TAT Temperatures of Core 2 Duo Processors Database, Just curious as to what everyone's temp

TSvassalle
post Jan 4 2007, 10:56 AM, updated 19y ago

610 posts

Hi guys, i stumbled upon a same thread HERE from anandtech forums and I would like to start one in here in LYN to cater for our local climate. rclxms.gif

I know we have some sort of database for temperatures in the air cooling sticky but not everyone reports the 'same' temperature (some from diode, some from core etc etc).

For the organizational purposes of this thread, it'd be helpful if you could list your specs in the following order:

Core 2 Duo Processor: _______
Overclocked to @ vcore: ____________
IDLE TAT temperature:_______
Orthos LOAD TAT temperature: ____
CPU Cooling Solution Name:___
Ambient temperature:_________

Let me start first,

Everyday use

Core 2 Duo Processor: E6300
Overclocked to @ vcore: 2.8 ghz @ 1.2125v
IDLE TAT temperature: 35c (44c no aircond)
Orthos LOAD TAT temperature: 43c (53c no aircond)
CPU Cooling Solution Name: Thermaltake BigTyp VX
Ambient temperature: Not too sure (can recommend where to get good thermometer?) Maybe around 20c with aircond on and 28c without aircond

My preference is to use Orthos load on small fft (not the blend) as it stresses the processor more. If you use blend mode, please put a note beside the temp.

You can use Core Temp in place of TAT since they both measure from the same place I think. whistling.gif

Let's get this started. Hopefully, this becomes a helpful thread for any potential overclocked! rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

Feel free to include screenies. We love pics!!

*Temperatures in the bracket are in air-conditioned rooms (if any)

vassalle | e6300 @ 400x7 (2.8 ghz) | 1.2125v | idle @ 44c [35c] | load @ 53c [43c] | Thermaltake BigTyp VX
error | e6600 @ 333x9 (3.0 ghz) | 1.275v | idle @ 44c [34c] | load @ 65c [45c] | Intel Stock HSF
Dominatrix | e6300 @ 486x7 (3.4 ghz) | 1.36v | idle @ 40c [35c] | load @ 48c [45c] | Scythe Infinity
kaiser_falco | e6600 @ 355x9 (3.2 ghz) | 1.312v | idle @ 50c | load @ 57c | gigabyte pro g
basSist | e6400 @ 400x8 (3.2 ghz) | 1.375v | idle @ 50c | load @ 58c | Thermalright Ultra-120 + CM Silent Led 12cm Fan
gengstapo | e6600 @ 360x9 (3.2 ghz) | 1.35v | idle @ 54c | load @ 78c | Thermalright XP-90 + 90MM fan
ben3003 | e6300 @ 400x7 (2.8 ghz) | 1.264v | idle @ 44c | load @ 51c | Thermaltake BigTyp VX

This post has been edited by vassalle: Jan 14 2007, 12:29 PM
TSvassalle
post Jan 4 2007, 05:50 PM

610 posts

yeah.. come2 see who has the coolest rig brows.gif
jk jk, need your contribution for future reference, expecially for those who just joined the c2d bandwagon rclxm9.gif
TSvassalle
post Jan 5 2007, 06:03 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 5 2007, 05:01 PM)
lol...i thoght this should belong in the lyn oc database?
I was contemplating at first but somehow i chose here coz its more towards the cooling side instead of performance.

In the lyn oc database, from what i can see is more about super pi's and other benchie scores.

If any mods thinks that it is not appropriate here, please move it.

Other than that, do post your temps! rclxms.gif
TSvassalle
post Jan 5 2007, 07:07 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Dominatrix @ Jan 5 2007, 06:39 PM)
Core 2 Duo Processor: E6300
Overclocked to @ vcore: 486 x 7 = 3.4ghz 1.36v
IDLE TAT temperature: 35c aircon
Orthos LOAD TAT temperature: 45c aircon
CPU Cooling Solution Name: Scythe Infinity
Ambient temperature: --
wah.. l33t overclock and l33t temperature! rclxm9.gif

TSvassalle
post Jan 6 2007, 01:05 AM

610 posts

Thanks for your contribution guys!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

come come, can add summore

TSvassalle
post Jan 6 2007, 11:10 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 6 2007, 08:55 AM)
bro ok den...i will add when i get my e6300 and e6600
Cheers mate! icon_rolleyes.gif rclxms.gif

Be prepared for some l33t overclocking from lolhalol!

TSvassalle
post Jan 6 2007, 12:17 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jan 6 2007, 11:33 AM)
picture tell everything..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Core 2 Duo Processor: e66
Overclocked to @ vcore: 360x9= 3.24Ghz @ 1.35v
IDLE TAT temperature: 54c
Orthos LOAD TAT temperature: 78c
CPU Cooling Solution Name: Thermalright XP-90 + 90MM fan
Ambient temperature: No Air Conditioned(31c-33c)

Good oc for a PC2-4300 ram. Imagine if you had the PC2-5300? drool.gif Must hit 3.6ghz. rclxms.gif But the load temp is the highest we've had so far!

Updated the list.

Anyway, is there a limit on how much i can write in the first post?
TSvassalle
post Jan 6 2007, 06:51 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jan 6 2007, 02:52 PM)
@vassalle

better to include what kind of fan using on the hsf if it is not come with a stock fan wink.gif coz the results may vary from a low speed to high speed fan
QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 6 2007, 04:03 PM)
agreed with u, will help a lot if can compare the same heatsink with different type of fan... surely helps ppl choosing type of fan for their new heatsink rclxms.gif
Thanks for the feedback.
Updated the first post! rclxms.gif
TSvassalle
post Jan 8 2007, 12:48 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 8 2007, 11:01 AM)
so may i ask how much is the normal temp (idle & load) for E6600 if using stock cooling blink.gif really wanna know icon_question.gif btw, i wanna know the core temp not the cpu temp

very lazy to test it laugh.gif
Actually what i'm trying to achieve is to find a range of 'acceptable' temperature for c2d processors under TAT or coretemp. They have been alot of confusion, at least for me, due to the two different reported temperature.

For me, the idle & load for my e6300 was 53c and 65c respectively with airconditioned room. This was @ stock settings, the first 2 hours for my system.
TSvassalle
post Jan 9 2007, 09:30 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Dominatrix @ Jan 9 2007, 04:55 PM)
Finally check my pc when aircon is off =) 40c idle 48c load
roger. updated the first post to reflect changes
TSvassalle
post Jan 13 2007, 10:54 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 13 2007, 08:18 AM)
JUst wanna share...

[attachmentid=180070]
[attachmentid=180071]
is this for real?? drool.gif rclxms.gif

Have always thought that you could never get below ambient temperature with air cooling.. but 20 - 24c below ambient?!!!
TSvassalle
post Jan 14 2007, 12:32 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 13 2007, 08:18 AM)
JUst wanna share...

[attachmentid=180070]
[attachmentid=180071]
Nakata, i leave you out of the list first aight coz i think your results is a bit out of wacc.. It might be misleading to those who didnt know that you are using an engineering sample.. hope you dont mind ya smile.gif

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 13 2007, 10:46 PM)
i got myself a big typhoon vx with new record:
E6300 1.68ghz oc'ed to 2.8ghz 400x7 vcore 1.264v

Core 2 Duo Processor: E6300 1.68ghz
Overclocked to @ vcore:  2.8ghz 400x7 vcore 1.264v
IDLE TAT temperature: 44c
Orthos LOAD TAT temperature: 51c
CPU Cooling Solution Name: big typhoon vx
Ambient temperature:26c-28c

all done in non aircon room.
Very good results i might sayy for a non-aircond room and a 'higher vcore'. made me think of remounting my vx. biggrin.gif

anyway, keep em coming guys..
TSvassalle
post Jan 19 2007, 10:24 AM

610 posts

Guys I found some interesting explanation about TAT and Bios readings.

This is a composite of my response on similar threads...

Many posts which describe "load" temps may not be aware there are 2 distinct C2D thermal specifications, and don't define which programs were used, and don't realize that Prime95, Orthos, Everest, and assorted tests use intermittent loads, or loads less than 100%. These are great for stress testing CPU, memory and system stability over time, but aren't ideal for testing CPU cooling efficiency. Consequently, there is considerable confusion concerning differences in results, so further explanation may help to level the playing field.

Here's Intel's Thermal Specification as per the following link:

http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SL9S8

Thermal Specification: The thermal specification shown is the maximum case temperature at the maximum Thermal Design Power (TDP) value for that processor. It is measured at the geometric center on the topside of the processor integrated heat spreader. For processors without integrated heat spreaders such as mobile processors, the thermal specification is referred to as the junction temperature (Tj). The maximum junction temperature is defined by an activation of the processor Intel(R) Thermal Monitor. The Intel Thermal Monitor's automatic mode is used to indicate that the maximum TJ has been reached.

The first part of the spec references a single measuring point, which would be in contact with the CPU cooler, via the heat sink compound. Since there is no sensor at this point, BIOS temps are indicated from CPU look-up tables, referencing Intel's spec for Thermal Case Maximum (Tc max) on the TM2 sensor, (motherboard CPU socket temp sensor) to calculate this single measuring point. Additionally, one core always runs hotter than the other, so this calculated measurement is at best, an average value, and is an approximate redline. This is the temp displayed in BIOS, OEM monitoring utilities, and SpeedFan.

X6800 - 60.4c
E6700 - 60.1c
E6600 - 60.1c
E6400 - 61.4c
E6300 - 61.4c

The second part of the spec refers to mobile CPU's measured at the TM1 Thermal Junction sensors (Tj) with Intel's Thermal Monitor (TAT), which is a Notebook tool. This is why TAT indicates slighty lower on PC's than Core Temp, which correctly displays Intel's spec for Thermal Junction Maximum (Tj max) as 85c. This is an absolute redline limit. 75c is hot, 80c is overtemp where TAT reaches red-line and throttling begins, and 85c is shutdown. These are the dual core temps displayed in Intel's Thermal Analysis Tool (TAT) and Core Temp.

All C2D's - 85c

Obviously, there are some calibration and specification ambiguities here. The temperature differences between BIOS, OEM monitoring utilities and SpeedFan, versus TAT and Core Temp is approximately BIOS + ~ 15c = Core Temp. Intel's Thermal Analysis Tool (TAT) should be used for thermal testing C2D's at 100% continuous load, and Core Temp should be used simultaneously for measurements.

TAT: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/392/mirrors.php

Core Temp: http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/

Note: SpeedFan Beta 4.32 reads TM2 and TM1 sensors: http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

TAT will expose insufficient CPU and case cooling, just as ATI Tool "Show 3D View" tests GPU cooling at 100% continuous load. At no other time will a PC be so heavily CPU loaded, even when highly OC'd during worst-case / real-world loads. The 65W Thermal Design Power (TDP) spec is exceeded by a considerable margin when Vcore and CPU frequency are increased, so 50c BIOS and 65c Core Temp at 100% TAT are safe and reasonable thermal values.

The temp scale shows the range between idle and TAT load, and illustrates the typical ~ 15c offset seen in the following example:

BIOS/CoreTemp
-60--/--75--75-
-55--/--70--70-
-50--/--65--65- Load
-45--/--60--60-
-40--/--55--55-
-35--/--50--50-
-30--/--45--45- Idle

The following results from my rig are defined as:
Load = TAT @ 100% continuous
Temps = Core Temp @ highest core

3.7Ghz
1.5125 Vcore
36c Idle, 52c Load - BIOS
51c Idle, 67c Load - Core Temp

I hope this helps to make sense of CPU temp alphabet soup.

Read more about it HERE

From my understanding of the article:
1) to really test ure overclocked processor - run the TAT load test
2) the thermal spec by intel should be used in reference to the temps reported by bios or the TM2 sensor (for e6300 its 61.4c)
3) For TAT or coretemp temps, ure ultimate max would be 85c. 75c is hot, 80c is overtemp where TAT reaches red-line and throttling begins.
TSvassalle
post Jan 25 2007, 07:51 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(kunyit_kampung @ Jan 25 2007, 06:15 PM)
this is mine,using intel stock hsf no econ.......
Mr Kunyit,

The temp reported by speedfan is the mobo/bios temperature de. Please use coretemp or TAT to report your idle and load temps aight. Cheers. thumbup.gif

@ yehlai,

me also have the same problem with speedfan. THe 12v rail (and a lot of other things) is wacko in there. However, everest seems to be working just fine.
TSvassalle
post Jan 26 2007, 12:02 AM

610 posts

download here
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/392

0.0193sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:46 AM