Ultraportables?

TSind3pend3nc3
post Mar 31 2016, 09:06 PM, updated 10y ago

110 posts

Hi, i'm looking for an ultraportable laptop.
Currently i'm eyeing on 2 models:
Asus UX305 core M
HP Envy 13

Like the design of hp envy more and the better performance it offers, but Asus is cheaper. However, the Asus is passive cooled, will it heat up easily thou?

I play light games like old maplestory, FTL, MINI Metro and maybe occasional CS1.6

I dont run intensive program, what i do most is websurfing, maybe 2 words and 2 powerpoints open at the same time. Basically that's it.

Or if you all have any other suggestion of laptops? I need laptops that are atmost 1.8kg, atleast 4 hours battery life for websurfing.

My budget is 2.8k, ya i know its not enough to get the HP envy 13, but that's just my optimal budget, can go higher.

TSind3pend3nc3
post Apr 16 2016, 07:39 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Apr 11 2016, 09:54 PM)
Will you go for something that's 2kg? 300 g more.

I'm using the dell inspiron 14 5459. I travel a lot but I wanted something powerful. Mine is i7 with 8gb ram. 3100. You can get the i5 version. Within your budget. And it's a really good laptop for me. I can do really intestive task. It has amd graphics.  Not the best but good enough to game well.  Plus dell customer service is the best I have ever experienced.

Have a look. Otherwise go for Asus. A few of my friends are using Asus. Seems pretty good. But if I had an option, I'll go for Dell.
I like after sales service of dell, too bad their laptops are abit more expensive compared to others with the same spec.
Meh 2kg is too much for a frequent traveller like me, I really needed smth light like 1.4kg or lower. The only available from dell is xps, which cost a lot.
I'm eyeing on the Asus ux305 a lot but I m really scared even light gaming will damage it due to heat, even thou Intel will throttle down once Max temp is reached. Just scare scare....
That's why I considering hp envy as it got fan cooler

This post has been edited by ind3pend3nc3: Apr 16 2016, 07:41 PM
TSind3pend3nc3
post Apr 19 2016, 10:34 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 31 2016, 09:53 PM)
Xps 13 9343
i5-5200u
4gb
128gb ssd
W8.1
Fhd non touch
1 yr warranty
Rm3550
would get it if its like 3300+ brows.gif
cause its only 5th gen hahaha, i understand if cant lol
TSind3pend3nc3
post Apr 28 2016, 11:32 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 27 2016, 11:38 AM)
cannot recommend the ux305 enough as a budget ultra portable. got mine a year ago and its still working fine. I bring it everywhere and do not have to worry about banging it about as the laptop is quite tough. light gaming is fine if you're not fussy about graphics. i play csgo and dota2 on low reso and low settings.
Any heat issue while playing game?
TSind3pend3nc3
post Apr 28 2016, 11:36 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 19 2016, 10:55 AM)
Xps 11? 900g
Nahhh too small and I don't like that it's 2in 1, I more to the side of traditional clamps hell laptop

0.0177sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:40 PM