Smart cover. worth it or not?

TSfailed.hashcheck
post Apr 11 2016, 07:23 PM, updated 10y ago

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

In order page, they let me choose to include smart cover.
Quite expensive for folding thingy that does nothing but sticking around your device screen.
Is it worth it? or I better opt for 3rd party cover? (please recommend). Brand means little to me I just want it to be durable and comfortable.

Also screen protector.
How good is the screen? is it okay for me to go around without those overpriced screen protector?

edit:
im planning to buy ipad air 2

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Apr 16 2016, 01:53 AM
lawrencesha
post Apr 11 2016, 07:46 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Apr 11 2016, 07:23 PM)
Quite expensive for folding thingy that does nothing but sticking around your device screen.
Is it worth it? or I better opt for 3rd party cover? (please recommend). Brand means little to me I just want it to be durable and comfortable.

Also screen protector.
How good is the screen? is it okay for me to go around without those overpriced screen protector?
I bought the smart case for my ipad mini... after 1 year.. the part near the charging port koyak and the cover cannot use at all .... paid over 200 for it (now more than 300)... ask Machines and they say it is normal while laughing. totally not worth it.

I then got a spigen tough armor with a tempered glass. the ipad is now fully protected from all direction.

This post has been edited by lawrencesha: Apr 11 2016, 07:46 PM
lawrencesha
post Apr 11 2016, 07:46 PM

882 posts

double post

This post has been edited by lawrencesha: Apr 11 2016, 07:47 PM
denzel88
post Apr 12 2016, 09:28 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Apr 11 2016, 07:46 PM)
I bought the smart case for my ipad mini... after 1 year.. the part near the charging port koyak and the cover cannot use at all .... paid over 200 for it (now more than 300)... ask Machines and they say it is normal while laughing. totally not worth it.

I then got a spigen tough armor with a tempered glass. the ipad is now fully protected from all direction.
I thought there's suppose to be 1year warranty for Apple product
lawrencesha
post Apr 13 2016, 09:42 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Apr 12 2016, 09:28 PM)
I thought there's suppose to be 1year warranty for Apple product
No idea. But mine koyak just after 1 year.
asamalikum
post Apr 15 2016, 10:17 PM

1,221 posts

Also screen protector.
Definitely worth getting the original Apple cover. Main reason is the slim design. Just my personal opinion.
denzel88
post Apr 15 2016, 10:55 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

Also screen protector.
So far if you watched those scratch test videos, new iPads and new phones are very resistant. May not even need screen protectors but it's always good to have one if you want be safe.

This post has been edited by denzel88: Apr 15 2016, 10:55 PM
TSfailed.hashcheck
post Apr 16 2016, 01:47 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Apr 11 2016, 07:46 PM)

QUOTE(asamalikum @ Apr 15 2016, 10:17 PM)
Definitely worth getting the original Apple cover. Main reason is the slim design. Just my personal opinion.
QUOTE(denzel88 @ Apr 15 2016, 10:55 PM)
So far if you watched those scratch test videos, new iPads and new phones are very resistant. May not even need screen protectors but it's always good to have one if you want be safe.
dunno lor liek this.
But after some consideration I think i would just go for 3rd party cover/case. At least I could afford to get it replaced every 4-5 month and try a new design every time.
looking at spigen tough armor offering but unfortunately they dont have one for ipad air 2.

Never owned nor ever touched any ipads before so I don't really know what to expect on its quality. Those test videos also not really accurate in wild, real world most of time.
I much prefer the direct feel of glass, but considering my rather harsh working environment some protection is still needed.

0.0159sec    1.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:35 PM