Cherokee's Gallery, Canon Powershot S2 IS

TScherokee
post Jan 4 2007, 01:26 PM, updated 19y ago

103 posts

Well I will start posting my Canon S2 IS here and want to share whats the weakness with my shots.

#1 First with effect

#2 Trapped in spider web

Will post more soon...any comments are welcome.
nairud
post Jan 4 2007, 01:48 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

dragonfly pic looks a bit oof. it's focused onto the tail.

did you use the Manual super macro controls?
TScherokee
post Jan 4 2007, 01:50 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 4 2007, 01:48 PM)
dragonfly pic looks a bit oof. it's focused onto the tail.

did you use the Manual super macro controls?
Oh really? thats why i'm noob here..yes i took it with macro mode err.. what do u mean oof?
nairud
post Jan 4 2007, 01:51 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(cherokee @ Jan 4 2007, 01:50 PM)
Oh really? thats why i'm noob here..yes i took it with macro mode err.. what do u mean oof?
oof = out of focus.
there's no detail at the back of the dragonfly
now where are those macro sifus?

This post has been edited by nairud: Jan 4 2007, 01:52 PM
HenryLow
post Jan 4 2007, 02:15 PM

liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
4,336 posts

I am a newbie here...

Regarding the 2nd pic, the focus point was on the tail...
So the back and head of the dragonfly blur...

You should try use Macro Mode + Flash...
See the effect...

Just my 2 cents...
nairud
post Jan 4 2007, 02:25 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(HenryLow @ Jan 4 2007, 02:15 PM)
I am a newbie here...

Regarding the 2nd pic, the focus point was on the tail...
So the back and head of the dragonfly blur...

You should try use Macro Mode + Flash...
See the effect...

Just my 2 cents...
The prob with Powershot S series, esp S3 since i owned it for a while, if it's too close to the subject, there'll be lens barrel shadow with the popup flash firing.

cherokee, does S2 has the 0cm distance super macro shot? are you using that feature?
TScherokee
post Jan 4 2007, 02:36 PM

103 posts

Sorry i forgot what setting i use. I think its macro mode becoze super macro is really difficult to take... have to get too closely until it touch the lense still cannot to take fully of the dragonfly. u know what i mean.

Yes S2 has the super macro (0 cm) feature.

This post has been edited by cherokee: Jan 4 2007, 02:37 PM
kelvinyam
post Jan 4 2007, 03:44 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

I wonder if reducing the aperture help. Why not post up your exif data.
CompMac
post Jan 4 2007, 03:51 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 4 2007, 02:25 PM)
The prob with Powershot S series, esp S3 since i owned it for a while, if it's too close to the subject, there'll be lens barrel shadow with the popup flash firing.

cherokee, does S2 has the 0cm distance super macro shot? are you using that feature?
To avoid barrel shadow, zoom in a bit when using the built-in flash to take a picture. I have the same problem too with the barrel extension connected.
KVReninem
post Jan 6 2007, 12:29 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(cherokee @ Jan 4 2007, 03:36 PM)
Sorry i forgot what setting i use. I think its macro mode becoze super macro is really difficult to take... have to get too closely until it touch the lense still cannot to take fully of the dragonfly. u know what i mean.

Yes S2 has the super macro (0 cm) feature.
i had tried the super macro...i agree with you...it is very hard to achieve man.. cry.gif
gotta keep practicing it..
nairud
post Jan 6 2007, 09:33 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

There's always the manual zoom button for you to press nod.gif
zac1
post Jan 7 2007, 08:27 PM

GADGET FREAKā„¢
2,838 posts