Lens for Nikon D3200, Which one to take

TSxDingx
post Apr 5 2016, 11:35 AM, updated 10y ago

613 posts

Hi All,

I like to take picture with my Nikon D3200 whenever i travel somewhere. The lens kit that comes with the body is spoiled and I'm looking for a replacement.. Looking for a general purpose lens that can take nice pic during my travel, and lenses below are under my consideration:

1. Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]
2. NIKON AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f4.5-5.6G ED VR

Appreciate if any sifu here can recommend which of the above is recommended. Or u may recommend me other lens that is compatible with D3200, my budeget is around RM1200..
Atsumori
post Apr 5 2016, 11:45 AM

150 posts

wide vs zoom
which one you prefer
TSxDingx
post Apr 5 2016, 11:52 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(Atsumori @ Apr 5 2016, 11:45 AM)
wide vs zoom
which one you prefer
Zoom..

DaddyO
post Apr 5 2016, 12:42 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Apr 5 2016, 11:52 AM)
Zoom..
I think he meant wide or tele. Personally for travel purpose go for 17-50mm. 55mm onwards focus more on subject than scenery.

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Apr 5 2016, 12:42 PM
Jaschong
post Apr 16 2016, 12:05 AM

113 posts

17-50mm, I would assume most of the time landscapes are the main photos you will be taking on your travels.
goldfries
post Apr 16 2016, 12:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Well 17-50 isn't categorized as wide either.

That range is called called either 'standard' or 'normal'.

For travel a standard / normal zoom works best.
goldfries
post Apr 16 2016, 12:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Apr 5 2016, 11:35 AM)
Regarding the Tamron, there's another model of a same name but with 'VC' that has image stabilzation.

wyh
post Apr 17 2016, 04:26 PM

1,447 posts

I would agree Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 SP XR Di-II VC is a good buy for your consideration. VC does not + much into this model.
TSxDingx
post Apr 21 2016, 12:54 PM

613 posts

Thank u all for the feedbacks. After doing some online searchings, I found Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM and decided to go for it. Online reviews sound promising smile.gif
jepertine90
post May 19 2016, 01:12 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Apr 21 2016, 12:54 PM)
Thank u all for the feedbacks. After doing some online searchings,  I found  Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM and decided to go for it. Online reviews sound promising smile.gif
I'm selling the Sigma lens if you are still interested, please do pm me biggrin.gif
amanda nordin
post May 23 2016, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(xDingx @ Apr 5 2016, 11:35 AM)
Hi All,

I like to take picture with my Nikon D3200 whenever i travel somewhere. The lens kit that comes with the body is spoiled and I'm looking for a replacement.. Looking for a general purpose lens that can take nice pic during my travel, and lenses below are under my consideration:

Appreciate if any sifu here can recommend which of the above is recommended. Or u may recommend me other lens that is compatible with D3200, my budeget is around RM1200..
hi traveler haha. i would like to usd D200 also, usually i will accompany my dad to Times Square to buy the new lens. Oh well, by the way they got quite cheapest i mean medium price they can give every each of person purchase for 800 ringgit Malaysia. Last two month my fellow buddy buy it from them get Rm1600 cool2.gif

0.2156sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:49 PM