Huawei Mate 8 forum discussion V2, The truly premium flagship?

coldfission
post May 30 2016, 05:49 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

Is the OTA ready??
coldfission
post May 31 2016, 09:40 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

Do u need SD card to install the latest update? Or just download the zip and extract it will do?
coldfission
post May 31 2016, 12:24 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ May 31 2016, 11:22 AM)
No need.. internal memory will do..

Just follow Uncle Benny's guide.. very simple
thanks a lot bro rclxms.gif
coldfission
post May 31 2016, 07:47 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

Just upgraded to latest firmware. Still monitoring how good the batt performance is. I kinda like the new camera interface.
coldfission
post Jun 1 2016, 07:43 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ May 31 2016, 07:52 PM)
Review plss
I'm still monitoring the batt performance. So far so good. Like I mentioned previously, I kinda like the new camera interface as it's more streamline. Hvn tested the new power saving mode and I don't use guest mode.

QUOTE(latte36 @ May 31 2016, 09:41 PM)
Would updating this way vood warranty in any way?
Niceeee...
I don't think will void it since we didn't unlock bootloader or root it.
coldfission
post Jun 1 2016, 11:13 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Jun 1 2016, 07:48 AM)
Malaysia unit still have no updates available...
yea, updated it manually via the link shared by forumer. It's very easy to upgrade..
coldfission
post Jun 1 2016, 12:21 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(kalkamel @ Jun 1 2016, 12:07 PM)
Any improvement to the camera quality after the firmware update?
doesnt seem so, it's still the same quality, at least from my eyes.. no significant improvement.
coldfission
post Jun 8 2016, 07:53 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jun 8 2016, 04:07 PM)
I never touched the pro mode but apparently you can. ohmy.gif
Let me also give some comparison between pro mode and normal auto mode. The darker one was captured using normal mode. The brighter one was using pro mode to snap it.

Normal auto mode

Pro mode
coldfission
post Jun 9 2016, 09:21 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Jun 9 2016, 08:12 AM)
What's the setting on pro mode.... the difference is incredible
The pro mode setting:
ISO: 1000
S: 0.5
EV: +4
F: 2.0
Focal length : 27mm
AF-C

auto mode:
ISO: 1000
S: 1/4000
EV: 0
F: 2.0
Focal length: 27mm
AF-A
coldfission
post Jun 11 2016, 08:45 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(NiceGenome @ Jun 10 2016, 08:27 PM)
How is it possible that the shutter speed in PRO mode is 0,5 sec and in Auto mode is 1/4000 sec at the same ISO (1000)? The difference of exposure is of a 800x factor, not considering the +4 EV (Exposure Value) in PRO mode that accounts for a 3200x factor (800 x 4). This is simply not possible looking at the pictures, my guess is that the shutter speed is more or less the same and the difference is due to a correction of the Exposure Value (probably even lower than EV +4).
Hmmm i double check the details again. This is what I saw there. By the way, that place is very dark. So when I tune to 0.5s I overexposed it quite a lot. To make it brighter, I adjusted to EV +4

But again u are right, a factor of 3200x is a lot. If dslr the pic would be simply white as overexposed too much.

This post has been edited by coldfission: Jun 11 2016, 08:50 AM
coldfission
post Jun 12 2016, 08:35 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

im using B320 now and i was trying to access my picture through USB mass storage mode. However, only MTP mode is enabled for my m8 and im not able to retrieve my picture under this mode. I cant even browse my music and photo in the windows explorer. anyone can share the USB driver with me?
coldfission
post Jun 13 2016, 09:35 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Jun 13 2016, 09:33 AM)
Kewl uncle. Same source@xda?

Hoping someone will pick this up and share in in gdrive. Hicloud is just too damn slow for me ...
the changelog for B321 is similar to B320, i wonder what are the changes in B321 hmm.gif hmm.gif
coldfission
post Jun 20 2016, 10:10 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 17 2016, 10:33 AM)
You still can update manually with the full update file but you will lose root capability. to re-root, TWRP will need to access to internal storage which is encrypted every time update the software.
a lil troublesome unless you flash with the following boot img

http://forum.xda-developers.com/mate-8/ori...ot-img-t3311306
QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 17 2016, 12:33 PM)
After update from B180 -> B320(+B320), my internal storage is encrypted and to decrypt, I have to wipe my internal storage which I refuse to.

Now I'm left hanging half way... I have TWRP... but i'm not rooted... You can't even flash super-su in because TWRP couldn't read internal storage.
i guess that's the reason why i cant view my picture in the mass storage mode. any idea on decrypting the internal storage without wiping?
coldfission
post Sep 1 2016, 09:32 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Aug 31 2016, 09:09 PM)
God I love the battery life. Its just bonkers!

[attachmentid=7433681]
wow 10 hours of SOT, how did you do that?
coldfission
post Sep 1 2016, 03:18 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(puifah @ Sep 1 2016, 03:08 PM)
got someone reach 11hours of SOT…
i only managed to get 6 hrs max, with 2 days of standby
coldfission
post Sep 1 2016, 04:35 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Sep 1 2016, 03:55 PM)
Honestly I'm just using the phone as usual. No powersaving settings besides only allowing Whatsapp to run with screen off. Otherwise, well I'm not too sure. I did install Greenify, but haven't being using it too much because I'm too lazy to root my phone, so it's just there to manually kill FB and a few persistently running in the background apps, if I remembered to use it haha.

Granted this is over a 15 hours off charger period, with mixed 4G and Wifi use.
i see.. i allow fb to run after screen is off, probably that's the reason why my batt gone so fast.
coldfission
post Sep 1 2016, 11:36 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 1 2016, 11:27 PM)
That is poor . Most users here can get easily at least 8+ hours. Personally my average is 10-11 hours
No need any added app. Just check your wakelock is under control
Hvn check what's the culprit. That's usually what I get for 2 full days of usage. Never exceed 7 hrs sot

The attached screenshot was taken moment ago. With 5 hrs of sot

This post has been edited by coldfission: Sep 1 2016, 11:38 PM
coldfission
post Dec 27 2016, 01:47 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

hi sifus, im on B320, is that mean i need to downgrade back to B180 in order to get the nougat firmware? I had signed up the beta by the way.
coldfission
post Dec 27 2016, 04:45 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(dexz @ Dec 27 2016, 03:44 PM)
I'm not sure if C636B320 is official for malaysia firmware. I heard it was a leaked firmware.

Anyway what's your build number? NXT-L29C636B320? You can check it at Setting -> About.

As long as the build number is NXT-L29C636B*** and you have registered as beta. You will get the OTA update. Just need to be patient until 31.12.2016 ☺
Hi bro, yes, it's not the official released firmware. I dl it when lyn user said it's good.
I just checked my firmware, it's NXT-L29C636B320. In the registration page it told me to wait until 31 dec. So hopefully i will receive the Nougat update as promised nod.gif
coldfission
post Dec 30 2016, 03:03 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(dexz @ Dec 27 2016, 08:51 PM)
For those who want to update Nougat manually via TWRP

NXT-L29C636B521 - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByXR42Nu62...VMyV214Ums/view

update_data_full_hw_spcseaz.zip - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByXR42Nu62...W9KcW9ia3M/view
can i flash it using the download folder method? or i need to perform full wipe before proceeding? any guide?

0.0262sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:31 PM