Revive SEGA Consoles~!

TSDragonflyz
post Jan 3 2007, 11:48 AM, updated 19y ago

239 posts

SEGA fanboys... do u remember the days of GENESIS / Mega Drive?

Remember how u played wif ur Dreamcasts~?

Sega came out with great consoles & great games... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
But.. things went bad and they pulled out of console making..

I would like 2 see them back in action. I just love them.. Simple

Hey i found an article mentioning a petition..
Here's the link to the article
The Article

Here's the direct link to the petition.. notworthy.gif
Sign it.. hope tat things can change~! A new console from them~ laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif drool.gif wish.gif
The Petition
QD_buyer
post Jan 3 2007, 11:51 AM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

Hi!

i just bought my GENESIS(before buy my PSP) last month at RM40! biggrin.gif,its kinda fun thought! biggrin.gif

Playing spiderman,sonic! biggrin.gif
zenix
post Jan 3 2007, 11:52 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

my main purpose is to play sonic on HDTV drool.gif
thechallenger
post Jan 3 2007, 11:55 AM

198 posts

got dreamcast for sale ! any old school collectors here ?
TSDragonflyz
post Jan 3 2007, 11:57 AM

239 posts

bought an old skool console recently with all the new next gen consoles... u hav great tastes.. thumbup.gif

Ah~~ the memories of the GENESIS... hav fun wif urs..

Really hope they release a new console...
i was quite devastated when they announced they where pulling off..
cry.gif
Lingo20052003
post Jan 3 2007, 12:08 PM

Jatt84
602 posts

Sega have a good potential to design a lot of good games.....Sega is my dream....
zenix
post Jan 3 2007, 12:15 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

It would be a good time to strike when the current next-gen consoles are getting abit old and their replacements aren't in the market yet.

Even a colaboration would be great drool.gif

Sega + Nintendo = Mario, Zelda, Sonic !
RAMChYLD
post Jan 3 2007, 12:22 PM

1,715 posts

Sega still making Pico (remember that? Kiddies game console) in Japan O.O
quintessential
post Jan 3 2007, 12:30 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

it's kinda sad to see sega has to end its console production due to competition.
cuebiz
post Jan 3 2007, 01:56 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jan 3 2007, 11:51 AM)
Hi!

i just bought my GENESIS(before buy my PSP) last month at RM40! biggrin.gif,its kinda fun thought! biggrin.gif

Playing spiderman,sonic! biggrin.gif
Where did you bought it? I am looking for another one as spared in case my trusty old one gone kaput.
QD_buyer
post Jan 3 2007, 02:01 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Jan 3 2007, 01:56 PM)
Where did you bought it? I am looking for another one as spared in case my trusty old one gone kaput.
I bought it at Pasar Malam! biggrin.gif
Mgsrulz
post Jan 3 2007, 02:11 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

sega wont be making any new consoles regardless of how many petitions are made..

petitions like this are worthless,as well...i've never see anything come to fruition before doh.gif
SUSSetsunahq
post Jan 3 2007, 02:13 PM

128 posts

too bad, even sonic sucks now.
Microsuck_360
post Jan 3 2007, 03:38 PM

241 posts

Dreamcast 2!!!!! flex.gif
superxboy
post Jan 3 2007, 06:52 PM

131 posts

I vote yes..
more choice for gamer will be better..
Microsuck_360
post Jan 3 2007, 08:07 PM

241 posts

Sega!! i want earthworm jim hehehehe.... notworthy.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 3 2007, 08:40 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Jan 3 2007, 01:56 PM)
U can get it at warta bangi also for RM38
madmoz
post Jan 3 2007, 10:21 PM

4,250 posts

Sega console department has gone bankrupt... no matter what polls we have also no use ler...
Better to ask them to merge with Microsoft b4 their reputation goes to pieces... sonic 3d anyone?
MR.Shiney
post Jan 3 2007, 11:33 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

bought one last week for rm30.
brand new. seems to be made in Indonesia.

zenix
post Jan 4 2007, 02:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 3 2007, 11:33 PM)

pirated mega drive?

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 3 2007, 10:21 PM)
Sega console department has gone bankrupt... no matter what polls we have also no use ler...
Better to ask them to merge with Microsoft b4 their reputation goes to pieces... sonic 3d anyone?
3d sonic is abit puke inducing rclxub.gif
seveneleven
post Jan 4 2007, 07:21 AM

359 posts

I've got a Sega Master System. I believe it still works. biggrin.gif
cuebiz
post Jan 4 2007, 09:39 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 3 2007, 11:33 PM)

Interesting. I will hunt it down. I hope it works with some of the cartridge I bought online. I got some original PAL-B that cant work with my present system
Mgsrulz
post Jan 4 2007, 11:04 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

there are already 3d sonics around,what are you guys talking about? rclxub.gif

sonic adventure,adventure 2,sonic next gen,etc..
MR.Shiney
post Jan 4 2007, 11:28 AM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 4 2007, 02:08 AM)
pirated mega drive?
3d sonic is abit puke inducing  rclxub.gif
yea think so..
the manual is in indonesia.
then it has a built-in game "which sucks"
at the back it says u cannot attach this to the original cd drive.
the cartridge is all good. its PAL btw.
feels lighter, more crappier.. but its still.. a sega mega drive smile.gif
ik3da
post Jan 4 2007, 02:51 PM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

It will be way cool if I could replay the classics like Shining Force, Dune, and Theme Park, so YES, revive old consoles!
zenix
post Jan 4 2007, 11:32 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

fark yeah!
i only want it to play sonic first and foremost.
but i think the output is going to suck if i upgrade to a plasma later on sad.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jan 6 2007, 12:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 3 2007, 11:52 AM)
my main purpose is to play sonic on HDTV drool.gif
WHY????

320 x 200 pixelly 2D 4:3 game will look like crap on a widescreen LCD/Plasma.

Anyway, i don't miss SEGA. They're basically killing themselves. I haven't seen them release much worthwhile efforts since they dumped DC. SONIC is best not mentioned becoz his 3D adventures have been disasters in every outing.

The problem with SONIC is, he is just not suitable for a 3D world. It works great in 2D when you have things spinning and moving around at top speed. But in the 3D world, SONIC can't be decide to be a pseudo racing game or a platform game and ends up neither here nor there.

Also, most of SEGA's expetise is in Arcade. Arcade is dead now. Console gaming is very different from arcades. Arcade experience are meant to be short and sweet and console games requires more depth.

I won't be suprised if they close shop for good within the next few years.

zenix
post Jan 8 2007, 01:40 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 6 2007, 12:47 PM)
WHY????

320 x 200 pixelly 2D 4:3 game will look like crap on a widescreen LCD/Plasma.

Anyway, i don't miss SEGA. They're basically killing themselves. I haven't seen them release much worthwhile efforts since they dumped DC. SONIC is best not mentioned becoz his 3D adventures have been disasters in every outing.

The problem with SONIC is, he is just not suitable for a 3D world. It works great in 2D when you have things spinning  and moving around at top speed. But in the 3D world, SONIC can't be decide to be a pseudo racing game or a platform game and ends up neither here nor there.

Also, most of SEGA's expetise is in Arcade. Arcade is dead now. Console gaming is very different from arcades. Arcade experience are meant to be short and sweet and console games requires more depth.

I won't be suprised if they close shop for good within the next few years.
Thats why thinking of a way to input the Genesis to my WMC with fdshow to scale up the quality. laugh.gif

Coz last time I really like Sonic but never had the money to buy the console, always also curi few minutes at cousin house cry.gif

PS2 buy that time also 2nd hand cry.gif

You're right about Sega, they're going the way of TAITO if they can't step onto console gaming. Perhaps they should just split into a dept just for console gaming, like Square has Enix to just focus on RPG's, and Blizzard North to just focus on RTS.

eone
post Jan 8 2007, 10:00 AM

Prime
2,678 posts

get an xbox and install the genesis emulator, even support 32X games ^^
zenix
post Jan 11 2007, 10:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Jan 8 2007, 10:00 AM)
get an xbox and install the genesis emulator, even support 32X games ^^
dunno leh....xbox 360 got?
ravira3
post Jan 14 2007, 10:02 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 3 2007, 08:40 PM)
U can get it at warta bangi also for RM38
asked around there, saw a mega drive written *2006* on the box for RM89. obviously pirated console (like so many of the famicoms). which shop did u go for the RM38 one?
blacktrix
post Jan 16 2007, 12:39 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Actually, there already IS a new Sega console...... It's called the Nintendo Wii and Wii's Virtual Console. Honestly, they should just stick to making games, rather then making consoles. Yes, they WERE awesome consoles and I used to love them to death, but now Sony, Nintendo and Microsoft have a bigger R&D budget and can easily blow Sega out of the console market IF they decided to make a console. Heck, even the PSP and the Sega Genesis Collection satisfies my SEGA cravings these days/

Don't get me wrong...... I'm still a SEGA Fan boy.... remember how awesome it was to see Mortal Kombat 2 with all the gore compared to the SNES version?? Ah.... Good times. But with time, things have to change. I'm happy to see SEGA concentrating on games again, rather then test the console waters and might lose more money in that. And for the classics? Wii Virtual Console, PSP Genesis Collection (or even the emulators if you have a homebrew PSP), Xbox1..... all VERY capable of handling those cravings.
PhoenixByte
post Jan 17 2007, 12:28 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(ravira3 @ Jan 14 2007, 10:02 AM)
asked around there, saw a mega drive written *2006* on the box for RM89. obviously pirated console (like so many of the famicoms). which shop did u go for the RM38 one?
Probably the first batch that they sold is cheap to test market. I asked about it on the game shop near the ground floor escalator. Is that the same shop that u went to?

I wish they have old N64 selling too coz I never had a chance to play N64.

As for sega genesis games, there's an anniversary edition for sega's best genesis games on the PS2. Just go and get it...review on it are quite ok too. happy.gif I played sonic and sonic using that edition.
wandiana
post Jan 17 2007, 02:57 PM

85 posts

do u guys know any game shop that can repair megadrive..? smile.gif
sonic_cd
post Jan 17 2007, 03:28 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(wandiana @ Jan 17 2007, 02:57 PM)
do u guys know any game shop that can repair megadrive..?  smile.gif
no point repairing also , cause you can easily get a new wan for less then rm 100
Microsuck_360
post Jan 17 2007, 03:37 PM

241 posts

Question: i wanna sell my brand new Sega Dreamcast YUKAWA Edition... flex.gif very rare item..i never use it coz i like to collect them..but since already "pokai"/broke so i need money lol....plus my room already packed and need to clear some stuff..

This post has been edited by Microsuck_360: Jan 17 2007, 03:46 PM
PhoenixByte
post Jan 17 2007, 04:00 PM

798 posts

how much? what are u going to bundled it with?
Microsuck_360
post Jan 17 2007, 04:09 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 17 2007, 04:00 PM)
how much? what are u going to bundled it with?
how much i have to double check coz already forgot how much i bought that stuff lol but i think it will be quite expensive since its very rare and limited...bundled - everything inside that photo(s) no games nothing.. notworthy.gif
ravira3
post Jan 17 2007, 08:26 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 17 2007, 12:28 PM)
Probably the first batch that they sold is cheap to test market. I asked about it on the game shop near the ground floor escalator. Is that the same shop that u went to?
yup, that's the shop. ended up buyin a famicom clone since mine went kaput. been playin battle city and ice climber again rclxm9.gif

edit: whoops! forgot this is sega thread sweat.gif sorry OT

This post has been edited by ravira3: Jan 17 2007, 08:27 PM
cuebiz
post Jan 18 2007, 03:00 PM

992 posts

Anyone knows where to get the console in KL? Warta bangi is too far
wandiana
post Jan 18 2007, 04:25 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jan 17 2007, 03:28 PM)
no point repairing also , cause you can easily get a new wan for less then rm 100
which shop?
MR.Shiney
post Jan 18 2007, 07:17 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 17 2007, 12:28 PM)

I wish they have old N64 selling too coz I never had a chance to play N64.

As for sega genesis games, there's an anniversary edition for sega's best genesis games on the PS2. Just go and get it...review on it are quite ok too. happy.gif I played sonic and sonic using that edition.
but u cant use the genesis controller icon_idea.gif
streamline
post Feb 6 2007, 06:46 PM

424 posts

sorry if im digging this thread. yea, i really want to see sega participate for next gen console, own their console, but i bet it wouldnt happen.

anyway, im still see have one shop in my place selling unopen sega genesis (the one use cartridge) at about RM119..lol with 30 available cartridge game XD

amir_iskandar
post Feb 6 2007, 11:06 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(streamline @ Feb 6 2007, 06:46 PM)
sorry if im digging this thread. yea, i really want to see sega participate for next gen console, own their console, but i bet it wouldnt happen.

anyway, im still see have one shop in my place selling unopen sega genesis (the one use cartridge) at about RM119..lol with 30 available cartridge game XD
cool...where is ur place??
streamline
post Feb 7 2007, 09:50 PM

424 posts

^ im living in Melaka.
chocobee_2707
post Feb 8 2007, 05:44 PM

782 posts

no sega for next-gen plz. will make me more confuse to choose which console to buy. i think sega should focus more on game development rather than their own console development. anyway, i dont think they will come out with new console soon.

* i used to be sega fan back in sega genesis and dreamcast era.
tetsuhighrose
post Feb 10 2007, 04:56 PM

406 posts

^Same,Sega bring me fond memories especially Sonic and michael jackson game
zenix
post Feb 11 2007, 06:15 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(streamline @ Feb 6 2007, 06:46 PM)

probably buy that and put it on ebay for USD119 laugh.gif
angjk
post Feb 14 2007, 12:50 AM

100 posts

sega has enuf good games to support its console, plus a few strong 3rd party developers like konami & square, sega can bring back the glory days = )

imagine during launch of dreamcast 2 with games like Virtua Fighter 6, Shenmue 3, Virtua Tennis 4, Jet Set Radio 2, Space Channel 6, Sonic Adventure 3, Samba de Amigo 2 + MGS 5, Winning Eleven 12 & Final Fantasy 14 !!!

who can resist? haha i muz b dreaming.....
Microsuck_360
post Feb 14 2007, 04:04 PM

241 posts

Clean up my room yesterday and found some PAL DC games...

Dragons Blood
user posted image user posted image

F1 World Grand Prix

Fighting Force 2

POD 2

*F1 World Grand Prix and Dragons Blood the from cover kinda broken (look at photo)

Manual included and disc is in good condition...
Interested pm me coz i dunno how much to sale..lol laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Microsuck_360: Feb 14 2007, 04:11 PM
sonic_cd
post Feb 14 2007, 05:57 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

anyone remember sega bass fishing ? comes with the fishing controller tongue.gif
Miyabi
post Feb 20 2007, 11:07 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

Coming up next: Karous / Crow (07/03/08)

Trigger Heart Exelica release for Dreamcast on 2/22

Previous release title: Last Hope

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Feb 24 2007, 05:55 PM

KoYuKii
post Mar 5 2007, 04:13 AM

1,979 posts

tried Trigger Heart Exelica, is kinda cool if u like flying shooting game. never regret bought dreamcast coz it will never die !!
chapree
post Mar 6 2007, 02:00 PM

I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
2,046 posts

My housemate just brought his Dreamcast to our home and we are having pretty rocking time. rclxms.gif

My only complain is the controller. If somehow Sega want to build another controller, please don't make CD-like controller. Fighting games and shooter hurts my hand. sad.gif

Microsuck: How much you bought that game during those days?
Miyabi
post Mar 10 2007, 03:41 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

Karous already out two days ago, havnt try yet the game, but still decent game icon_rolleyes.gif

and yea, dc never dead but it will soon since SEGA now trying to stop producing GD media for NAOMI machine.

obefiend
post Mar 11 2007, 04:23 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

the DC was the best console that i ever owned. i still take out the old chap to play jet set radio , house of the dead (with the gun no less)and crazy taxi

but since i bought it in the UK i cant find ori games here now. have to buy everything from amazon!

the only reason why DC died is due to pS2 avin a DVD drive.the GD rom just suck major balls
darun
post Mar 15 2007, 04:29 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 11 2007, 04:23 PM)
the DC was the best console that i ever owned. i still take out the old chap to play jet set radio , house of the dead (with the gun no less)and crazy taxi

but since i bought it in the UK i cant find ori games here now. have to buy everything from amazon!

the only reason why DC died is due to pS2 avin a DVD drive.the GD rom just suck major balls
the GDRom is just a souped up CDRom lar... of course DVD is better but cannot compare, PS2 is better hardware wise from all aspect anyway and since it came out long time after DC anyway..

I still enjoy my saturn games like dragonforce and shiningforce 3.. Just got a vga box so I can play my DC on my LCD now smile.gif
rhoyo
post Mar 15 2007, 07:12 PM

-
2,800 posts

fuyooh dreamcast . i think in my place the dreamcast is about RM 899 . quite expensive >_>
zenix
post Mar 22 2007, 03:57 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

ori or capalang dreamcast?
obefiend
post Mar 24 2007, 11:22 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

GD rom is the kinda game that cant be read using normal cd rom. not really souped up. the reason is to curb piracy to stop people downloading ISO. then some clever pirater invented the boot disc and all is for nought.

i love the DC.. my only problem is the rumble pad need to be bought and slid into the controller, dumb move!!

now excuse me.. i would like to play jet set radio and house of the dead2...
sunauto
post Apr 23 2007, 10:54 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I got some brand new and used Dreamcast and Gamecube ori games up for grabs, you can view them here, http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=370367&hl=

0.0718sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:11 PM