Webe Thread, The new TM-P1 telco in Malaysia

tohff7
post May 4 2016, 11:07 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(bryon @ May 4 2016, 02:46 AM)
that is different
how many people can affford to pay a million for a car?
how many people can afford rm20
discussing this rm20 plan is like discussing a plan in USA which you cannot get
nama pun testing or trial period. what u expect
vin_ann
post May 4 2016, 12:04 PM

10,912 posts

we all here care about data, speed and coverage.

Yet the main cause of Webe we just ignore it. hehe...

btw, in 1 of the morning few days ago, BFM radio did talk about Webe customer service support... now i try to google anything about it but no result.

the DJ mentioned tht Webe CS will follow some UK telco model where there is no CS team being setup, all questions are answered by community aka other users.
wil-i-am
post May 4 2016, 01:03 PM

10,001 posts

Lets monitor whether Webe can create pent-up demand prior to launching
vanpersie91
post May 4 2016, 03:51 PM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

mana can apply?
verticalar
post May 4 2016, 04:45 PM

JackOfallTraders
Store Representative
1,228 posts

for most thing we know,

Unlimited
= is never real. There's sure some catch behind it. Unlimited is just a stunt marketing shout. So for this case, is best to read the "fine prints".

Speed
= will never meet the consumer expectation nor the industry standards. For a company to provide a good speed and stability, they must build quality base stations or many units to cater the demands. Most company are stingy and only will build just enough to "so called cover" their expenses.

Coverage
= in this country, every service providers are leveraging on one another so assume coverage is so so la ... if one service provider start sabotage.... then habis d...

I just move around every telco, not a fan to sign onto any contract cause always contract are shits warped up like nasi lemak.... very misleading one
wil-i-am
post May 4 2016, 07:37 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyNote7 @ May 4 2016, 03:49 PM)
When is it launching? Some of my friends already got the SIM card.
No idea when is d launch date
wil-i-am
post May 4 2016, 07:42 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ May 4 2016, 03:51 PM)
mana can apply?
Cannot apply coz by invitation ony
vanpersie91
post May 4 2016, 08:14 PM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 4 2016, 07:42 PM)
Cannot apply coz by invitation ony
cry.gif

ala....so far invitation only? when will open launch to mass consumer?
nexona88
post May 4 2016, 08:54 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ May 4 2016, 12:04 PM)
btw, in 1 of the morning few days ago, BFM radio did talk about Webe customer service support... now i try to google anything about it but no result.

the DJ mentioned tht Webe CS will follow some UK telco model where there is no CS team being setup, all questions are answered by community aka other users.
lol something like lyn forum.. User help others users tongue.gif
nexona88
post May 4 2016, 08:56 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ May 4 2016, 08:14 PM)
cry.gif

if not mistaken in Q3? hmm.gif
wil-i-am
post May 4 2016, 09:11 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ May 4 2016, 08:14 PM)
cry.gif

M keen to know oso
GOPI56
post May 4 2016, 09:27 PM

1,494 posts

I think the launch is maybe in August month after the testing phase which ends in July i think.
zher4883
post May 4 2016, 10:30 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(verticalar @ May 4 2016, 04:45 PM)
for most thing we know,

Unlimited
= is never real. There's sure some catch behind it. Unlimited is just a stunt marketing shout. So for this case, is best to read the "fine prints".

Speed
= will never meet the consumer expectation nor the industry standards.  For a company to provide a good speed and stability, they must build quality base stations or many units to cater the demands. Most company are stingy and only will build just enough to "so called cover" their expenses.

Coverage
= in this country, every service providers are leveraging on one another so assume coverage is so so la ... if one service provider start sabotage.... then habis d...

I just move around every telco, not a fan to sign onto any contract cause always contract are shits warped up like nasi lemak.... very misleading one
There's no such thing as truly unlimited. No telco will offer truly unlimited plan unless plan that comes with very huge quota that seems unlimited for most of the user or throttling after huge usage. Currently, Digi, Maxis and U Mobile LTE speed are pretty sufficient for casual user. Digi LTE handover are pretty slow and sometimes leads to disconnection. Celcom's LTE are pretty subpar compare to these telco.
nexona88
post May 4 2016, 10:33 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ May 4 2016, 10:30 PM)
There's no such thing as truly unlimited. No telco will offer truly unlimited plan unless plan that comes with very huge quota that seems unlimited for most of the user or throttling after huge usage. Currently, Digi, Maxis and U Mobile LTE speed are pretty sufficient for casual user. Digi LTE handover are pretty slow and sometimes leads to disconnection. Celcom's LTE are pretty subpar compare to these telco.
well said rclxms.gif
wil-i-am
post May 4 2016, 10:45 PM

10,001 posts

Awaiting the launch in Q3/2016
kuntakinte
post May 6 2016, 11:35 AM

607 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ May 4 2016, 12:04 PM)
we all here care about data, speed and coverage.

Yet the main cause of Webe we just ignore it. hehe...

If I'm not wrong, Webe is modeled after giffgaff of UK. They are wholly owned by O2 and rides on their network. Giffgaff is a MVNO

Giffgaff is basically a peer to peer community driven model where their users become their customer service support, marketing and sales branches. In return, members get a $ credit for a service they provide. For example, if you man the customer service forums to help out with other users queries, you get some $ credit. For every successful sign up you bring to the network, you get something as well. Apparently, one user earned 13k gbp for referring many users to the network by distributing the sign ups in his father's chain of convenience stores

And being community driven means the community is free to suggest and vote on what they want from the provider who then adopts the suggestion for the larger good

In return, the telco has low overheads and theoretically, passes the savings back to the consumers

Giffgaff is considered a success and spawn further into their business model by partnering to finance providers to offer phones at cheaper price plans

Will it work here? Too early to say but in a sea of also-ran telcos, that's one way of differentiating your business but their announced 7 community initiatives were badly communicated and information cloudy at best.

From a PR perspective, it was a major fail in that it didn't generated any excitement whatsoever

graphidz
post May 10 2016, 09:44 PM

F.A.T.E
1,411 posts

inb4, auto downloads virus
TheAvicenna
post May 10 2016, 09:50 PM

Opps sorry. I add the details.
No virus. Just download Webe Apps and start PLAY & SCAN

This post has been edited by TheAvicenna: May 10 2016, 09:51 PM
V3000