Magnet trap, magnet trap Add on oil filter

TSmacdaniel
post Apr 12 2016, 06:14 PM, updated 10y ago

46 posts

Hi all Sifu, Want to ask..when go for service car for my Alza service center they asked for install the Magnet trap on oil filter. What is it for actually?
dares
post Apr 12 2016, 07:00 PM

834 posts

All you have to know is, tell them "ini tak mau"
bsl555
post Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM

8,046 posts

I teach you all how to make it.. Goto Daiso, buy a 2 packets of button magnets (RM5/tab), then cluster them around your oil filter...simple..they're very strong magnets.
Another source of extra strong magnets. Your busted HDD drive. Rip it part, remove the magnets and strap them round your oil filter.. Free summore, if u have busted hdd.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Apr 12 2016, 07:31 PM
Ginny88
post Apr 12 2016, 08:13 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(macdaniel @ Apr 12 2016, 06:14 PM)
Hi all Sifu, Want to ask..when go for service car for my Alza service center they asked for install the Magnet trap on oil filter. What is it for actually?
Perodua SC also try to recommend "snake oil" to make money?

Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2016, 08:39 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM)
I teach you all how to make it.. Goto Daiso, buy a 2 packets of button magnets (RM5/tab), then cluster them around your oil filter...simple..they're very strong magnets.
Another source of extra strong magnets. Your busted HDD drive. Rip it part, remove the magnets and strap them round your oil filter.. Free summore, if u have busted hdd.
doesn't work. heat will kill the magnet.

i even had UOA to prove it's effectiveness being minimal, especially in modern day engines having more aluminum parts.
ledtechn
post Apr 12 2016, 08:51 PM

60 posts

well magnet trap has been used even in aeronautical aircraft engine. to say it doesnt work in our modern car is also wrong, because our automatic gearbox has this magnet at the oil pan to trap the metal debris.
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2016, 09:08 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ledtechn @ Apr 12 2016, 08:51 PM)
well magnet trap has been used even in aeronautical aircraft engine. to say it doesnt work in our modern car is also wrong, because our automatic gearbox has this magnet at the oil pan to trap the metal debris.
dependent on what application and what type of magnet. (it has to withstand between 150-200c at least and not demagnetize)

i know for a fact that the magnet pieces in my old 4g15 3AT has metal shavings on them when the mechanic open up the atf oil sump to replace the atf filter biggrin.gif
TSmacdaniel
post Apr 12 2016, 11:30 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM)
Thanks I think I will not do this thing haha.
TSmacdaniel
post Apr 12 2016, 11:31 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(ledtechn @ Apr 12 2016, 08:51 PM)
Is it really work on engine oil filter?
TSmacdaniel
post Apr 12 2016, 11:32 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Apr 12 2016, 08:13 PM)
Perodua SC also try to recommend "snake oil" to make money?
Other than that no need.. Just do normal thing
riezzien
post Apr 13 2016, 07:00 AM

107 posts

Well it works if it keep grabbing the filter til next service.
Problem is, usually it will fall off because our driving, road condition, hot weather blablablabla
TSmacdaniel
post Apr 13 2016, 11:12 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Apr 13 2016, 07:00 AM)
Well it works if it keep grabbing the filter til next service.
Problem is,  usually it will fall off because our driving, road condition, hot weather blablablabla
Just found this website

http://kereta.info/magnetrap-is-it-good-fo...sing-magnetrap/

(But this product is not recommended to install to Perodua’s car)

But why still sell in perodua service centre?? hmm.gif
bsl555
post Apr 13 2016, 11:20 AM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 12 2016, 08:39 PM)
doesn't work. heat will kill the magnet.
i even had UOA to prove it's effectiveness being minimal, especially in modern day engines having more aluminum parts.
You maybe right.. I only give suggestion how to make on the cheap. I won't do it and neither know whether it works or not. A magnet inside the gearbox sump is commonly found and there for a purpose. Its inside, that's important.
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2016, 11:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 13 2016, 11:20 AM)
You maybe right.. I only give suggestion how to make on the cheap. I won't do it and neither know whether it works or not. A magnet inside the gearbox sump is commonly found and there for a purpose. Its inside, that's important.
aye hehe

0.0157sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:01 PM