8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Speedrent, Guarantee Deposit Scheme (ask opinion)

wheimeng
post Feb 19 2018, 09:13 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Feb 19 2018, 03:44 PM)
@wheimeng
You have not given us the real answer yet. When will Allianz kick in?
>>>After landlord makes police report and 2 weeks after rental is overdue? And only after the tenant has left the property then landlord can make police report and claim from Allianz?
https://speedrent.com/web/owner-faq/amp/

Q: In the case of default payment, when will Speedrent pay landlord?
A: After 2 weeks where tenant still hasn’t pay the rental on the agreed date (specified in rental), and left the premise. Landlord file a police report of this incident and then Speedrent shall process the claim procedure on behalf.
Yes, that's after tenant has left the property.
wheimeng
post Feb 20 2018, 02:58 PM

792 posts

I would love to dispel the notion that Speedrent put landlord at disadvantage, and pro-tenant. First of all, we built Speedrent for the future.

There are 2 issues raised:

1. Insurance is a disadvantage to Landlord / We encourage defaulters with No Deposit.

First of all, Speedrent performs credit check (RAMCI / CTOS) on tenant. A tenant will be rejected when it failed to pass certain scoring. Bank uses this to approves loan, proven process, and we adopted it and applied to property rental. Currently most property rental is done on very basic screening process, we believe with credit scoring, we minimize any social prejudice and improve tenant quality for the landlords.

I'm a landlord myself, and I sometimes quietly hope that property developers offers 0% down payment buying a house like we had back in 2010. On landlord spectrum who is relatively more wealthy, yet sometimes couldn't afford to pay down payment to own another property. Tenant is on another side of economic spectrum, rental deposit is akin to landlord's down payment to own a property. So what's low to you, may be expensive for others to afford.

But on a more factual trend, the saving rates in Malaysia is extremely bad. They form the majority of your future renters, like it or not. Speedrent is bridging this gap by allowing landlord to lease houses safely in the form of insurance protection. The younger generation prioritises lifestyle to saving, so we need to acknowledge that trend is here to stay, and build solution to address the gap.

2. Speedrent takes 1 month rental, even on renewal, very disadvantageous to landlord.

Yes, on the basis that the tenant completes the entire agreement, which means to say that if the tenant terminates or default earlier than the agreed term, it's FOC for landlord, guaranteed!

I always ask landlords who asks this question:

Do you wish to rent your house quicker or keep your house idling longer? (p/s: both most probably involves cost to rent)

Speedrent vision has always been helping landlord and tenant to transact easily. It is extremely tough to get to where we are today, and a lot of determination put in by my team members.

Landlords want good tenant? We give you tenant with good credit score vs *which race/nationality are you?*
Landlords want protection? We give you awesome insurance protection vs *2.5 months deposit, which you know when shit happens, this is nothing*

We are bringing new concept to the market. I can't expect everyone to buy into this, but the future trend says that we, the landlord need to adapt to the new new e.g., bad saving trend and property glut in the market.

Often we are blindsided by the opportunity lies ahead of us because we focus too much on what we would lose.
wheimeng
post Feb 21 2018, 07:04 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(Zicoras1 @ Feb 20 2018, 08:13 PM)
1. After 2 weeks non-payment they will be asked to leave and deposited forfeited.

2. If refused I have to right cut utilities and padlock the grill.
Great app btw.
1. We run on insurance now, so don't think this is still applicable.
2. It's up to you. But as few forumers have pointed out it was illegal. *I think you can cut electricity. Not with water*

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Feb 20 2018, 09:35 PM)
Well, you avoided the most important question. If you read back, everyone saying that Alliance insurance will only kick in if the tenant evict the premis. So landlord is at the losing end.
I've responded earlier to confirm that Allianz kicks in upon tenant evict the premise.

As to landlord is losing question (@truelife too):

Losses in the form of delayed reimbursement, that's true. I never shy away admitting that, but please consider this too:

Losses in the form of real cash needed to repair the house when shit happens, you stand to be well protected with Speedrent/Allianz insurance(RM15000 damage / theft on house content) compared to traditional deposit.

I always like to compare the downside and the upside.
Downside: Delayed reimbursement (in our experience, most tenant moves out within 30 days)
Upside: When tenant wreck the house (in our experience, we have claimed RM8k for a specific case)

I have presented Speedrent's case, and it would be your decision to see what's best for you. But deep down of my heart, I sincerely, without a doubt think that landlords are better protected with our insurance arrangement.

QUOTE(propertybbb @ Feb 20 2018, 10:39 PM)
Tenant like african etc got record in RAMCI? I doubt so. How would u vet and score foreigners who have no cresit records in msia and ctos.
That's true, for foreigners, we won't have their credit scoring. However, we are working with a 3rd party vetting system that scores user based on their social profiles. This solution is getting a lot of traction in the unbanked world. So we will be bringing this in, hopefully can launch in few months time.

But for now, the standard SOP is to get passport, and verify the purpose of staying in Malaysia (study / work, we call to verify)

For Nigerian (by far the biggest African population here), we actually worked with the Nigerian Embassy to sort this out together. We randomly verify the passport with Nigerian Embassy.

This post has been edited by wheimeng: Feb 21 2018, 07:11 AM
wheimeng
post Apr 24 2018, 02:52 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Apr 23 2018, 12:10 PM)
What is the default rate for those unit rented out via speedrent? This ratio is important to see if the current screening done by speedrent is good.
We are looking at single digit.
wheimeng
post Jun 25 2018, 10:25 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(eljeha @ Jun 19 2018, 10:36 PM)
hi wheiming. I signed up to list my properties and started receiving requests from prospective tenants. the biggest problem is.... the App keeps crashing and this is very disappointing as I cant open up the requests n I cant reply to any of it. no matter how good the features of the App, if it's not stable and keeps on crashing, you will loose many potential landlords and tenants, especially for those who wana close the deals asap! If the App is so unstable, at least let the users able to log in on to the website and use the website instead of relying on the App solely.

please rectify it immediately. Tq..
Could you please PM me your email & phone number? Need to relay this to engineering.
wheimeng
post Aug 22 2018, 09:26 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Aug 20 2018, 04:04 PM)
Thanks for your information. I have always wanted to consider SpeedRent given the support I always give to technology firm.
But the disadvantages and risk taken by Owner is far too extensive for me to consider. I wanted to see how it can improve but the more it move on the more disadvantages is pointing towards owner. We spent live saving to have a property to rent out and to even cover cost is no longer easy.

I think we should not further downgrade what the owner is getting.
Could you please elaborate on 'disadvantages' and 'risk taken' by owner in using Speedrent?
wheimeng
post Aug 27 2018, 07:53 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(Sand Dust @ Aug 26 2018, 09:57 AM)
I respect entrepreneurs.

Great work there and all the best.
Terima kasih, means a lot to me and the team!
wheimeng
post Sep 3 2018, 09:18 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(zenjet @ Aug 31 2018, 10:07 PM)
I have a unit listed on speedrent, but it was rented out.
May I know how to remove it from the listing?
I can't find a way on the site to remove it.

You can remove it by downloading our mobile app or let me know your listing and I can remove it on behalf.
wheimeng
post Oct 6 2018, 02:16 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Oct 3 2018, 09:38 AM)
I've done the agreement however tenant couldn't make initial payment with credit or debit card
I believe my team has reached out to you, please let me know if it's not.
wheimeng
post Oct 25 2018, 04:26 PM

792 posts

Thanks Chris for the kind support and feedback over the call smile.gif
wheimeng
post Nov 16 2018, 06:25 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(neotheone @ Nov 14 2018, 05:52 PM)
Hello all,
Lately after posting my listing in speedrent, someone called me up and claimed to be from speedrent and offer to linked me up with a tenant shown interests from the app.
And he offered to setup a WhatsApp group to facilitate me and the tenant for house viewing.
Just wondering and to verify, any speedrent users here experience the same thing?
I'm just a bit worry whether it's a fraud. Thank you!
Yup, we found that people respond faster through WhatsApp as it is frequently assessed app. This speeds up the process too.
wheimeng
post Dec 5 2018, 08:17 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(Jdite @ Dec 2 2018, 06:46 PM)
Questions: Means if the tenant doesn't fulfil 1 year tenancy, it's FOC? So can i get the 12-month rental back from Speedrent?
Who will pay for the Allianz Insurance?

A: You can choose to obtain the insurance using your last month’s rental after successfully renting out your property. If the tenant doesn’t fulfill the tenancy, consider the insurance paid by your tenant.
Note: Insurance coverage will only be provided for landlords who have completed transactions with Speedrent (rental ranging from RM800 – RM5000).

My Questions:
1. If I choose not to pay the insurance using my last month's rental, can I pay separately and how much is the premium?
2. Can I claim for damages done by tenant even if he/she fulfils the tenancy? How long is the coverage duration of the insurance?

[B]
1. The 12th month is used 100% for insurance.
2. Yes, you can, and file within 2 weeks upon tenancy lapse.
wheimeng
post May 10 2019, 06:09 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(buckbugs @ May 7 2019, 01:11 PM)
does the web got issue? I cant check my Profile and My listings since yesterday
Looking to deploy the fix by end of this week. So sorry ya!
wheimeng
post May 22 2019, 05:17 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(buckbugs @ May 14 2019, 12:37 PM)
how much speedrent charge to landlord?
I found insurance cost info only but did not found speedrent charges to landlord
You can check out Cost of Using SPEEDHOME - there's no other charges for using our service apart from insurance cost.
wheimeng
post May 22 2019, 05:23 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 18 2019, 08:01 PM)
Try to simplify your apps please. Im using it and its very confusing....

I get notification someone is interested in my props..after i reply...when i need to see cobversation history macam cannot be found.

I use roomly apps for a lonng time and they are bery simple and straight forward....unfortunately they cease to operate anymore
We have ramped up our engineer team to speed up modernising our mobile app and website. We have under invested in our system, and we expect significant improvement in the next 30-45 days.

Extremely sorry about it, paiseh paiseh.
wheimeng
post May 24 2019, 09:48 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(Johnsmith1175 @ May 22 2019, 10:29 PM)
Better be careful. The worst thing has happened. Just rent out my place through speedrent with no deposit. I thought they did all the due diligence on tenants background. After signed everything through speedrent and the tenant has moved in. The Speedhome agent told me the tenant did not pass the CTOS checking..... now I got no insurance coverage on this. This is suck!
I've spoke to the team to understand this case. There are few things that we communicated, and few actions that we will implement with immediate effect.

WHAT HAS COMMUNICATED:

As a SOP, this is the template we have used:

To grant vacant possession from landlord to tenant, there are 3 conditions to be fulfilled:
1. Tenant pass the credit checking benchmark and submit supporting documents to qualify No Deposit
2. Tenant settle payment of 1st+12th month rental and RM399 tenancy agreement
3. Tenant and Landlord sign the tenancy agreement

ALERT: DO NOT HANDOVER KEY UNTIL SPEEDRENT NOTIFY
In this case, the key was handover without Speedrent consent. We have that specific statement in bold because there were multiple times landlord just handover the key even without any form of payment. Ever since implemented this, we have not had such incident until now. But given @johnsmith1175 statement, I believe he was under the impression that tenant has passed all due diligence process. (Improvement identified).

To further explain on the DD process:
Tenant can go through credit checking at any point of time in an opt in manner. But it is mandatory to be credit screened through before allowed to move in.

IMPROVEMENT IDENTIFIED

Statement 1: Tenant will undergo a credit checking now and submit supporting documents to qualify No Deposit.
Our No Deposit is ONLY applicable to those who pass our screening process. Failing which, we won't allow the tenant to rent through SPEEDHOME. It would be a private dealing between the landlord and tenant should they decide to proceed.

Nevertheless, I sincerely apologise for this matter. And I suggest that we discuss the next course of action - our Ops Manager will reach out to discuss possible alternatives to this matter.
wheimeng
post May 24 2019, 10:03 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(buckbugs @ May 23 2019, 04:15 PM)
I just signed the last stage as a landlord and I though the tenant already pass the CTOS checking but unfortunately not. Speedhome have not check it yet

I check the tenant CTOS record by my self and OMG.... the score is terrible.
tenant plan to move in next two days as stated in Tenancy Agreement but her CTOS record is terrible. To cancel, i have to pay denda RM1k.  bangwall.gif Im stuck right now

how come speedhome didnt alert me? or speedrent didnt check at all?
Please state clearly at which stage speedhome will notify landlord about tenant CTOS status?
We use either CTOS or RAMCI to credit screen tenant. Two situations arises:

1. Tenant failed the credit screen, there is NO penalty for landlord to abort a booking fee paid deal.
2. Tenant passed the credit screen and paid booking fee, landlord abruptly terminates the agreement. In this case, landlord faces RM1k penalty. The RM1k is a form of compensation to the qualified tenant when a landlord refuses to honor paid and signed agreement.

In this case, RAMCI didn't capture the trade reference like CTOS did. We use both for redundancy purpose, and have found that both provide very similar data set.

Currently we are extracting data from CTOS to double confirm.

If the tenant does not pass our screening, we will advise to abort the deal.
wheimeng
post May 24 2019, 10:07 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(Johnsmith1175 @ May 23 2019, 03:38 PM)
They said they check tenant’s ctos before introduce to landlord. But they didn’t. With no down deposit and they refuse to give any guarantees and warranty after all agreements signed. Better be careful on this speedrent company
We always claim that tenant will go through credit screening, but never claimed "before introduce to landlord" because many tenants are reluctant to authorise us in assessing private financial information without finding the right home to rent.

Could you please email me wm@speedhome.com on where you saw this? If it is our staff who made that statement, I shall make sure it's corrected and the staff will be reprimanded.

wheimeng
post May 24 2019, 12:41 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(buckbugs @ May 24 2019, 11:48 AM)
Wheimeng,
Thanks for your clarification.

Personally I like Speedrent concept; easy for landlord and tenant:-
>> direct nego between landlord and tenant, CTOS checking, monthly rent auto collect, Tenancy Agreement & stamping preparation, insurance
>> the concept is safer and better than traditional concept

but you have to improve:-
>> u have to find a way to make it informative and easy to understand the process.
>> your website error are quite some time and haven't been fixed ("error loading avatar photo" & web chat box is unable to open).
>> honestly your website is quite dull.
I absolutely agree with you.

Over the course of 3 years, we survived on less than RM1m funding. We had to be very lean. For that we have under invested in tech.

But last month, Speedhome raised RM2.5m funding through crowdfunding. With that, we have scaled up our engineering team from a size of 2 to more than 15 headcount in 2 months time.

We expect the product will be enhanced significantly in 45-60 days. Stay tuned and apologise for the subpar experience.

This post has been edited by wheimeng: May 24 2019, 12:41 PM
wheimeng
post May 28 2019, 10:44 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(Johnsmith1175 @ May 24 2019, 03:13 PM)
You’re lucky. I passed my key because the tenant has made the payment and all agreement signed. Even the speedrent agent chase me to confirm the meet up time to pass the key....
My team told me that it's all resolved. I'm relieved.

I sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectation. Thank you for your complaint, because of this feedback, we improved our SOP so that nobody would ever go through the same experience like you did.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0396sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:13 PM