My Loft - Reno Journal, The Story Begins.

TSXccess
post Apr 9 2016, 11:41 PM, updated 4y ago

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

Hi everyone, finally completed my reno and moved in 2 weeks ago, just free up my time to put things together. Firstly, I would like to thank my contractor and carpenter as they've helped solved/rectified various problems and also gave new ideas that made this journey possible. Also a big hug for my wife who had contributed her ideas and effort. wub.gif

After hearing so many horror stories of rogue contractor, I'm blessed to have engaged both of them. sweat.gif

Main contractor that worked on major reno work such as plaster ceiling, hacking, wiring, window grille, plumbing is from (L IMAGE INTERIOR CONTRACT - JIMMI), easy going guy and had plenty of new ideas, my concrete wall idea came from him as well.
Jimmi Leong (Main contractor) - 019 934 9415

For carpentry work I've choosen (HOMEMARK KITCHEN CABINET - SAM) because I've seen many good reviews from members here and their workmanship looks good after a visit to their office/showroom.

Do note HOMEMARK KITCHEN CABINET had rename their company to BESPOKE KITCHEN SDN BHD.

My unit build up is around 1450sq ft, consist of 3 bedrooms, 1 maid's room and 3 bathrooms. Will convert 1 bathroom next to wet kitchen and maid's room for storage. Cut the story short, here are my humble reno pix.

The usual defective checks and planning begins. Placed red tapes to mark out where my furniture should be so it's easier to get an estimation of remaining space. Below are photos of my progress

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 7 2022, 01:03 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
JC999
post Apr 9 2016, 11:51 PM

658 posts

great.. cant wait to see the outcome

by the way whats the quotation like?
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 12:14 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

This wall has a lot of potential because it's the longest wall in the unit so I thought why not go for concrete look, check around for faux concrete slab and artisan feature wall coating that gives you this cement effect but both were too expensive, ranging from 14.00rm - 40.00rm psf. Then Jimmi suggested why not strip away the paint, to see what's underneath? I told him to proceed after some consideration since there's nothing to lose.

After chipping away layers of paint and skim coat, we realised it's a pre-cast cement base. Splendid! finally can get that industrial concrete wall that I always wanted. So here comes my Industrial Theme design.

Times are bad, no money hire interior designer, had to do own homework, lots of research. This is my el cheapo sketch, brick wall and scissors grille for the effect. Friends said I'm crazy to put such grille inside the unit, I thought why not right? Can act as partition to cut down "Chi" from main entrance (Fengshui stuff) plus give the unit some character.

Before and After. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Sep 19 2018, 09:31 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 12:33 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

I'm having some issues updating reno progress pix. I may update them later today (Dated 25/09/2017). Damn photobucket is giving me lots of problem.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Sep 25 2017, 01:23 PM
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 12:33 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

This is my shoes cabinet. All carpentry done by BESPOKE CABINET SDN BHD formerly knows as HOMEMARK KITCHEN CABINET. Sam is a great guy to work with, great patience, attitude and friendly.

My beloved scissor collapsible grille from THREE KIM METAL WORKS. Very good quality.

Living area. Using back my old sofa of 7 years from Cellini, still in good shape.

Balcony. Eames rocking chairs from TAOBAO + Outdoor decking from Ikea.

Dining table, custom made from JOMECO + TOLIX armchair from TAOBAO.

MOCCI's inspired glass pendant light from TAOBAO.

IKEA's first aid box.

To Be Continue. rclxs0.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Sep 25 2017, 01:26 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 01:13 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

Next is my dry kitchen. Black chalk board paint on left wall, still planning what to do with it, maybe draw sumthing or put a painting. dry.gif

Nothing fanciful, just white and green 4G glass combination and quartz counter top.

Panasonic 4G glass 450L fridge.

Cabinet light from TAOBAO with touch sensor.

Wet kitchen, combination of 4G glass doors for top cabinet and melamine for bottom. Using Fotile hood, Rubine built-in oven, Rinnai Hob.

To Be Continue. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Feb 10 2018, 05:04 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
McSundae
post Apr 10 2016, 01:19 AM

263 posts

Comgrats for moving in new house! Its so excited to see the progress from nil until completion. Mind to share how much for the renovation?
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 01:30 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

Bedroom entrance. Just in case if you wanna know, that T bar is for my pull-up.

Common washroom, nothing special, minor work done. Budget blown rclxub.gif

Master Bedroom, King size divan bed from Harvey Norman. Venetian blinds above raise wall to act as partition.

Night shot.

Dark glass wardrobe with black powder coat frame.

Master Washroom.

Shower area. Again nothing much was done here, only added shower screen and shampoo/shower gel dispenser. By now I'm officially broke. shocking.gif

Lastly this is my guest room. Same wardrobe as Master room, now waiting to see who wanna buy this poor mattress a outfit. Anyone??? cry.gif

Thanks for viewing and that's all for my journal. blush.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Sep 25 2017, 12:55 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 01:43 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(McSundae @ Apr 10 2016, 01:19 AM)
Comgrats for moving in new house! Its so excited to see the progress from nil until completion. Mind to share how much for the renovation?
Reno work - RM26K
Carpentry - RM28K
Laminate Flooring - RM11K

Appliances, furnitures and fixtures not included.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 19 2016, 11:20 AM
McSundae
post Apr 10 2016, 01:58 AM

263 posts

Your house is so nice, worth it. Seems like you have huge satisfaction on both of your main-con and also your carpenter, can you please share their contact with me?

Thanks in advance yea.
Noregrets
post Apr 10 2016, 07:08 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 10 2016, 01:43 AM)
Reno work -  RM22K -/+ (Contractor yet to bill me final invoice, I think he too rich) dry.gif
Carpentry - RM28K

Very nicely done.
Well thought out design and I think the price is very reasonable.
Congrats.

idoblu
post Apr 10 2016, 12:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Ooh nice! Congrats!
1. So was there any problem in bringing up the countertop?
2. Wow you got the track lights so perfectly aligned 👍🏼
3. Nice white pana fridge that blends in with the white doors
4. I feel the curtains are a bit too frilly. I would continue to use the black Venetian blinds
5. Double mirror in the master bath is a bit weird when you don't have a double sink and the basin is right in the middle between the mirrors

One more thing, you'd mentioned "loft" but I don't see where is the stairs

This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 10 2016, 12:53 PM
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 01:08 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 10 2016, 12:50 PM)
Ooh nice! Congrats!
1. So was there any problem in bringing up the countertop?
2. Wow you got the track lights so perfectly aligned 👍🏼
3. Nice white pana fridge that blends in with the white doors
4. I feel the curtains are a bit too frilly. I would continue to use the black Venetian blinds
5. Double mirror in the master bath is a bit weird when you don't have a double sink and the basin is right in the middle between the mirrors

One more thing, you'd mentioned "loft" but I don't see where is the stairs
Haha...just replicating that concept and feel, no stairs. No problem with countertop fitting into lift because they came in 2 pieces for each kitchen. Venetian blinds not effective for corner windows btw, too many gaps thus lights can get thru.

Master bath gave me the most headaches, reason for 2 mirrors is to purposely hide 2 unsightly windows behind, can't seal it with full mirrors because the need to run exhaust fan through these windows, gaps behind mirrors helps with air ventilation. When its time to clean these exhaust fan, removing one mirror at a time is easier due to weight issues.

Counter top area will be too cramp to put 2 basin therefore have to make do with one. Making the best out of these situation. May consider putting a single long rectangular mirror next time, just need to mount brackets behind and hook them onto bars.

Bought 2 of these mirrors for RM360.00 from Viva Home, quite cheap in my opinion.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 10 2016, 04:13 PM
Mrsticker251
post Apr 10 2016, 01:21 PM

80 posts

Looking good! Can you share how much the kitchen cabinet costs? I'm thinking of replacing mine and is looking for a good carpenter
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 02:22 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Mrsticker251 @ Apr 10 2016, 01:21 PM)
Looking good! Can you share how much the kitchen cabinet costs?  I'm thinking of replacing mine and is looking for a good carpenter
Dry Kitchen - RM 6300.00
Wet Kitchen - RM 8500.00
(Appliances and fixtures not included)

Price very much depends on your measurement, I'll suggest you get in touch with BESPOKE KITCHEN aka HOMEMARK for quote.
loginet
post Apr 10 2016, 03:03 PM

50 posts

Very nice journal....
I like to see the transformation from bare room to finished product.

Thanks for sharing... and giving me some ideas for my own reno !
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 03:59 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(loginet @ Apr 10 2016, 03:03 PM)
Very nice journal....
I like to see the transformation from bare room to finished product.

Thanks for sharing... and giving me some ideas for my own reno !
Thanks. I've gotten a lot of great ideas here too, my duty to share this with everyone.

sonerin
post Apr 10 2016, 05:01 PM

8,739 posts

The laminated flooring for 11k to cover how many sq feet ? Include skirting and the foam or pvc under layer ?
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 05:07 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 10 2016, 05:01 PM)
The laminated flooring for 11k to cover how many sq feet ? Include skirting and the foam or pvc under layer ?
Area covered 1100 sqf, including skirting & foam. Job not done by Kronoswiss installer but my contractor, he purchased laminate materials from supplier. From what I've heard he undercharged me because price should be ard 12.00 - 13.00rm psf.

sonerin
post Apr 10 2016, 05:18 PM

8,739 posts

RM10 per sq feet for material only is quite hefty price but I am sure the quality is very good
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 05:23 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 10 2016, 05:18 PM)
RM10 per sq feet for material only is quite hefty price but I am sure the quality is very good
Other brands had quoted me price between 6-8k but only 8mm and no V groove, wood prints ain't attractive therefore opt for Kronoswiss.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 10 2016, 06:42 PM
sonerin
post Apr 10 2016, 06:10 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 10 2016, 05:23 PM)
Other brands had quoted me price between 6-8k but only 8mm and no V groove, wood prints ain't attractive therefore I opt for Kronoswiss.
Is a lot better to have 12mm
dengwong
post Apr 10 2016, 10:31 PM

81 posts

Hi, can i know where to get the shower gel dispenser? Seen b4 in IOI city mall...but it is not there anymore as today i go...sigh... Price about rm100 plus right?

Thanks ....
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 10:57 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(dengwong @ Apr 10 2016, 10:31 PM)
Hi, can i know where to get the shower gel dispenser? Seen b4 in IOI city mall...but it is not there anymore as today i go...sigh... Price about rm100 plus right?

Thanks ....
Ya...price around there, you can find it at Kuan Hoi Trading Sdn Bhd (Use Waze - Jalan Tuanku 1) or Eco-Style Trading Sdn Bhd @ Jalan Ipoh. Remember to buy extra inner tube for future standby in case one of it spoil.

idoblu
post Apr 10 2016, 11:04 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

are the track lights led? Tell us more about them.
TSXccess
post Apr 10 2016, 11:07 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 10 2016, 11:04 PM)
are the track lights led? Tell us more about them.
Track lights all LED. Got all of them from Taobao, information can be found here.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3794856/all
dengwong
post Apr 10 2016, 11:20 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 10 2016, 10:57 PM)
Ya...price around there, you can find it at Kuan Hoi Trading Sdn Bhd (Use Waze - Jalan Tuanku 1) or Eco-Style Trading Sdn Bhd @ Jalan Ipoh. Remember to buy extra inner tube for future standby in case one of it spoil.
Thanks for ur sharing rclxms.gif
Blue_Devil
post Apr 11 2016, 03:58 PM

70 posts

Very nice! thumbsup.gif

May I know how much you paid for the custom made dining table from Jameco?
pokchik
post Apr 11 2016, 04:07 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

nice! good job TS.
homemark
post Apr 11 2016, 04:44 PM

135 posts

Wah thank you for recommending us.

We have yet to announce our new name and kind TS already "bocor" for us haha.

Taking this opportunity to announce, yes. Effective May 2016 Homemark Kitchen Cabinet will be rebranded as BESPOKE KITCHEN SDN BHD.

Our dedicated team, Sam, Wai, Derek and Christine will continue to be there for your cabinet needs.

We are in the midst of setting up a proper showroom in Puchong Utama, and it will be open sometime end May/early June 2016. And yes, with new showroom comes new promotion so stay tuned lor ya... haha.

This post has been edited by homemark: Apr 11 2016, 04:44 PM
uturn
post Apr 11 2016, 05:57 PM

85 posts

Fuyoo...Xccess, you've outdone yourself this time. Nice job.
Wish I have an eye for detail like you.
sonerin
post Apr 11 2016, 06:01 PM

8,739 posts

Fit to be ID
TSXccess
post Apr 11 2016, 07:40 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Devil @ Apr 11 2016, 03:58 PM)
Very nice!  :thumbsup:

May I know how much you paid for the custom made dining table from Jameco?
That table and bench is expensive, I wanted to do away with the bench but wife said since custom, might as well do it. Table is around 5K and bench around 2.2K. Vomit blood....

TSXccess
post Apr 11 2016, 07:42 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(uturn @ Apr 11 2016, 05:57 PM)
Fuyoo...Xccess, you've outdone yourself this time. Nice job.
Wish I have an eye for detail like you.
Much appreciated. Everyone can do it if they put enough research time into it.

sonerin
post Apr 11 2016, 09:56 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 10 2016, 12:33 AM)
This is my shoes cabinet. All carpentry done by BESPOKE CABINET SDN BHD formerly knows as HOMEMARK KITCHEN CABINET. Sam is a great guy to work with, great patience, attitude and friendly.

My beloved scissor collapsible grille from THREE KIM METAL WORKS. Very good quality.

Living area. Using back my old sofa of 7 years from Cellini, still in good shape.

Balcony. Eames rocking chairs, had a big green outdoor beanbag sitting on left corner.

Outdoor decking from Ikea.

Dining table, custom made from JOMECO.

TOLIX armchair from TAOBAO.

IKEA's first aid box.

How do you cut the ikea decking
TSXccess
post Apr 11 2016, 10:41 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 11 2016, 09:56 PM)
How do you cut the ikea decking
Borrowed a oscillating electric cutter for the job, was using heavy duty cutter initially but too much effort. Another method is to leave gaps then fill it up with pebbles.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 11 2016, 10:46 PM

sonerin
post Apr 12 2016, 06:33 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 11 2016, 10:41 PM)
Borrowed a oscillating electric cutter for the job,  was using heavy duty cutter initially but too much effort. Another method is to leave gaps then fill it up with pebbles.
idoblu
post Apr 12 2016, 09:19 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

did you encounter any problems laying the wood flooring above the existing tiles? thanks
Blue_Devil
post Apr 12 2016, 12:49 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 11 2016, 07:40 PM)
That table and bench is expensive, I wanted to do away with the bench but wife said since custom, might as well do it. Table is around 5K and bench around 2.2K. Vomit blood....
wow! that is very expensive sweat.gif

what kind of wood is that?
TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 03:57 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Devil @ Apr 12 2016, 12:49 PM)
wow! that is very expensive  sweat.gif

what kind of wood is that?
Oak wood.

TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 03:58 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 12 2016, 09:19 AM)
did you encounter any problems laying the wood flooring above the existing tiles? thanks
No problem at all. Laminate feels solid and comfortable on the feet.

Mrsticker251
post Apr 12 2016, 03:59 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 10 2016, 02:22 PM)
Dry Kitchen - RM 6300.00
Wet Kitchen - RM 8500.00
(Appliances and fixtures not included)

Price very much depends on your measurement, I'll suggest you get in touch with BESPOKE KITCHEN aka HOMEMARK for quote.
Thanks for the info! Can you also share the materials used for your carbinet?
idoblu
post Apr 12 2016, 04:15 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 12 2016, 03:58 PM)
No problem at all. Laminate feels solid and comfortable on the feet.
I mean like did it clear all the doors?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 12 2016, 04:15 PM
Fortezan
post Apr 12 2016, 04:40 PM

474 posts

Your balcony looks nice! Any issue when it rains on this kind of floor decking? Does it dry out easily? Since you bought from Ikea, is it easy to install on your own?
TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 04:57 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 12 2016, 04:15 PM)
Door definitely need to make adjustment. With 12mm increased in height, must alter door's height. All these settled by installer.

TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 05:01 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Apr 12 2016, 04:40 PM)
Your balcony looks nice! Any issue when it rains on this kind of floor decking? Does it dry out easily? Since you bought from Ikea, is it easy to install on your own?
There's gaps for water to go through then channel towards floor trap. Don't have to worry water beneath when we have such hot weather. Took me around 4 hours to assemble everything, you'll need electric saw/cutter to do it.
All these can be taken apart easily if you really wanna wash the tiles below.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 12 2016, 05:02 PM
TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 05:03 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Mrsticker251 @ Apr 12 2016, 03:59 PM)
Thanks for the info! Can you also share the materials used for your carbinet?
Chip board, quartz counter top and 4G/Melamine doors.

Fortezan
post Apr 12 2016, 05:26 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 12 2016, 05:01 PM)
There's gaps for water to go through then channel towards floor trap. Don't have to worry water beneath when we have such hot weather. Took me around 4 hours to assemble everything, you'll need electric saw/cutter to do it.
All these can be taken apart easily if you really wanna wash the tiles below.
Cool! Thanks for the info thumbup.gif Gave me some idea to renovate my balcony thumbup.gif
sonerin
post Apr 12 2016, 07:07 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 12 2016, 04:15 PM)
To be exact a 12mm board will be 15mm thick plus the foam beneath the board.
kenshi813
post Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM

23 posts

may i ask where u get tat eames rocking chair n how much ^^? looks nice...thanks
TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 08:34 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(kenshi813 @ Apr 12 2016, 07:29 PM)
may i ask where u get tat eames rocking chair n how much ^^? looks nice...thanks
Got it from Taobao. Price per chair is around RM200.00+/-.

TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 08:36 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 12 2016, 07:07 PM)
To be exact a 12mm board will be 15mm thick plus the foam beneath the board.
Those foam they use are for wrapping furnitures etc. Ain't exactly very thick so is negligible.

sonerin
post Apr 12 2016, 08:40 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 12 2016, 08:36 PM)
Those foam they use are for wrapping furnitures etc. Ain't exactly very thick so is negligible.
I guess different installer use different material. The innovar flooring use in my house is quite thick. Total thickness end up about 15mm
TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 08:53 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 12 2016, 08:40 PM)
I guess different installer use different material. The innovar flooring use in my house is quite thick. Total thickness end up about 15mm
Noted. How is your reno coming along? Sticking to initial budget?

sonerin
post Apr 12 2016, 09:18 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 12 2016, 08:53 PM)
Noted. How is your reno coming along? Sticking to initial budget?
Is at the final stage now. Another 2 days of tiling work and painting is on going. New gate coming up next week and kitchen cabinet. Finally will be the wall paper and curtain. I think already blown the budget 😜
JC999
post Apr 12 2016, 10:07 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 12 2016, 05:03 PM)
Chip board, quartz counter top and 4G/Melamine doors.
sounds expensive for chip board, for that price couldnt get solid plywood?
TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 10:27 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(JC999 @ Apr 12 2016, 10:07 PM)
sounds expensive for chip board, for that price couldnt get solid plywood?
Not from Homemark, else where I'm not sure. Don't want to push my luck so stick to reliable source.

TSXccess
post Apr 12 2016, 10:28 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 12 2016, 09:18 PM)
Is at the final stage now. Another 2 days of tiling work and painting is on going. New gate coming up next week and kitchen cabinet. Finally will be the wall paper and curtain. I think already blown the budget 😜
Good luck and keep us posted with your new home pix.

sonerin
post Apr 13 2016, 06:49 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 12 2016, 10:28 PM)
Good luck and keep us posted with your new home pix.
Yup will definitely do
haturaya
post Apr 13 2016, 06:57 AM

2,551 posts

Super nice. Looks professionally done. Keep updating...
Hoo
post Apr 13 2016, 02:20 PM

244 posts

Very nice, congrats!
avrilmae
post Apr 13 2016, 03:48 PM

1,039 posts

Wow, everything looks great and well done! Gave me a couple of ideas! Thanks for sharing!
abcde90
post Apr 13 2016, 05:47 PM

183 posts

Excellent
beebee
post Apr 14 2016, 02:31 PM

3,091 posts

looks good bro, you moved to this larger unit?
TSXccess
post Apr 14 2016, 08:42 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Apr 14 2016, 02:31 PM)
looks good bro, you moved to this larger unit?
Thanks. Slightly bigger unit.

TSXccess
post Apr 14 2016, 08:43 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

Thanks everyone. Just sharing my limited knowledge and ideas.
sonerin
post Apr 15 2016, 07:13 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 14 2016, 08:43 PM)
Thanks everyone. Just sharing my limited knowledge and ideas.
Very good ideas 👍
alxlimcg
post Apr 15 2016, 11:28 AM

17 posts

Looks super modern and minimalistic...like right out of a Interior Design magazine.
Just the apple green kitchen cabinet was a bit off.
TSXccess
post Apr 15 2016, 01:12 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(alxlimcg @ Apr 15 2016, 11:28 AM)
Looks super modern and minimalistic...like right out of a Interior Design magazine.
Just the apple green kitchen cabinet was a bit off.
Haha...yes indeed. Initial plan was to go for Matt Black melamine but changed it because the space itself is small and I cook daily therefore wanted a bright kitchen.

Appreciate your input. Thanks.

alxlimcg
post Apr 15 2016, 01:22 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 15 2016, 02:12 PM)
Haha...yes indeed. Initial plan was to go for Matt Black melamine but changed it because the space itself is small and I cook daily therefore wanted a bright kitchen.

Appreciate your input. Thanks.
Good luck and effort in keeping all your things in the storage places...so that it keeps your minimalist look. thumbsup.gif
TSXccess
post Apr 16 2016, 08:47 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(alxlimcg @ Apr 15 2016, 01:22 PM)
Good luck and effort in keeping all your things in the storage places...so that it keeps your minimalist look.  :thumbsup:
Converted a washroom and maid's room for storage. Dislike things lying around, gonna maintain the way it is except for my gym equipment that's gonna take up some space.

mango27
post Apr 18 2016, 11:49 AM

965 posts

nicely done bro rclxms.gif

can u share/PM your main con contact? i've googled but only return results for SG...
your master bathroom vanity is done by main-con or Homemark?

Jason
post Apr 18 2016, 03:52 PM

6,354 posts

love that concrete wall, absolutely great thinking out of the box, i will check and see if my wall is brick or concrete. This is really making wonders with what you have, bringing out the beauty within.

Like how the fridge blends with the cabinet, almost seamless feeling.

Questions:
Link to the track lights & recessed lights in living room?
What ceiling fan is that in the living room?
How did you conceal the wires for the speakers behind the sofa?
Stand lamp in living room, link?
Cabinet light with touch sensor -- how does this work?
common washroom sink + cabinet , where to get?

nice designer lamp @ balcony, italian design right? can't recall which designer.
tell me more about the clothes hanging pole @ balcony — looks interesting, details? space saving.

EDIT: Master bedroom, why is the TV there? How you watch TV. Seems like an odd placement.

This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 18 2016, 03:53 PM
TSXccess
post Apr 18 2016, 04:26 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Apr 18 2016, 11:49 AM)
nicely done bro rclxms.gif

can u share/PM your main con contact? i've googled but only return results for SG...
your master bathroom vanity is done by main-con or Homemark?
Thanks.I'll leave his contact here. Bathroom vanity is my design and he followed through nicely.

TSXccess
post Apr 18 2016, 04:36 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 18 2016, 03:52 PM)
love that concrete wall, absolutely great thinking out of the box, i will check and see if my wall is brick or concrete. This is really making wonders with what you have, bringing out the beauty within.

Like how the fridge blends with the cabinet, almost seamless feeling.

Questions:
Link to the track lights & recessed lights in living room?
What ceiling fan is that in the living room?
How did you conceal the wires for the speakers behind the sofa?
Stand lamp in living room, link?
Cabinet light with touch sensor -- how does this work?
common washroom sink + cabinet , where to get?

nice designer lamp @ balcony, italian design right? can't recall which designer.
tell me more about the clothes hanging pole @ balcony — looks interesting, details? space saving.

EDIT: Master bedroom, why is the TV there? How you watch TV. Seems like an odd placement.
Thanks for your compliment.

Track lights had individual switches, it's pretty much how you want to control them. Can't possibly have one switch for all the lights. Rear speakers using bluetooth, no wire needed, only require power supply for both of them.
Cabinet lights will on with the touch of your finger. Common washroom cabinet + sink from Jalan Ipoh rm1300.00, forgotten name of shop. Balcony pendant and NSB ceiling fan from House of lighting, balcony light cost less than rm100.00. Clothes pole system from www.savemespace.com
For standing lamps link etc. Please search under "Taobao reno shopping" in Lowyat renovation.

That TV in master bedroom only put there tentatively because lazy to mount it up on wall opposite the bed. I usually watch TV outside instead. Its a old TV but can't bear to throw it, so put it there first.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 18 2016, 04:45 PM
idoblu
post Apr 18 2016, 05:26 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I just noticed there are two grilles? smile.gif
mango27
post Apr 18 2016, 05:37 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 18 2016, 04:26 PM)
Thanks.I'll leave his contact here. Bathroom vanity is my design and he followed through nicely.

thanks bro...
the vanity top uses what material? solid surface like the ones they use for kitchen cabinet?

also, if you dont mind, could you provide the breakdown for the wiring you've done? im still not sure what is the market price for wiring...
TSXccess
post Apr 18 2016, 07:50 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 18 2016, 05:26 PM)
I just noticed there are two grilles? smile.gif
Yes. Collapsible grille inside the unit is part of the design.

TSXccess
post Apr 18 2016, 07:55 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Apr 18 2016, 05:37 PM)
thanks bro...
the vanity top uses what material? solid surface like the ones they use for kitchen cabinet?

also, if you dont mind, could you provide the breakdown for the wiring you've done? im still not sure what is the market price for wiring...
Kitchens are using quartz stone while vanity is solid surface. For breakdown I'll suggest you get floor plan for a quote. Pricing depends on scale of job done.

idoblu
post Apr 18 2016, 08:09 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 18 2016, 07:50 PM)
Yes. Collapsible grille inside the unit is part of the design.
So it's for decor only? You don't padlock it when you are out?
TSXccess
post Apr 18 2016, 11:17 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 18 2016, 08:09 PM)
So it's for decor only? You don't padlock it when you are out?
Maybe when I go overseas or news of zombies emerge. IdeaI place to put a guard dog isn't it? Hahaha
It's suppose to act as a partition to cut down "Chi" (fengshui stuff) because main door is facing directly to balcony. Instead of making a partition, I thought why not put a old school scissors grille since it's industrial themed.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 18 2016, 11:21 PM
mango27
post Apr 19 2016, 09:28 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 18 2016, 07:55 PM)
Kitchens are using quartz stone while vanity is solid surface. For breakdown I'll suggest you get floor plan for a quote. Pricing depends on scale of job done.
ok... thanks again

i did saw your previous home reno post and now this... both so different theme... i would say u have good taste...
Jason
post Apr 19 2016, 10:27 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 18 2016, 04:36 PM)
Thanks for your compliment.

Track lights had individual switches, it's pretty much how you want to control them. Can't possibly have one switch for all the lights. Rear speakers using bluetooth, no wire needed, only require power supply for both of them.
Cabinet lights will on with the touch of your finger. Common washroom cabinet + sink from Jalan Ipoh rm1300.00, forgotten name of shop. Balcony pendant and NSB ceiling fan from House of lighting, balcony light cost less than rm100.00. Clothes pole system from www.savemespace.com
For standing lamps link etc. Please search under "Taobao reno shopping" in Lowyat renovation.

That TV in master bedroom only put there tentatively because lazy to mount it up on wall opposite the bed. I usually watch TV outside instead. Its a old TV but can't bear to throw it, so put it there first.
Thanks for sharing. I've checked out the thread you mentioned.

Do you have pics of the NSB Ovio with the lights on, at night? Trying to gauge how useful/bright the light is, and how it looks.

How's your feedback on the fan? Speed/wind power/noise. And what's the width of your living area?

Reason I'm asking, I was looking at the NSB Omega as it is slightly smaller, but doesn't have an integrated LED light.
TSXccess
post Apr 19 2016, 11:10 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Apr 19 2016, 09:28 AM)
ok... thanks again

i did saw your previous home reno post and now this... both so different theme... i would say u have good taste...
You're welcome. Wanted a comfy home as me and wife are home based. For those you want reno ideas, go figure which type of themed you want then research from there.

You can always start from here http://www.qanvast.com

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 19 2016, 11:11 AM
TSXccess
post Apr 19 2016, 11:14 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 19 2016, 10:27 AM)
Thanks for sharing. I've checked out the thread you mentioned.

Do you have pics of the NSB Ovio with the lights on, at night? Trying to gauge how useful/bright the light is, and how it looks.

How's your feedback on the fan? Speed/wind power/noise. And what's the width of your living area?

Reason I'm asking, I was looking at the NSB Omega as it is slightly smaller, but doesn't have an integrated LED light.
Don't expect much brigtness from the fan's led. I hardly use them because it's glaring. The link is all about Taobao purchases. NSB fan is from House of lighting(Puchong). Make a trip there, there's many on display and well priced.

mafa2801
post Apr 19 2016, 02:18 PM

765 posts

Great Reno! i think this could be a reason for coming home on time.
farscope
post Apr 19 2016, 09:26 PM

3,427 posts

hi, your suzuka bricks is BK-901 or BK-1301?

Thx
pino88
post Apr 19 2016, 11:53 PM

30 posts

hey, nice one! looking at your wardrobe, r u also using the pole system or the typical wardrobe? mind sharing the price n the company that you hired? tqvm
888kb24
post Apr 20 2016, 11:14 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 10 2016, 01:13 AM)
Next is my dry kitchen. Black chalk board paint on left wall, still planning what to do with it, maybe draw sumthing or put a painting. dry.gif 

Nothing fanciful, just white and green 4G glass combination and quartz counter top.

Wet kitchen, combination of 4G glass doors for top cabinet and melamine for bottom. Using Fotile hood, Rubine built-in oven, Rinnai Hob.

Hi there, may I know which cabinet light with touch sensor in taobao? mind to share the exact link to the item?

Thanks a lot
TSXccess
post Apr 20 2016, 02:42 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(888kb24 @ Apr 20 2016, 11:14 AM)
Hi there, may I know which cabinet light with touch sensor in taobao? mind to share the exact link to the item?

Thanks a lot
Please refer to this link.
http://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?id=19503078765
TSXccess
post Apr 20 2016, 02:45 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Apr 19 2016, 09:26 PM)
hi, your suzuka bricks is BK-901 or BK-1301?

Thx
It's DS-901.
TSXccess
post Apr 20 2016, 02:48 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(pino88 @ Apr 19 2016, 11:53 PM)
hey, nice one! looking at your wardrobe, r u also using the pole system or the typical wardrobe? mind sharing the price n the company that you hired? tqvm
I've already stated the company that's doing the carpentry work from the beginning. Wardrobe cost around 4K per room, no pole system, regular shelves.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 20 2016, 02:49 PM
jforjean
post Apr 20 2016, 04:21 PM

424 posts

I like your jomeco custom made dining table. Very nice!
Although a bit pricey but I think it is worth for it! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ck2chan
post Apr 20 2016, 11:20 PM

2,144 posts

That door grille really classic. If any zombies want come in sure shock coz got a grille inside the house.

So outside no grille ready?
TSXccess
post Apr 21 2016, 01:09 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(ck2chan @ Apr 20 2016, 11:20 PM)
That door grille really classic. If any zombies want come in sure shock coz got a grille inside the house.

So outside no grille ready?
Outside there's another grille provided by developer, a normal grille.
sonerin
post Apr 21 2016, 07:10 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 21 2016, 01:09 AM)
Outside there's another grille provided by developer, a normal grille.
Very safe 👌
WahBiang
post Apr 21 2016, 08:09 AM

3,718 posts

So the dry kitchen cabinet cost you RM6.3k right, includes both the upper and bottom part? May I know how big the measurement is? The cabinet refers to the one above your plug socket?

Wet kitchen seems cheaper than dry kitchen as the cabinet lot much bigger, same material? RM8.5k?
mango27
post Apr 21 2016, 09:41 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 20 2016, 02:42 PM)
did you DIY this? just wondering how you conceal the wiring and plug?
TSXccess
post Apr 21 2016, 03:04 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Apr 21 2016, 09:41 AM)
did you DIY this? just wondering how you conceal the wiring and plug?
Fixed it myself. First u need to ask wiring men to run cable then install power outlet in cabinet itself. The rest pretty straight forward.

cainconan
post Apr 21 2016, 04:26 PM

130 posts

Balcony. Eames rocking chairs, had a big green outdoor beanbag sitting on left corner.

omg smile.gif i really loved your scissor collapsible grille and i plan to put it to my balcony smile.gif

so beautiful yet elegant smile.gif

i got 3 small children and my apartment unit is on 16th floor, just my concern is the safety at the balcony...

TSXccess
post Apr 21 2016, 07:09 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(cainconan @ Apr 21 2016, 04:26 PM)
omg smile.gif i really loved your scissor collapsible grille and i plan to put it to my balcony smile.gif

i got 3 small children and my apartment unit is on 16th floor, just my concern is the safety at the balcony...
In that case a scissor grille will be ideal to keep your children away from balcony. If you need secondary prevention then maybe consider invisible grille at balcony. Grille makers can look for Three Kim Metal Works, good quality and reasonable price.

Price if grille - RM1600.00

This post has been edited by Xccess: Apr 21 2016, 07:10 PM
cainconan
post Apr 21 2016, 08:21 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 21 2016, 07:09 PM)
In that case a scissor grille will be ideal to keep your children away from balcony. If you need secondary prevention then maybe consider invisible grille at balcony. Grille makers can look for Three Kim Metal Works, good quality and reasonable price.

Price if grille - RM1600.00
thanks for inspiring us smile.gif

yup, i need grille more on safety issues.

ck2chan
post Apr 22 2016, 01:02 AM

2,144 posts

QUOTE(cainconan @ Apr 21 2016, 04:26 PM)

If you put at balcony without sliding door, when heavy rain and strong wind the living hall might get wet.
Even with sliding door, it might look not suitable.
Just my 2 cent.
May be can snap your balcony view from the living hall.
TSXccess
post Apr 22 2016, 10:01 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(cainconan @ Apr 21 2016, 08:21 PM)
thanks for inspiring us smile.gif

yup, i need grille more on safety issues.
Would be great if you're able to match scissors grille with black frame balcony door.

maxilife1
post Apr 22 2016, 05:27 PM

536 posts

nice and beautiful reno done.

Congrats!
ck2chan
post Apr 23 2016, 01:48 AM

2,144 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 22 2016, 10:01 AM)
Would be great if you're able to match scissors grille with black frame balcony door.
Classy like MMA ring.. thumbsup.gif
TSXccess
post Apr 23 2016, 10:53 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(ck2chan @ Apr 23 2016, 01:48 AM)
Classy like MMA ring.. :thumbsup:
Hahaha.....MMA indeed.
Stasis
post Apr 23 2016, 03:15 PM

78 posts

Very nice and inspiring! Love the concrete walls... Good thing you looked under it!
cainconan
post Apr 24 2016, 07:57 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(ck2chan @ Apr 22 2016, 01:02 AM)
If you put at balcony without sliding door, when heavy rain and strong wind the living hall might get wet.
Even with sliding door, it might look not suitable.
Just my 2 cent.
May be can snap your balcony view from the living hall.
not yet finished smile.gif
but yeah i must consider all the possiblity when it comes to installing grill and sliding door smile.gif

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 22 2016, 10:01 AM)
omg, that really look what imagined smile.gif

888kb24
post Apr 25 2016, 02:18 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 20 2016, 02:42 PM)
Thanks a lot.

What about your lighting installation and maybe glass work? They are also done by (L IMAGE INTERIOR CONTRACT - JIMMI)?
TSXccess
post Apr 25 2016, 04:03 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(888kb24 @ Apr 25 2016, 02:18 PM)
Thanks a lot.

What about your lighting installation and maybe glass work? They are also done by (L IMAGE INTERIOR CONTRACT - JIMMI)?
Yes, all handled by Jimmi.

joefrezzo
post Apr 25 2016, 06:11 PM

507 posts

Nice works!.. No need of ID and save lots of penny!
joefrezzo
post Apr 25 2016, 07:03 PM

507 posts

Hi, where is the location of BESPOKE KITCHEN ?

TSXccess
post Apr 25 2016, 07:47 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(joefrezzo @ Apr 25 2016, 07:03 PM)
Hi, where is the location of BESPOKE KITCHEN ?
Located at Puchong. You may want to check under Homemark Kitchen Cabinet for now, they have yet to officially use Bespoke. Look for Sam, great guy.

steflover
post May 2 2016, 10:31 PM

78 posts

Xccess bro,

Wondering what u use for the balcony hanging cloths place, couldnt see clearly from the pic take from insude. Can you show me a pic of it?
TSXccess
post May 3 2016, 01:21 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(steflover @ May 2 2016, 10:31 PM)
Xccess bro,

Wondering what u use for the balcony hanging cloths place, couldnt see clearly from the pic take from insude. Can you show me a pic of it?
It's pole system clothes rack. Please check with http://www.savemespace.com

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 3 2016, 01:21 AM
steflover
post May 3 2016, 02:01 AM

78 posts

wow nice. thanks. how do u even find such things lol
TSXccess
post May 3 2016, 12:35 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(steflover @ May 3 2016, 02:01 AM)
wow nice. thanks. how do u even find such things lol
Some can be seen in funiture's expo. If you wanna get from savemespace, do it online.

Aquanox28
post May 3 2016, 01:29 PM

1,168 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ May 3 2016, 12:35 PM)
Some can be seen in funiture's expo. If you wanna get from savemespace, do it online.
Hi, may I know how's the quality of the product? I'm also interested in the same hanger. Thanks.
TSXccess
post May 3 2016, 05:20 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ May 3 2016, 01:29 PM)
Hi, may I know how's the quality of the product? I'm also interested in the same hanger. Thanks.
Nothing much to say about quality, just a regular clothes rack, serves its purpose but if you have a big family then this may not work for you. Drying of bedsheets may pose a challenge.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 3 2016, 06:10 PM
HL2712
post May 8 2016, 01:47 PM

64 posts

Bro Xcess, need some guidance from you again.

I understand its down for personal preference, but could i just check if you use warm white lighting throughout your living and bedroom?

I am contemplating to use warm white throughout but slightly concerned if it would be not bright enough.

Would you know how big/powerful should the LED downlight be if they are installed in good number throughout a living area? I was thinking aout 7W warm white LED but a friend told me I shall go for 12W warm white LED downlights throughout.

thanks.
TSXccess
post May 8 2016, 03:22 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(HL2712 @ May 8 2016, 01:47 PM)
Bro Xcess, need some guidance from you again.

I understand its down for personal preference, but could i just check if you use warm white lighting throughout your living and bedroom?

I am contemplating to use warm white throughout but slightly concerned if it would be not bright enough.

Would you know how big/powerful should the LED downlight be if they are installed in good number throughout a living area? I was thinking aout 7W warm white LED but a friend told me I shall go for 12W warm white LED downlights throughout.

thanks.
How big is your living room? Also do you read a lot? We used a small bedroom as office for my wife, in it I have 3 x 12 watts downlights. 7 watt warm white LED for what kinda light? recessed downlights or track lights? 7 watt is really minimum if you asked me, I'm using 3 x 7 watts LED track lights to shine on my wardrobe, pure decorative lights.

Do a light box, throw in "minimum" of 4 x 12 watt recessed downlights, seperate the switches so you don't on all of them together. If you can't decide whether to use White or Warm then get Sora downlights, they have remote control to let you switch between white or warm.

My washroom using 2 x 12 watts square LED, hope this will give you a rough idea. For lighting I rather have more than less, all I need is addtional switches to control them. I have a total of 7 switches just for lighting for my dining and living.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 8 2016, 03:28 PM
kick ass
post May 8 2016, 07:15 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ May 8 2016, 03:22 PM)
How big is your living room? Also do you read a lot? We used a small bedroom as office for my wife, in it I have 3 x 12 watts downlights. 7 watt warm white LED for what kinda light? recessed downlights or track lights? 7 watt is really minimum if you asked me, I'm using 3 x 7 watts LED track lights to shine on my wardrobe, pure decorative lights.

Do a light box, throw in "minimum" of 4 x 12 watt recessed downlights, seperate the switches so you don't on all of them together. If you can't decide whether to use White or Warm then get Sora downlights, they have remote control to let you switch between white or warm.

My washroom using 2 x 12 watts square LED, hope this will give you a rough idea. For lighting I rather have more than less, all I need is addtional switches to control them. I have a total of 7 switches just for lighting for my dining and living.
Was thinking to install track light at my living room too. Similar with photo below. So to be safe, at least 8/10 12 watt would be sufficient rite.

TSXccess
post May 8 2016, 07:48 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(kick ass @ May 8 2016, 07:15 PM)
Was thinking to install track light at my living room too. Similar with photo below. So to be safe, at least 8/10 12 watt would be sufficient rite.
The advantage of track is you can add any number spotlights as and when you want. 8 x 12 watt definitely enough but the light itself can be bulky.

HL2712
post May 8 2016, 08:07 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ May 8 2016, 03:22 PM)

Thanks Xcess for sharing! My living area is about 4.4m x 3.8m. Am thinking of just using 8 LED downlight like the Opple LED recessed light shown below, plus light trough above the sofa (similar to the trough above your sofa).

I saw the renovation pic shared by another forumer BillyLau and somehow like his simple plaster ceiling, as shown below. Perhaps I will use 8 x 12W downlight?

I also came across some of the 3-colour LED recessed downlight made by some fairly reputable China brand. I think the default colour is warm white, but if you switch off and on in quick succession, it would turn into the other 2 whites.

thanks for the square LED for the washroom. didnt think about it yet but ya, likely to get square one.

When you mention light box, do you mean the black painted lightbox you did for the living/dining hall? yup yup, quite like the idea actually. May do 2 boxes in my bedroom, as i try to avoid having light above the bed. Am thinking of getting one of these to put into the lightbox. Was advised by the plaster ceiling guy to get a thinner one, so may go for this.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4021379...ite=main#detail

How much did your wiring man charge you for each light point? one guy quoted me 115 (first point) and 85 (loop point) for the wiring. sound expensive leh. found another uncle who would consider doing it for 50-60 per point.

This post has been edited by HL2712: May 8 2016, 08:09 PM
TSXccess
post May 8 2016, 08:56 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(HL2712 @ May 8 2016, 08:07 PM)
Thanks Xcess for sharing! My living area is about 4.4m x 3.8m. Am thinking of just using 8 LED downlight like the Opple LED recessed light shown below, plus light trough above the sofa (similar to the trough above your sofa).

I saw the renovation pic shared by another forumer BillyLau and somehow like his simple plaster ceiling, as shown below. Perhaps I will use 8 x 12W downlight?

I also came across some of the 3-colour LED recessed downlight made by some fairly reputable China brand. I think the default colour is warm white, but if you switch off and on in quick succession, it would turn into the other 2 whites.

thanks for the square LED for the washroom. didnt think about it yet but ya, likely to get square one.

When you mention light box, do you mean the black painted lightbox you did for the living/dining hall? yup yup, quite like the idea actually. May do 2 boxes in my bedroom, as i try to avoid having light above the bed. Am thinking of getting one of these to put into the lightbox. Was advised by the plaster ceiling guy to get a thinner one, so may go for this.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4021379...ite=main#detail

How much did your wiring man charge you for each light point? one guy quoted me 115 (first point) and 85 (loop point) for the wiring. sound expensive leh. found another uncle who would consider doing it for 50-60 per point.
Sorry my light box is referring to light trough. 8 x 12 watt solely for your living may be a bit too much but as mentioned everyone's definition of bright is different. Since you have light trough, those recessed lights will help give you additional brightness. Just control with switches.

steflover
post May 8 2016, 09:09 PM

78 posts

bro,
your shower gel dispenser where u get it?
u use double tape to stick it on the wall?
TSXccess
post May 8 2016, 11:21 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(steflover @ May 8 2016, 09:09 PM)
bro,
your shower gel dispenser where u get it?
u use double tape to stick it on the wall?
Please refer to page 2, shop and address is there. Mount with screws, double sided tape won't hold. If you don't wanna drill then perhaps use those glue for mirrors to stick them.

mango27
post May 18 2016, 12:40 PM

965 posts

Bro Xccess, wanna ask, i've contacted Jimmi for my renovation work, he also quoted me for paint... was he the one that did painting for your house? hows his workmanship? since he quoted paint inclusive, so not sure will they mix with much water to save cost and for easier painting...
Benster124
post May 18 2016, 02:46 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ May 18 2016, 12:40 PM)
Bro Xccess, wanna ask, i've contacted Jimmi for my renovation work, he also quoted me for paint... was he the one that did painting for your house? hows his workmanship? since he quoted paint inclusive, so not sure will they mix with much water to save cost and for easier painting...
Its always better to quote only for paint work, tell them you will choose and buy your own paint. If they get something for you, they will always try to get cheaper, unless he is a relative and you trust him absolutely. Else, next time if you want to touch up, you may not be able to get the same color back, if he is using some different blend. The paint cost is similar so should not be problem if you buy it.
mango27
post May 18 2016, 03:09 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Benster124 @ May 18 2016, 02:46 PM)
Its always better to quote only for paint work, tell them you will choose and buy your own paint. If they get something for you, they will always try to get cheaper, unless he is a relative and you trust him absolutely. Else, next time if you want to touch up, you may not be able to get the same color back, if he is using some different blend. The paint cost is similar so should not be problem if you buy it.
ya thanks for pointing that out...

im considering that too... weighing my options now, thats why asking if TS engaged him for paint work... the contractor also mentioned Nippon/ICI/Dulux paint... so i guess they will have the color code for those if for touch up purposes... if the labor is also indon worker, i might also consider hiring outside contacts only...

since price quoted actually quite reasonable, so was thinking to have it done one shot or not for less hassle, provided if the workmanship is good...
TSXccess
post May 18 2016, 05:15 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ May 18 2016, 12:40 PM)
From my observation, they did not mix water to the paint. For painting he is using Indon, just make sure you are there during the progress to monitor. As someone mentioned, better buy your own paint.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 18 2016, 05:16 PM
mango27
post May 18 2016, 05:30 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ May 18 2016, 05:15 PM)
From my observation, they did not mix water to the paint. For painting he is using Indon, just make sure you are there during the progress to monitor. As someone mentioned, better buy your own paint.
ok thanks... were you satisfied with their paint workmanship?
TSXccess
post May 18 2016, 09:44 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ May 18 2016, 05:30 PM)
ok thanks... were you satisfied with their paint workmanship?
I'm satisfied but what works for me may not necessary work for others. Just try your best to be present during reno because things can go wrong, this also applies to any other contractor you're getting.
billylau
post May 18 2016, 10:25 PM

100 posts

Hi Xcess, wonderful renovation journey there! Give u a thumb up! Although I have done my, I really enjoyed reading others reno journey like yours!
TSXccess
post May 18 2016, 11:37 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(billylau @ May 18 2016, 10:25 PM)
Hi Xcess, wonderful renovation journey there! Give u a thumb up! Although I have done my, I really enjoyed reading others reno journey like yours!
Thanks Billy. Gathered quite a bit of ideas from here, so it's my duty to share out mine. Don't worry, I'm sure you'll have new projects when you get another new unit.biggrin.gif
marcus_bread
post Jun 1 2016, 09:58 AM

506 posts

Hi Xccess, may i know how much the JOMECO dining table and the bench cost u? am considering to get one
TSXccess
post Jun 2 2016, 01:08 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Jun 1 2016, 09:58 AM)
Hi Xccess, may i know how much the JOMECO dining table and the bench cost u? am considering to get one
Around 5K for table and 2.2K for bench.

WahBiang
post Jun 2 2016, 08:16 AM

3,718 posts

Bro, you installed window at yard to make it wet kitchen rite? how much does it cost, and size?
nycx_12
post Jun 15 2016, 02:51 PM

36 posts

Good to see the completed unit. Very nice, well done Sir!

May i know what bed you are using and where did u get it?

Thank you.

TSXccess
post Jun 15 2016, 03:04 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(nycx_12 @ Jun 15 2016, 02:51 PM)
Good to see the completed unit. Very nice, well done Sir!

May i know what bed you are using and where did u get it?

Thank you.
Mattress and bedframe from Harvey Norman. Bought it early last year when they had promotion. I think around 3.6K. Mattress kinda hard but I've bought a Akemi memory form topper for it, now it's very plush and comfy.
homemark
post Jun 15 2016, 03:08 PM

135 posts

Pinjam TS's thread for announcement haha (with his permission granted, TQVM) rclxms.gif

We are formerly known as HomeMark Kitchen Cabinet, the cabinet contractor who did TS's kitchen cabinets and wardrobe, and is doing our annual promotion again~~~

Quite a deal, we must say.

We have recently changed our business entity and is now known as Bespoke Kitchen Sdn Bhd, but no worries, the team is still same old same old.

Do visit our FB page HERE and if you need further info, please do not hesitate to contact us (contact nos. are available in our FB pages).

If you wish to check out our old FB page (Homemark KC), please feel free to see see yeah... click HERE.

Thank you and looking forward to your enquiries/support.
subaiku
post Jun 15 2016, 06:03 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Apr 10 2016, 01:30 AM)

Shower area. Again nothing much was done here, only added shower screen and shampoo/shower gel dispenser. By now I'm officially broke. shocking.gif

Bro, who did your glass shower doors? Frameless! Very nice!
TSXccess
post Jun 15 2016, 07:58 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Jun 15 2016, 06:03 PM)
Bro, who did your glass shower doors? Frameless! Very nice!
Done by my contractor Jimmi. His info can be found at first page.
SuziQ
post Jun 15 2016, 11:05 PM

51 posts

Lovely space! And I adore the scissor collapsible grille! Old school charm. rclxms.gif
nycx_12
post Jun 16 2016, 09:11 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jun 15 2016, 03:04 PM)
Mattress and bedframe from Harvey Norman. Bought it early last year when they had promotion. I think around 3.6K. Mattress kinda hard but I've bought a Akemi memory form topper for it, now it's very plush and comfy.
Okay, thank you.
subaiku
post Jun 16 2016, 11:20 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jun 15 2016, 07:58 PM)
Done by my contractor Jimmi. His info can be found at first page.
Hey thanks bro!
TSXccess
post Jun 23 2016, 09:21 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Jun 16 2016, 11:20 AM)
Hey thanks bro!
No worries. All the best to your reno and do share the outcome and ideas after completion.
McSundae
post Jun 23 2016, 10:43 PM

263 posts

Jimmi is going to start the reno job for me, hope that will be a pleasure time for both of us😁
TSXccess
post Jun 23 2016, 11:02 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(McSundae @ Jun 23 2016, 10:43 PM)
Jimmi is going to start the reno job for me, hope that will be a pleasure time for both of us😁
For reno to go smoothly, my advise is to be there personally during major work for monitoring, at least when things goes wrong, it can be rectify on the spot. Jimmi like any other contractor do rely on his team to get the job done and people tense to make mistakes.
I'm there most of the time during reno period or at least pop by at the end of the day to check the progress. Good luck and keep us posted.

TSXccess
post Jul 8 2016, 12:17 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(McSundae @ Jun 23 2016, 10:43 PM)
How's ur reno doing?
McSundae
post Jul 8 2016, 04:27 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jul 8 2016, 12:17 AM)
How's ur reno doing?
So far so good, started on last monday and they almost done the wet works and doing wiring now! Its pretty fast for me and Jimmi can give very good advice, he is good.

Thanks bro for sharing us your house renovation.

This post has been edited by McSundae: Jul 8 2016, 04:28 PM
TSXccess
post Jul 8 2016, 04:31 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(McSundae @ Jul 8 2016, 04:27 PM)
So far so good, started on last monday and they almost done the wet works and doing wiring now! Its pretty fast for me and Jimmi can give very good advice, he is good.

Thanks bro for sharing us your house renovation.
Good to hear things are going as projected. Share your reno journey upon completion ya. Remember to take more photos during the progress, it helps identify wiring layout when you need to drill certain area.

McSundae
post Jul 8 2016, 06:12 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jul 8 2016, 04:31 PM)
Good to hear things are going as projected. Share your reno journey upon completion ya. Remember to take more photos during the progress, it helps identify wiring layout when you need to drill certain area.
Thank you for your advice, appreciate it so much!
xproc
post Jul 20 2016, 09:12 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

nicely renovated
WinkyJr
post Jul 20 2016, 10:20 AM

430 posts

superb
mind if i replicate the concept for my upcoming house?
TSXccess
post Jul 20 2016, 10:23 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Jul 20 2016, 10:20 AM)
superb
mind if i replicate the concept for my upcoming house?
I don't see why not. Go ahead as long this is your desired concept.
irontroll
post Jul 24 2016, 09:22 PM

26 posts

Hi where do u get ur blinds? =)
Investor King
post Jul 24 2016, 11:04 PM

420 posts

Bro,
Can share the renovation progress?
TSXccess
post Jul 25 2016, 01:35 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(irontroll @ Jul 24 2016, 09:22 PM)
Hi where do u get ur blinds? =)
Pls google under Fanken Home Furnishing, got my blinds from them.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jul 25 2016, 01:36 AM
howler
post Jul 28 2016, 12:11 AM

May I know how the recessed black colored area is done in the ceiling ? Are the lights attached directly to concrete ceiling ?
How much does the contractor charge for workmanship ?

[quote=Xccess,Apr 10 2016, 01:30 AM]

TSXccess
post Jul 28 2016, 10:48 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

This was done using plaster board, lights are attached the same way as regular recessed downlights. Depth must be at least 5 inches depending on measurement of light casing. With regards to pricing, I was quoted base on lump sum, suggest you give him a call, his contact can be found on first page.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jul 28 2016, 11:08 AM
mjtcc
post Jul 29 2016, 04:32 PM

13 posts

Nice reno!! i'm planning on my home reno as well.... i like your kitchen cabinet wood melamine... do you know what is the brand and what is the code/name of this particular wood colour?
Noregrets
post Jul 30 2016, 06:07 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jul 8 2016, 04:31 PM)
Posting the picture here is certainly a good idea for storage of info. Can always come back here in a few years when need to to check where the wiring or pipes are.

TSXccess
post Jul 30 2016, 09:59 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mjtcc @ Jul 29 2016, 04:32 PM)
Nice reno!! i'm planning on my home reno as well.... i like your kitchen cabinet wood melamine... do you know what is the brand and what is the code/name of this particular wood colour?
Appreciate your comment. Wood would be Oak but they comes in several different shades, better keep a pix in your mobile for easy reference. Cabinet done by Bespoke kitchen.
mjtcc
post Aug 1 2016, 01:36 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jul 30 2016, 09:59 AM)
Appreciate your comment. Wood would be Oak but they comes in several different shades, better keep a pix in your mobile for easy reference. Cabinet done by Bespoke kitchen.
okok thanks!
Calculator2013
post Aug 2 2016, 10:31 AM

1,275 posts

Great renovation journey. Congrats!!

Want to ask TS, what is the model of your hood, hob and oven?
Why purchase different brand? If purchase in set (hood+hob+oven), the price might be much cheaper. I am also planning to do the same Fotile hood + Rinnai hob. Thanks. smile.gif
TSXccess
post Aug 2 2016, 11:33 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Calculator2013 @ Aug 2 2016, 10:31 AM)
Great renovation journey. Congrats!!

Want to ask TS, what is the model of your hood, hob and oven?
Why purchase different brand? If purchase in set (hood+hob+oven), the price might be much cheaper. I am also planning to do the same Fotile hood + Rinnai hob. Thanks. smile.gif
HOB is Rinnai given by developer, Fotile hood JQG9009 purchased locally.
honkkydorry
post Sep 12 2016, 02:26 PM

676 posts

May I know is your unit on high floors of your condo building? Is the balcony easily gets dusty? I had planned to put furniture on mine but seeing that it feels dusty all the time I had to scratch the idea.
TSXccess
post Sep 12 2016, 02:32 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Sep 12 2016, 02:26 PM)
May I know is your unit on high floors of your condo building? Is the balcony easily gets dusty? I had planned to put furniture on mine but seeing that it feels dusty all the time I had to scratch the idea.
You'll get dust as long it's not enclosed. The stuff I placed outside are those made of plastic, easy cleaning plus waterproof. For the colorful rocking chair which had a fabric cover, its normally left in my living area.

Only clean my balcony once a week, not as dirty as expected.
em0kia
post Sep 13 2016, 02:16 PM

Photography+Musician+Travelling
1,311 posts

Hi xcess! Nice renovation and very informative thread! I park here for future useful info hehe!
Aizat2402
post Oct 6 2016, 05:01 PM

92 posts

bro how much do you spend on the bricks from suzuka? looks nice.

do they have different type for indoor and outdoor?

This post has been edited by Aizat2402: Oct 6 2016, 05:03 PM
TSXccess
post Oct 6 2016, 06:35 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Aizat2402 @ Oct 6 2016, 05:01 PM)
bro how much do you spend on the bricks from suzuka? looks nice.

do they have different type for indoor and outdoor?
The price had been mentioned somewhere in these pages. Not sure about outdoor, pls enquire from them directly.

Mr.JJchampian
post Oct 6 2016, 06:57 PM

1,405 posts

Outdoor decking from Ikea.

Dining table, custom made from JOMECO.

TOLIX armchair from TAOBAO.

IKEA's first aid box.

May I know where u get your bench n table ya ? How much ?
TSXccess
post Oct 16 2016, 12:55 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Mr.JJchampian @ Oct 6 2016, 06:57 PM)
May I know where u get your bench n table ya ? How much ?
Custom made from JOMECO. Total around 7.5K.
loon23
post Nov 16 2016, 12:54 PM

112 posts

Definitely Venetian blinds for Industrial Themed, curtain just won't work.

With all the major reno done, the rest are paintings, carpentry work, installation of lights, fixtures and moving in of furniture. I won't go into so much details for carpentry, lazy to post so many pix at once. Next will follow by completion.
May i know the shop name which you purchased the venetian blinds ?

TSXccess
post Nov 16 2016, 07:31 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(loon23 @ Nov 16 2016, 12:54 PM)
May i know the shop name which you purchased the venetian blinds ?
Fanken Trading. You can contact the sales girl Wai Yee - 0122193255
loon23
post Nov 16 2016, 08:53 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 16 2016, 07:31 PM)
BoobaabaaBoo
post Nov 17 2016, 02:31 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 16 2016, 07:31 PM)
do you mean that venetian blind is better than curtain?
crow190569
post Nov 17 2016, 03:47 PM

478 posts

Bro
Thinking of using the Ikea Outdoor Decking for my balcony.
Did you have any problems with installation? Did you do it yourself?
Since April ( i assumed you installed in April) till now are there any issues ? Like fading of colour, cracking in the wood due rain and sun.
Please advise?

TSXccess
post Nov 17 2016, 08:47 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(BoobaabaaBoo @ Nov 17 2016, 02:31 PM)
do you mean that venetian blind is better than curtain?
Venetian blind matches my design theme.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Nov 18 2016, 08:44 AM
TSXccess
post Nov 17 2016, 08:49 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(crow190569 @ Nov 17 2016, 03:47 PM)
Bro
Thinking of using the Ikea Outdoor Decking for my balcony.
Did you have any problems with installation? Did you do it yourself?
Since April ( i assumed you installed in April) till now are there any issues ? Like fading of colour, cracking in the wood due rain and sun.
Please advise?

Own DIY with help of Bosch multi tool to cut them. No issues so far.
crow190569
post Nov 18 2016, 07:39 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 17 2016, 08:49 PM)
Thanks Bro. Looks like the best option for now. Esp economically.

Ladbrokes88
post Nov 18 2016, 12:05 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jul 30 2016, 09:59 AM)
thanks to your informative thread, i have engage "Bespoke Kitchen" for carpentry work.
Sam is a great guy to work with, attentive and serious with his work too!
TSXccess
post Nov 18 2016, 12:34 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Ladbrokes88 @ Nov 18 2016, 12:05 PM)
thanks to your informative thread, i have engage "Bespoke Kitchen" for carpentry work.
Yes, Sam have a great sense of humor, friendly and trust worthy in my opinion. Nevertheless please be present during installation of cabinets and wardrobe, this is the ensure everything is in order.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Nov 18 2016, 12:35 PM
TSXccess
post Nov 18 2016, 12:37 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 17 2016, 08:49 PM)
I've tried using heavy duty scissors but it's too tough. Using Bosch oscillating multi tool makes it much easier. Another way to avoid cutting is filling perimeter gap with pebbles.

crow190569
post Nov 18 2016, 04:36 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 18 2016, 12:37 PM)
I've tried using heavy duty scissors but it's too tough. Using Bosch oscillating multi tool makes it much easier. Another way to avoid cutting is filling perimeter gap with pebbles.
Yup going to use the pebble concept. Thanks again
crow190569
post Nov 21 2016, 03:33 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(crow190569 @ Nov 18 2016, 04:36 PM)
Yup going to use the pebble concept. Thanks again
Update 21 Nov 2016
Thanks for the advise

This post has been edited by crow190569: Nov 21 2016, 03:34 PM
homemark
post Nov 21 2016, 08:22 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 18 2016, 12:34 PM)
Yes, Sam have a great sense of humor, friendly and trust worthy in my opinion. Nevertheless please be present during installation of cabinets and wardrobe, this is the ensure everything is in order.

Thank you for your recommendations OP!
homemark
post Nov 21 2016, 08:23 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Ladbrokes88 @ Nov 18 2016, 12:05 PM)
Thank you for engaging us smile.gif))
TSXccess
post Nov 22 2016, 12:07 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(crow190569 @ Nov 21 2016, 03:33 PM)
Update 21 Nov 2016
Thanks for the advise
Nicely done. Thanks for sharing.
ryuzaki_L
post Dec 6 2016, 11:37 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 22 2016, 12:07 AM)
Nicely done. Thanks for sharing.
Hi Xccess, is the kitchen 4g glass door and the melamine door is customisable size or standard size? mind to PM the contact for the supplier?
TSXccess
post Dec 7 2016, 02:01 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Dec 6 2016, 11:37 PM)
Hi Xccess, is the kitchen 4g glass door and the melamine door is customisable size or standard size? mind to PM the contact for the supplier?
Pls read front page, all information is there.
ocyrus
post Dec 7 2016, 07:25 PM

193 posts

Reno work -  RM26K
Carpentry - RM28K

Hi Xccess, nice house. I'm starting to renovate my own home as well and I've got a few questions:

1. What is included in your RM28K carpentry cost? Dry kitchen, wet kitchen and wardrobe? All by Bespoke Kitchen?
2. Where did you buy your sinks and mirror cabinets from?

This post has been edited by ocyrus: Dec 7 2016, 07:28 PM
TSXccess
post Dec 7 2016, 09:22 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Dec 7 2016, 07:25 PM)
Hi Xccess, nice house. I'm starting to renovate my own home as well and I've got a few questions:

1. What is included in your RM28K carpentry cost? Dry kitchen, wet kitchen and wardrobe? All by Bespoke Kitchen?
2. Where did you buy your sinks and mirror cabinets from?
Yes, 28K carpentry covered those mentioned. Sink from Jalan Ipoh and Mirrors from Viva Home.
tgwkt
post Dec 8 2016, 04:16 PM

188 posts

Hi i noticed you have surround speakers behind your sofa. Just wondering where does the wiring go to connect back to the main amplifier as I did not see any wiring in your pictures.
Mr.JJchampian
post Dec 8 2016, 05:56 PM

1,405 posts

Hi your fotile is recycle type ? If not u hacking your wall?
TSXccess
post Dec 8 2016, 06:12 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Mr.JJchampian @ Dec 8 2016, 05:56 PM)
Hi your fotile is recycle type ? If not u hacking your wall?
No, need to bore a hole for exhaust outlet.

TSXccess
post Dec 8 2016, 06:16 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(tgwkt @ Dec 8 2016, 04:16 PM)
Hi i noticed you have surround speakers behind your sofa. Just wondering where does the wiring go to connect back to the main amplifier as I did not see any wiring in your pictures.
My rear speaker using bluetooth therefore no wiring, only require power outlet. Model is Sony HT-RT5 but please avoid Sony products becos this sound system gave me a lot of issues, control and pcb board burnt, just got replaced recently and system had trouble to sync with TV occasionally.

tgwkt
post Dec 9 2016, 10:34 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Dec 8 2016, 06:16 PM)
My rear speaker using bluetooth therefore no wiring, only require power outlet. Model is Sony HT-RT5 but please avoid Sony products becos this sound system gave me a lot of issues, control and pcb board burnt, just got replaced recently and system had trouble to sync with TV occasionally.
Alright, thanks for the heads up.
Mr.JJchampian
post Dec 9 2016, 08:24 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Dec 8 2016, 06:12 PM)
No, need to bore a hole for exhaust outlet.
i see... thanks ya
meme00
post Mar 9 2017, 09:15 PM

193 posts

is there a washing machine somewhere in your loft?
because i don't see it mentioned anywhere in the thread?
TSXccess
post Mar 9 2017, 10:05 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(meme00 @ Mar 9 2017, 09:15 PM)
is there a washing machine somewhere in your loft?
because i don't see it mentioned anywhere in the thread?
My washing machine next to wet kitchen. Concept replicate that of loft but the unit itself is 1450 sq ft.

nonadoes
post Mar 14 2017, 12:28 PM

509 posts

@Xccess

one question, your track light at the living hall.
Using only one power point to power all 16 of the light?
or a multiple power point where you can turn on part of half of it?

This post has been edited by nonadoes: Mar 14 2017, 12:29 PM
TSXccess
post Mar 14 2017, 07:27 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(nonadoes @ Mar 14 2017, 12:28 PM)
@Xccess

one question, your track light at the living hall.
Using only one power point to power all 16 of the light?
or a multiple power point where you can turn on part of half of it?
When you have too many lights, it's good to separate them, split them up. That row of track lights controlled by 2 switches.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Mar 14 2017, 07:28 PM
Hawaiiii
post Mar 16 2017, 12:24 PM

687 posts

The concrete finishes wall with tracklight along, how many watt u using for the each tracklight?
nonadoes
post Mar 16 2017, 01:53 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 14 2017, 07:27 PM)
When you have too many lights, it's good to separate them, split them up. That row of track lights controlled by 2 switches.
Another question, what color temperature led light you are using for.
1) Living hall
2) Dinning hall
3) Toilet
4) Master room and other rooms?
TSXccess
post Mar 18 2017, 01:32 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Mar 16 2017, 12:24 PM)
The concrete finishes wall with tracklight along, how many watt u using for the each tracklight?
7 watt each.
Night-Owls
post Mar 18 2017, 02:30 PM

[url=http://s1148.photobucket.com/user/Xccess75/media/Bedrooms%20entrance.jpg.html]user posted image
Great job on your 2 units reno! Great inspiration for us noobs. Btw, may I ask where can I get the T bar? Thanks in advance!
TSXccess
post Mar 19 2017, 12:44 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Night-Owls @ Mar 18 2017, 02:30 PM)
Great job on your 2 units reno! Great inspiration for us noobs. Btw, may I ask where can I get the T bar? Thanks in advance!
Thanks! T-bar was custom made by contractor.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Mar 19 2017, 12:44 PM
TSXccess
post Mar 19 2017, 12:46 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(nonadoes @ Mar 16 2017, 01:53 PM)
Another question, what color temperature led light you are using for.
1) Living hall
2) Dinning hall
3) Toilet
4) Master room and other rooms?
Sorry never really check the temperature. Slightly brighter than 3000K as I prefer brighter warm white lights.
slaveone
post Mar 19 2017, 01:22 PM

1,230 posts

beautiful job
imoogi99
post Mar 19 2017, 05:47 PM

147 posts

Hello Xcesss, how's the cabinet light from TAOBAO with touch sensor? Still working well? If so, did you still have the link to it...am looking for one too. Thanks.
TSXccess
post Mar 19 2017, 10:48 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(imoogi99 @ Mar 19 2017, 05:47 PM)
Hello Xcesss, how's the cabinet light from TAOBAO with touch sensor? Still working well? If so, did you still have the link to it...am looking for one too. Thanks.
Still working but rarely use them.
http://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?id=19503078765
Night-Owls
post Mar 20 2017, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 19 2017, 12:44 PM)
Thanks! T-bar was custom made by contractor.
Ok, noted! Thanks again! smile.gif
onestopwarehouse
post Mar 28 2017, 03:44 PM

OMG I love your place!!!!
mango27
post Mar 28 2017, 03:54 PM

965 posts

Xccess, your chalk board wall how many layers of paint you used? The paint seller asking me to use 3 layers... not sure if necessary or not...
TSXccess
post Mar 28 2017, 05:12 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Mar 28 2017, 03:54 PM)
Xccess, your chalk board wall how many layers of paint you used? The paint seller asking me to use 3 layers... not sure if necessary or not...
Yes, you'll need around 3 layers.
TSXccess
post Mar 28 2017, 05:13 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(onestopwarehouse @ Mar 28 2017, 03:44 PM)
OMG I love your place!!!!
Appreciate your kind compliment. wub.gif
champu
post Mar 28 2017, 05:36 PM

Champu
633 posts

is this a bachelor pad? I had a similar idea on what i'd like to do with my own pad. Great reference point mate.

Job well done.
TSXccess
post Mar 28 2017, 05:54 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(champu @ Mar 28 2017, 05:36 PM)
is this a bachelor pad? I had a similar idea on what i'd like to do with my own pad. Great reference point mate.

Job well done.
Nope, staying with my wife, no kids though. You can visit here for more reference. Cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif

https://qanvast.com/my/projects
champu
post Mar 29 2017, 11:30 AM

Champu
633 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 28 2017, 05:54 PM)
Nope, staying with my wife, no kids though. You can visit here for more reference. Cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif

https://qanvast.com/my/projects
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thanks for the reference. Some lovely design there.
ask_dino
post Mar 29 2017, 12:20 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

Nice concept you have there, will be doing some reno to my unit as well. Hope Jimi will not busy by then
mango27
post Mar 29 2017, 02:32 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 28 2017, 05:12 PM)
Yes, you'll need around 3 layers.
Thanks for confirming

QUOTE(ask_dino @ Mar 29 2017, 12:20 PM)
Nice concept you have there, will be doing some reno to my unit as well. Hope Jimi will not busy by then
He'll be definitely busy biggrin.gif
he has yet to start reno on my unit also... he even ask me no need to share his contact to so many since he's quite full now...
ask_dino
post Mar 29 2017, 03:20 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Mar 29 2017, 02:32 PM)
Thanks for confirming
He'll be definitely busy  biggrin.gif
he has yet to start reno on my unit also... he even ask me no need to share his contact to so many since he's quite full now...
I see, thank you for the head ups. However, need to look around
-oc-gassa
post Mar 30 2017, 12:17 PM

967 posts

really love the concrete style.. so after a year.. is is to maintain(the concrete wall) ? easy to get sort of spider web dust? or just same with other side of wall. in term of cleaning these wall..
TSXccess
post Mar 30 2017, 12:38 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Mar 30 2017, 12:17 PM)
really love the concrete style.. so after a year.. is is to maintain(the concrete wall) ? easy to get sort of spider web dust? or just same with other side of wall. in term of cleaning these wall..
Due to it's raw nature, it's a breeze to maintain as compared to painted walls, in fact I never do anything to it. Don't have to worry about fine crack lines, fingerprints, paint coming off and whatnot.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 28 2017, 10:55 PM
counterspider
post Mar 30 2017, 01:33 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ May 3 2016, 12:35 PM)
I just wanna enquire about the blinds at your balcony. Is it made of wood or bamboo? water proof? Can block the rain water from coming in? won't have mold growth problem?
TSXccess
post Mar 30 2017, 01:42 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(counterspider @ Mar 30 2017, 01:33 PM)
I just wanna enquire about the blinds at your balcony. Is it made of wood or bamboo? water proof? Can block the rain water from coming in? won't have mold growth problem?
Made of wood. I rarely let it down because the wind at my level is strong, afraid it will be rip off. No mold so far even though exposed to external condition.

kyle_kl
post Mar 30 2017, 06:54 PM

1,057 posts

Hi Xccess, thanks for sharing your nice house. Is the Ikea outdoor deck easy to cut? so we can fit into the area. Do you put any thing to stick the deck to the floor?

Is your electrician good? If yes, can share me the contact? Thanks.
TSXccess
post Mar 30 2017, 07:53 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Mar 30 2017, 06:54 PM)
Hi Xccess, thanks for sharing your nice house. Is the Ikea outdoor deck easy to cut? so we can fit into the area. Do you put any thing to stick the deck to the floor?

Is your electrician good? If yes, can share me the contact? Thanks.
Electrician is also under Jimmi, you'll have to contact him. For outdoor deck, power tool is needed, I'm using Bosch oscillating cutter. Assembly wise, just piece them together like jigsaw puzzle, no adhesive needed.
nanopico
post Apr 3 2017, 06:07 PM

37 posts

Hi Xcess, is your track light still working well after 2 years? The track itself you bought from taobao or China? I assume the regular contactor should know how to install the track light?

This post has been edited by nanopico: Apr 3 2017, 06:08 PM
TSXccess
post Apr 3 2017, 10:02 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(nanopico @ Apr 3 2017, 06:07 PM)
Hi Xcess, is your track light still working well after 2 years? The track itself you bought from taobao or China? I assume the regular contactor should know how to install the track light?
Yes, all working, purchased from Taobao. Go search the thread "Taobao reno purchase" in Lowyat. If your contractor don't know how to do it, it's time to dismiss them.
lobster08
post Apr 18 2017, 01:49 PM

309 posts

Reno work -  RM26K
Carpentry - RM28K

Hi Bro,

Nicely done! Do you mind to share with me the quotation your contractor quoted you? I would like to ask him to quote me for reno/wet work only.

Thanks ya!
TSXccess
post Apr 18 2017, 09:03 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(lobster08 @ Apr 18 2017, 01:49 PM)
Hi Bro,

Nicely done! Do you mind to share with me the quotation your contractor quoted you? I would like to ask him to quote me for reno/wet work only.

Thanks ya!
Suggest you get the quote from him and do a comparison with other contractors. Price from last year may not be the same due to ringgit depreciation and I don't have the quote with me as I'm oversea.
TSXccess
post Sep 25 2017, 01:03 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

I've just updated those photos because several members PM me due to Photobucket issues. Thanks for showing interested in my reno journal and I hope you all like it.

Sorry for taking this long to update as I'm kinda busy.
y4ng
post Sep 25 2017, 01:23 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

just a quick question

Jimmi does not whatsapp?
I cant speak chinese, can he converse in English (or Hokkien)?
TSXccess
post Sep 25 2017, 01:33 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Sep 25 2017, 01:23 PM)
just a quick question

Jimmi does not whatsapp?
I cant speak chinese, can he converse in English (or Hokkien)?
Jimmi can converse well in english. Do whatsapp him.
y4ng
post Sep 25 2017, 01:41 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Sep 25 2017, 01:33 PM)
Jimmi can converse well in english. Do whatsapp him.
ok thank you for the info, somehow his phone can't whatsapp? i call him on weekend when i am free i guess.
MusicForLife
post Jan 8 2018, 10:44 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jul 28 2016, 10:48 AM)
This was done using plaster board, lights are attached the same way as regular recessed downlights. Depth must be at least 5 inches depending on measurement of light casing. With regards to pricing, I was quoted base on lump sum, suggest you give him a call, his contact can be found on first page.
Hi Bro, meaning to say there are 2 plaster layers?
TSXccess
post Jan 9 2018, 12:19 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Jan 8 2018, 10:44 PM)
Hi Bro, meaning to say there are 2 plaster layers?
Nope, just a recessed plasterboard.
nuke13
post Jan 9 2018, 10:17 AM

460 posts

Reno work -  RM26K
Carpentry - RM28K

Mind sharing the scope for reno work which cost 26k?
TSXccess
post Jan 10 2018, 02:30 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(nuke13 @ Jan 9 2018, 10:17 AM)
Mind sharing the scope for reno work which cost 26k?
Regular stuff like electrical work, plaster ceiling, cement and feature walls, brick wall partition, painting etc.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 10 2018, 02:32 AM
ape
post Jan 26 2018, 07:21 PM

849 posts

Congratulations TS, yr house is nicely designed and done. Btw, can check with you which type of downlights u r using at the recessed plasterboard? Some kind of spot light? does it glaring?
TSXccess
post Jan 28 2018, 12:37 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(ape @ Jan 26 2018, 07:21 PM)
Congratulations TS, yr house is nicely designed and done. Btw, can check with you which type of downlights u r using at the recessed plasterboard? Some kind of spot light? does it glaring?
Thanks. I'm using double gimble LED downlight. Not glaring in my opinion unless you purposely stand in the direction where it's shining and stare at it.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 28 2018, 12:38 AM

Attached image(s)
dragonnite999999
post Feb 6 2018, 06:35 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jan 10 2018, 02:30 AM)
Regular stuff like electrical work, plaster ceiling, cement and feature walls, brick wall partition, painting etc.
Rm26k sound super cheap but it's two years ago. Any idea on the price for 2018?

Anyway i plan to do major renovation of 753 sqft flat for rental purposes, if let says do all plumbing, all wiring, ceiling & wall painting, lighting & fan, floor (maybe go for cement render only), cement render kitchen top. Any idea on the cost of the renovation mentioned?
TSXccess
post Feb 6 2018, 07:35 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(dragonnite999999 @ Feb 6 2018, 06:35 PM)

Anyway i plan to do major renovation of 753 sqft flat for rental purposes, if let says do all plumbing, all wiring, ceiling & wall painting, lighting & fan, floor (maybe go for cement render only), cement render kitchen top. Any idea on the cost of the renovation mentioned?
No idea, better consult few contractors for quotation. Cement have a tendency of cracking after a period of time when moisture within dries up.
Don't cement for wet areas such as shower area and wet kitchen (especially sink area) due to pores surface. You'll have a hard time cleaning them.
henryj8
post Feb 6 2018, 11:59 PM

272 posts

If renovation for rental purposes, RM26k is enough for all the works you mentioned. *exclude furniture and electrical appliances
TSXccess
post Feb 7 2018, 06:00 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(henryj8 @ Feb 6 2018, 11:59 PM)
If renovation for rental purposes, RM26k is enough for all the works you mentioned. *exclude furniture and electrical appliances
Get quote from contractors. Price had went up since 2 years ago and everyone's expectation level for Reno is different.
henryj8
post Feb 7 2018, 10:28 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Feb 7 2018, 06:00 PM)
Get quote from contractors. Price had went up since 2 years ago and everyone's expectation level for Reno is different.
If the flat only cost RM100k, RM26k about one third of the property price. Some more TS would like to rent out the unit. So instead of Reno, he might only looking for repair for good.

This post has been edited by henryj8: Feb 7 2018, 10:30 PM
shadow_walker
post Feb 8 2018, 05:07 PM

1,288 posts

hi there..mind sharing a bit of detail what work u wanna do and their dimensions? i have done a couple of reno works for auction house (bad condition) and repair it to as new condition. the owners usually want to rented out. usually also include additional partition for extra room. thanks
timottt2000
post Feb 8 2018, 05:27 PM

115 posts

Common washroom, nothing special, minor work done. Budget blown rclxub.gif

Master Bedroom, King size divan bed from Harvey Norman. Venetian blinds above raise wall to act as partition.

Night shot.

Dark glass wardrobe with black powder coat frame.

Master Washroom.

Lastly this is my guest room. Same wardrobe as Master room, now waiting to see who wanna buy this poor mattress a outfit. Anyone??? cry.gif

Thanks for viewing and that's all for my journal. blush.gif
Just wondering, your master bathroom came as is? or you got an ID ?
TSXccess
post Feb 8 2018, 08:14 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(timottt2000 @ Feb 8 2018, 05:27 PM)
Just wondering, your master bathroom came as is? or you got an ID ?
Master bath is pretty bare, only a cheapo basin which I've discarded, a normal toilet bowl as you can see in the pix and a lousy Pensonic heater that was replaced. I've added the cabinet, mirrors, showscreen and some misc stuff.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Feb 10 2018, 05:03 PM

odour_stop
post Feb 8 2018, 11:46 PM

228 posts

Why do you want to render your floor? Existing is parquet?
cainconan
post Aug 10 2018, 08:56 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Feb 8 2018, 08:14 PM)
Master bath is pretty bare, only a cheapo basin which I've discarded, a normal toilet bowl as you can see  in the pix and a lousy Pensonic heater that was replaced. I've added the cabinet, mirrors, showscreen and some misc stuff.
Hi Bro, hehe finally i can renovate my apartment since it will complete next month..

hehe can i share your kondo idea on my renovation ?

except the wet kitchen since my apartment management will not approve that.

so think positively, small kitchen small budget smile.gif
TSXccess
post Aug 12 2018, 12:13 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(cainconan @ Aug 10 2018, 08:56 AM)
Hi Bro, hehe finally i can renovate my apartment since it will complete next month..

hehe can i share your kondo idea on my renovation ?

except the wet kitchen since my apartment management will not approve that.

so think positively, small kitchen small budget smile.gif
Congrats. You may want to check this website for more ideas www.qanvast.com

Do share your Reno result ya. Looking forward to your exciting journey.

TSXccess
post Aug 12 2018, 12:14 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

Deleted due to error.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Aug 12 2018, 12:17 AM
junnie87
post Sep 6 2018, 08:13 PM

841 posts

HI Xccess,

do you mind to advise what you use for your living room concrete wall?

been looking high and low for similar result

looking forward to your reply smile.gif

TSXccess
post Sep 19 2018, 09:24 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(junnie87 @ Sep 6 2018, 08:13 PM)
HI Xccess,

do you mind to advise what you use for your living room concrete wall?

been looking high and low for similar result

looking forward to your reply smile.gif
We stripped away paint from part of the wall, realised it's a pre-cast concrete base. From there we proceeded to remove the rest of it, then paint 3 layers of waterproof "Susu" over. Without waterproofing, cement will releases dust, therefore necessary step to seal the surface.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Sep 19 2018, 09:37 PM
irontroll
post Apr 10 2019, 05:39 PM

26 posts

Hi xccess, what is ur dining table dimension? looks huge

TSXccess
post Nov 24 2020, 01:29 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(nanopico @ Apr 3 2017, 06:07 PM)
Pardon this dated reply. The track lights that I'm using, all still working, in total all 16 of them. Still going strong.
TSXccess
post Nov 24 2020, 01:36 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(irontroll @ Apr 10 2019, 05:39 PM)
Hi xccess, what is ur dining table dimension? looks huge
Pls forgive me for my late response. The table is 7ft by 34 inches (close to 4 ft), height is 30 inches.
tky1993
post May 22 2021, 10:21 AM

544 posts

The T bar you custom made yourself?
TSXccess
post May 22 2021, 02:17 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(tky1993 @ May 22 2021, 10:21 AM)
The T bar you custom made yourself?
Yes, custom done by contractor. I'm using it as pull up bar.
Pugface
post Nov 7 2021, 03:08 AM

522 posts

Hi bro Xccess sorry to revived ur old thread.

Ive been doing alot of research on getting cement/concrete wall.

Suzuka to pioneer process to tiles, you name it. However, what i was so happy to discover is ur method of removing paint to expose the concrete slabs.

I cant wait for my developer to complete the rectification so i can check of behind my paint, is it indeed concrete slab panels too.

Just wondering, i noticed you find out out good old scrapping method. Does that mean your contractor find a corner and started scrapping to check? Any advice how to find that out with minimum scrapping bcos just in case its not, i can minimize the damage haha.

Any chance they used chemical to help with the process?

Tq in advance. Ur info and journey has been most helpful!
SUSceo684
post Nov 7 2021, 01:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Pugface @ Nov 7 2021, 03:08 AM)

Suzuka to pioneer process to tiles, you name it. However, what i was so happy to discover is ur method of removing paint to expose the concrete slabs.

I cant wait for my developer to complete the rectification so i can check of behind my paint, is it indeed concrete slab panels too.

Just wondering, i noticed you find out out good old scrapping method. Does that mean your contractor find a corner and started scrapping to check? Any advice how to find that out with minimum scrapping bcos just in case its not, i can minimize the damage haha.

Usually for new project you can tell from the skeleton pics during construction phase if your walls are poured concrete..and dev will mention in plans that is a structural wall cannot hack off.

Interior non load bearing walls some will use big size AAC lightweight concrete blocks. These are roughly the size of two car batteries. Save on labour since assembling 100 blocks is faster than laying 600 small bricks roughly the size of a phone box.
TSXccess
post Nov 7 2021, 04:17 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Pugface @ Nov 7 2021, 03:08 AM)

Hi, you can get your contractor to remove the paint and skim coat to reveal if it's concrete slab. Just start at small portion of the wall. If he don't understand, u can show him my photo.

For removal, they have to chip away manually. Can't use chemical. Do note, cement concrete will gives off cement dust thus u need to seal it with waterproofing. I have 3 coats of waterproofing (susu).

Pugface
post Nov 7 2021, 09:22 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 7 2021, 01:58 PM)
Usually for new project you can tell from the skeleton pics during construction phase if your walls are poured concrete..and dev will mention in plans that is a structural wall cannot hack off.

Interior non load bearing walls some will use big size AAC lightweight concrete blocks. These are roughly the size of two car batteries. Save on labour since assembling 100 blocks is faster than laying 600 small bricks roughly the size of a phone box.
Haha unfortunately for my case, i bought an unsold unit. Its already completed 1 year by the time i discovered it. But thanks for the very useful info!

QUOTE(Xccess @ Nov 7 2021, 04:17 PM)
Hi, you can get your contractor to remove the paint and skim coat to reveal if it's concrete slab. Just start at small portion of the wall. If he don't understand, u can show him my photo.

For removal, they have to chip away manually. Can't use chemical. Do note, cement concrete will gives off cement dust thus u need to seal it with waterproofing. I have 3 coats of waterproofing (susu).
Yup i scrolled through all ur threads to learnt that. Thank you so much!
Reaso. Why i ask what method ur contractor uses bcos i tot manual labour, i might wanna kaki lai. Save up abit and spend on other things for the house. Not sure if too ambitious haha
KLKN_Views
post Nov 10 2021, 01:54 PM

116 posts

this is a damn good idea. i was thinking of getting cement link paint. but it cost a bomb. i shall consider this. rclxms.gif thanks of the tips sifuu.

Pugface
post Nov 11 2021, 10:54 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Nov 10 2021, 01:54 PM)
this is a damn good idea. i was thinking of getting cement link paint. but it cost a bomb. i shall consider this.  rclxms.gif thanks of the tips sifuu.
Ya man the cost is seriously no joke.
I will give the wall a scrapping of paint and coat by myself to try see is it concrete. If no then GG haha
Pugface
post Nov 11 2021, 11:02 PM

522 posts

Boss the susu is like these kah

https://shopee.com.my/product/253449597/794...93-1636642914.9
TSXccess
post Jan 7 2022, 01:06 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(Pugface @ Nov 11 2021, 11:02 PM)
Hi Sorry, pardon my late reply due to renovation & biz of my F&B outlet. As the reno took place several years ago, I can't really tell if this is the right product but I think it's similar to what you had posted. If there's any doubt, you can check with your contractor.

0.4618sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:22 PM