20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Working in Japan, Malaysian working in Japan.

BacktoBasics
post Jan 14 2017, 04:34 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Jan 13 2017, 08:28 PM)
I think its possible? My case is an oversea assignment to the US MNC based in Japan. I am in the accounts line too. Pass my N5 but my kanji is horrible. Kinda forgotten most of it that were in N5 exam.
Now just waiting for my work permit to be completed before I hop off to Yokohama  tongue.gif
Haha normally accounts line won't get overseas transfers or assignment. You requested or they assigned you?
aska
post Jan 14 2017, 10:55 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jan 14 2017, 04:34 AM)
Haha normally accounts line won't get overseas transfers or assignment. You requested or they assigned you?
There was internal posting so I applied for it. Went for an interview & gotten the assignment. My advantage over the other candidates was because I know japanese & have relevant experience smile.gif
BacktoBasics
post Jan 14 2017, 12:44 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Jan 14 2017, 10:55 AM)
There was internal posting so I applied for it. Went for an interview & gotten the assignment. My advantage over the other candidates was because I know japanese & have relevant experience smile.gif
How is life so far in japan? Based in tokyo? What about the work culture? Same senpai kouhai thing? Dont go back home till late?
aska
post Jan 14 2017, 08:08 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jan 14 2017, 12:44 PM)
How is life so far in japan? Based in tokyo? What about the work culture? Same senpai kouhai thing? Dont go back home till late?
Not yet based in Yokohama yet. Still awaiting my working permit to be done smile.gif
Will definitely share my experience once I am there!

Now I am just worried whether my unlocked Samsung S7 can use the prepaid sim card in Japan.
Was just surfing online & came upon a post stating that S7 doesnt work which made me go 'WTF'. : http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+149703
Anyone here tried using their S7 in Japan? hmm.gif
sacwoc
post Jan 16 2017, 09:26 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Jan 14 2017, 09:08 PM)
Not yet based in Yokohama yet. Still awaiting my working permit to be done smile.gif
Will definitely share my experience once I am there!
Now I am just worried whether my unlocked Samsung S7 can use the prepaid sim card in Japan.
Was just surfing online & came upon a post stating that S7 doesnt work which made me go 'WTF'. : http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+149703
Anyone here tried using their S7 in Japan?  hmm.gif
You worried too much. I think that is a one off. Normally if you buy those cheap SIM card, the stores can only do so much because the phone is yours.
So far my wife S7 is working fine. Or why not ask you company to give you a phone? Tell them its for emergency purposes, since you dont know much Japanese and contracts in Japan normally takes two years.
aska
post Jan 16 2017, 10:03 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jan 16 2017, 09:26 AM)
You worried too much. I think that is a one off. Normally if you buy those cheap SIM card, the stores can only do so much because the phone is yours.
So far my wife S7 is working fine. Or why not ask you company to give you a phone? Tell them its for emergency purposes, since you dont know much Japanese and contracts in Japan normally takes two years.
Haha, I shall take your advise to heart, Sacwoc. I think I am worrying too much ahead since it's my first oversea assignment blush.gif blush.gif
My company kiam on mobile phone lah, already asked them. Lol
But since yours is working fine, I shouldn't worry much, hehe.
Thanks for the advice!!
aska
post Apr 17 2017, 11:54 AM

68 posts

hey everyone~
Finally settled down in Yokohama in Mar 2017. My Samsung S7 is working fine with Illjimio prepard sim card data (thank goodness)!
A bit of a culture shock here where things are a bit quiet here, compared to the msian kepoh environment tongue.gif
Although its a US company, the culture here are still leaning towards Japanese culture; super detail, very obvious manager-subordinate level thinking.....
Hmm, I want more freedom in my job....haha....
Everyone having the same culture in the worklife?
sacwoc
post Apr 18 2017, 09:04 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(aska @ Apr 17 2017, 12:54 PM)
hey everyone~
Finally settled down in Yokohama in Mar 2017. My Samsung S7 is working fine with Illjimio prepard sim card data (thank goodness)!
A bit of a culture shock here where things are a bit quiet here, compared to the msian kepoh environment tongue.gif
Although its a US company, the culture here are still leaning towards Japanese culture; super detail, very obvious manager-subordinate level thinking.....
Hmm, I want more freedom in my job....haha....
Everyone having the same culture in the worklife?
Hahaha.....I understand what you mean. My ex-company (non Japanese) are the same. Very quiet and you can hear a pin drop unless someone is on the phone. As for management style I was quite flexible and let my staff have all the freedom. Initially they are not comfortable and still refer back to me for help. But after a while they got use to it and actually enjoy the freedom. So basically it still depends on your boss.
s|dE
post Apr 18 2017, 01:10 PM

Out Of My Mind
715 posts

I heard a lot of big company in Japan start to hire foreigner with only English as language... it is true?
sacwoc
post Apr 18 2017, 01:43 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(s|dE @ Apr 18 2017, 02:10 PM)
I heard a lot of big company in Japan start to hire foreigner with only English as language... it is true?
I know of a few people who cannot speak Japanese at all got hired. In fact its not only big companies. I know a Malaysian got hired to a small Japanese manufacturing company who plans to expand overseas. He was hired from Malaysia and cant speak Japanese. Not sure how he got hired. Companies now are trying to be globalized but I am not sure if by just hiring foreigners will actually change their working culture over night.
s|dE
post Apr 18 2017, 02:40 PM

Out Of My Mind
715 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Apr 18 2017, 01:43 PM)
I know of a few people who cannot speak Japanese at all got hired. In fact its not only big companies. I know a Malaysian got hired to a small Japanese manufacturing company who plans to expand overseas. He was hired from Malaysia and cant speak Japanese. Not sure how he got hired. Companies now are trying to be globalized but I am not sure if by just hiring foreigners will actually change their working culture over night.
It's not about working culture for me, it's more to a chance to work in Japan. rclxms.gif It's good to hear this news anyway.
May I know your friend is from which industries? thumbsup.gif
GarubaSwey
post Apr 18 2017, 02:47 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(s|dE @ Apr 18 2017, 01:10 PM)
sounds like the internship program
http://www.internshipprogram.jp/english/foreign/

but they got bad press about it, not sure if true or not or what the current situation is

sweet_pez
post Apr 18 2017, 03:21 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Apr 9 2016, 06:12 AM)

Its so interesting to read about your experience. I'm also aiming to go there for some work experience, but I prefer to wait till I've got at least an N2 (just started my classes not long ago, taking the N5 end of the year).

Generally, based on your experience there - how safe is it for a lady to work and stay in Tokyo on her own?
sacwoc
post Apr 18 2017, 04:12 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(s|dE @ Apr 18 2017, 03:40 PM)
It's not about working culture for me, it's more to a chance to work in Japan. rclxms.gif It's good to hear this news anyway.
May I know your friend is from which industries? thumbsup.gif
He is in engineering but not sure which field. Know a few other people who cant speak Japanese who are in various field, like accounting, HR (head hunting), IT. Rakuten have quite a number of IT people who are non Japanese as well.
sacwoc
post Apr 18 2017, 04:15 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 18 2017, 04:21 PM)
Its so interesting to read about your experience. I'm also aiming to go there for some work experience, but I prefer to wait till I've got at least an N2 (just started my classes not long ago, taking the N5 end of the year).

Generally, based on your experience  there - how safe is it for a lady to work and stay in Tokyo on her own?
If you take away the natural disaster like earthquake, it is very safe. I know a Malaysian lady, mid 20s, who came here and staying in a shared house. As she is in Finance, she works late sometimes and no issue going back alone using public transport late at night.
sweet_pez
post Apr 18 2017, 04:49 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Apr 18 2017, 04:15 PM)
If you take away the natural disaster like earthquake, it is very safe. I know a Malaysian lady, mid 20s, who came here and staying in a shared house. As she is in Finance, she works late sometimes and no issue going back alone using public transport late at night.
Agree on earthquake. A lot of people comment that its not safe due to this. An ex-colleague studied in a Japanese University in Tokyo, and one day earthquake happened. He was forced to jump down from the building's window and broke his arm. He recovered, but could no longer play guitar.

As for crime, it is no stranger where ever we stay (regardless of country). Just that I noticed most of the residential area tend to be very quiet from 9pm onwards and it gets a little intimidating walking alone back. I stayed in AirBnB throughout my visits to both Tokyo and Nagoya and thus observed this. Probably depends on area as well.
sacwoc
post Apr 19 2017, 08:51 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 18 2017, 05:49 PM)
Agree on earthquake. A lot of people comment that its not safe due to this. An ex-colleague studied in a Japanese University in Tokyo, and one day earthquake happened. He was forced to jump down from the building's window and broke his arm. He recovered, but could no longer play guitar.

As for crime, it is no stranger where ever we stay (regardless of country). Just that I noticed most of the residential area tend to be very quiet from 9pm onwards and it gets a little intimidating walking alone back. I stayed in AirBnB throughout my visits to both Tokyo and Nagoya and thus observed this. Probably depends on area as well.
Generally there is no place that is 100% safe. You still have to take some precautions but compare to Malaysia its still safe. If you live in a housing area definitely it will be very quiet. My wife sometimes work late and she have no issue taking the 15 mins walk from the station.
sweet_pez
post Apr 19 2017, 10:01 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Apr 19 2017, 08:51 AM)
Generally there is no place that is 100% safe. You still have to take some precautions but compare to Malaysia its still safe. If you live in a housing area definitely it will be very quiet. My wife sometimes work late and she have no issue taking the 15 mins walk from the station.
Yes, my point was that there's no guarantee any place is absolutely safe in this world, but at least you'll feel a little better residing in a country/ area with low crime rate. Anyway, thanks for your sharing!
TSFlanegan
post Apr 21 2017, 10:45 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 18 2017, 06:21 PM)

Generally, based on your experience  there - how safe is it for a lady to work and stay in Tokyo on her own?
Very Safe, but if you're like 1000 years rare beauty kind of look. Just beware of Stalker, Stalker in Japan are quite scary. Scary than robber or gangster you see in KL.

Just don't think too much on the JLPT, unless you want to work for the government.
My Filipino friend recently got a Job as Immigrant Officer and she's not really fluent in Japanese.
The Government are desperate for more people now because of Low Population among Young Japanese.

As long you're capable to speak like How Japanese speak everyday (Ordering Food, Asking Simple Stuff, Normal Conversation and Basic Polite Language Form).
You will be fine...

When I move to Tokyo, My Japanese is chapalang. But after working with All japanese and observe how the way they talk, am able to converse normally 2 months later.
aska
post Apr 24 2017, 03:10 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Apr 18 2017, 09:04 AM)
Hahaha.....I understand what you mean. My ex-company (non Japanese) are the same. Very quiet and you can hear a pin drop unless someone is on the phone. As for management style I was quite flexible and let my staff have all the freedom. Initially they are not comfortable and still refer back to me for help. But after a while they got use to it and actually enjoy the freedom. So basically it still depends on your boss.
I believe it really depends on your boss loh....my boss has been in the company for 10 years++ so it figures that he is still practicing the old style....haha
let me slowly try to influence him brows.gif freedom onegaishimasu!
& one thing very funny that i observe. In msia, we usually leave the front seats empty in meeting for 'vips' who come in late. Here, they really separate the sitting style by management level...walaueh...I didnt know that & sat at that area...haha, i can feel the stares from people rolleyes.gif
I guess this is japanese style too?

20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:44 AM