20 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Working in Japan, Malaysian working in Japan.

RavagerX
post Jul 5 2016, 09:52 AM

103 posts

Riolis, thx. That's what I thought...

I did applied to the Japan school thingy. They told me the session for this year has ended. Opening again at April 2017. I don't think I can just fly direct to Japan with totally no guarantee about the job and burn through my whole saving. I suppose the Japan school program is my best bet now.
sacwoc
post Jul 5 2016, 10:11 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 5 2016, 12:04 AM)
- Go to Japan, learn Japanese, because your job is customer facing, need to talk to foreigners AND Japanese. So go and learn it, you only need at most 1 year to get your Japanese to Business level easy. Can be quite expensive if self-fund (but part-time work in Japan pays quite alot and can actually support you school fee/rent/living expenses easily, I only have money for 3 months of living, but cover everything with part time), but there is other ways like this thing I saw spammed here in Lowyat ( http://japan-school.com/ ) Then apply for job at the end of your school year. This should be 100% chances to get a job if you don't play around. I mean even a uni dropout dumbasses like me can get a job easy with this path, so if you don't play around should be no problem.

One year and learn Japanese Business? I have been here for mroe than 3 years and its still struggling. Even though I understand the conversation, I still need my staff to help me to translate. Normal conversation and daliy life is fine. Maybe I am bad with language.
yo_yo
post Jul 5 2016, 10:25 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 5 2016, 10:11 AM)
One year and learn Japanese Business? I have been here for mroe than 3 years and its still struggling. Even though I understand the conversation, I still need my staff to help me to translate. Normal conversation and daliy life is fine. Maybe I am bad with language.

don't be down! so far what have u done to improve ur japanese language? i find that writing a diary in the language i'm learning helps. and of course i get someone to correct the entry.

deeplyheartbroken
post Jul 5 2016, 10:48 AM

774 posts

Is it really that easy for a gaijin to secure a job there legally?

For the working visa, is it really that easy to obtain? Just need your hiring company to fill your application & your passport? That's all? Validity is one year?

It had been my dream working in Japan since I am young.

But from your reply the average salary is only 500k yen, that is not a lot for an expensive city like Tokyo.
TSFlanegan
post Jul 5 2016, 11:48 AM

146 posts

Make a Japanese friend, approach your japanese colleague. Trust me.
Your 日本語 ability will improve faster, and also if you work with a company that require to speak formal language request them to give you their 'manual book'.

You'll learn faster from there.
I took 1 year Japanese course, but quit 3 months later because I realize I didn't learn much from the school.

I can 'sound' almost like native 6 months later but of course vocabulary wise am still learning something new everyday if I meet new people and observe how the way they use their own 'slang' and how the way they speak.

TSFlanegan
post Jul 5 2016, 12:18 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 5 2016, 01:48 PM)

For the working visa, is it really that easy to obtain? Just need your hiring company to fill your application & your passport? That's all? Validity is one year?

But from your reply the average salary is only 500k yen, that is not a lot for an expensive city like Tokyo.
Trust me, Tokyo ain't that expensive.
My lifestyle is more easier and carefree in Tokyo compare to my home here in Kota Kinabalu.
sacwoc
post Jul 5 2016, 12:43 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(yo_yo @ Jul 5 2016, 11:25 AM)
don't be down! so far what have u done to improve ur japanese language? i find that writing a diary in the language i'm learning helps. and of course i get someone to correct the entry.
Haha...not down actually. Have sort of given up on business japanese even though I have a nihongo sensei provided by the company. I just leave it to my staff to do the communications while I pretend I dont understand. smile.gif
sacwoc
post Jul 5 2016, 12:46 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 5 2016, 11:48 AM)

500yen is consider more than average. Average in Japan is about 4million yen annually. Rent will be the most expensive. Transportation to work is normally paid for by the company so what left for you to spend is normally food.
deeplyheartbroken
post Jul 5 2016, 01:42 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Jul 5 2016, 12:18 PM)
Trust me, Tokyo ain't that expensive.
My lifestyle is more easier and carefree in Tokyo compare to my home here in Kota Kinabalu.
If it is a life without commitment, only rental & daily expenses in Tokyo I guess it is ok with 500k yen.

Currently I still have commitments such as family & loans to settle in Malaysia though, so with only 500k yen (~RM 20k) I believe it will just be a break-even for me currently

Guessed I should have started this journey long ago.

By the way on the visa question, appreciate your advice.
Riolis
post Jul 5 2016, 01:43 PM

82 posts

500k is considered not a lot!? You will be in for a shocker when you come here dude >.> My fresh grad salary is 210k only.
You need to work in those so called global company to get over 500k.

sacwoc
I failed badly at BM and English in SPM as well, so language is not my strong point. But everyday full time Japanese language course does help (for the writing and reading part), and I guess doing part time work after that and have to talk to people in Japanese counts as well I guess (for convo). Those people in construction work did teach me how to speak in 敬語 and all that crap.

RavagerX
Nothing ventured nothing gain bud. I burn through my life savings the first time I went. Living in Japan is not that expensive if you know how to save. Live in those dorms or capsule hotel that cost around RM 3k per month. Air asia ticket is not even that expensive. Food is cheap cheap eat yoshinoya or matsuya everyday, half price bento at supermarket after 9pm, etc etc.

But yeah, Japanese language school route is probably the best and I'd recommend it whole heartily. Since you can work part time and supplement your income while learning hows working there is like.

And yeah, Japan school all starts in April~ Sakura season.

Flanegan
Lucky you. My past experience in the IT field is not so carefree and easier.

This post has been edited by Riolis: Jul 5 2016, 01:54 PM
fred131
post Jul 5 2016, 02:09 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Apr 23 2016, 03:18 PM)
Nope, either you need to get a business visa with 5 million yen capital.
or You can get Self-Employed visa with at least a proof earnings of at least 200,000yen a month to survive in Japan, but this one only applies to those who previously work in Japan with 'Working Visa'.

Since Malaysian passport don't need to apply for Visa anymore.. You can just come to Japan and stay for 3 months tourist visa.

Japan Immigration Lawyer might help you to with this issues.
Hi Flanega, may I know how to apply for a setting up a business in Tokyo with 5 million yen capital which is about MYR200k. Do you know of a visa lawyer
who can do business set up and visa application together ?

I would like to do some trading business in Tokyo.. biggrin.gif
hwa107
post Jul 5 2016, 07:54 PM

827 posts

Hi, I have a question here for those who experienced in Japan be it TS or anyone else.

May I know how the mobile phone work in Japan? I read there are SIM free and not SIM free, can I continue to use my smartphone in Malaysia over there?

Also, how's it for a foreigner to apply a mobile phone? I mean like getting a Maxis line, do I need to pay extra deposit? Which Telco company u recommend?

Other than that, how about internet? Is it as easy as here or I need a guarantor or something? Also, which ISP is recommended?

Thank you in advance!
TSFlanegan
post Jul 5 2016, 11:40 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 5 2016, 04:43 PM)
Flanegan
Lucky you. My past experience in the IT field is not so carefree and easier.
Let's say the Creative Industry in Japan really take care of creative people here lah. haha

Everything got taken care off such as food and transport (pre-production, production and post-production)..
All I need to do is attend meeting, listen to briefing and guide before production.
Then start shooting. Less worry and anxious to what am currently do now, because I have to take care of everything from A to Z (pitching, looking for crew, set budget, set time etcs) in production and the final outcome didn't turn out really well because everyone rely on me only.

Tokyo are more on rely on each other, let's say working in a team to produce good work.
TSFlanegan
post Jul 5 2016, 11:42 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(fred131 @ Jul 5 2016, 05:09 PM)
Hi Flanega, may I know how to apply for a setting up a business in Tokyo with 5 million yen capital which is about MYR200k. Do you know of a visa lawyer
who can do business set up and visa application together ?

I would like to do some trading business in Tokyo.. biggrin.gif
Sorry, I don't know any Japan visa specialize lawyer.
I believe you can google a few good recommendation.
Or try searching Malaysia/Singapore Business in Japan on Facebook group, maybe those can help you.

TSFlanegan
post Jul 5 2016, 11:52 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 5 2016, 04:42 PM)
If it is a life without commitment, only rental & daily expenses in Tokyo I guess it is ok with 500k yen.

Currently I still have commitments such as family & loans to settle in Malaysia though, so with only 500k yen (~RM 20k) I believe it will just be a break-even for me currently

Guessed I should have started this journey long ago.

By the way on the visa question, appreciate your advice.
If you have tons of things to settle at home. I don't think is a good choice, i recommend just come for a vacation visit.
I knew a few business owner themselves don't own salary more than 500k yen a month.
Maybe 1 or 2 because they hustle their way up in music industry, they can get ギャラ-fee average 200k-400k yen per appearance to perform per show.
riesjx
post Jul 6 2016, 12:05 AM

180 posts

Hey! i stayed at Putatan too!, going back there this coming friday for Raya! biggrin.gif
TSFlanegan
post Jul 6 2016, 12:06 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(hwa107 @ Jul 5 2016, 10:54 PM)
Hi, I have a question here for those who experienced in Japan be it TS or anyone else.

May I know how the mobile phone work in Japan? I read there are SIM free and not SIM free, can I continue to use my smartphone in Malaysia over there?

Also, how's it for a foreigner to apply a mobile phone? I mean like getting a Maxis line, do I need to pay extra deposit? Which Telco company u recommend?

Other than that, how about internet? Is it as easy as here or I need a guarantor or something? Also, which ISP is recommended?

Thank you in advance!
If you move to Japan for a long period. No you cannot use your Malaysia Smartphone in Japan.

The only available prepaid simcard you can get in Japan is 'database' simcard which cause a lot 3k yen a month via b-mobile. (No Number, only data)
It will be very troublesome especially your colleague or friends try to contact you.

As long you have Japan Residence card, you can go to any official mobile provider store and apply for a new phone plan.
Normally you'll get between 3k-6k yen monthly with a smartphone for 2 years contract.
or like my friend, she directly purchase unlock iphone from softbank with standard 4k yen call/unlimited data plan with no contract. Basically she can cancel her plan anytime and bring back her unlock japan iphone back to Malaysia.

Any provider is fine in Japan just depends which plan you prefer.
Since my phone bill got covered by the company I work for.. I just pick Iphone unlimited data plan with number under Softbank Japan with 2 years contract. (between 3k-5500yen a month, once am reaching 500mb data they will automatically charge me 5500yen a month. or If my data didn't exceed 500mb, I only pay 3kyen a month).
Once am back in Malaysia, I just pay RM450 to unlock my Japan Iphone.

I know a few using NTT Docomo too...
hwa107
post Jul 6 2016, 12:58 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Jul 6 2016, 12:06 AM)
If you move to Japan for a long period. No you cannot use your Malaysia Smartphone in Japan.

The only available prepaid simcard you can get in Japan is 'database' simcard which cause a lot 3k yen a month via b-mobile. (No Number, only data)
It will be very troublesome especially your colleague or friends try to contact you.

As long you have Japan Residence card, you can go to any official mobile provider store and apply for a new phone plan.
Normally you'll get between 3k-6k yen monthly with a smartphone for 2 years contract.
or like my friend, she directly purchase unlock iphone from softbank with standard 4k yen call/unlimited data plan with no contract. Basically she can cancel her plan anytime and bring back her unlock japan iphone back to Malaysia.

Since my phone bill got covered by the company I work for.. I just pick Iphone unlimited data plan with number under Softbank Japan with 2 years contract. (between 3k-5500yen a month, once am reaching 500mb data they will automatically charge me 5500yen a month. or If my data didn't exceed 500mb, I only pay 3kyen a month).

Really can't use Malaysian phone? And I thought Malaysian phones all are unlocked, therefore can just pop in any SIM card.

The phone can't be use is due to the band (GSM/CDMA) right? Not because of phone being unlocked or not?

By the way thanks for the reply.
Riolis
post Jul 6 2016, 08:12 AM

82 posts

CAn use malaysia phone no problem. Now got sim free MNVO provider. Google it. Just be careful of the band and what not.
sacwoc
post Jul 6 2016, 08:52 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Jul 6 2016, 01:06 AM)

Not true. I am still using my Maxis line with the cheapest package. I still need it due to those bank TAC.

Also if you have Japan Residence Card you can get a lot of sim free card here.The government have open up the market and you can also get lock free phone now in the market. Those sim free card you dont even need to sign a two year contract and you can terminate it anytime. They run on SOftbank/NTT/KDDI network. I haven try it though, so not sure how reliable are they.

20 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:13 PM