Dear All Sifus,
I recently had an injury again at my back (probably the glute area) while deadlifting. It was not the first time, as I had my injuries, probably the exact same spot due to my lack of experience and egoism few years back.
Previously, the major injury that I had was due to deadlifting in an attempt for a new PR without a proper form. Worst off, I attempted another rep after some rest and strained my muscle. This time round, I was doing deadlifting as well. However, before even going into the workout, I did some stretching (toe to finger, scorpion etc) and some foam rolling. Thereafter, I started with empty bar for several reps, did some good morning. And slowly work my weight up (20kg each side, 30kg each side and 40kg each side). While I was in my 4th set of warming up (50% of my max), I felt uncomfortable in the first rep and I stop. Started to feel the pain slowly after.
What make me upset was that, I had, in my opinion, done a rather comprehensive warm up to avoid any injury. Worst off, I got my injury at such load which is not even the loading for my working set. I have seen doctor and physiologist and they told me that my injury might be due to that my scar in tendons of my previous injuries. However, over the past 2 years, I have not had any injuries again, while progressively working towards my previous PR. I was so close to hitting back my previous PR and possibly a new PR if I didnt have any injury or whatsoever. Noe, everything has to be started all over again.
So the reason for me to start this topic, is to get some experience from anyone who had similar injury and the reason for that. What else should I do to avoid the injury again and what can be improved.
And I also wish to know that if one can still get stronger than before, even after a severe injury. I think that's possible, given that there are similar cases I read on the internet. If you had such experience before, and your regime work for you, kindly share with me.
Experience in Sport Injury - Muscle Tear, Recovery and Performance
Apr 20 2016, 10:35 AM, updated 10y ago
0.0155sec
5 queries