Forex version XVIII, Foreign Exchange Market Discussion

jack2
post May 16 2016, 09:33 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(rachel9966 @ May 16 2016, 06:58 PM)
anyone using exness?

any withdrawal issues?

thanks.
they kena DDOS last month
jack2
post May 17 2016, 09:28 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(rachel9966 @ May 17 2016, 09:11 AM)
yup... but they compensate the lost of their clients already... not like some broker which kept silent and not doing anything to restore confidence.
Ya, they are good broker!
jack2
post May 17 2016, 09:37 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ May 17 2016, 09:16 AM)
I really dunno how some of you guys pro know when to trade or stuff, when is the busy market, what time to trade what currency, i seriously need guidance
Why dont go for PAMM?
jack2
post May 17 2016, 11:15 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ May 17 2016, 10:55 AM)
Wanted to learn trade my own also just like those pro here
Not easy bro.
jack2
post May 17 2016, 11:47 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(afie98120 @ May 17 2016, 11:44 AM)
u need sifu like demolationz to help u beroo

belajar trade sendiri memang mencabar sikit  laugh.gif
or 9kingsir brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
jack2
post May 17 2016, 12:12 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Markora @ May 17 2016, 11:56 AM)
Calling all Forex Traders in Malaysia come join and watch the preview about BREXIT ,Englands exit from Europe and the impact of GBP against all other currencies anticipated about 6000 points movement and you can capture this movement in advance and position yourself in advance.
Join us for this BREXIT preview for Forex Traders in Kuala Lumpur 6000 pips GBP pairs. https://www.facebook.com/events/130504850686753/
Do you understand the diff between pips and points?

So it is 6000 pips or 6000 points?
jack2
post May 17 2016, 02:43 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Mr. WongSF @ May 17 2016, 02:35 PM)
You pay me la! You pay me i teach u! Wakakakaka!  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Some serious advice though, apart from possessing a solid method, u must observe the market enough.

Sit there & watch, watch, watch, watch & watch some more. That's how you develop a feel for the market.

Pick a pair, or a few fav pairs. Make them your pet pairs. 

Watch how it moves, when it moves, how fast it moves. When it takes a rest (consolidation & exhaustion). Identify problem areas (where price is likely to stall or might even reverse on you). How it reacts to anncmts. How they move in tandem (or otherwise) with its crosses. Then you will be able to judge momentum & exploit certain weaknesses for a specific time window. Remember me telling u about watching the USD/CHF too if u trade the EUR/USD to check for negative correlation some times?
wink.gif

Also, YEN crosses are a joy to trade. 

Don't get fixated on a particular time-frame. Use multiple time-frame switching. See the forest from the trees. Traders react. You must recognize trend changes quickly or u will keep dropping money. The forex mkt moves very fast.

There is no substitute for experience in the mkts. You watch more you pick up faster. Don't get frustrated. 

Brexit vote 23rd June. EU referendum. Some talking heads are expecting a ~20% drop on the GBP crosses.

It would b interesting to see whr the cable goes as the 2008 lows = 1.34xx . Prior to that, 2001 lows = 1.38xx

We are only at 1.44xx today.

Whatever it is, just make sure SLs are in place for the nxt 6 wks whn trading the GBP pairs.

We don't wan any blown a/cs, do we?

As it is, the GBP crosses are already reacting. GBP trending during Asian session today. Now that is highly unusual  biggrin.gif
Such one straight drops, SL is useless and wont be functional liao... rclxs0.gif rclxs0.gif
jack2
post May 18 2016, 10:52 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(mpips @ May 17 2016, 10:33 PM)

15% ROI a month, good??  rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
jack2
post May 18 2016, 01:53 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Mr. WongSF @ May 18 2016, 01:32 PM)
ur avatar reminds me of this broker :

LMAO  biggrin.gif

its beyond me why the owners would name it as such. wonder if *ahem* nvm.......dun wanna racing in here laugh.gif
hahaha.. very cute

Are they legit?
jack2
post May 20 2016, 12:16 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ May 20 2016, 12:11 PM)
1USD now is MYR4.0779

(yes!)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
jack2
post May 20 2016, 01:27 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Hanford @ May 20 2016, 01:05 PM)
any teacher can teach me forex ?

I need money to cash flow my company.
Forex is not money game or skim cepat kaya.

dont use forex as a tool to generate fast cash.

you will burn....
jack2
post May 20 2016, 01:51 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(mpips @ May 17 2016, 10:33 PM)

15% ROI a month, good??  rclxms.gif
Guys, I invested in mpip's PAMM.

Wish me luck ya! biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
jack2
post May 20 2016, 05:24 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(9kingsir @ May 20 2016, 05:12 PM)
berapa ribu juta u invest? cool2.gif
Usd5k
jack2
post May 20 2016, 05:42 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ May 20 2016, 05:25 PM)
So rich
My 棺材本
jack2
post May 20 2016, 06:46 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ May 20 2016, 05:51 PM)
Hows your case with keroroQ?
No reply. And he is not bothering or afraid what I posted.

No problem, the account he traded, I have recovered it.

Just that he earned my USD200.
jack2
post May 21 2016, 01:21 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Wanna see my new testing EA result. Martin style

Account 625722
pass iyy2wbq
Pepperstone demo01
jack2
post May 22 2016, 12:29 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Markora @ May 22 2016, 12:27 PM)
Calling all Forex Traders in Malaysia come join and watch the preview about BREXIT ,Englands exit from Europe and the impact of GBP against all other currencies anticipated about 6000 points movement and you can capture this movement in advance and position yourself in advance.
Join us for this BREXIT preview for Forex Traders in Kuala Lumpur 6000 pips GBP pairs. https://www.facebook.com/events/130504850686753/

Dr Suresh Rama is a regular in Bloomberg and and Financial commentator of the present and future of Global Currency..
Presenters Professional Profile.
Suresh Ramanathan

Professional profile
Financial Strategist with extensive market research and market strategy experience. As a strategist I have analyzed
various facets of financial markets while making trading and strategy generating investment decisions in interest
rates and foreign exchange markets.

June 2015 – Present Independent Interest Rate and FX Strategist
Currently I am an Independent Interest Rate and FX Strategist providing financial and economic market analysis,
utilizing my two decades of experience at various financial institutions onshore and offshore. I have spent
considerable period of time looking through different facets of Global Financial Market conditions as a policy maker
as well as a market practitioner, providing insights on mechanics of Financial Markets. My interest are in the areas
of modelling financial market imperfections in Emerging Asia, particularly Interest Rate swaps, Foreign Exchange
Forwards and Monetary Policy Signaling.

Career summary
Jan 2005 – June 2015 Head, Asia FX/FI Strategy
CIMB Investment Bank
 Setup the Interest Rate and Foreign Exchange Strategy Desk. Provided views on interest rates and
currencies as well as trading strategy on Asian interest rates and Asian FX.
 Supported the rates trading and sales desks on FX, Local currency bonds and Swaps by providing daily
market views, relative value trade ideas and auction analysis. Responsibilities include advising clients’
portfolio decisions and composing weekly thematic articles.
 Recommendations included relative value and trend based trading around auction days and macro calls on
curve.
 Analytical Tools- Developed tools to explore relative value opportunities in Bond Swap spread space and
Volatility based trades, Spot and NDF curve analysis. Developed Excel spreadsheets to identify monthly
seasonality patterns and event based patterns.
 Developed econometric models to forecast change in currencies and yield curve movements using linear
multiple regression to be used by treasury products business.
 Formulated market views, strategies, and trade ideas on local-currency government bonds and rates.
Covers Asia ex-Japan (AXJ) with a primary focus on Emerging Asia.
 Monitored and analyzed South and North East Asia Debt, FX, markets and Economic Policy developments.
Evaluate macroeconomic fundamentals, positioning.
 Created high conviction, forward-looking views around Indonesia, Thailand, India, Philippines, China, South
Korea and Malaysia sovereigns.
 Recommended Asian EM investment strategies and tactical opportunities to foreign based EM Debt, Global
Macro and Credit Portfolio Managers and Investment Committee.
 Built analytics to identify and anticipate absolute and relative value market opportunities in local currency
bonds, FX, Provide macro context and top-down analysis to complement credit research and Economics
group. Establish trust and credibility with market specialists, economists, strategists, investors and
policymakers.
 Served as lead FX strategist for Malay Ringgit, Thai Baht, Indonesian Rupiah, Philippine peso and
Singapore Dollar, Chinese Yuan, Korean Won and Taiwan Dollar. Synthesized fundamental and technical
analysis, modelling, regional themes and key drivers to forecast, formulate outlook on Asian currencies.
Developed and managed stable of analytical models, including estimated monthly central bank FX
intervention, Monetary Policy changes.
 Real time analysis, thematic reports, monthly and quarterly outlook reports. Bottom – Up approach analysis
and Top – Down analysis.
Sept 2001 – Nov 2004 Senior Asia FX/FI Strategist
4CAST
 Real time FX and local currency bonds analysis in Emerging Asia, providing real-time market flows, chart
technical, rumors and commentary along with original graphics.
 Identifed key news and market moves to ensure 4CAST stays ahead of the competition.
 Commissioning commentaries and trade ideas, edit technical market content and jump in to do coverage
from time to time.
 A strong team player coordinating with FX/FI strategists in London and New York. Working together with
Asia market specialist, economists and strategists in collaborating reports and views.
 Staying on top of markets and analysing data in a fast-moving, real-time setting.
 In-depth knowledge of Emerging Asian economies. Made bold calls on how central banks will respond on
the monetary policy front and back up arguments, with analytical tools.
 Developed Analytical Tools – Built a Monetary Policy Signalling Index for Emerging Asia Central Banks and
evaluating policy response effect on currencies and local currency bonds.
 Developed Spreadsheet modelling of using International Reserves composition to model currency changes
over medium term, specifically used this approach for Emerging Asia central banks.
 Adept at analysis of the economies of China, South Korea, Singapore, India, Thailand, Malaysia and
Indonesia and writing short-form analysis with strong conclusions with a bottom –up approach.
 Ability to weave solitary economic/financial market trends into big-picture snippets.
 Adept at creating clear charts and visualizations to highlight market trends and anomalies and mispricing of
financial market instruments.
May 2000 – May 2001 Asia FX/FI

Strategist
Informa Global Markets/MCM Money Watch
 Real time FX and local currency bonds analysis in Emerging Asia, providing real-time market flows, chart
technical, rumors and commentary along with original graphics.
 Modelling of NDF markets using curve spreads analysis for identifying arbitrage trading ideas. NDF markets
in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, India, South Korea, China and Philippines were main areas of focus.
 Developed analytical tools taking into account of policy spreads influence on Emerging Asian currencies,
using regressions, correlations approach.
 Analyzed effects on US Treasury curve moves on Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, South Korea, India and
Philippines local currency bonds.
 Provided market intelligence reports that included market scoops on policy changes on FX and Interest Rate
policy in Emerging Asia.
 Provided insights on interest rate market flow and key technical reversal levels. Used technical analysis and
market flow as key barometers in gauging market behavior. This approach was vital when event risk
occurrence was high.
 Used Implied and Realized Volatility valuation for forecasting and short-term/medium-term trading strategies
in FX and local currency bonds in Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, India, South Korea and Philippines.
Aug 1997 – Apr 2000 Asia FX/FI Strategist
SBC Warburg/UBS
 Developed Daily Asia FX/FI strategy pieces and published position papers on a regular basis.
 Provided trade recommendation on the purchase, sale or holding of Emerging Asian currencies to global
fund managers and Asset Management teams.
 Developed quality thematic and strategic research client servicing with strategy recommendations and trade
ideas. Communicated recommendations to clients either in cooperation with sales force or directly with
clients.
 Worked together with the front-office team on the FX floor in London, New York and Singapore with primary
focus on FX markets.
 Responded to requests from sales force and clients for analysis/advice within assigned area which was
Emerging Asia markets
 Made presentations to clients, industry groups and internal departments. Developed and distributed written
materials and reports.
 Analytical Tools - developed proprietary econometric models for foreign exchange analysis and forecast for
South East Asia.
 Analysis of major country events related with foreign exchange dynamics particularly during the Asian
Financial Crisis of 1997/98. Analysis included modelling news flows and impact on currency and interest
rate movements in Emerging Asia markets of Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, China, South Korea, India and
Philippines.
 Analyzed market microstructures and quantitative trading in FX/FI markets of Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia,
South Korea and Philippines when capital control measures were implemented during AFC of 1997/98.
 Mapped data flows across FX/FI markets in South East Asia and applied to formulate trading strategies.
 Assisted in developing views on FX and Local currency bonds with strategists and economists within the
Global Research team.
 Worked with the Global Fixed Income Research team to develop and improve models in the areas of fixed
income asset allocation.
 Participated in the Fixed Income investment strategy meetings, presenting to senior management on the
macro outlook.
 Interacted with Portfolio Managers and other asset management team members to support the investment
process.
July 1994 – July 1997 Asia FX/FI Strategist
Central Bank of Malaysia
 Collaborated with Central Bank dealers in supporting decisions on international investment position, via FX
and Fixed Income reports. Played an integral role in the quarterly investment strategy decision-making
process.
 Conducted quantitative analysis in reserve investment and risk to facilitate active monitoring and interim
investment strategy formulation.
Analysing Asian interest rate and FX markets and providing inputs to the Monetary Policy division of the
Economics Department.
 Was part of the International Reserve Management Committee that was tasked in evaluating and providing
recommendations to the Ministry of Finance and the treasury department of the Central Bank.
 Produced research reports on a wide variety of topics pertinent to the management of the international
reserves.
 Supervised and was responsible for the work produced by Central Bank’s financial markets analysis section
particularly in the areas of FX and Fixed Income markets of Emerging Asia.
Education
University of Malaya, 2009 - 2014
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.). Specialization in Financial Macro Economics, Econometrics, Quantitative Analysis
My thesis title'Modelling Financial Market Imperfections in Emerging Asia'.
I adopted three significant approach in this study, short term interest rate swaps applied to single factor interest rate
models, testing the onshore and offshore FX forwards and NDFs in the Mundell Fleming model, building a monetary
policy signaling tool to evaluate Asian central banks signaling potency and capabilities.
The imperfections in interest rate and foreign exchange markets were evaluated against monetary policy signaling
in Emerging Asia in a pay-off matrix using risk -reward approach.
My examiners were Prof. Barry Eichengreen of UC Berkeley and Prof. Stephen Figlewski of NYU Stern School of
Business.
University of Malaya, 1995 -1999
Master's Degree, Economics
My dissertation title ' Fiscal Policy Impact on Real Exchange Rate and Trade Balance of Malaysia: With reference to
the late 1990s crisis'
University of Malaya, 1990 - 1994
Bachelor's Degree, Applied Economics
Technical Skills
I am adept in using E-Views which is a time series statistical software.
Analyze it – which is a statistical tool that interfaces with Excel for Correlation and Principal Component Analysis.
Vose Risk – which is a Model Risk software that interfaces with Excel for analyzing correlation of nonlinear data and
time series analysis.
Reuters and Bloomberg
Achievements
Book Prize for best graduate in Applied Economics Division, Faculty of Economics, University Malaya 1994
Central Bank of Malaysia – Gold Medal Finalist for Economics 1994
Best FX Research and Market Coverage in Malaysia – 2012, 2013, 2014 – Asiamoney Poll
Best FX Research Analyst – Asiamoney Poll 2014
Best FX Strategist/Economist – Asiamoney Poll 2014
Publications
 Ramanathan, Suresh, and Kian-Teng Kwek. "The twin faces of emerging Asia's currency forward
markets in an imperfect setting." Applied Financial Economics 23.18 (2013): 1433-1446.
 Ramanathan, Suresh, and Kian-Teng Kwek. "Drift term and vertex point in single factor interest rate
model." Mathematical Finance Letters 2013 (2013).
 Ramanathan, Suresh, and Kian Teng. "Emerging Asia’s Version of the Mundell-Fleming Model."
Modern Economy 4 (2013): 596
 Ramanathan, Suresh, and Kian-Teng Kwek. "Inferences from Interest Rate Behaviour for Monetary
Policy Signalling." IOSR Journal of Applied Physics 4 (2013): 55-65.
 Ramanathan, Suresh, and Kian Teng. "Single Factor Interest Rate Models in Inflation Targeting
Economies of Emerging Asia." Journal of Statistical and Econometric Methods 2.3 (2013): 95-104.
 Ramanathan, Suresh, and Kian Teng. "Behavioral Pattern of Emerging Asia Currency Option Risk
Reversals: An Indicator for Foreign Exchange Hedging." The Journal of Trading 9.2 (2014): 27-38.
 Ramanathan, Suresh, and Kian-Teng Kwek. "Modelling an Alternative Expression of Covered Interest
Parity–in Inflation Targeting Economies of Emerging Asia." Journal of Reviews on Global Economics 3
(2014): 373-376.
 Ramanathan, Suresh and Kian-Teng, Kwek “Signalling and Imperfections – A Risk Taker and Risk
Averse Game”, Journal of Game Theory, Vol 3, 2 (2014), pp 24-30.
 Ramanathan, Suresh and Kian-Teng, Kwek “Deviation from Covered Interest Parity and the Influence of
Arbitragers and Speculators in Asian Currency Markets” WSEAS TRANSACTIONS ON BUSINESS
AND ECONOMICS, 2015

Dr Suresh Rama is a regular in Bloomberg and and Financial commentator of the present and future of Global Currency..
I don't believe about 6000 pips

jack2
post May 22 2016, 12:31 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

If there is really 6000 pips movement, I can catch it too no matter it goes up or down.

Huhu
jack2
post May 22 2016, 01:56 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ May 22 2016, 01:42 PM)
There you go. He replied me instead of you sweat.gif
Haha

jack2
post May 22 2016, 01:58 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

If 6000 pips, do u know GU will be either 2.000 or 0.85...

Don't think proable

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:14 PM