Speedrent, Guarantee Deposit Scheme (ask opinion)

se800i
post Oct 11 2019, 02:07 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Apr 12 2016, 12:54 PM)
1. Yes, Speedrent is one of the parties.
2. We do not evict, but we terminate the agreement upon non-payment for 3 consecutive failure charge to the card in a month. We notify tenant every time card has been declined and would expect them to make sure card is chargeable again. This gives you super early 'warning' detection, and begin the eviction within 2 weeks instead of months.
3. We do not evict, we are a payment solution provider. We however would love to provide best practice for eviction.
4. In traditional deposit model, you take 3 months deposit. That's the most you can get in an event you have a bad tenant that break the agreement and at the same time damage your property. In our model, it's the same, we issue up to 3 months rental (which is equivalent to your cash deposit). It's the same.

Hope that explains smile.gif
may i know is this still the same business model for speed rent now>?
I am interested to use speedrent service.
I am owner.
se800i
post Oct 11 2019, 04:30 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Oct 11 2019, 04:52 PM)
Yes. By in large still the same.
The same as in
there is still credit card deduction from tenant CC account?
CTOS screening for tenants?
Insurance by Allianz?

what else?

Do we owner/landlord need to pay anything to Speedrent?
se800i
post Oct 15 2019, 09:17 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Oct 12 2019, 03:42 PM)
Pay for the insurance. Tenant can choose to pay through CC or normal banking transfer.
what does the insurance cover ya?
se800i
post Oct 17 2019, 03:50 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Oct 17 2019, 10:23 AM)
The insurance only cover for rental ranging from RM800 to RM5000.
How if my rental is lower than that and do I still able to get covered by insurance?
FYI, I am renting out on Room by room basis.

In order to get cover by insurance, then only master bedroom can be covered and not able to cover for room 2 & 3.
se800i
post Oct 21 2019, 08:13 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Oct 19 2019, 11:59 AM)
We do have room insurance but not selling well. However, we still carry the product, can offer to you, not an issue.
may i know your room package? It seems cant find it in your website or I simply dont know where to find for it.
Need your guidance or link.

If there is a case happen like tenant not paying rental. The insurance 100% can be claimed?

QUOTE(SureshG @ Oct 19 2019, 12:19 PM)
The only gap I see with your offering right now, is the TNB rental deposit. The inconvenience coverage of 2K is not sufficient to cover non-payment of TNB. Moving TNB to the third party's name is the best option but  results in uncomfortable discussions because you are a no-deposit scheme.
actually we as the owner/landlord, TNB is under our name. If lets say the TNB is bearable by the tenant themselves, and ended up the tenants doesnt pay the bills for month, as a responsible owner you can always check your unit's TNB online ,correct?

Just monitor month by month. if lets say TNB dispute for 2 mths and you as the landlord should raise your voice already.
se800i
post Oct 21 2019, 11:11 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Oct 21 2019, 09:47 AM)
why i need to spend time monitoring when i have a better alternative?  get the tenant to register the tnb account under their name as ultimately  tnb will go after them for non payment..

"raise your voice" does not work i have discovered - even when  TNB was requested to cut power due to arrears (esp those that exceeded deposit) they still do not do it most of the time so its very time consuming and frustrating ..  Or better still, got a case, when their TNB contractor (outsourced of course) went to the premise, the tenant paid the guy off and the contractor had the audacity to confirm bekalan dah potong and reconfirmed by TNB  - but in reality the power was still running..Later when this issue was raised TNB buat tak tahu and insisted owner pay up everything..! 
Joke was on the owner..
Oh ... I heard before this case... I think not everyone also do the same. You got your point too in protecting yourself.
TNB contractor is not on the good ethics... SIGH...

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Oct 21 2019, 10:40 AM)
We have unpublished it. Maybe you can PM me your email and I can send you the copy of it.
PM done...

se800i
post Oct 21 2019, 11:16 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Oct 21 2019, 10:39 AM)
We are actually piloting transferring the TNB account to tenant's name. If it's a great success, we will roll it out.
when this will be done? i actually asking my electrical technician to install 3 extra meter and fuse box for the unit so that I can know what is the tenant's usage and charge accordingly if they exceeded my limit given to them...
which means to say that my room rental in inclusive of utilities payment.

is this practical?
se800i
post Oct 23 2019, 09:12 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Oct 21 2019, 04:07 PM)
we actually prefer this because it's messy and a lot of argument between tenants. Some tenants paid bills, some don't. Just not worth the time in listening to their grandma story.
you mean you have many customer also doing like what I mentioned install the individual meter for each room to avoid arguement? and also to include utilities in the room rental?
se800i
post Dec 10 2019, 03:06 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(autumnleaf15 @ Dec 6 2019, 07:24 PM)
Just wanted to share my personal experience with Speedhome. I have a condo that was ready to be rented since Aug, hired a few agents but couldn't get any tenant. Stumbled upon Speedhome and decided to give a try. Signed up less than 2 weeks ago and tomorrow I will be handing over keys to my tenant! (Probably I am just lucky but the platform definitely doing better job than my few agents)

I am overall satisfied with the level of service given, whether it's the homerunner that came to my office to pick up keys, the staffs who are always ready to reply my whatsapp, everything worked well and tenancy agreement signing process is really convenient with all of that being able to be done in the comfort of home. Really efficient!

I find it value for money with speedhome essentially playing a property manager role (collecting rent on our behalf), screening the tenants, and also the insurance coverage which gives us an ease of mind.

Been reading the thread from front to the end before using the platform, while not everyone's experience is perfect, I am impressed by the team and also founder who is very passionate and dedicated to resolve issues and bring customer experience to the next level. Good job and keep it up!
wow.... i am looking forward to handover to speedrent to manage my unit soon .

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Dec 7 2019, 04:11 PM)
Wow, thanks for your kind words, really really appreciate it!
hope your team never disappoint me. looking forward to see you guys.
se800i
post Jan 2 2020, 02:54 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Jan 1 2020, 02:22 PM)
I've spoke to my team, and they said a lot of them look wear and tear.

Wear and tear is not claimable as like car maintenance.
mind to specific what are those items like wear n tear?
se800i
post Jan 3 2020, 03:06 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Jan 3 2020, 12:44 PM)
Do you claim insurance when your car has got minor scratches?
Do you claim insurance when a/c is not cold?

You pay from your pocket (and this is wear and tear)

But if someone threw a gigantic rock on your car, it suffers major scratches and also damaged the A/C - then you probably don't want to pay yourself, and that's where insurance excels. Or if tenant stole your A/C, TV, Sofa - that itself deposit is insufficiently covering you, and that's where insurance excels. 

Insurance is not about 100% risk-free. If it is risk-free - even tiny weeny issues also cover, then premium charged would be significantly higher due to the expectation of it. Insurance is there to ensure that mid-major incident is properly covered. Would you want to pay extra 3-4x of car insurance if even tiny scratches is covered by insurance?

Often, people are always comparing deposit vs insurance. Nothing is perfect, we have quite many cases suffered large damage that is in excess of RM8k, would your deposit cover that? Do take note that the rental loss is up to 2 months, which is equivalent to the 2 months security deposit. So the rest of it, which insurance portion is RM15k.

Property rental is a 'passive income' and it's also a business. Anything that you do involves risk (driving a car for that matter), and when you magnify on some cons without taking the pros it gives you - it's not doing proper risk analysis on what's acceptable losses and what's not.

So yes, deposit - you can deduct all the small small expenses. But when it comes to mid-major issue, it will burn a hole in your pocket. So do not compare deposit vs insurance. Compare whether you can tolerate small or big risk better.

I'm pretty sure everyone wants risk-free, so again - 3-4x more expensive insurance - worth it?
well say boss.....
if my unit is ready to rent out (rooms) , can i still look for speed rent the insurance scheme? I think i have asked before but to double confirm.
so can i meet your officer on how I would like my rental like?

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Jan 3 2020, 01:15 PM)
the landlord shall probably up rental rate by another 20% since no deposit down.
Lolz..... It depends..
se800i
post Jan 6 2020, 02:57 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Jan 6 2020, 11:03 AM)
Since you have put up public description, why not you put up some sample photos (before and after) so us to look into?

I need to agree with Whei Meng if it is wear and tear then pretty subjective and so far personally I never charge my tenant for it. It is about personal expectation I guess as well as speedrent promises.
I think wear and tear parts are still acceptable just like a car.... Brake pad, even car cushion is consider as wear n tear that the manufacturer doesnt allow owner to claim warranty and told me it is wear and tear.... WTF!!!!

A leather seat starts to peel off pieces by pieces....

Awww
se800i
post Jan 9 2020, 09:17 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Jan 8 2020, 09:26 AM)

Some examples of what's claimable. In some cases, we helped subsidizing too to ease the financial pain. This year we are looking to allocate some budgets to subsidize some cases where we think should be claimable but rejected by insurance on a case by case basis.

We know some shortcomings of insurance and this is one of the efforts that we wish to step up our role in offering peace of mind experience for everyone.
so the photos shown is it coverable by speedrent insurance? The photos shown confirm vandalism by tenant already not wear and tear.
besides, i would like to get your advice whereby did you have any customer's unit install CCTV inside the unit ?

QUOTE(gks @ Jan 8 2020, 10:33 AM)
In conventional rental scheme, this will be chargeable to tenant.
On landlord side, rental game is very hands on investment and I would suggest that whenever a new tenancy starts, pay a visit to tenant 4-5 months down the road. You will able to gauge the tenant capability upleepjng the place. If place wear down pretty quickly, you need to be alert and put in tenant management.
4-5 mths visit once?
I plan to visit at least once a mth and if I am free will visit every 2 weeks to prevent my property is in good condition as always.
se800i
post Jan 12 2020, 07:53 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Jan 11 2020, 09:30 PM)
@se800i ya, those are damages and approved claims. CCTV? Not that I'm aware of, seems invading privacy?
But I am installing at living hall. My purpose to it is just to protect my property in good condition. would it be adviseable to do so?
se800i
post Jan 13 2020, 08:17 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Jan 12 2020, 06:32 PM)
just need to make sure tenant is informed and aware of that. best to have an acknowledge form to sign by both parties so that there won't be any dispute around it. better be safe than sorry.
if lets say i engage speedrent to rent my unit. would speedrent able to ready such acknowledgement form ?
se800i
post Feb 7 2020, 08:30 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(lausimmei78 @ Feb 6 2020, 05:42 PM)
oh they increased the commission??? mine was only 1 month rental last 2 yrs
did you still continue with speed rent nowadays?
se800i
post Feb 11 2020, 10:42 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(lausimmei78 @ Feb 10 2020, 09:41 AM)
nope coz managed to find tenant myself
so you need to prepare your own tenency agreement yourself right?
se800i
post Feb 17 2020, 09:09 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Feb 11 2020, 06:11 PM)
Landlord portion of paying premium is prorated according to the tenure. So if the tenant wants to rent 6 months, the landlord only pays for 50% of the premium. The surcharge to the tenant is to pay for the remaining of the insurance premium.

In other words, landlord get 1 year insurance for half of the cost as the tenant bears the other half.

After 6 months, landlord can either request the insurance to be canceled and get a refund or continue to use SPEEDHOME to find another tenant for free for the remaining insurance period.
may i know how much is the premium?
I would like to rent out room by room in this case.
mind to share?

0.1708sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:47 AM