the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

haihhh
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 22 2018, 10:06 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 22 2018, 09:20 AM)
Search for Kok Siong Nasi Kandar. This is what they are famous for. Kok Siong is near Hong Leong Bank near Tesco Extra Puchong

Jalan Bandar 16

your opinion?
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 29 2018, 09:35 PM

1,902 posts

want to share something from the past

Flying Tiger Line Flight 66 Crashed in Puchong on Sunday, 19th February 1989

It happened one Sunday morning on a clear day. I first heard about it over the TV at about 8am as I was getting ready to ride my bike for Fraser's Hills.

The aircraft descended towards the Kilo Lima NDB which was just over 7 nautical miles from Runway 33 extended centerline. The height it should have been at that point should not have been less than 2400ft. If I remember correctly there were a number of errors that conspired to cause the crash.

1. It was dark. If it was bright, the pilots would have seen the terrain.

2. The Glideslope was not available, either withdrawn or unservicable. If it was servicable, the pilots would have followed the GS and flew the slope correctly.

3. The Radar at Lumpur those days had no altitude reporting capability. If it had, the controller would have seen the aircraft descending to a level it should not descend to.

4. The Pilot misunderstood the controller's transmission to descend to 2400 ft. He thought that he's cleared to descend TO 400 ft.

The aircraft burst into flames upon impact, and was totally consumed by the post crash fire, leaving only the rudder visible. It was a fairly forgettable crash as 'only' 4 were killed.

After the accident... the phraseology was changed to 'two thousand four hundred' instead of 'two four zero zero', if i'm not mistaken...

IMC + GPWS = immediate go-around. Don't even think about anything else.

Compared to what we have in the cockpit these days, the B742 was effectively flying blind. IMC, no radar, no ILS, no approach chart....and of course no FMC and no map display. Been there, never again.

Bukit Permatang Kumbang, Puchong

http://aviation-safety.net/database/record...p?id=19890219-0

by using https://elevationmap.net/ we can pinpoint the exact location of the crash

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Apr 30 2018, 12:31 AM
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 30 2018, 12:31 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 30 2018, 12:09 AM)
Hmnnn..I thought I read somewhere the exact site was near the current petronas stn of saujana puchong. I din know it was deep inside ayer hitam forest
by using https://elevationmap.net/ we can pinpoint the exact location of the crash

----

the petronas location that you mentioned

JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 30 2018, 10:11 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 30 2018, 09:52 AM)
200m is the highest point in ayer hitam forest. From the accident photos and as well as the old newspapers photos I saw in late 80's,  the plane crashed not on the summit but trail of the foothill ~ 1/2way to the summit which probably coming from putrajaya side towards subang airport. Most probaby the crash site was closer to lestari putra side? Hehe just my opinion

[attachmentid=9766107]
taken from nst achieve 20/2/1989

https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=x8G8...frontpage&hl=en

sorry but I can't find the flight data online
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 30 2018, 10:16 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(PangurBan @ Apr 30 2018, 09:59 AM)
There is/was an Orang Asli village called Kg Kargo, after the crash site. They've been moved about so I'm not sure if the village is still there, but it's supposed to be in the southern fringes of puchong
yes there were orang asli settlement there even before the crash.

they were the first to arrived at the crash scene according to the news
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 30 2018, 12:52 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 30 2018, 11:20 AM)
The closest still intact orang aski kampung is at kg sg rasau (?) Just next to the Ldp shell stn beside the Puchong Selatan toll plaza. If this is the kampung u mentioned and the fact that saujana puchong was yet to be develop ~late 80's . The current residential areas of sp is the closest match. And I still remembered discussion that the site was near petronas saujana puchong...hmnnn
and that is Kampung Orang Asli Rasau Hilir

btw I just realized that Sultan Idris Shah Forest Education Center is under UPM, which is in the reserved area

behind saujana puchong and puchong getaway also got mardi station

most likely that lestari puchong, lestari putra, taman equine, taman putra permai area used to be under UPM big area

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Apr 30 2018, 01:03 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 30 2018, 01:21 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Apr 30 2018, 01:11 PM)
some one here try to go short cut to skip toll using that road end up get chase out  by UPM polis Bantuan  biggrin.gif
I thought the UPM entrance at SP 1/3 got guards right?
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 30 2018, 02:03 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 30 2018, 01:45 PM)
Guard sometime tidur haha. I also got chased by them b4 but entering via small gap at gateway puchong (via mountain bike).

The actual entrance to the forest is at jln sp10/13 which is always locked and only upm officers and orang aslis hv the key. The trail will lead to the emerald pool & water fall and ended up very close to bk5 lake (panggurban, ozak & me got loss till the lake many years ago haha.
yes I know the small entrance at the back of the shoplots at gateway puchong

but from sp 10/13 till bk 5b.... that's quite a walk biggrin.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2018, 11:52 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 30 2018, 02:04 PM)
The trail are very clear now.

Quite often going in and already familiar with almost all the trail where to where.
now need permission or not to enter boss?
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2018, 11:57 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Apr 30 2018, 03:19 PM)
Tutup liao. IOI still the best until now. New wing IOI mall will open a new more upmarket shop later.
enlightened me please, why puchong lang always fond of IOI Mall?

I've been to the mall since late 90s till now also I am quite puzzled with the jam and hard to find parking slot in the mall

still prefer Pyramid
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2018, 12:51 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 1 2018, 12:48 PM)
Prohibited from enter. Permission have to get it from upm.

Only a small portion trail or we called it trail A that open to public.
now need to apply online or need to walk in to the upm office?

any guidance boss ? Thank you smile.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2018, 01:10 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 1 2018, 12:55 PM)
According to last time the upm people said, need to apply from upm office.

You want to enter?

Find plane wreakage?
no lah , those plane wreckage already long gone

ok thanks for the info

looking forward to this actually smile.gif since it is pretty near to my place

anyway I found the online application here http://www.forr.upm.edu.my/faildokumen

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: May 1 2018, 01:17 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post May 1 2018, 01:44 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 1 2018, 01:18 PM)
This place is prohibited. Better don't put the pic in public.

The last time I remember some club put such pic in web, next day, police come and catch a teenage group swimming there.  sweat.gif

PM if you interest.
I know the rangers are there at the blue lagoon area .. so that's why I want to make it as an official visit

perhaps I can suggest to my kid's school to make an official trip for that

btw thanks for the info mate smile.gif

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: May 1 2018, 01:44 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post May 2 2018, 07:10 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ May 1 2018, 06:32 PM)
Nearer than Sunway Pyramid. Just back frm pyramid, full of PRC, students, arabs, wannabe ah bengs, not nice to walk, more like chee chong kai but more upmarket. I wud go weekend if need to buy stuff at cK, AX or Underarmour. Else avoid it..

IOI mall more or less more local, got parking, need to look properly, not only go underground or outside, belakang also got, plus rooftop. Dun go on PH or Saturdays go weekdays if need to buy things. You will know where to go for what you want, no need to waste time.
food choices are better in pyramid

sorry boss I don't shop expensive things like cartier, chanel here. too expensive.

ioi still looks like old shopping mall from the 90s
JimbeamofNRT
post May 2 2018, 07:11 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ May 2 2018, 07:35 AM)
I couldn't agree more.  rclxms.gif Shopping in IOI mall is more relaxing than Sunway Pyramid which tends to be overcrowded.

My only concern is heavy rain and flash flood near the mall, especially when your car is parked in the outdoor or basement parking.

I also find IOI City Mall a pretty nice place to shop.
that happened bfore

JimbeamofNRT
post May 3 2018, 01:31 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ May 2 2018, 07:14 PM)
Food choice is good, true. But want to go one place have to travel (walk) like mad cos so big  laugh.gif  IOI now doing some improvements to the mall, now renovating to keep up...chinaman company kedekut sial..
bigger than ioi mall lol - yes if u have things to buy at zara and after that u wanna walk to tealive.. now that's quite a walk

chinaman co. lah this ioi. u see how sunway pyramid has transformed since 1997. even summit getting better nowadays.
JimbeamofNRT
post May 3 2018, 12:27 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ May 3 2018, 07:37 AM)
IOI mall build in 1998 of cause lah 90s mall
IOI indeed having cash flow problem , u see the announced road closure and diversion on Bdr. Putri flyover project  biggrin.gif  delay and delay. Thanks to Palm oil business not so good 
Sunway also Chinaman company just they in the right property business and development strategy so they are strong now  flex.gif 
Sunway group concentrate in own city management commercial , infrastructure and housing all planned in good, while IOI only sell housing and shop lot now they try to do more infra but cash flow  shakehead.gif
and sunway pyramid also opened one year after ioi lah brother. 1997. consider 90s mall also but look what happened to pyramid now.

IOIPG got more land banks than sunway but it seems the company lost its appeal already

i think the son lee yeow sang who is the ceo should resign. so many fk up deals fall through
JimbeamofNRT
post May 3 2018, 12:35 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 3 2018, 09:07 AM)
Hmnnn ioi mall opened in 1998?..funny..I moved in to puchong in Jul 98 and the mall akready there dy wor..should be earlier than 1998? Even in 1998, most shops already established with Tge Store as the anchor tenant which was later tajen over by aeon.

Nevertheless, ioi group is not small. It one of top 10 co in Msia and bigger than sunway. Although ioi mall is old, they still attract visitors. Ioi city mall in putrajaya is actually doing so well now and weekend crowd rival those in pyramid, mv & 1u
which part of puchong?

still remember those notorious u turns along LDP highways. when u come down from persiaran puchong jaya selatan and want to go to ioi mall, you need to take that bloody u turn which is just in front of the pusat perniagaan ioi.

those days only the brave can survive the puchongs traffic. and the drivers are super ah bengs.

you need a lot of guts to drive around puchong that's for sure
JimbeamofNRT
post May 3 2018, 12:57 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 3 2018, 12:45 PM)
Bt14. Puchong Utama/bkt puchong area.
The only way entering puchong b4 1999 was via okr or the narrow road from USJ/Hicom. Ldp was still in progress and only opened end of 1998. However the 3lanes road from ioi mall/puchong Jaya to puchong perdana interchange already completed much earlier and that probably the best road in Puchong that time.

Ldp from Sunway to puchong was also still in progress as well as bkt jalil puchong bypass.
those days people will say u are crazy to buy prop in puchong. biggrin.gif

0.1118sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:40 PM