Ipad2 iOs9 Facebook very lag

TSwsonny
post Apr 22 2016, 11:26 AM, updated 10y ago

22 posts

My Ipad 2 with iOs9 run smooth but y when every i open app it will just lag or hang it there. especially when i open my Facebook the white screen just hang there for few min.

Izzit normal for all the ipad 2 user.
Baconateer
post Apr 22 2016, 11:29 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

probably not enuf RAM...
acbc
post Apr 22 2016, 11:34 AM

9,050 posts

Sure lag la. Not enough RAM. Better dispose it for iPad Air 2 or any iOS devices with 2GB RAM. 1GB RAM or below won't cut it. Slow like snail.
kevink82
post Apr 22 2016, 05:20 PM

1,134 posts

I think it's iOS, I bought a iPad Pro 9.7 and it lags more than I expected as well on menu and browsing stuff I didn't expect it will lag.

Gaming was fine though.
jesseblue
post Apr 24 2016, 09:48 PM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 22 2016, 11:34 AM)
Sure lag la. Not enough RAM. Better dispose it for iPad Air 2 or any iOS devices with 2GB RAM. 1GB RAM or below won't cut it. Slow like snail.
Agreed. My 6+ lags a lot when loading basic apps like FB and google maps.

It's much smoother on the 6S+
danieltan
post Apr 25 2016, 12:55 PM

Abuthen
750 posts

If using safari browse facebook does it will lag? If same lag, I think possible the hardware already outdated.
annoymous1234
post Apr 26 2016, 09:44 AM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Apr 24 2016, 09:48 PM)
Agreed. My 6+ lags a lot when loading basic apps like FB and google maps.

It's much smoother on the 6S+
6+ so soon lag? its only 1 generation behind
jesseblue
post Apr 26 2016, 11:26 AM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Apr 26 2016, 09:44 AM)
6+ so soon lag? its only 1 generation behind
When loading/starting apps yes. Takes a cool 5-7 secs to start up the FB and Google map apps.

The in-app experience (speed wise) is ok, just have to bear with the loading time

davidletterboyz
post Apr 26 2016, 11:32 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

Huh? I thought lag and iOS device should not be in the same verse! tongue.gif
jesseblue
post Apr 26 2016, 06:49 PM

1,113 posts

I supposed these days it only apply to the latest gens of idevices.
m3lv
post May 8 2016, 03:10 PM

419 posts

Apple also said they only expect their device last up to 3 years, ipad2 very long already bro, time to upgrade if you want a smooth experience, else tolerate with it lo. Im having the same prob as well, its like ur running windows 8 apps on win xp..now u have excuse to get new apple product.
firdausbhari
post May 9 2016, 01:17 PM

2,281 posts

1gb of ram cannot coop with the new ios. some more in the future. time to upgrade.
TSwsonny
post May 22 2016, 10:53 AM

22 posts

ok totally agree... my ipad i think is around 4-5 years oledi. should b around tat. so just thinking any way to speed up abit hahahaha
GamersFamilia
post May 28 2016, 10:39 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,875 posts

QUOTE(wsonny @ May 22 2016, 10:53 AM)
ok totally agree... my ipad i think is around 4-5 years oledi. should b around tat. so just thinking any way to speed up abit hahahaha
upgrade to new ipad loorr ...
SUSeksk
post Aug 8 2016, 02:40 PM

586 posts

i tried to do factory reset but but my ipad stuck at the apple logo.. wat can i do?
evangelion
post Aug 14 2016, 04:28 PM

The Ancient Ones
1,057 posts

Nowadays coding is getting way too inefficient due to cheap & plentiful ram
Doraku
post Sep 6 2016, 12:05 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

Same my sister ipad 2 become laggy after update to ios9 they say old devies become faster after update to ios9 but app crash and slow safari slow.
crayzee
post Sep 19 2016, 10:40 AM

901 posts

1gb ram not enough already, my ipad mini 2 cannot keep more than 3 tabs in safari in ios9. Everything feels laggy. It'll keep refresh my tabs.

Edit: ipad2 is 512mb ram, i think no hope already doh.gif

This post has been edited by crayzee: Sep 19 2016, 10:41 AM
domcobb
post Sep 23 2016, 05:19 AM

199 posts

I supposed it's good to have our expectations checked when updating the iOS on these yesteryear Apple devices. smile.gif
No doubt the iPad 2 has long past its due time but still, having own 1 myself, I gotta say, I'm loving it a lot, more so with iOS 9.3.5, which is the last update available for iPad 2, unfortunately. sad.gif
It was much laggy, even with simple typing, on the iOS 9.3.3 but now, it is much smoother, considering my use of it is more on the productivity side.

p/s: I, for one, do secretly wish that the iPad 2 will receive the iOS 10 update though, despite the specs of the device. laugh.gif

SUSgogo2
post Sep 23 2016, 10:29 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

its easy to make it fast. disable everything. spotlight. notification. everything.

0.0185sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:55 AM