Pos Malaysia Unregistered Parcel, took too long.. any way to check?

TSstupidpopia
post Apr 28 2016, 11:42 AM, updated 10y ago

19 posts

Hello all.

I've made some purchases from BookDepository, total of 10 books dispatched from UK since end of March 2016.

It was already mentioned it would be sent as normal unregistered mail, hence no tracking number la.

2 books were sent individually on the same day, but two days earlier than the remaining 8 books (one batch for the 8 then, think it would be a box)

First book arrived on second week. No news on second book and the remaining 8 books.

Been almost a month by now, and I assume that it is somewhere in Malaysian Pos Malaysia transaction. (because how can UK's Royal Mail disappoint?)

My mailing address is at Subang Jaya area, by the way.

I've heard some saying that due to the large parcel, the posmen won't send to your house, nor they will send you a notice, so you need to personally collect from the post office.

Is there a way to check where on earth is the post office where they hold unregistered parcels?

Can they even check if mine is there?

Or I should continue to pray in silence that my books would not be lost in transaction and might arrive in another month's time? XD

And anyone from Subang area lost their BookDepository parcels recently?

AyamBlend
post Apr 28 2016, 11:47 AM

27 posts

Check with your nearest post office (the one which should do the delivery to your house) , give them as many info as you can , (origin, package size, weight, Date of Posting, sender address, sender's name etc), cross yr finger ..

Tried once luckily they managed to track it down for me.

OR ask the sender whether he/she has any idea where it is
andrekua2
post Apr 28 2016, 01:03 PM

13,484 posts

Sometimes stuck in kastam.
TSstupidpopia
post Apr 28 2016, 01:12 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 28 2016, 01:03 PM)
Sometimes stuck in kastam.
Lol. Unregistered and stuck at kastam with no notice????
TSstupidpopia
post Apr 28 2016, 01:14 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(AyamBlend @ Apr 28 2016, 11:47 AM)
Check with your nearest post office (the one which should do the delivery to your house) , give them as many info as you can , (origin, package size, weight, Date of Posting, sender address, sender's name etc), cross yr finger ..

Tried once luckily they managed to track it down for me.

OR ask the sender whether he/she has any idea where it is
Wonder if they would actually try to look for it though... =.= But hopefully they do.

andrekua2
post Apr 28 2016, 01:31 PM

13,484 posts

QUOTE(stupidpopia @ Apr 28 2016, 01:12 PM)
Lol. Unregistered and stuck at kastam with no notice????
Well, I think so. I also had an unregistered parcel from US before. Took almost 3 months from ordering to receiving the goods. I dont think it will take 3 months to ship from US to Malaysia even when using the lowly USPS.
Mr.7
post Apr 28 2016, 04:51 PM

1,242 posts

no tracking number right? good luck, my books from Australia gone like thin air.
TSstupidpopia
post Apr 28 2016, 05:32 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Apr 28 2016, 04:51 PM)
no tracking number right? good luck, my books from Australia gone like thin air.
what books you ordered?
TSstupidpopia
post Apr 28 2016, 05:35 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 28 2016, 01:31 PM)
Well, I think so. I also had an unregistered parcel from US before. Took almost 3 months from ordering to receiving the goods. I dont think it will take 3 months to ship from US to Malaysia even when using the lowly USPS.
My first book's arrival within two weeks just showed that it is impossible to take 1 month. LOL.
andrekua2
post Apr 28 2016, 06:07 PM

13,484 posts

QUOTE(stupidpopia @ Apr 28 2016, 05:35 PM)
My first book's arrival within two weeks just showed that it is impossible to take 1 month. LOL.
That's what I'm trying to say. Could be stuck in kastam.

I been there few times. One auntie was there just because her niece was kind enough to gave her 30 mcd minions for her kids since it's hard to buy here. Guess what, it's stuck in kastam because officers think she was trying to run a business. If it's in a box, they will hold I think. They won't open it too. They will wait until owner arrived and opened the package in front of them to examine.
Mr.7
post Apr 28 2016, 06:29 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(stupidpopia @ Apr 28 2016, 05:32 PM)
what books you ordered?
Comics. Lucky total up around rm50 only.
CoolMorning
post Apr 29 2016, 02:48 PM

TS, BookDepository is slow.

It needs 3 to 10 weeks. If you lucky like me, one of my order arrived in Malaysia within 3 weeks and I am still waiting for another order that more than 4 weeks.
TSstupidpopia
post May 1 2016, 05:16 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(CoolMorning @ Apr 29 2016, 02:48 PM)
TS, BookDepository is slow.

It needs 3 to 10 weeks. If you lucky like me, one of my order arrived in Malaysia within 3 weeks and I am still waiting for another order that more than 4 weeks.
10 weeks. == now fourth week liao for me. damn scared kena tahan at kastam or pos office curi.
CoolMorning
post May 1 2016, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(stupidpopia @ May 1 2016, 05:16 PM)
10 weeks. == now fourth week liao for me. damn scared kena tahan at kastam or pos office curi.
From my experience, books never stuck at custom. It's duty-free item anyway.

My longest delivery time from BookDepository was 9 weeks, until I almost forgot the book already.
PetomJL
post May 1 2016, 07:16 PM

52 posts

Nope, there is no way you can check the whereabouts if it is not registered.

My experience with Booksdepsitory was they will replace the book and send you a new one. Took a few emails back and forth and some waiting but they are generally accommodating.

Once I received the replacement book TOGETHER with the missing one. The old one's packaging in poor condition and looking dusty. I suspect it just got tucked somewhere and forgotten in the post office lol.

I wrote to bookdepository asking if I should return one of them (there were some bends on the older book but nothing else). They asked me to keep them both smile.gif.
TSstupidpopia
post May 2 2016, 04:01 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(PetomJL @ May 1 2016, 07:16 PM)
Nope, there is no way you can check the whereabouts if it is not registered.

My experience with Booksdepsitory was they will replace the book and send you a new one. Took a few emails back and forth and some waiting but they are generally accommodating.

Once I received the replacement book TOGETHER with the missing one. The old one's packaging in poor condition and looking dusty. I suspect it just got tucked somewhere and forgotten in the post office lol.

I wrote to bookdepository asking if I should return one of them (there were some bends on the older book but nothing else). They asked me to keep them both smile.gif.
That's why I wanted to attempt to look at the nearby post office actually. Because it's most likely already in a box because 8 books in one shipment. Maybe uncle posmen lazy deliver because it's a box.

And I've subsequently ordered few more, but all split into individual shipment. Perhaps now stack high high with my box in the post office.

But don't know counter will layan anot. sad.gif How long you've waited before you asked for replacement?
TSstupidpopia
post May 2 2016, 04:02 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(CoolMorning @ May 1 2016, 06:11 PM)
From my experience, books never stuck at custom. It's duty-free item anyway.

My longest delivery time from BookDepository was 9 weeks, until I almost forgot the book already.
Oh, this shipment definitely I won't forget. 8 books, cost me about rm250. Pain. whistling.gif whistling.gif

CoolMorning
post May 2 2016, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(stupidpopia @ May 2 2016, 04:02 PM)
Oh, this shipment definitely I won't forget. 8 books, cost me about rm250. Pain.  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
RM250 is a lot of money. But no worry, just wait a bit longer.
PetomJL
post May 2 2016, 06:38 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(stupidpopia @ May 2 2016, 04:01 PM)
That's why I wanted to attempt to look at the nearby post office actually. Because it's most likely already in a box because 8 books in one shipment. Maybe uncle posmen lazy deliver because it's a box.

And I've subsequently ordered few more, but all split into individual shipment. Perhaps now stack high high with my box in the post office.

But don't know counter will layan anot. sad.gif How long you've waited before you asked for replacement?
I don't remember exactly, I think it was 45 or 60 days but I remember stating it had passed their estimated delivery timeframe.

You can try looking at your nearest pos office's kaunter serahan tingkap, if they don't have too many parcels they might be willing to look for you, although I doubt if they would find it practical.

Or if you want, you can write to Pos Malaysia customer service's email. They are usually quite responsive. So at least you have evidence to show to depository.com.

In my case, I just informed that there is no way for me to check with the local post if I don't have a tracking number, as pos malaysia don't maintain a system that could check a shipment based on recipient's info or address.

TSstupidpopia
post May 17 2016, 07:26 PM

19 posts

Anyway guys, thanks for the advices.

My stuffs have finally arrived from BookDepository about two weeks ago. Like finally.

The boxful of books arrived 35 days after dispatched from UK.

Last package of single book arrived 39 days after dispatched from UK.

The pain of waiting, seriously.

P/s: new order batch - first book arrived 23 days after dispatched from UK. 2nd and 3rd book arrived 20 days after dispatched from UK.

0.3629sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:44 PM