hp-compaq Presario V3000 series AMD & intel V2, Owners, Comments, Drivers, Support n Etc

shortiesphreaks
post Jan 20 2007, 05:52 PM

335 posts

haiya.. juz knew dat there's a thread for V3000.. thumbup.gif
@TS.. plz count me in.. i'm owner of COMPAQ V3133AU.. brows.gif

but.. i got some kind of problem here..

DOUBLE POST! --> taken from my post in thread "BSOD in Shutdown"

COMPAQ V3133AU --> my lappy is a new one.. and i like to hibernate instead of shuting down d whole system.. suddenly one day.. i switch on d lappy and the system cant startup.. cry.gif

usually after switch on the computer that in hibernate mode.. Windows would actually resuming the system.. but after 100% resuming... then BSOD popuped (stated that BAD_POOL_CALLER) and restarting.. unsure.gif

then i have to choose 2 option either to delete the restoration file and start the Windows or continue restart the sytem (means that resuming again).. hmm.gif then system wil start normally after i chuz to delete the restoration file... but my lappy keep fail to restart in hibernation mode.. sad.gif

at first i'm afraid that my hardware facing some problems.. but i'm sure that they're still new and working perfectly.. so then i try to restore my system using Windows System Restore.. and taaaddaaaa!! the problems solved! now i can hibernate and restart perfectly.. thumbup.gif (then i realize in Event Viewer.. i got alots of Error for my AMDK8, disk, DCOM, etc.. izzit related to the driver?)

but what's plays on my mind is.. how could the BSOD with error message of BAD_POOL_CALLER come out? hmm.gif (can some expert explain bout this problem)
shortiesphreaks
post Jan 24 2007, 06:07 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jan 22 2007, 12:32 AM)
thanx aite.. one of my problem will be solved.. thumbup.gif

one more question, does it effect the battery if i charge it full, and didnt use the battery for a weeks? any degradation? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by shortiesphreaks: Jan 24 2007, 06:19 PM
shortiesphreaks
post Jan 27 2007, 01:04 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jan 24 2007, 10:47 PM)
li-ion battery will degrade seriously if:

1) continuous charging
2) completely discharge
3) charge it to full

Simple Guidelines

* Avoid frequent full discharges because this puts additional strain on the battery. Several partial discharges with frequent recharges are better for lithium-ion than one deep one. Recharging a partially charged lithium-ion does not cause harm because there is no memory.

* Batteries with fuel gauge (laptops) should be calibrated by applying a deliberate full discharge once every 30 charges.

* Keep the lithium-ion battery cool. Avoid a hot car. For prolonged storage, keep the battery at a 40% charge level.

* If you have a spare lithium-ion battery, use one to the fullest and keep the other cool by placing it in the refrigerator. Do not freeze the battery. For best results, store the battery at 40% state-of-charge.
hmm.gif means dat.. it is good to store the battery @ 40% state for long-period unused.. and keep it cool.. then we can it fully for once in 30 charges? hurm.. i understand that.. and try to practise d guidelines.. thumbup.gif

ONLY CHARGE FULL WHEN U WANT TO USE IT!! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Jan 26 2007, 08:05 AM)
Take the laptop to HP service center to upgrade ur RAM. This is the safest way. flex.gif
QUOTE(Garfie @ Jan 26 2007, 08:54 PM)
safest? there are failures too regarding HP certified RAM, i'd watch your words if i were u
haiya.. so wat d best choice for us too upgrade it? i ask d seller when i bought it last month.. he said that.. "u come ere (HP lowyat) then we upgrade it for u.. for sure we'll give u kingston" sweat.gif

hynix + kingston --> can huh? hmm.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Jan 31 2007, 06:01 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ Jan 31 2007, 02:19 PM)
add me into C2D user.. hehe

run vista smoothly... 1.5GB ram...

erm... when i use my external speaker, why the notebook speaker play sound? Anyone? shocking.gif  shakehead.gif
wow.. 1GB + 512MB? shocking.gif
hurm... so what RAM did u used? kingston?

how d stability? hmm.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 2 2007, 01:42 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Jan 31 2007, 06:44 PM)
2 main reason they choose AMD
1. AMD more cheaper in price.
2. AMD using nVidia gf6150 that have a better performance than intel GMA 950.

The latest AMD dont hv major overheat problem alr la. especially turion 64 X2, u may use the powernow to save up ur battery.
yup.. somehow.. i run winamp and let my lappy idle.. it can reach nearly 2.5hrs.. rclxms.gif
but after i update to AMD powernow.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Jan 31 2007, 07:21 PM)
can any1 explain more details about dual channel ?
it kind of doubling the performance for both ram.. just my 2cents.. read more here.. biggrin.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual_channel

Added on February 2, 2007, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(sokdotcom @ Jan 5 2007, 12:57 AM)
RAM Upgrade README

Please check ur ram speed when upgrading.. make sure they are the same speed to utilize the Dual Channel mode... and make sure its double sided rams for maximum performance on a dual core system... (it is recommended that you use double sided rams for dual core processors)

to manually check the speed, you have to open the ram compartment first.. make sure you are well grounded before exposing any internal parts of the notebook.

the label of the ram is on the side facing the motherboard... you will have to remove the ram from the slot to check the speed.

PC 4300 for 533MHz
PC 5300 for 667MHz

it stated my RAM is DDR2-5300 but 333Mhz.. shocking.gif
which RAM shud i chuz? hmm.gif

kinda noob when come to speed part o MHz-thingy.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by shortiesphreaks: Feb 2 2007, 02:26 PM
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 2 2007, 09:47 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(epuel @ Feb 2 2007, 09:08 PM)
Did most of you guys choose AMD bcoz u all are gamers?

What's the average CPU temperature did you guys get using AMD Turion 64 X2 in normal room temperature? and also in air condition room?

from my EVEREST UE
hdd -> 50-60
gpu -> 70-80
cpu -> 45-50

thumbup.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 2 2007, 11:09 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(epuel @ Feb 2 2007, 10:04 PM)
wow!!! is it normal ?? Coz for me it look like a bit hot... how about other guys??
yup.. cos i'm not using cooling pad and my workplace area is kinda closed a bit.. no air flow sweat.gif

sumtime gpu juz 50-60.. hdd 40-50 n cpu 30-40 oni.. depend on condition lorr.. biggrin.gif

shortiesphreaks
post Feb 5 2007, 12:40 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(CKyoon @ Feb 4 2007, 04:53 PM)
Anyone play NFS most wanted on their AMD laptop with 6150 before?? playable?
i tot it wont capable to play it.. hurm.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(windvv2005 @ Feb 4 2007, 08:29 PM)
Yup i play most wanted and carbon on V3164AU  AMD 6150  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  !!!!
izzit? did u change any configuration on GF go 6150? any tweaking? hmm.gif

QUOTE(windvv2005 @ Feb 4 2007, 10:32 PM)
3hrs with everything adjusted to lowest! such as cpu adjusted to max batt, screen brightness to lowest.! While playing mostwanted with batteri can last for 1hr 45mins!!  with medium screen brightness and cpu adjusted to batt optimize.rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  I'm using NHC to control it!
btw.. what is NHC? temperature monitoring? i'm using Everest.. is it NHC is better than Everest? hmm.gif

shortiesphreaks
post Feb 5 2007, 11:22 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Feb 5 2007, 05:54 AM)
i've play nfs carbon. well dun have to do any configuration on GF go 6150. install and jus play only.xD very good but it's low resolution la. very smooth too. =) . NHC is a program that show ur HD & CPU temp and also can switch to 4 types of performance.
so.. it is a software? any source for download?
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 5 2007, 11:58 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(windvv2005 @ Feb 5 2007, 11:48 AM)
http://www.pbus-167.com/ here is the link for NHC . smile.gif smile.gif
does it hav any harm.. i've read a bit about it.. seems like it can tweak d lappy.. hmm.gif
i'm suspicious.. sweat.gif

i'm afraid dat it could b a problem.. hmm.gif sweat.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 5 2007, 12:27 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(windvv2005 @ Feb 5 2007, 12:11 PM)
It is already tested by many of ppl.Don't have to worry it is harmless.Since it can only down clock but can't over clock cpu. If you are using ATI GC, u can use it to OC your ATI GC. smile.gif smile.gif
orait.. oredi instaled it.. thumbup.gif no problem at all.. so.. how cud it working?
since i turn it on dynamic switching.. d cpu clock is 800Mhz.. it shud change aite? what the normal clock?
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 5 2007, 02:56 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(epuel @ Feb 5 2007, 02:21 PM)
yeah I wonder too.... anyone care to verify this?
it juz cover hardware warranty.. doesn't included on software.. hmm.gif
juz my2cents..
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 5 2007, 03:42 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Feb 5 2007, 03:15 PM)
when dynamic switching it runs at 800Mhz, if u switch to max performance it will stay at 1.6Ghz all the way.
owh yeah!! thumbup.gif it really works.. thanx bro.. it show 1607-1608Mhz.. biggrin.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 7 2007, 02:10 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Feb 7 2007, 01:48 PM)
as i already told u,upgrade ram wont void your warranty.u can buy ram from the shop that u purchase the laptop and ask them to upgrade the ram for u.thats all

btw,u can buy v3222 from me and i upgrade the ram for u

william
u got the best price currently offered thumbup.gif

will try to get to your soon.. thumbup.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 7 2007, 03:25 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(guevara @ Feb 7 2007, 02:39 PM)
actually i knew this,as williamgwl had stated earlier...i was refering to alieamin who sed he had bought a ram stick but didnt put it in to not void the warranty..hopefully he reads this smile.gif  btw guys,i was looking thru some price lists,and i found that startec is selling pc4200 and pc5300 512mb ddr2 modules for rm125 and rm235 for 1gb....
hah.. 512MB PC4200 DDR533 oni RM125 shocking.gif r u really sure lei.. yawn.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

Startec Pricelist

Cycom Pricelist

shortiesphreaks
post Feb 7 2007, 03:35 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(guevara @ Feb 7 2007, 03:30 PM)
i am sure..i got the price list yesterday when i went to low yat...mabey its a typo..but its rm155 in compu-zone i think...
since u got it yesterday.. it might be cheaper oredi.. hurm.. last time i go to lowyat was last few weeks.. sweat.gif

shortiesphreaks
post Feb 8 2007, 07:02 PM

335 posts

hurm.. another question bout NHC.. why does it have an error everytime i resume system after hybernate? hmm.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 9 2007, 03:43 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Feb 8 2007, 07:34 PM)
i've tried to hibernate but didnt get any errors.
really? hmm.gif yours is prof edi?

QUOTE(windvv2005 @ Feb 8 2007, 09:33 PM)
Try to reinstall again. smile.gif  smile.gif  Or update it! biggrin.gif
reinstall? update? --> how could i update? i install a latest one.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ Feb 8 2007, 10:01 PM)
Mine works fine.... but hibernation is very slow... takes 2-3 minute to initiate...
slow on shutting down.. but load up fast.. works fine for me thumbup.gif

QUOTE(alieamin @ Feb 8 2007, 10:32 PM)
yeah me too... after resume from standby mode an error will popup.
at least got one person having problem like me.. biggrin.gif
so how cud we solve it? hmm.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 13 2007, 04:54 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(sugebleach @ Feb 13 2007, 03:04 AM)
wana ask u guys,
how many hours can u use wit batt?
around 2.5hrs.. have to install amd powernow.. biggrin.gif plz read the previous post for more information.. --> it had been discussed!! thumbup.gif
shortiesphreaks
post Feb 14 2007, 12:04 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(cocofire @ Feb 13 2007, 01:00 PM)
My room isn't air conditioned. There's only a ceiling fan. What temp do you guys normally get at room temp? Should i should get this heating problem checked by somebody?

p/s: what software do you ppl usually use to detect temp? Just downloaded AMD PowerNow! Dashboard. The CPU temperature was hovering around 50C after 4 hours for the notebook. And GPU core temp was around 70C. OK kah?
hooo.. wanna know mine? afta change coolpad with my brother (his is Notepal P1 and mine is Notepal W1).. the hdd owes reach 56C.. sweat.gif hotter than before when i'm using Notepal W1.. kinda problem tho.. heating to d max.. cry.gif myb d aluminium surface of W1 spread the heat around.. so it not so hot and maintain arund 50C.. sweat.gif but P1 comes only for upper surface.. huh.gif so my hdd didnt have any good ventilation..

but i'm sure that urs is far better than mine.. hdd 50C and gpu 70C.. thumbup.gif
i'm using NHC for temperature mon.. (but it cant monitor GPU)
u oso can use Everest.. it's quite fine.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Andiboi @ Feb 11 2007, 12:10 AM)

i been using this notebook for 2-3 weeks i think. i have not encounter any problem and error. I'm so satisfied about this notebook. the heat is no hot but warm, normally the hdd temperature always stay at between 50'c when i do a little surfing,music listening,msn. So i think the heat aren't a problem, the heat are normal and not hot. but the negative part about the heat is some ppl will like to buy a cooling pad for it, but the heat coming out is located at bottom left part. Lot's of cooling pad, the fans are built at middle and top which useless for overcome the heat of this notebook. So v3000 users are having hard time to find a cooling pad.

myb later coolermaster wanna produce one more custom-made for V3000 user rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

0.0510sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:00 AM