Hi all Sifu, Want to ask..when go for service car for my Alza service center they asked for install the Magnet trap on oil filter. What is it for actually?
Magnet trap, magnet trap Add on oil filter
Apr 12 2016, 06:14 PM, updated 10y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
46 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Hi all Sifu, Want to ask..when go for service car for my Alza service center they asked for install the Magnet trap on oil filter. What is it for actually?
Apr 12 2016, 07:00 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
All you have to know is, tell them "ini tak mau"
Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM
8,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I teach you all how to make it.. Goto Daiso, buy a 2 packets of button magnets (RM5/tab), then cluster them around your oil filter...simple..they're very strong magnets.
Another source of extra strong magnets. Your busted HDD drive. Rip it part, remove the magnets and strap them round your oil filter.. Free summore, if u have busted hdd. This post has been edited by bsl555: Apr 12 2016, 07:31 PM |
Apr 12 2016, 08:13 PM
1,032 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Apr 12 2016, 08:39 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM) I teach you all how to make it.. Goto Daiso, buy a 2 packets of button magnets (RM5/tab), then cluster them around your oil filter...simple..they're very strong magnets. doesn't work. heat will kill the magnet.Another source of extra strong magnets. Your busted HDD drive. Rip it part, remove the magnets and strap them round your oil filter.. Free summore, if u have busted hdd. i even had UOA to prove it's effectiveness being minimal, especially in modern day engines having more aluminum parts. |
Apr 12 2016, 08:51 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
60 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
well magnet trap has been used even in aeronautical aircraft engine. to say it doesnt work in our modern car is also wrong, because our automatic gearbox has this magnet at the oil pan to trap the metal debris.
Apr 12 2016, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(ledtechn @ Apr 12 2016, 08:51 PM) well magnet trap has been used even in aeronautical aircraft engine. to say it doesnt work in our modern car is also wrong, because our automatic gearbox has this magnet at the oil pan to trap the metal debris. dependent on what application and what type of magnet. (it has to withstand between 150-200c at least and not demagnetize)i know for a fact that the magnet pieces in my old 4g15 3AT has metal shavings on them when the mechanic open up the atf oil sump to replace the atf filter |
Apr 12 2016, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM) I teach you all how to make it.. Goto Daiso, buy a 2 packets of button magnets (RM5/tab), then cluster them around your oil filter...simple..they're very strong magnets. Thanks I think I will not do this thing haha.Another source of extra strong magnets. Your busted HDD drive. Rip it part, remove the magnets and strap them round your oil filter.. Free summore, if u have busted hdd. |
Apr 12 2016, 11:31 PM
Apr 12 2016, 11:32 PM
Apr 13 2016, 07:00 AM
107 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Well it works if it keep grabbing the filter til next service.
Problem is, usually it will fall off because our driving, road condition, hot weather blablablabla |
Apr 13 2016, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(riezzien @ Apr 13 2016, 07:00 AM) Well it works if it keep grabbing the filter til next service. Just found this website Problem is, usually it will fall off because our driving, road condition, hot weather blablablabla http://kereta.info/magnetrap-is-it-good-fo...sing-magnetrap/ (But this product is not recommended to install to Perodua’s car) But why still sell in perodua service centre?? |
Apr 13 2016, 11:20 AM
8,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 12 2016, 08:39 PM) doesn't work. heat will kill the magnet. You maybe right.. I only give suggestion how to make on the cheap. I won't do it and neither know whether it works or not. A magnet inside the gearbox sump is commonly found and there for a purpose. Its inside, that's important.i even had UOA to prove it's effectiveness being minimal, especially in modern day engines having more aluminum parts. |
Apr 13 2016, 11:24 AM
| Change to: | 0.0194sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:18 AM |