4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Huawei Mate 8 forum discussion V2, The truly premium flagship?

Joseph Hahn
post May 2 2016, 01:02 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Miao. ;3

I think the HDR mode is pretty good. Saturation is kind of neutral.
Joseph Hahn
post May 2 2016, 06:12 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ May 2 2016, 03:38 PM)
I should rephrase it. Not compatible with huawei fast charging isn't it?
I'm afraid it's not. I charged with Aukey charger this morning, the current going in was 1.8A. Last time I tried, it's charging at 1A. Yesterday I was charging using Aukey powerbank, it was charging at 1.5A. It's somehow random. But with stock charger, it's consistent at 2.2A. Though there's one post on XDA saying QC3 charger is almost as fast as stock charger.
Joseph Hahn
post May 2 2016, 09:33 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ May 2 2016, 06:32 PM)
QC3 charger? Never heard of that, is it available in msia?
Trade zone got bro. Aukey. Same person where I bought my Aukey QC2 charger. But no QC3 power bank yet.

QUOTE(yc1437 @ May 2 2016, 09:19 PM)
For Tasker to work properly, need to allow the app in Accessibility service too.

Ah ok thanks.

Joseph Hahn
post May 3 2016, 01:13 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ May 2 2016, 09:34 PM)
Oh okay. Thanks for the tips. But it won't be cheap i guess.

It's about 70 which is pretty reasonable I guess.

QUOTE(danieltan @ May 2 2016, 09:46 PM)
Can anyone know how to add wallpaper in magazine(unlock).

Copy pics into magazine unlock folder. The new pics must have the same filename as the stock pics so you have to move the stock pics somewhere else first. Pixels doesn't matter as it will auto crop and resize to fill the screen. At least that's how I did it and it worked.

Joseph Hahn
post May 5 2016, 08:32 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

So many users now. Maybe we should do a proper headcount and user list??? TS????? Maybe add Huawei tag as well??

QUOTE(ohde @ May 3 2016, 11:31 PM)
Hi all Mate 8 users, 

Can u share your battery life in detail data?

How much time require to charge from below 0% to 100%?
I shared a lot on previous pages lol. Should be 2.5 hours as claimed since i charge from 3-100% in around 2 hours 20 minutes.

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 4 2016, 05:46 AM)
Batu Pahat, Johor
Wah uncle i'm from Segamat haha but staying in Melaka. icon_rolleyes.gif
Joseph Hahn
post May 6 2016, 10:19 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(simonkc @ May 5 2016, 10:22 PM)
When using fingerprint unlock, lock screen did not show magazine wallpaper. Anyone have the same issue? I on ver b170
Erm if use fingerprint unlock you won't see the lockscreen at all no? confused.gif Or you chose a theme without magazine unlock?

QUOTE(sKy^pAna @ May 6 2016, 03:36 AM)
who getting their 4gb /64gb rom at gemfive? can install cpu z and screen shot the soc section in here?
mine is octa core set at 1.8ghz only...cortex A72

CPU-Z showing 1.8GHz too for me but in 3C Toolbox it's showing this.
Joseph Hahn
post May 9 2016, 08:48 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(mon678 @ May 7 2016, 12:10 PM)
lol of coz... kirin 950 contain 8 cores. 4 cores running at 1.8Ghz for normal use and another 4cores running at 2.3GHz for heavy use.
spec sheet here http://www.anandtech.com/show/9878/the-hua...mate-8-review/3
I know bro. Just answering the other guy question why CPU-Z only displaying the small core speed instead of the big core.

QUOTE(xhell99 @ May 7 2016, 02:32 PM)
yes, it is true.
the flip case is gonna to be wasted...
i hate flip case sad.gif
I hate it too but still using it lol.

Guys do you know why my camera setting doesn't stick? I like the pic to be more saturated so I adjust to +1 but it always reset back to 0. confused.gif

Also i just discovered the wallpaper changer setting lol. Feel silly. doh.gif
Joseph Hahn
post May 10 2016, 11:08 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 10 2016, 09:32 AM)
btw, what do you all think about EMUI vs other UI vs Stock.

am not just talking about the launcher portion of the UI
I have to say that EMUI skin is pretty deep but it's actually pretty. Everything is skinned down to the notification drop down and settings. It's mostly reorganized compared to stock. It's definitely iPhone-ish but at least you can download themes for the stock launcher or you can just replace it if you don't like it. I came from LG G4 and for me this is prettier. The apps looks are consistent with round motive. There are useful built in apps and functionality that stock Android or maybe other OEM doesn't have. The most powerful and important app is the phone manager where you can optimize your phone, control traffic, filter call and messages, manage battery and power profile, app lock etc. It takes a bit of getting used to but overall i like it.
Joseph Hahn
post May 10 2016, 11:10 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

edit: wut dbl post

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: May 10 2016, 03:30 PM
Joseph Hahn
post May 12 2016, 09:23 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Got new firmware huh. B321. Kinda itchy to root but happy with stock for now. sweat.gif
Joseph Hahn
post May 13 2016, 06:44 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Guis suddenly got OTA update to B180. You guys got too?

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ May 12 2016, 10:55 PM)
Just sharing something i found online. This is a theme pack for Android N Beta for Mate 8. Suitable for those who don't like Huawei's default theme and would prefer something more stock looking.

Warning : this theme pack file only suitable for Huawei devices running EMUI 4.x only.

Download the file from here :
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwFB8T1LMC...ew?usp=drivesdk
Copy the file to HWTheme folder

Open Theme Manager and select it.

Profit.

Credits goes to whoever that compiled this icon set.
Wow super duper nice theme. Thanks for sharing bro. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ayed08 @ May 13 2016, 03:38 PM)
Lol...so the left 1 just for cosmetic purpose only?aiyoo...make user confuse only lor...

Left got mic in there bro.

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 13 2016, 03:38 PM)
played around with the mate8 display sets... camera, etc... i noticed that quite often, ended up accidentallytouching the sizes and end up wrongly focusing the camera. but that was coz i was trying to use one hand...

seems not easy to use with one hand due to the small bezels, ya?

Happened to me too lol.

QUOTE(xhell99 @ May 13 2016, 06:10 PM)
U can hide any apps here, it won't show in home screen

How???

Joseph Hahn
post May 14 2016, 10:00 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(jubz @ May 13 2016, 11:58 PM)
on the main screen, pinch outwards instead of inwards.  sweat.gif

LOL OK I feel stupid now XDDDDDD

Joseph Hahn
post May 16 2016, 08:56 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(omega10 @ May 15 2016, 03:22 PM)
Hi, anyone can confirm if Mate 8 support Maxis 4G+?

Thank.you.
QUOTE(omega10 @ May 15 2016, 08:38 PM)
I do not see the +sign as shown in Samsung 7 Edge.

Thank you.
It does because it's Cat 6 capable. Just maybe there is no + icon.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_devic...Advanced#Huawei

QUOTE(jackdon @ May 15 2016, 08:30 PM)
I believe this is due to the apps been close when the screen is off, you can turn it on at the battery manager. I had this issue my Bluemail which I am using. After keeping it running when the screen is off I get notification.
I think doze is too aggressive. I already set ignore optimization to Tasker & Flickr but it still kills them when screen is off. confused.gif

NBTD. sweat.gif

My best SOT so far. rclxms.gif

Anybody tried this?? ohmy.gif

So in B180 we have fast charging notification?
Joseph Hahn
post May 17 2016, 08:53 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ May 16 2016, 06:11 PM)
Hi, how to see which type flip case suitable formate 8?

To have the smart window function
Pretty sure any third party flip cover will work as long as it has the magnet. This is Nillkin.

QUOTE(psjjl @ May 17 2016, 07:24 AM)
how do you do that bro? my mate's sot only reached 6 hrs max after upgrade to b180.
Is that 6 hours SOT with continue usage? If 6 hours straight gaming or for 2 days on off use, that makes sense. If 6 hours continuous normal use, that's pretty low.

Joseph Hahn
post May 17 2016, 12:24 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(psjjl @ May 17 2016, 09:32 AM)
6 hours plus on whatsapp, facebook, twitter, other social apps, gaming, listen to the music and browsing..it lasts for 2 days plus though.

QUOTE(squareballs @ May 17 2016, 09:38 AM)
I'm getting about 7 hours plus of sot only..

Just fb, whatsapp, web browsing and clash royale..

That's good already. If you want to get 10+ hours SOT maybe try read ebook or manga for 10 hours straight lol.

Joseph Hahn
post May 18 2016, 08:19 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(bissa @ May 18 2016, 02:00 AM)
Hi, Could someone show a real picture for the Mate 8 Mocha brown?
It's not as dark as the official picture.
Joseph Hahn
post May 20 2016, 10:22 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(zhlo @ May 20 2016, 08:52 AM)
is the camera quality much different if compare to LG G4 ?
It can't match the G4 but not horrible either. G4 has slightly bigger sensor & aperture but the image processing is important too as proven by S7 which is preferable compared to HTC 10. In latest firmware, people on XDA are saying that the latest camera software has improved the camera capability especially in low light.
Joseph Hahn
post May 23 2016, 08:39 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(latte36 @ May 20 2016, 04:51 PM)
I look like an idiot keep putting the phone to my ear while ringing.

Srsly, why my success rate is only lile 50% for raise to ear?

Any way i can check my sensor?

No idea. Maybe got some sort of diagnostic mode? Mine work just fine even with the smart cover closed.

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ May 21 2016, 11:42 AM)
B180, phone is warmer on gaming compared to b170, same usage.

QUOTE(freeman1314 @ May 21 2016, 01:07 PM)
Battery drains faster too.  Alot more faster.
I thought it's just me. But battery seems the same.

Joseph Hahn
post May 23 2016, 11:16 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(latte36 @ May 23 2016, 08:48 AM)
I got lemon unit???

Maybe can drop my phone and hope for 1 to 1 laugh.gif

Did a proximity sensor test, its working fine.

How do u normally answer using raise to ear? Do u wait for awhile before bringing it up or just bring it up or.. Anything specific of that sort?
Nothing special. Take a look at who's calling, then put to ear. sweat.gif
Joseph Hahn
post May 23 2016, 03:18 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ May 23 2016, 01:16 PM)
if lighting is good, mate8 camera is not bad..

but once lighting is lower or indoor, its focus speed is slow..
People on XDA saying got noticeable camera improvement with B321 firmware. Seems a hassle to flash so will just wait for official. Anybody tried B323 the latest one?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0603sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:46 AM