TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v3.o, 500 Mbps of rocket science

hotfloppy
post Apr 9 2016, 06:28 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(paqralos @ Apr 9 2016, 12:33 PM)
Hi guys,

I am using TIME broadband at the moment.
My house has multiple ethernet ports for LAN cable including my rooms. The issue is how am I getting these ethernet ports workable or accessible to the internet?

At the moment the fiber optics go straight to the modem which was given by TIME then router.

Please advise.

Thank you.
Do you mean the ethernet port on the wall? If it is, then you need to know where is the other end of those cable and connect those end to your router. For multiple cables (more than available port on router), you might need to get a proper ethernet switch, connect all those cables to the switch and 1 cable from switch to router.

This post has been edited by hotfloppy: Apr 9 2016, 06:28 PM
hotfloppy
post Apr 9 2016, 06:32 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(paqralos @ Apr 9 2016, 06:29 PM)
Hmm... i guess all i need is to call the management next week for more information. Hopefully they can assist me then.

Thanks anyway.
Yeah, easier to call your management and ask about those ethernet faceplate. It's common in office environment but never saw it in houses. But it's convenient tho if can properly setup cos everyone can get LAN connection instead of WiFi. wink.gif
hotfloppy
post Apr 19 2016, 05:56 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(tritonite @ Apr 18 2016, 04:44 PM)
Yes, that is standard practice, and it's the same here at my condo.

Again, just sounded like @infin had to pay extra for the piping from his riser, comms cabinet, floor switch or whatever you want to call it, to his unit. I would query my condo management if it happened to me.

15m just sounds more than enough to me, unless you wanted the ONU located somewhere other than where people are usually happy to have it - i.e. living room, behind the TV table.
So, I got conned ady la. My installation has been done last month and that guy charged me around RM45 I think (cannot recall) cos exceed 15m from floor switch. But from my front door to my TV cabinet is only +/- 8 meters. My place is near to his place (according to his profile location), maybe same contractor.

Apart from paying extra (is it?) and force to take leave (i tot it takes only few minutes. they should inform that it takes at least 4 hours, few days beforehand), everything is working great.
hotfloppy
post Apr 22 2016, 12:21 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Apr 22 2016, 09:53 AM)
Ah, alright. So better start low first then hah! If tak cukup then upgrade. Thank you.
Be aware that the contract renewal is 24 months after current contract finished. Means, if current contract is 24 months, it will be 48 months / 4 year. devil.gif

Unless you're pre-500Mbps customer, then you're entitled to 1 (ONE) upgrade/downgrade without any fees or contract renewal.

EDIT: My bad. Mistakenly read from 'small business' FAQ.
Contract term will be reset to 24 months, within or after contract. Even subscription already past 24 months, it will be reset back to 24 months.
Source: TIME FAQs (under Account & Billing section)

This post has been edited by hotfloppy: Apr 22 2016, 04:12 PM
hotfloppy
post Apr 22 2016, 03:58 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 22 2016, 12:23 PM)
No. As far I know..it just refresh back to 24 months.
Oh ya, my bad. Mistakenly read from 'small business' FAQ. Yeah, contract reset to 24 months, within or after contract. Even subscription already past 24 months, it will be reset back to 24 months.
Source: TIME FAQs (under Account & Billing section)
hotfloppy
post Apr 22 2016, 04:21 PM

95 posts

QUOTE("Dani @ Apr 22 2016, 04:07 PM)
Hi All, TIME currently offer their service in my condo.
Do you think its better to switch from my current ISP (Symph*net) to TIME.

I read in this forum, some of you subscribe for 100Mbps but only get 30 - 40 Mbps
Is it TIME have a stable connectivity?

Thank you guys for the reply
For me, coming from Unifi 30Mbps RM179, I can feel big improvement when subscribed to Time 100Mbps (which upgraded to 300Mbps for free) with the same price. But, I never able to get more than 40Mbps eventho speedtest showing 90Mbps something via direct LAN(my laptop support fast ethernet 100Mbps only). By using wifi, I never able to reach more than 10Mbps.

And the router that they give is a crappy one I think. I cannot get decent wifi signal from my bedroom at all. I need to use my old TL-1043ND as wifi repeater to get better signal.

So, yeah, maybe crappy router.
hotfloppy
post Apr 22 2016, 05:22 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Apr 22 2016, 04:59 PM)
Living in Apartment, any router that only using b,g,n and no AC support is pointless if you want to get good WiFi connection. Ethernet is no problem though.
Agreed. But even on ethernet connection, I never able to get real speed (not the speedtest). Usually just around 4-5MB/s only. With my ethernet card, at least 10MB/s shouldn't be a problem. I cannot complain to Time CS because the speedtest can reach 90Mbps+. But I've tried download from multiple servers, same result.

It would be nice if someone could give me some link that they themselves able to get download speed more than 10MB/s.

And another thing is, new subscription for 300Mbps get DLink router for RM189. But mine, for RM179, only given crappy ZTE router. My subscription start on 13 March, if not mistaken. If I wait for a few days until they revised the package, I could get better DLink router for RM10 more. dry.gif
hotfloppy
post Apr 22 2016, 06:27 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Apr 22 2016, 05:42 PM)
Saying this may sound like a not so important tip, but have you try different ethernet cable? I have dozens at home, and I notice so much difference when I try to switch between some of them. Your network card settings also have some feature like "Green Ethernet" or "Power Saving Mode" and so on. That can affect the connection as well.

Then again, if you are using the stock router no matter what your situation is, switching to a better router is the less headache way.
Yes, I've tried with multiple cables, both CAT5E and CAT6.
I thought only wireless card have the power saving thing?

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 22 2016, 05:44 PM)

Try this link.
You read my mind! Haha. Planning to try downloading those image tonite. The server support 1Gbps and it's local mirror, so should able to get decent speed.
hotfloppy
post Apr 30 2016, 06:05 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(yaseen1979 @ Apr 30 2016, 05:56 PM)
U manage to get them? I waited for over 1 hour now n i gave up
They fixed it ady. Or at least for my area at Pelangi Damansara. rclxms.gif
hotfloppy
post Jun 18 2016, 03:24 PM

95 posts

Pelangi Damansara also down 😭
hotfloppy
post Jun 18 2016, 03:25 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Raziel2047 @ Jun 18 2016, 03:24 PM)
Back up
Yup, back up ady rclxms.gif
hotfloppy
post May 11 2017, 11:37 AM

95 posts

I'm using 300Mbps package right now, direct cable is awesome but wifi is super crappy. Even tho I'm standing in front of the Huawei router, the speed is crap. Btw, signal is full tho. I've tried with multiple channels but still, the problem persists.

I'd like to buy a new router with Gigabit ethernet port (to make use of 300Mbps) and good wifi speed. Can anyone suggest good router with below RM200 budget? Or is it impossible with that budget?
hotfloppy
post May 11 2017, 03:20 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(quasi @ May 11 2017, 11:50 AM)
impossible at that price

also, is your notebook compatible with wireless ac?
I'm currently using a wifi adapter (TL-WN823N) which support up to 300Mbps. My built in wifi not really compatible with my current OS so I had to use the adapter.

I found this one router, Tenda AC1200 iirc, but they just support fast ethernet only. dry.gif
What's the estimated budget for gigabit router ya? Does Dlink router offered by Time good?
Btw, I saw lots of people suggested TP-Link Archer C9 but its quite expensive. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by hotfloppy: May 11 2017, 03:21 PM
hotfloppy
post May 12 2017, 12:34 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 11 2017, 05:50 PM)
Get Asus RT-C1200G+ and a TP-LINK wireless AC capable USB adapter. Pretty good combo. Can consider the Archer C7 as well.

If you are hardcore, change the wireless card in your laptop.

Looks like I had to wait another couple of months before upgrading the router. Out of my budget for now. But I bet it worth the wait eh. biggrin.gif
hotfloppy
post May 12 2017, 12:38 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(topeng perak @ May 12 2017, 09:27 AM)
Thats your problem. You will never able to maximize speed with this adapter
My actual problem is, my wifi speed never reached more than 1Mbps, let alone reaching the max speed, even the wifi signal is full bar and I'm standing in front of the router. cry.gif
hotfloppy
post May 12 2017, 04:03 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(topeng perak @ May 12 2017, 03:43 PM)
Something not right already. Perhaps can call TIME for they come and check.
But direct connection via LAN cable works just fine. So it must be the router.

Anyone else have same issue as mine?
hotfloppy
post Jul 12 2018, 05:23 PM

95 posts

i hope Time will take their time before making any decision, be it upgrading speed or lowering price etc.

i still remember those days when i'm still with unifi and there's a lot of disconnection issues, slowdown etc etc. i couldn't work when there's no internet connection bangwall.gif
but with Time, dont think i had more than 5 disconnections (that i'm aware of) this past 2+ years rclxms.gif

i'll always prefer quality than quantity icon_idea.gif
hotfloppy
post Jul 18 2018, 10:08 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jul 18 2018, 09:38 AM)
Dunno about you. Have had no problems at all for the past 2 years +.
Watching Netflix everyday plus kids surfing etc.
ya, thats true. ive been using Time for 2+ years too, havent had any major problem.
and if you want to compare to TM, which i've been using since 90s (56k era), Time is much much more better.

p/s: my daily usage of Time consists of lots of streaming and torrenting. shared with 3-4 devices at a time (phone, pc, tv etc).
hotfloppy
post Jul 23 2018, 11:27 PM

95 posts

hi Time agent/distributor.. i will be moving into a new house next month, may i know the process of relocation? do i really need to pay rm120 for relocation?
hotfloppy
post Sep 13 2018, 05:12 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(soul_project @ Sep 13 2018, 09:50 AM)
can i know which area in PJ are you located at?

wanna collect feedback from PJ users ..

i'm at ss2 .. wanted to switch to time but still collecting feedback haha
used to live in Pelangi Damansara, and now moved to Kota Damansara. got no issues at both location.
come come, switch je icon_idea.gif

0.0363sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:38 PM