TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v3.o, 500 Mbps of rocket science

donhue
post Apr 7 2016, 02:30 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Apr 7 2016, 02:09 PM)
Wow so much talk now on overprovisioning etc.

I dropped Unifi when I moved houses and got Astro IPTV with 10Mbps.
From Unifi 5Mbps to 10 with 30 hours free boost up to 50Mbps - I was blown away.
Then I canceled astro and settled for 20Mbps from Time.
Within 2 months I now get 100Mbps (out of supposed 300 from my ZTE stock router on LAN).

Now I am paying the same I ever did - which was RM179. To get a consistent 5x speed boost  over what I paid for, with kids on youtube, wife on netflix and I can iflix at the same time...I dunno. I'm okay with it.

I'll upgrade my router later - but coming from Jaring, TMnet, streamyx, unifi and now TIME, i can tell you consistency wins every time.
I think this will be the main difference between old & new subscribers..

Old subscribers like us are happy that we're getting at least 5x the speed than what we initially signed up for (at no extra charge)..

But new subscribers are signing up based on the expectation that they'll get exactly what they signed up for.. So definitely won't be happy when they see a 10% loss..
donhue
post Apr 11 2016, 03:09 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(zkhin @ Apr 11 2016, 02:57 PM)
hi guys. i have a question. i checked for coverage from time's website. it appears that my area has a time dot in it. My area has no tall buildings, mostly landed and it is not a housing area. However i realise, unlike other Time dots, the one in my area is not clickable and nothing shows even after pointing cursor to it. So i want to ask whether Time is available in my area.

Thanks in advance!
Are you currently at home? I tried from office and the unclickable time dot shows up where my office is..
donhue
post Apr 11 2016, 03:13 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(zkhin @ Apr 11 2016, 03:10 PM)
so that dot is suppose to show where we are?  mega_shok.gif
I think it's a Google Maps feature where it pinpoints your current location.. Unfortunately, on the time website, it re-uses the same "availability" dot..

if you go to maps.google.com, you will also see a blue dot where you are right now..

This post has been edited by donhue: Apr 11 2016, 03:14 PM
donhue
post Apr 25 2016, 04:55 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(nexvik @ Apr 25 2016, 04:11 PM)
Hi everyone.

I'm new to TIME internet and it would be much appreciated if someone could help me clarify something.

I've contacted one of the agents and they say that they will require to drill a small hole at the entrance. I am a bit lost / mislead about the drilling hole at the entrance part. Does it mean that the fiber wire will be directly exposed in my home or something like that?

Would be much appreciated that if there are some photos to help me understand easier.

Thanks all.
Yes, for normal installation, the fiber wire will be exposed in your home. They will glue it to the corners of your wall/ceiling, so you won't notice it much. From the common area (corridor) into your home, they will need to drill a hole for the fibre to go through.

Sorry I can't share any pictures, because my setup is different. I engaged jjj2 to conceal a conduit in my home during renovation. Therefore, the fibre isn't exposed within my home & no additional drilling required during installation.

This post has been edited by donhue: Apr 25 2016, 04:56 PM
donhue
post Jun 30 2016, 02:33 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(neo89 @ Jun 30 2016, 11:10 AM)
Hi All,

My house is currently under renovation, and it has been confirmed that Time service is available.

Would like to enquire when should I engage the installer for the installation work? Is it during or after my renovation/wiring works? If I request for the installation, I have to sign up for the plan immediately? As I won't be moving in so quickly, I wouldn't want to pay for the service that is yet to be used...

In addition, can I request the installer to split the connection? For example, I would like to connect using LAN cable at upstairs for my PC, and downstairs for my living room (the phone line port is available at both place). Is it possible?

Your kind clarification is very much appreciated. Thank you.
If you plan to conceal the fibre, during renovation would be the best time to do it. I did it for my unit too via jjj2. What is done is that a conduit will be concealed into the wall/plaster ceiling from your doorway to where you intend to put the router in the future. They'll leave a string within the conduit so that they can pull the fibre through it during actual installation.

You don't need to sign up for the plan immediately, as it's just a conduit. I did mine even before confirming TIME was going to provide service to my condo, which was about 1 year later.

Time will provide fibre to the ONU provided by them. after that, it will need to be connected to a router to share your connection. Therefore, if you want to split connections, you will need to conceal network cables instead of the fibre conduits.
donhue
post Jul 1 2016, 06:25 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(neo89 @ Jun 30 2016, 11:00 PM)
Thanks @TXSim and @donhue for the replies.

@donhue
May I know what is the conduit you mentioned? Is it the normal CAT6 cable or it must be the fiber optic cable? This is connecting the fiber optic box to the Ethernet port on the wall right? Sorry I am totally new at home network matter.

Thanks again.
Conduit is a special tube that they conceal into the wall. Fibre optic cable will thread through the conduit during installation.
donhue
post Sep 1 2016, 08:53 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(hor1234 @ Sep 1 2016, 05:14 PM)
Any chance to get TIME at Penang?
TIME is already in Penang, but mainly cater for high-rise.

Can check whether you're covered via their coverage checker here.
donhue
post Dec 2 2016, 02:06 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(turbopips @ Dec 2 2016, 12:37 PM)
I plan to switch to Times as Maxis is getting slower and slower each day . Less than 1Mb despite subscribe to 10MB

Excuse my poor knowledge. As i see TIME webpage. Its stated RM168 for only 10Mbps and not 100Mbps.
It also state 15 boost hours for 100Mbps boost speed. What does that mean?
Is it the first 15 hours of the month, you will get 100Mbps and thereafter 10Mbps? Many thanks for your clarification.

http://www.time.com.my/small-business/broa...broadband/basic
Because you're looking at the wrong pages.. The pages you're referring to is for business owners..

For personal (home) use, should refer to this instead:
http://www.time.com.my/personal/broadband/fibre-broadband
donhue
post Feb 20 2017, 10:36 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Feb 20 2017, 10:12 AM)
If I'm switching to Time from Maxis, what is the best way to minimize the down time? Apply time -> Install Time -> Cancel Maxis? Or need to cancel maxis first?
Minimize down time would be to have Time installed first, and running stable for a few days before cancelling maxis.

Time infrastructure/setup is separate from Maxis (unlike Unifi that shares the same infra as Maxis). Thus, it is possible to have both broadband running concurrently.
donhue
post Feb 22 2017, 10:44 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Feb 22 2017, 09:58 AM)
Yes, a land line number is provided...if Klang Valley, it will be 03.

You can also install TIME Home Forward apps on your mobile, enables you to use this land line number whereever you go.

This is the first time i hear about the TIME Home Forward app..

Will we be charged for incoming calls?

donhue
post Feb 28 2017, 09:28 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(anonymous7889 @ Feb 28 2017, 09:10 AM)
Can the Mi 3 router support Time broadband?

Thanks!
I'm using this without issues. Bought for RM 81 with coupon discounts late 2015. Only downside is it's only 100Mbps LAN, but enough if you're on 100 Mbps subscription.

Now could be replaced by other models already.
donhue
post Mar 21 2017, 02:12 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Mar 21 2017, 02:06 PM)
2 more days only mah... if we reveal...then no more surprise 😁
shouldn't make ppl kan chiong ma.. should terus announce..
donhue
post Apr 21 2017, 11:11 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Apr 21 2017, 11:04 AM)
Can get to 30mbps?
I use qtorrent. I reach about 10.1~11 only.
Do check whether you're getting 10 Mbps or 10 MB/s. Normally, torrent downloaders will show in MB/s, which will need to multiply by 8 to convert to Mbps (i.e. 10 MB/s = 80 Mbps, which is quite good already).
donhue
post Apr 21 2017, 01:22 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Apr 21 2017, 11:19 AM)
It's Mib/s, so it's Mbps? or Mbs?

According to Google Calculator:
10 Mib/s = 10Mbps.

Basically, not good.  bangwall.gif
Can you pm me which torrent you're trying to download? I can try later when I'm home just to benchmark..
donhue
post Aug 7 2017, 10:05 AM

586 posts

All,

Did anyone try calling 1-800 numbers from the Time phone line before? Will we be charged local call rates?
donhue
post Oct 10 2017, 11:16 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ralyon @ Oct 10 2017, 09:21 PM)
Thanks. Looks like we need to remember to download the monthly bills, the selfcare website only keep bills for a few months.
Since July, they've been attaching the bill in email, so you should have the monthly bills there. Selfcare portal only allows you to download past 6 months. I contacted customer service and they were able to send me the bills for Jan till June.
donhue
post Oct 25 2017, 08:48 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Oct 25 2017, 07:15 PM)
Are there any of you who terminated unifi?
Do you have to return their devices during termination? (back to TM)

Thanx
I was with Maxis. During termination, they said someone will come to the house to collect the equipment. After more than 1 year, still no sound.. haha
donhue
post Oct 31 2017, 10:14 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(RobMC @ Oct 31 2017, 09:39 PM)
I'm in Sg. Ara. Everything seems to be ok.
Relau still down.
donhue
post Dec 9 2017, 02:34 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Dec 9 2017, 01:40 PM)
TIME down in Penang.. Not sure which areas affected..
Relau / Sg Ara ok.
donhue
post Jun 13 2018, 10:25 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Jun 13 2018, 09:46 AM)
Hi Guys,

Try this formula of calculation, I got mine correctly.

Adjustment, A = (P - R)/D * Y *6%

P = Package Price
R = Rebate (Eg. Auto Debit)
D = No of days in the current chargeable month
Y = No of Days from 1st June to your Bill cut off date

Because we're billed ahead, i.e. pay on 8th June for use from 8th June to 7th July, D should be number of days in previous month (May) instead of current month (June)? I'm able to get mine correctly if I use D = 31 and Y = 7 (bill date is 8th).

The rebate is because we paid for GST for the month of June, which should now be 0 rated.

0.2757sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:19 PM