51 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

New Apple MacBook 12-inch 2016 User Thread, Skylake processor and rose gold option

TSwestlife
post Apr 25 2016, 09:47 PM

14,310 posts

QUOTE(iam117 @ Apr 25 2016, 11:48 AM)
Hi all skylake Macbook 2016 users smile.gif

I already read many reviews online but all very general.. have a few questions before purchasing this macbook, hope can get some tips from you guys..

I mainly use this macbook for:
1) traveling
2) email, word processing (this one no problem to handle for sure)
3) adobe lightroom for RAW photo editing (mainly edit some photos when traveling)
4) adobe premiere pro for 1080p editing, files from DSLR (not main machine, but must be able to use when in need)

Questions:
I have MBP 15inch for my heavy usage, this new macbook mainly use it when traveling, and use as backup in case of anything urgent and when I do not have my MBP with me...

1) can this Macbook 2016 handle Premiere Pro editing? maybe loading a 400-800 video files from DSLR, combining clips with music, one layer color adjustment.. I do not use this Macbook as my main machine but in urgent case, can this Macbook handle the job? I do not mind minor lag when playback directly from timeline, I can pause and play again, as long as it doesn't lag when i preview the files and place the files in the timeline biggrin.gif
2) can this Macbook 2016 handle my Adobe lightroom work?
3) based on my usage, I planning to get the 256GB SSD model,  should I get m3 or m7? I read a lot online, some said not necessary, some said must.. When I need to perform editing in Lightroom and Premiere, the extra CPU Ghz will make any different?

Thanks a lot in advance biggrin.gif
Review said 2016 skylake MacBook m5 model has the same processing power as per MacBook 2015 i5 version which it should be not bad.
TSwestlife
post Apr 25 2016, 10:08 PM

14,310 posts

Comparison.

iam117
post Apr 26 2016, 03:51 AM

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Apr 25 2016, 07:21 PM)
Anyone kena? Like bought last week, and apple announce price slash after 5 days. So only can consider bad luck and apple won't bother bout it?
not sure this one helps : http://www.apple.com/my/shop/browse/open/salespolicies
search for item number 9
iam117
post Apr 26 2016, 03:58 AM

Thanks Boykidz93 and westlife for your input.. smile.gif
TSwestlife
post Apr 26 2016, 10:21 AM

14,310 posts

if 256GB early 2015 model can get at RM4050. is it worthwhile to get comparing to the 2016 one? brand new set.
fcchung
post Apr 27 2016, 10:27 AM

291 posts

if I buy a new MacBook 2016 model in Singapore, can I claim warranty in Malaysia if any happen for my new MacBook...
TSwestlife
post Apr 27 2016, 10:30 AM

14,310 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Apr 27 2016, 10:27 AM)
if I buy a new MacBook 2016 model in Singapore, can I claim warranty in Malaysia if any happen for my new MacBook...
should be able to. macbook is international warranty if not wrong.
TSwestlife
post Apr 27 2016, 10:31 AM

14,310 posts

which model are u buying? 1.1GHz or 1.2GHz or customised to 1.3GHz?
fcchung
post Apr 27 2016, 10:36 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 27 2016, 10:31 AM)
which model are u buying? 1.1GHz or 1.2GHz or customised to 1.3GHz?
1.1GHz with basic spec...no extra budget...hehe.
TSwestlife
post Apr 27 2016, 10:39 AM

14,310 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Apr 27 2016, 10:36 AM)
1.1GHz with basic spec...no extra budget...hehe.
ic. not bad already also. 1.1GHz for normal usage is totally no issue. it is snappy enough.
TSwestlife
post Apr 27 2016, 09:41 PM

14,310 posts

if early 2015 brand new set RM4050 1.1GHz 256GB, is it more worth it?
Boykidz93
post Apr 27 2016, 10:20 PM

iKnow uJealous, Look at my starS
2,334 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 27 2016, 09:41 PM)
if early 2015 brand new set RM4050 1.1GHz 256GB, is it more worth it?
wow, that price.. hmmmm attractive and save more than 1k rclxms.gif
iam117
post Apr 28 2016, 07:35 PM

definitely can claim warranty.. i think buying from SG is cheaper even after convert.. smile.gif
TSwestlife
post Apr 28 2016, 07:47 PM

14,310 posts

QUOTE(iam117 @ Apr 28 2016, 07:35 PM)
definitely can claim warranty.. i think buying from SG is cheaper even after convert.. smile.gif
yes, definitely cheaper.
stevenlee
post May 2 2016, 09:39 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

hi,
I planning to get the MacBook 2016.
I trying to search the Intel Core M vs normal core i3/i5/i7 processor.
I hardly find good comparison between this processor.
Intel core M is currently is more likely equal to which category of normal Core i processor?

in term of grapic performance, can it handle light gaming like Dota 2?

Boykidz93
post May 2 2016, 10:15 AM

iKnow uJealous, Look at my starS
2,334 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ May 2 2016, 09:39 AM)
hi,
Intel core M is currently is more likely equal to which category of normal Core i processor?

Hahah, Macbook don't really built for gaming... so i guess with the m5/m7 processor, it is not sufficient to support for DOTA 2?
TSwestlife
post May 2 2016, 11:08 AM

14,310 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ May 2 2016, 10:15 AM)
Hahah, Macbook don't really built for gaming... so i guess with the m5/m7 processor, it is not sufficient to support for DOTA 2?
This is wrong. MacBook even 2015 it is underrated by most ppl who do not own one or just simply looking at the paper spec alone. Light gaming tile like cs2go, dota 2 are totally playable on MacBook no matter 2015 or 2016. 2016 will play it even smoother.

And this refers to the base m3 1.1GHz Model too. Even m3 model alone since 2015 is a more than capable machine for most people. If u picked the latest m5 or m7 2015, base on the benchmark, they even exceeded the power on 2015 macbook

Core m mobile is never meant to be cheap or low power processor like what u can find in the netbook last time that uses atom processor.

It is meant to be the same capable processor that is on par with i3 or i5 but that are made to be small so that it consumes least amount of power and fanless so that they can be used for premium light laptop like MacBook Air 13-inch.

This post has been edited by westlife: May 2 2016, 11:14 AM
TSwestlife
post May 2 2016, 11:17 AM

14,310 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ May 2 2016, 09:39 AM)
hi,

See my comments above.
stevenlee
post May 2 2016, 06:33 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

I planning to get 256gb ver .. What is the storage available at clean boot up??
TSwestlife
post May 2 2016, 10:51 PM

14,310 posts

Geebench....

51 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled