hp-compaq Presario V3000 series AMD & intel V2, Owners, Comments, Drivers, Support n Etc

shirohamada
post Jan 14 2007, 12:29 AM

944 posts

i think you need to get into the bios
shirohamada
post Jan 24 2007, 01:17 AM

944 posts

check earlier post about this.
did you install amd powernow?
shirohamada
post Jan 31 2007, 06:06 PM

944 posts

is it still dual channel?
shirohamada
post Feb 2 2007, 10:36 PM

944 posts

amd cause its cheap
shirohamada
post Feb 23 2007, 03:01 AM

944 posts

1.5GB ram is still dual channel capable?
not that it matters much... hmm.gif
shirohamada
post Mar 2 2007, 02:32 PM

944 posts

i think my sempron is fast enough. nod.gif
shirohamada
post Apr 13 2007, 02:44 PM

944 posts

does compaq give international warranty by default or is it depends on retailer?
and if its some outback town you can send via mail? to the nearest service center?
shirohamada
post Apr 23 2007, 10:29 PM

944 posts

turion x2 65nm is scheduled for may. about the same time with santa rosa.
but still at 31-35w tdp.
i guess they going for power instead of battery.

do you think both would get implemented by early July?
cause planning to get one by that time.

do you think i can get a RM2299 with the new chips? sweat.gif
shirohamada
post Apr 28 2007, 01:36 AM

944 posts

so v3218 and v3250 is the same RM2299.
which one to get....?

3218 is with t2050.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel...microprocessors
compaq's ad says FSB is 667Mhz, but in truth its 533mhz. pre factory overclock eh? sweat.gif

while 3250 comes with geforce6150 which trumps gma950.
both processor equally suck.

so 3250 wins?

someone benchmark pls.
shirohamada
post May 1 2007, 01:50 AM

944 posts

glossy finish is evil. you'll get a lot of finger print shocking.gif shakehead.gif

the touchpad button is still deep? it doesn't feel like a click but a keyboard button, a push.

shirohamada
post May 4 2007, 03:02 AM

944 posts

to me, if its cheap. it wins. whistling.gif

choosing a notebook is different from a DIY desktop. coz it comes as a packeage. you need to look at the overalls, rather than which processor.
most people would leave the processor on idle, and use like 30% of its power when in use sweat.gif

but if you got money to burn for the next life, sure why not wink.gif
shirohamada
post May 5 2007, 03:46 AM

944 posts

if you're sure its not just the HDD writing/reading, then better backup before its too late.
shirohamada
post May 6 2007, 03:44 AM

944 posts

planning to get a v3250 or something similar in the price range.

question is, propably gonna get a 120GB 2.5" HDD with external box. so might as well swap it with the stock 80GB. my benq dude put a void sticker for the HDD, wtf? doh.gif
so compaq gonna void me too?
propably gonna get a 5400rpm seagate or hitachi. any specific recomendation is welcomed nod.gif

oh, the user is going away oversea. so any international warranty?
shirohamada
post May 14 2007, 04:20 PM

944 posts

how much battery life on v3250? or similar model.
browsing 98 page is...bleh. my brain is not working right, right now, left? sweat.gif

//most common wireless chipset is broadcom.
but if your book got centrino label, then its all intel chip.

This post has been edited by shirohamada: May 14 2007, 04:25 PM
shirohamada
post May 15 2007, 03:03 PM

944 posts

950 can't play quake3? wow, that bad eh?
my 6150 and 1150 can play quake3, wolfenstein enemy territory to be precise. which is quake 3 engine. at 1024x768.
only hiccups is radar map, a lot of grass, so slow down quite a lot, you definitely will get shot first. other maps is very playable.
shirohamada
post May 26 2007, 04:23 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(<giaNt> @ May 26 2007, 12:17 AM)
Wow, didn't expect such quick response. In fact, still googling. Actually, I'll just carry the laptop to shop and test. If can run DDR2 800, buy lor. Otherwise, get DDR2 667.  tongue.gif

Added on May 26, 2007, 12:21 am
Also, guys, I'm sure most of you ran the CPU-Z verification. Does your RAM run @ 333MHz? (suppose to be at this speed as RAM is DDR2 667) I'd check mine, running @ 166.7 MHz only. (CPU/RAM divider is 1/5).

Actually, bought this laptop early in February 2007. Somehow, let my sis use it. So, quite unfamiliar with this laptop, yet. blush.gif
you're doing it wrong.
i think thats when its idles, it cut half of the max powahh. try in full load, or when powernow is not in effect. just run video/superpi/etc...
shirohamada
post Jun 2 2007, 03:04 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jun 1 2007, 05:34 PM)
anyone know how to turn off the LCD screen without closing the lid?

thanks.
right click desktop >properties>screen saver >power > choose
shirohamada
post Jun 13 2007, 05:51 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jun 13 2007, 12:04 AM)
i'm frustrated to get a PC. Wanna know more about AMD. I afraid the power consumption is high and the laptop does not last 2.5hr++

I wonder is it HP is the best among others?
you can get 2.5 hours with normal web browsing. cpu intensive such as gaming? no.

if i buy a v3000 and swap the hdd with bigger one, would i void the warranty?
any specific HDD i should look for?
i'm planning to get either a v3250 or v3252 then swap with a seagate 120GB.
if not i'll use it for a year as external first sweat.gif
shirohamada
post Jun 13 2007, 06:35 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(fudhayl @ Jun 13 2007, 04:16 PM)
once again im humbly proud being owner of AMD X2 wif nVidia graphics...
mine is v3133 aredi 1/2 years old..
wanna upgrade atleast 2gig ram soon dpendng on $$$...
512 aint enuf power 4 these days maa..huhu yet so sabar till now..
yaa.. AMD lil bit heat sweat.gif  hmm but ive already tested not to shutdown my lappy for a week, but its still ok in performance and not so damn heat at the 1st thought.. cool.gif
ram is cheap!
RM65 for 512 and 115 for 1GB
just add 1GB first nod.gif

sata 2.5" hard to find? shocking.gif
went to the curve. they have it.

risky?
yes, i am crazy cheers.gif wink.gif

v3000 can't exceed 120GB? you really save me a lot of problem ;p

This post has been edited by shirohamada: Jun 13 2007, 06:45 PM
shirohamada
post Jun 14 2007, 06:10 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(ayrez @ Jun 14 2007, 04:26 PM)
anyone ans my ques?plz?
open up task manager and take a look at your memory usage. if it never goes up to 700MB, you don't need 2 GB.
you might want 2GB with vista. but vista fail is every way.
dvd is 8x

get a win xp cd. pop it in.
get into bios. change boot priority to optical drive.
then follow the instructions.

0.0564sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:22 AM