QUOTE(Cruxs @ Apr 12 2016, 11:38 AM)
My dad car 2.0 liter engine dun have thermostat. Most of the time temperature really low. Fuel consumption really big different? The mechanic remove the thermostat bcoz the car always overheat when turn on the a/c & car not moving/slow move. Then i found that the ral prob is the clutch fan. Its moving but not as fast as it should. After i replace the clutch fan then didnt bother about the thermostat until real this topic.
Removing the thermostat shouldn't be done. It will affect faster engine warmup and fuel consumption. This part have always been there by nearly all manufacturers of normal aspirated cars for a long long time. They wouldn't install it if it served no purpose. Of course replace it if its not working properly, use proper coolant, ensure the electric fan is working optimally (sensor switch on at the right temp, off later ). Cooling system must be optimum at all times for modern engines, not even one component should fail. The moment you see the temp as abnormal, get a competent mechanic to check. Of course you can DIY easily with the right tools and knowledge. Lastly, electric fan can fail, replace immediately when defective. I used to have an ole 2 litre BMW with clutch type fan, replaced it once during its lifetime. It was erratic and unstable temp. Good luck!This post has been edited by bsl555: Apr 12 2016, 01:18 PM
Apr 12 2016, 01:15 PM

0.0161sec