Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Discussion Thread V3

chaosneo
post Apr 12 2016, 11:12 AM

5,694 posts

i placed my order at Gemfive on 7th March, Thursday and it arrived just now at 10am. sender is Gdex, Thorus supplier, and tax invoice is by Flexx Mobile Dot Com.

the silver thorus seal is intact also behind certified for Hong Kong use. chatted with MI support and confirm its malaysia set and warranty.

good price as i got it for rm726:

Subtotal = RM 899.00
Shipping Fee = RM 7.00
Voucher = minus RM 179.80
Grand Total = RM 726.20

the back sticker is a pain in the ass. it left some glue mark. i will comment on the phone after a week use. the matte protector is still on it until i replace it with a tempered glass SP.

---------------------------------

as for the casing, it feels nice and fitted nicely but you must be VERY CAREFUL when sliding it in. the buttons for volume and power has a little sharp edge to it but easily clickable. it has some grip because of its matte texture.

its has like 0.2-0.5mm excess above the screen which is a good thing. so maybe added a tempered glass, it will still be below the metal bumper. the back of the phone protrude beyond the metal bumper. adding a glass SP should not be affected by the metal bumper.

the USB slot, thicker USB head might have trouble plugging in.

chaosneo
post Apr 12 2016, 11:37 AM

5,694 posts

in my gemfive app, it still says "in progress" although i receive the phone like 90min ago.

chaosneo
post Apr 12 2016, 03:56 PM

5,694 posts

@justnits
@CoffeeDude
thanks for the info. will try to remove the sticker gently & cleanly & make the RN3 shiny at the back.

@Wan.Him
@soulz69
here is the link for my metal bumper:
ebay.com.myhttp://www.ebay.com.my/itm/151949729112?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&var=451129133033&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Luphie Metal Thin Bumper for RN3 but i think this is a copycat product because the "design by luphie" logo looks tilted and b-grade work.

but metal bumper really feels good in hand, it makes the RN3 feels very secured and sturdy. it also added a bit of weight to it but still feels alright in my hand.
chaosneo
post Apr 12 2016, 04:04 PM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Apr 12 2016, 03:50 PM)
Guys, anyone can share the back of the box if there's any sticker of "certified for use in Hong Kong"?

thanks!
chaosneo
post Apr 13 2016, 09:31 AM

5,694 posts

my RN3 almost bordering to white, there is a very very light yellow tinge. not noticable unless you have another HP with white screen next to it. totally acceptable to me. this i haven't tweak any display settings inside.

the speaker is VERY LOUD and this is not max volume. it occur to me when the speaker was facing me and i was 8 feet away on the bed.

i like that that the miui has a build in a stats reader on amount of data being transfer real time above in the notification bar.

and the fingerprint reader unlock is awesome! there is NO MORE NEED to press power button or tap the screen, then do the unlock pattern. just put finger there and VIOLA!

there is a little thing which i find it a tad annoyance is when you scroll to the bottom and top, the fonts seems to bounce up or down.

This post has been edited by chaosneo: Apr 13 2016, 09:39 AM
chaosneo
post Apr 13 2016, 04:17 PM

5,694 posts

i already got my RN3 yesterday but today got this email today. hmm.gif sweat.gif

chaosneo
post Apr 13 2016, 04:29 PM

5,694 posts

brows.gif brows.gif
but don't ler, there are still those who genuinely still waiting for their RN3. it is a really good HP for its price.

QUOTE(untitled_mc @ Apr 13 2016, 04:23 PM)
reply la.. gold oso ok! mana tau buy 1 free 1  rclxs0.gif  rclxs0.gif  rclxs0.gif
yup. exactly the same description.

QUOTE(I_am_Mushi_90 @ Apr 13 2016, 04:23 PM)
Is this same as the description of the redmi note 3 u bought? Or may be they wrong person?
chaosneo
post Apr 14 2016, 10:01 AM

5,694 posts

battery life is incredible.

also,
i manage to remove fully the back white sticker that annoyingly leave glue marks in its place. i took AEON anti-bacterial wipe which i suspect has a little alcohol and rub it till the glue came off. now its all shiny at the back.

chaosneo
post Apr 14 2016, 10:26 AM

5,694 posts

a black one would have been very nice. shiny shiny black sexy back. biggrin.gif
and its dark grey is not really that dark at all. i thought it would be near black instead it looks like near silver kind of grey.

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Apr 14 2016, 10:22 AM)
Bought the black one and regret. Should have bought gold sad.gif
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Apr 14 2016, 10:23 AM)
where got black la... is Grey...
or apple call it space grey...
chaosneo
post Apr 16 2016, 12:39 AM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(ast2016 @ Apr 16 2016, 12:21 AM)
Received my redmi note 3 from xiaomi. How to remove the paper sticker mark at the battery cover?
try not to use nail remover or too much alcohol, it will take away the paint. for me, i use anti bacterial wet wipes which contain a small amount of alcohol to remove the glue, rub it and most of it just come off, for those harder stains, have to rub with nails.
chaosneo
post Apr 16 2016, 12:17 PM

5,694 posts

camera samples from redmi note 3 indoor with medium lighting. for some reason, it look a lot better on RN3 screen hahaha...

Chocolate Drink

Fried Chicken

chaosneo
post Apr 18 2016, 09:38 AM

5,694 posts

i just added a brandless tempered glass on sunday from a stall in Mines for rm30. was a bit worried about scratches as my workplace deals with a lot of raw materials such as sand. she said it was 0.26mm thick.

luckily it manage to put inside the metal bumper case but it leave like 0.5mm gap on each sides. didn't test the scratch resistance but its oleophobic coating is very inefficient or non-existent. but better some protection than scratches on the original display.

chaosneo
post May 2 2016, 11:22 PM

5,694 posts

today a very interesting thing happen, my RN3 is Mi Malaysia SD650 32gb.

in the afternoon, suddenly it says "don't cover the orange part area" when i press the power button, where nothing is obstructing the proximity sensor. even using fingerprint unlock, it would go black screen immediately so i had to use the power button to unlock and that message pop up everytime. if i made calls, the screen would go black immediately as if the prox sensor is being covered. i wipe and clean it and still the same thing.

so i did a test with the prox sensor and it shows FAIL and i couldn't calibrate it. i don't think it was the tempered glass as the SP was install many weeks ago. so i did one final thing which is RESTART the RN3 before removing the SP to see if it affected it, or thinking maybe the prox sensor got problem.

and it work find again with the prox sensor fully functional like usual.

sweat.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
chaosneo
post May 2 2016, 11:32 PM

5,694 posts

yup i did after the problem came up and it was still the same. only a restart seem to return everything back to normal.
just sharing, if any problem occur like this to other fellows, maybe a restart might do the trick.

QUOTE(GameSky @ May 2 2016, 11:26 PM)
Did you disable the Prevent Pocket Dials in lockscreen/password in settings?
This post has been edited by chaosneo: May 2 2016, 11:33 PM
chaosneo
post May 2 2016, 11:34 PM

5,694 posts

i did a reset device once after the official upgrade ROM downloaded and install though, through OTA.

QUOTE(GameSky @ May 2 2016, 11:33 PM)
tried re-flash/wipe device before?

0.0584sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:44 PM