TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v3.o, 500 Mbps of rocket science

jetwash
post Nov 30 2016, 01:34 PM

On high-altitude training
618 posts

New (upcoming) Time subscriber reporting in. Was hoping to get installed in a week, but when I registered online (just now) the earliest available installation slot is only on the 14th of Dec. So we'll see smile.gif
jetwash
post Nov 30 2016, 11:13 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Nov 30 2016, 03:47 PM)
Dear bro

Thanks for your interest in time fibre , we are time fibre distributor can help you to expedite the installation.

replied in pm, bro.
jetwash
post Dec 7 2016, 11:10 AM

618 posts

Just got Time Fibre installed within a within a week of application. Thanks to yeapch01 for arranging everything.

Speedtest results are as advertised. Torrent speeds are rather unimpressive currently (same as my 10 mbps Maxis fibre) but hopefully that's just because of the poor seed/peer ratio.

edit: ok false alarm, getting full speed torrent downloads now cool2.gif

This post has been edited by jetwash: Dec 7 2016, 11:13 AM
jetwash
post Dec 7 2016, 01:44 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(ms749 @ Dec 7 2016, 01:39 PM)
What's your torrent download speed?
Around 11 mbps. As advertised.
jetwash
post Jan 15 2017, 08:52 PM

618 posts

Time fibre currently down in Seksyen 13, PJ since 11am this morning as some construction nearby managed to damage the underground fibre cables. CS was promising that connection should be restored within 24 hours.

There goes Liverpool vs Man U tonight 😂
jetwash
post Sep 4 2017, 12:34 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(MyJen @ Sep 4 2017, 02:07 AM)
Does anyone face internet (ISP by time broadband) slowness issue in PJ area, this has happened since 31st August night. It is extremely slow as the download speed is just around 10+KBps
No problems here in Seksyen 13.
jetwash
post Sep 19 2017, 10:06 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 19 2017, 10:01 AM)
But the firmware is not released yet though, no?
And i checked, the firmware update is country-specific.
https://www.lowyat.net/2017/142185/update-f...r850l-malaysia/
Might take a while.

Should I be worried though? I don't do anything 'sensitive' on my home network, well, except for occasional banking.
jetwash
post Sep 19 2017, 10:25 AM

618 posts

Well, remote management is disabled by default. And I've disabled SharePort too. Anything else I should be doing for the time being?
jetwash
post Sep 19 2017, 11:14 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 19 2017, 11:01 AM)
Can you share the steps to those things?
http://www.dlink.com.my/securityadvisory-msia/

SharePort is under Settings. Recommended to be disabled by the Singapore advisory notice.

This post has been edited by jetwash: Sep 19 2017, 11:16 AM
jetwash
post Sep 19 2017, 11:18 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 19 2017, 11:15 AM)
Factory reset won't affect the time setting?
Oh ya didn't do factory reset. Don't think it matters, and would probably mess up the connection. So better not.

I just disabled SharePort and made sure remote management is off (it is off by default).
jetwash
post Sep 19 2017, 02:12 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Sep 19 2017, 01:37 PM)
Anyway, I just watched the Security Now podcast on Youtube. The kinds of vulnerabilities this router has cannot be mitigated by a simple password change. If you can, change back to the original one TIME gave you, or get a cheap replacement.

Link to the video at the timestamp: https://t.co/uPZXeKUT2u
But how malicious can these vulnerabilities get? I'm fairly indifferent right now but perhaps am I underestimating how bad would it get?

Having said that I'm pretty sure those outside of tech circles (say, 90% of subscribers?) won't even know this is happening biggrin.gif
jetwash
post Sep 19 2017, 02:45 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Sep 19 2017, 02:15 PM)
These things thrive on people's indifference lol.
It may not affect you directly immediately, but imagine someone unlucky gets their entire traffic sniffed, it's a hell of a lot to lose.
I am also fairly sure if I go mamak tonight I will see this model lol.
I doubt mamaks would use the 850l. The signal is very poor biggrin.gif
jetwash
post Sep 21 2017, 02:48 PM

618 posts

Oi I want a new router too! haha
jetwash
post Sep 23 2017, 01:09 PM

618 posts

Hopefully Time (and Unifi) will not drag their feet on this.
jetwash
post Sep 27 2017, 11:29 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Sep 26 2017, 09:55 PM)
Dear bro

Thanks for your interest in time fibre , we have been helping a lot forumer who still have contract with tm to get away from any penalty all the while.

On top of that , there is some thing special for current unifi customer which still have contract with TM

Can you help me the other way around? I mean, moving from Time to another provider sad.gif

Unfortunately will be moving houses before my two year contract is up, and obviously Time wont be available at the new place.
jetwash
post Sep 27 2017, 03:25 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Sep 27 2017, 03:13 PM)
dear bro
feel free to whatapps me your detail to 012 4380601 , I see whether can help you appeal on this on special case.

Thanks, will do when we finally move.
jetwash
post Oct 3 2017, 10:06 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Oct 1 2017, 07:10 AM)
I got a mail from TIME saying that I can redeem a scoop of Häagen-Dazs ice cream from 1 to 31 Oct 2017, anyone got that too ? is it legit ?
EH how come I didn't get? Haha
jetwash
post Oct 3 2017, 11:29 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Oct 3 2017, 10:55 AM)
Check again later Bro...I got it too.

If nope, possibly next batch....
Nope. It's oklah. Probably because I'm not even a year into the contract.

jetwash
post Oct 8 2017, 09:43 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 8 2017, 03:59 AM)
What's the promo about?
What'a this about? One time discount?
jetwash
post Oct 17 2017, 09:00 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mastedo @ Oct 17 2017, 01:48 PM)
Hi.
i have question
I using TIME for 1 years ++
Now i move to new house.
But my TIME still on contract
My new house doesn't have coverage.
So do i need to pay penalty RM500?
or any other solution  cry.gif  cry.gif
I'm going to be in the same situation.

But I think the penalty is not 500 right? 200 something maybe?

0.2164sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:02 PM