5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working in Japan, Malaysian working in Japan.

sacwoc
post Jul 15 2016, 09:52 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 14 2016, 07:37 PM)
Wow you must make a bomb there. Because personally I save more with Malaysian salary compared to Japan. If divided by cost of living, I'm making peanuts in Japan laugh.gif But totally agree, working in Malaysia is way better for your mental health compared then working in Japan, in a Japanese company. Its more relaxing, and honestly less taxing. Better and bigger house space as well not to mention cheaper. Having a car is relatively cheap.

Oh is that under the National health care or is it company specific? I never really think that far into the future. But I'm quite skeptical and very unsure about education in Japan. Its a culture of memorizing rather then a culture of thinker. And alot of weird social problems that I'm a bit scared of.

For me its more about the experience, and more currency stability to support my part time education. If Msia money keep dropping I'll be forking out more money to pay for tuition fees, I mean sure I can take local private Uni, but considering I have to spend 1 extra year to learn this stupid nonsensical subject. ughh. I'll take a 3 year online degree from RMIT any time of the day.

I've done quite alot today that I'm so beat, applied and got my International driving license, got CoE and then went to embassy and applied for visa, quite fast, they say tomorrow can come collect already. Book a hotel, and tonight need to start short listing temp accommodation and mailing them.
Actually my salary is not a lot. smile.gif Its more of the add on I get like housing and travelling, etc. Company pay for my daily commute and that save alot as in Msia I have a car to maintain. I did some hard negotiation with them for my package. Basically I told them I want to maintain my lifestlye like I have in Msia and not an upgrade. So if roti canai cost RM2 I compare it to nan which is 500yen. smile.gif

Its actually part of the tax I pay for the municipal and also insurance. Its a combination of these. Also if your wife is working, she can take 1 year maternity leave and still get at about 67% of her salary! Of course I wont let my kid study in a Japanese school....now looking at some exit plan. smile.gif International school will be way too expensive. There are actually some really good international University in Japan if you really look into it. For economics or business try, Hitotsubashi. Lots of famous economist in this university.

You plan to drive in Japan? I am too lazy to take the exam as I heard you need to take at least 2-3 times before they pass you. For accomodation, where are you looking at? Kasai? or Roppongi? smile.gif
sacwoc
post Jul 15 2016, 04:27 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 15 2016, 12:55 PM)
But train.... so packed  bangwall.gif God I hate the sardine pack train. Can really drain you after a long day at work. Good you have housing because rent is a bitch there.

I totally I agree with you there is alot of international university there. Waseda is pretty good as well. But the local school, is omg, not so good. Imagine they have the same amount of English learning classes in school which is the same as us, but their English ability is dismal. Passing test is about memorizing flash card, I didn't have to think when I did the entrance exam to my college years ago in Japan, all about spending time memorizing stuff. International school is expensive as hell, and most company don't really subsidize that so most are out of luck. University (Local) cost a bomb as well too.

Exit plan? You can probably go back to Malaysia and live quite comfortably considering the experience you have. laugh.gif

Yes planning after my international license expire, sucks to be us because we are not Thailand or Singapore, because they can just convert their license to Japanese one with just eye exam. Mainly I just going to drive motorcycle to work and back, and weekends, rent a car and drive to place with more greenery laugh.gif

Since Shibuya is a hub for quite alot of line there is plenty of place I can find actually, right now I'm considering somewhere in Saitama. Around 1 hr+ train ride. Roppongi? Kasai? Noooo~ laugh.gif Not looking forward to live inside Tokyo. Last time I lived in Tokorozawa in Saitama it was fun. Got park nearby, not many tall buildings can see the sky unlike when I was living in Nakano. That day was depressing (while its great I can just walk home from work and no need to care about train) But living inside the concrete jungle is not something I look forward too. Open window see white wall. @_@;;

Arakawa-ku was pretty good tho, with the tram line running on street, it was cool to see that, and Arakawa-river. Fireworks! omg it was pretty.
Actually local university is not expensive especially if you are a foreigner compare to AU or UK. Most gives you some discount in tuition fees and some full scholarship as well. In fact they treat a foreigner better than their own people!

Not thinking of going back to Malaysia so soon....unless company send me back as an expat. smile.gif Talking to my boss to see if there is any opportunities in the States or Europe.

Saitama?? Thats far. Wont you get tired with all the commuting? There are some nice place with grenery like Kichijoji or Nerima or even daikanyama. smile.gif Since you are single, you have more choices then.
sacwoc
post Aug 1 2016, 04:59 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 31 2016, 07:46 PM)
For those who is coming this August laugh.gif FIREWORKS!!!

http://hanabi.walkerplus.com/list/ar0313/

I'll probably be visiting every weekend till it all ends around Saitama area laugh.gif
The one by the place I'm living starts next week laugh.gif with the stall and all.
Last weekend fireworks was in Sumida-kawa, Asakusa......saw it on TV though....too hot to go and join the huge crowd!
sacwoc
post Aug 2 2016, 08:59 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Aug 1 2016, 10:59 PM)
Yeah I prefer to go to the smaller fireworks events which is not as bad as sumida-kawa. At least you can see alot of hot girls on train wearing kimono. I can't imagine anyone wearing that in the heat tho, and rain and heat laugh.gif

I just learn I might has wasted all that time and money to make IDP, because IDP only for tourist, and if you have a resident visa, you can only drive with a Japanese driving license. So pretty much screwed until I can muster enough money to move into a house with a frigging parking spot, and then start taking lesson to do the conversion.

Some suggested those electric assisted bicycle. 10man, have anyone every tried those? I'm not willing to spend that much just to ride it and not help much.
I thought you know about the IDP? If not mistaken you still can drive for a year and after that you need to convert to a Japanese license. You still need the IDP to do the conversion. Theory should be easy but not practical. Know a few friends that have taken at least 3 times to pass.
sacwoc
post Sep 21 2016, 10:04 AM

306 posts

I think now Japanese companies are moving towards globalization. Met a Malaysian recently in Tokyo who knows no Japanese but working in a very Japanese company. He says that the company is expanding overseas and hence need some foreigners to work there. Now you can even work in convenience store like Lawson and Family Mart with N3.
sacwoc
post Oct 19 2016, 11:30 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Oct 18 2016, 08:25 PM)
Japan government would probably print money soon and bring down their currency. Their main source of income is export, with the increase in Japanese yen, the export income maybe significantly affected.
Thats why I am slowly moving yen out ....

This post has been edited by sacwoc: Oct 19 2016, 11:34 AM
sacwoc
post Dec 8 2016, 11:10 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Dec 7 2016, 04:29 PM)
So~
Is there a community here for Malaysian people?
Where do you guys/gals meet up with other Malaysians or everyone is out there on their own?
We do have our own community here. IF you are a student there is a Malaysian Student group.....cannot remember the name that works close with the embassy. Besides that there is a close Facebook group where most members are base in Japan. Sometimes we do organized makan makan. Of course its Tokyo-centrci but I am sure there are other groups out there. For me though, my group is mostly foreigners working in Japan, not necessary Malaysian.

This post has been edited by sacwoc: Dec 8 2016, 11:11 AM
sacwoc
post Dec 12 2016, 10:30 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Dec 11 2016, 11:07 AM)
HI sifus. I have a question here. I may be considering an international assignment of 1 yr to Yokohama but my company will be paying me in MYR instead of Yen. Will I be double taxed as in income tax in Msia & Jpn or only kena tax in Msia? How about other taxes like EPF & stuff?
Was trying to read up articles on this, a good read up found at PWC website (https://www.pwc.com/us/en/hr-international-assignment-services/assets/japan-folio.pdf)
but the more i read, the more confusing it is @_@
Tasukete kudasai!
The question is what status will you be? Non-resident or resident? Will you be getting a work visa here in Japan? I think all this you have to ask your company. I presume you will be consider a delegate and your company will help you to settle all the taxes?

Unless of course you come in here as a tourist and leave the country every 3 months, then you dont need to pay taxes, though you may be question by immigration.
sacwoc
post Dec 16 2016, 09:37 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Dec 16 2016, 07:09 AM)
So anyone here succeeded on getting a credit card?
Good question! I got mine after a few try. Normally bank CCs are the hardest. Try shopping complex like Isetan/Takashimaya. They are the easiest. That was my first card. Heard that Rakuten is easy as well. Been told that the reason its difficult for foreigners is because we do not have any credit information. Once you get your first one, use it for while to build up your credit history then it will be easy.
sacwoc
post Dec 16 2016, 11:00 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Dec 16 2016, 10:46 AM)
Ah which shopping complex and how many years when you are here before you apply btw?
Isetan. Got it after 6-9months in Japan. Cannot really remember exactly when. When first arrived, I tried banks that I have an account and yodobashi but got rejected.

Most big players, like ISetan, Aeon Takashimaya have thier own CC. During promotion period, they even give you cash voucher just to apply. So just apply and you have nothing to lose even if it is rejected!

sacwoc
post Dec 16 2016, 12:19 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Dec 16 2016, 12:35 PM)
yeah I tried applying to Life, and Amazon card and got rejected.
I remember reading on reddit, the more you get rejected, you will get rejected when you are applying for the next card.

Will go to Aeon tomorrow and see if theres those guys who always pester people to register.
I am not too sure about that. At that time I did apply a lot and even though I got my first card I was still getting rejection from bank. But now I have quite a few like Rakuten, ANA, etc. Some I just apply due to the voucher (sometimes 3000yen) and then reject it if I get it. smile.gif
sacwoc
post Jan 11 2017, 08:51 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Jan 10 2017, 11:52 PM)
Sorry, backtracking a little , regarding on mobile phones in Japan.
Anyone tried using prepaid sim card on their Malaysia Phone? I will be there for a one year assignment only so I don't see the need to get a postpaid plan. Heard a lot about Iijmio sim card & its affordability. So was just thinking about getting it & using on my phone.  Anyone tried this method before?  confused.gif
Yup you can. In fact I am doing it now. Currently there are a lot of packages around and I am using the one offered by AEON. Took the cheapest package of 500yen/month with 1GB and SMS. No calls though as I dont need it. As it is running on NTT network, the internet is really fast. Currently there are a lot of these providers out there. YOu just need to ask them which network are they running on. Also they will need some identification before they sell you the card.
sacwoc
post Jan 12 2017, 09:23 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Jan 11 2017, 09:02 PM)
cool, thanks for sharing, Sacwoc. That really helps a lot. I dont need to signed up a 2 year contract then, hehe.
Btw, which phone are you using? Iphone? Samsung?
I am using an iphone 5. You can just tell them the type of SIM card you need and it fine. However in Japan whatever you do there is admin fees. Cost me 3000 yen as admin fee. Good thing is that I can cancel it anytime without paying a penalty
sacwoc
post Jan 13 2017, 12:54 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Jan 12 2017, 11:08 PM)
Yo, I will be in Tokyo this March for 3 weeks.
Meeting with a few Creative Agencies there, convincing them to help me apply Artist Visa. haha

I will be staying in Hibarigaoka area. Let's have meet-up yumcha!
Just let me know when you are here.
sacwoc
post Jan 13 2017, 12:57 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jan 12 2017, 02:37 PM)
Hi there. I just want to ask is it possible for American companies in Japan to hire someone with very very basic knowledge of Japanese probably N5 to work there? In accounts line
Not sure if this is the correct place to ask. I am sure your HR in Japan will know better.
For reference my company have hired a Malaysian girl directly from KL with 0 knowledge in Japanese to do Finance.
No idea what my HR did. As far as I know, Japanese is not so important for visa.
sacwoc
post Jan 13 2017, 04:55 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jan 13 2017, 05:35 PM)
What field of work are you specialised in? Also you talk about hiring people so I think you are in a managerial position ?
I am leading my company supply chain here. Its not my specialization though. As manager you just manage and lead. smile.gif
sacwoc
post Jan 13 2017, 05:15 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jan 13 2017, 06:02 PM)
I feel that Japanese companies tend to be very rigid, less transparent, "just follow the process", maintain status quo, compared to American companies.
Is this true even there in Japan?
Mine is MNC who just have a company setup here in Japan. Even our MD is non Japanese. But the mentality is the same as you mention. I am pushing my team to change, be more vocal and think out of the box. Most companies are trying to change their culture cause they realized they need to in order to survive in globalization.
sacwoc
post Jan 16 2017, 09:26 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Jan 14 2017, 09:08 PM)
Not yet based in Yokohama yet. Still awaiting my working permit to be done smile.gif
Will definitely share my experience once I am there!
Now I am just worried whether my unlocked Samsung S7 can use the prepaid sim card in Japan.
Was just surfing online & came upon a post stating that S7 doesnt work which made me go 'WTF'. : http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+149703
Anyone here tried using their S7 in Japan?  hmm.gif
You worried too much. I think that is a one off. Normally if you buy those cheap SIM card, the stores can only do so much because the phone is yours.
So far my wife S7 is working fine. Or why not ask you company to give you a phone? Tell them its for emergency purposes, since you dont know much Japanese and contracts in Japan normally takes two years.
sacwoc
post Apr 18 2017, 09:04 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Apr 17 2017, 12:54 PM)
hey everyone~
Finally settled down in Yokohama in Mar 2017. My Samsung S7 is working fine with Illjimio prepard sim card data (thank goodness)!
A bit of a culture shock here where things are a bit quiet here, compared to the msian kepoh environment tongue.gif
Although its a US company, the culture here are still leaning towards Japanese culture; super detail, very obvious manager-subordinate level thinking.....
Hmm, I want more freedom in my job....haha....
Everyone having the same culture in the worklife?
Hahaha.....I understand what you mean. My ex-company (non Japanese) are the same. Very quiet and you can hear a pin drop unless someone is on the phone. As for management style I was quite flexible and let my staff have all the freedom. Initially they are not comfortable and still refer back to me for help. But after a while they got use to it and actually enjoy the freedom. So basically it still depends on your boss.
sacwoc
post Apr 18 2017, 01:43 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(s|dE @ Apr 18 2017, 02:10 PM)
I heard a lot of big company in Japan start to hire foreigner with only English as language... it is true?
I know of a few people who cannot speak Japanese at all got hired. In fact its not only big companies. I know a Malaysian got hired to a small Japanese manufacturing company who plans to expand overseas. He was hired from Malaysia and cant speak Japanese. Not sure how he got hired. Companies now are trying to be globalized but I am not sure if by just hiring foreigners will actually change their working culture over night.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0348sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:00 PM