.Is troublesssssssss.

Ya. I know property is not the only investment opportunity. But , from the conversation I heard  and I figure out everyone want to invest in property but they are not able to do so individually. Therefore , I try to figure out is it possible to carry out as what I mentioned and what kind of challenge I would face.

Btw, any other good lobang to recommend?
When you overheard any good investment in kopitium, it is about time to sell or keep away from that investment. If making money is easy, there should be more than 10% of people with over us$100k net worth.

Property game is not newly invented or discovered, if it is a great investment, every da ma and obasan would have invested years ago.
cherroy
post May 1 2016, 12:56 PM

25,802 posts

The main problem is the legal owner side of property registration or in other word, the property is registered under whom.
If register with 5 person name, then you need to have 5 person so sign off the transfer of property when selling the property time.
Either one doesn't want to sign, it is a standoff, no transfer can be made hence no S&P can be proceeding, disregard what kind of other legal agreement signed.

Also, you can't draft another legal agreement (fail to pay etc) to "force out" any legal owners from the property.
It violates the existing land code/property ownership law, which may result in the agreement made can be considered null and void.

Loan also cannot be transferred simply by drafting "another agreement".

Never ever "joint name" to buy property, it potential asking for trouble in the future only. Even husband and wife, my personal view, also no.

If really want to "joint name", use a company or holding company to own the property.
danieln
post May 1 2016, 01:41 PM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(ZapZapk @ May 1 2016, 12:43 PM)
I would involve my relatives when it come to money. My family experienced thousand of these kind of shit before.
Set aside the relative part, what would be the case like if it is you, me and other eligble lowyat members?
well if non relatives, friends will turn to enemies. that would be much easier since you can just stop contacting.

but then don't forget they could still file a dispute in court and you will go through a long court case with time & more $$ involved. so are you sure your property is going to worth more than that??

from your post I would guess you are still quite young, so not sure if you will have that much $$ lying around to hold on the property and a court battle at the same time. tongue.gif

TSZapZapk
post May 1 2016, 06:37 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 1 2016, 12:52 PM)
When you overheard any good investment in kopitium, it is about time to sell or keep away from that investment. If making money is easy, there should be more than 10% of people with over us$100k net worth.

Property game is not newly invented or discovered, if it is a great investment, every da ma and obasan would have invested years ago.
I think we have a bit out of topic. My post was not discussing what investment is a good investment or should I join an investment that was being discussed in kopitiam .

My topic is : is it doable if there is an agreement govern a group of 5 same mindset/goal stranger to buy a property and dispose a property? And, what kind of risk would we face? how could we solve it?

I agree with you that it is the best time to realize the investment when everyone is discussing it. nod.gif

0.0214sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:32 AM