INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

k!nex
post Apr 9 2007, 04:41 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

Hi all,i'm newcomer here.
my specs:
P4 Northwood 2.4C HT @ 2.53Ghz FSB 210Mhz with stock Vcore and cooling
512*2 Kingston DDR 333 at 2.5-3.3.7 @stock
MSI Neo 2 865 PE
MSI GeForce 5600 128Mb DDR OC@ 357/605
Chaplang PSU 450W

i'm so envious of u all. i dunno how to raise the CPU multiplier like u guys cry.gif

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 9 2007, 04:45 PM
k!nex
post Apr 11 2007, 01:11 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Apr 10 2007, 09:01 PM)
yeah even i have a pure power PSU and it still fluctuates like crap doh.gif

i'd rather use back my old MSI 865PE mobo.much better. laugh.gif
i'm an MSI mobo user,i found out tht its hard to overclock and performance only so so.when it POST it sometimes stuck at MSI logo screen for sometimes and i need CTRL+ALT+DEL.same wif one of my fren.both of us were using MSI NEO2 865 PE.

i do agree tht ASUS mobo is good for overclocking during my experience wif my S370 Pentium3.even wif stock config,the mobo has already overclocked ur processor and RAM by a small margin.thts y ppl say ASUS board has good performance. but then during the time i bought my P4 rig,only MSI has 8X AGP support mobo in my area.i'm was staying in Ipoh back then.thts y i bought MSI.

anyways, u guys think such device call "Auto Voltage Regulator" will help abt voltage fluctuations?
k!nex
post Apr 15 2007, 11:33 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

Actually i wanna ask u guys for help.dis shud be in OC section but after few days also no ppl answer me. so i come back to here.
my pc is quite old already dated back in year 2004.
neeed help abit here

Pentium 4 Northwood 2.4C HT @ 2.63Ghz VCore 1.55
MSI 865PE Neo2 S
2X Kingston Value RAM 512 DDR 333 2.5.3.3.7
MSI GeForce 5600 128MB
RAM chipset really dunno coz written on chip 'Value Ram' only.

From stock VCore, the most i can do is up FSB from 200 till 210.after tht,i must raise my VCore only can hit 218 in my BIOS setting.i'm using stock cooling.idle temperature minimum 33C,full load temperature is 52C(when i play C&C3).

My Vdimm still untouched at 2.5V and AGP at 1.5V.
when i up FSB,my RAM frequency will also increase paralel wif my CPU FSB.

now i'm stuck at 2.63Ghz at FSB 218 set in my BIOS,even if i raise my VCore to 1.565 and make my FSB 219,my pc cant boot into BIOS at all.

guys help me out here,is tht the scenario tht is my CPU has already reached its limits?
if not, wat else can i do abt it?i'm not sure abt the max VCore i can go for a Northwood proc.even Vdimm also
k!nex
post Apr 16 2007, 01:16 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 16 2007, 12:16 AM)
Your problem lies with ur RAM dude
Set it to 5:4 ratio and continue your overclock, your CPU hasn't reach its limits yet smile.gif

Your PC didn't have the beep sound during booting and the red LED keeps on flashing right? if thats the case, RAM problem smile.gif
ok.i'll tell u wats in my BIOS.mine is AMIBIOS.when i go to 'Frequency/Voltage Control'.wat i can see is:

CPU Ratio Selection ->Locked
DRAM Frequency ->Auto (dis can change to '266,333,400,500,532')
Spread Spectrum ->Disabled
Adjust CPU Bus Clock(Mhz) ->218 (Min 200Mhz Max 500 Mhz)
DDR Clock(Mhz) ->363(dis one u cannot adjust at all)
Adjust AGP/PCI Clock(Mhz) ->66.66/33.33
CPU VCore Adjust ->Yes (can set to No also)
CPU VCore ->1.5500V(Min 1.5250 Max 2.3000)
DDR Power Voltage ->2.50V
AGP Power Voltage ->1.50V

PC beep one time during POST only.thts normal i noe.no other abnormal sounds le :-D i've seen other MOBO having the CPU/RAM ratio but mine dun hv it seems
BTW i'm only 16.dun call me dude le :-D sounds so old cry.gif

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 16 2007, 01:18 AM
k!nex
post Apr 16 2007, 10:40 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 16 2007, 10:03 AM)
i think the cpu/ram ratio is at the DRAM frequency. try adjust at different value like 333. then check the cpuz. i think it will be 5:4. tongue.gif
inside DRAM frequency mine only has only abt DRAM timings.nothing abt FSB/RAM ratio..do u think its abt time to increase my Vdimm?VCore i think still can increase somemore since most prescots(idle) here run much hotter than my northwood(full load).

i'll check wif it tonight wif CPU-Z.Btw i'm using Everest Home Edition to check my temp and all details of my hardwares.
k!nex
post Apr 16 2007, 12:57 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 16 2007, 12:06 PM)
yes, that is the option to set for divider. Not all mobo using fsb/ram ratio in bios but they use dram frequency. no need to increase the voltage 1st. tryset at lower dram frequency like 333 instead of auto. Prescott with 800fsb HT is hot. but not for prescott fsb533. mine running fine even with oc 600mhz still not exceed 55C full load on stock vcore and HFS.
if i set DRAM freq to 333,will it be my system bottleneck since proc can go higher but RAM stucked at 333..i was even thinking of hitting 400Mhz wif my 333Mhz RAM(the reason last time i go for 333 becoz it has lower CAS Latency rate than 400Mhz)

Off-topic:in 3DMark2003,which u download from official website,how much score can u get?wat GPU u're using?i wish to noe wat score u get using default CPU clockspeed and ur OCed CPU clockspeed.

i wish to noe whether my lappie can compete wif a P4 or not.mine is a Dothan 1.6Ghz,1024 DDR 333 SODIMM,ATI Mobility 9700 64Mb.default benchmark hit 3206 score.
k!nex
post Apr 16 2007, 10:54 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

i've found some breakthrough in my RAM:
DDR 333 clocked at some DDR 400 freq:

this is wat currently i can do wif my proc. i need more time to test it out

when FSB is set to 230 at BIOS,RAM will also follow the frequency(after i diabled SPD and loosen the timing).but then,my pc reboots after running everest(to check the sensor) for awhile.it is due to my RAM not enuf Vdimm?shud i increase it?

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 16 2007, 11:02 PM
k!nex
post Apr 17 2007, 10:03 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 16 2007, 11:32 PM)
Just as I expected, running at 1:1, if you want to test how far your value RAMs can go, use back 1:1 and push up your FSB

Its better to push your RAM first, then only your CPU with 5:4 ratio, and of course, make sure its stable smile.gif You can get high speeds but not stable is useless laugh.gif If it is possible, check what chips are your KVR using. Pray that it is Hynix BT-J, then 250Mhz FSB and above 1:1 also no problems tongue.gif

colinwong89 : Yup running async will hamper the performance but not always. If you have BH-5/UTT rams, u have no choice to use 5:4 ratio as your RAM can't hit high speeds with tight timings. But its best to use 1:1. About PAT, use to enable it BUT at high speeds PAT is not recommended unless your RAM can take the beating it provides because it increases the performance of the RAM itself and stressing it too.
push my RAM?at 220Mhz wif 2.5Vdimm still running stable.i tried running PCMARK05 continuosly for 20 times already still din hang.only when i up to 230Mhz only hang.tonight i'll find out wat RAM i'm using.but i saw the chip once before, its written as Value RAM den alot of numbers.doesn't write samsung or hynix or wateva 3rd party company name.its dated back in 2003.
k!nex
post Apr 17 2007, 07:52 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

ok.now i wanna confirm wif u guys wat RAM i hv.i've 2 pieces of RAM here

the oldest on is written on chip:

hynix 319A
HY5DU56822BT-J

the newer one is written on chip:

Kingston D3208DH1T-6
0339PT05

so how much can i do actually?can reach 250Mhz on RAM?currently 225Mhz running stable.
k!nex
post Apr 18 2007, 02:52 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 18 2007, 09:15 AM)
hmm... just tested my 7300gt with

3dmark03
at stock 2.4GHz = 9700++
at 3.2GHz = 9900++

3dmark05
at stock 2.4GHz = 3700++
at 3.2GHz = ?? not yet test coz at that time is 1am. sleepy. tongue.gif

i think my ide controller got problem already. it randomly hang pc. doh.gif
i unplug it and tested on both channel still the same. Change new ide cable test also same. Once unplug no prob. haiz.... doh.gif doh.gif

tonight have to test my dvd writer on other pc. if no problem then sure my ide controller K.O. cry.gif so malang this few months. have the feel that this rig is dying. sad.gif
ur 7300GT is so much superior than my FX5600.urs is more than 3 times faster than mine.i'm using November 2006 Forceware to benchmark.btw,i hit the 2.8Ghz(1.55Vcore) barrier already.running 233Mhz on my KVR PC2700(2.6Vdimm)

if ur IDE controller is dead,its quite easy only wat.buy a PCI card IDE controller will do or u can buy PCI SATA controller convert everything into SATA including ur DVD writer.PCI IDE controller is not expensive IMO.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 18 2007, 02:54 PM
k!nex
post Apr 19 2007, 09:17 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Apr 19 2007, 04:36 PM)
I see a lot of people manage to get 250MHz @2.8v. I myself haven't tried before,must try this if have chance.How many volts on the RAM are you applying on 3.52GHz proc ?
raymond,can u tell me how u manage to clock ur northwood so high?u using 5:4 divider or 1:1?wats ur RAM freq currently at wat Vdimm?and proc Vcore how much u can go?

i'm quite puzzled here.currently i pushed my 2.4C to 2.81 already at 233Mhz FSB at 1:1 divider.Vcore 1.55,Vdimm 2.6.currently very stable.i tried pushing my FSB to 240 but the heat goes up 5 degrees at least when idle.anyway it wasn't stable.den tonight i tried 1.565 Vcore ,FSB at 250, Vdimm at 2.8.running 1:1.it can POST but stucked at Windows XP welcome screen. i think my PSU is the culprit here.normally i've Vcore fluctuations between 1.488 -1.536 at idle.

kabukiawie,do u play C&C3 tiberium wars?if u do play,den can it run at 'High' settings wif ur 7300GT smoothly?i'm quite interested in getting a 7300GT also.but do it require the usage of a 12V power from the PSU for AGP version?

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 19 2007, 09:22 PM
k!nex
post Apr 20 2007, 06:34 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Apr 20 2007, 09:13 AM)
Actaully i am running on 1:1 divider with my proc. My RAM currently is running on 229MHz as the RAM is limiting me to go higher. 5:4 never tried before and still dunno how much more it can goes.My RAM is using 2.8v with lost timing and Vcore is using default voltage but as it's fluctuating i increase the vcore to 1.575 rather than 1.55v to make it stable at 1.54-1.55v.
@shinjite,TCCD can go high on AMD platform while will perform so so perofrmance in Intel platform.I think that TCCD is not really famous in Intel side as their chipset doesn't like TCCD very much.
i saw ur second rig wif a hynix BT-J,y dun u try put it in ur main rig and push it higher.mine can easily hit 233Mhz at 2.6Vdimm.i tot D-43 is supposed to be same as BT-J ?ur RAM shud be able to push higher.Mine is still under burn-in test for a few days more.make ur timing 3-4-4-8 den try go higher, i quite interested to see wat u can do since u've a 3rd party cooling for ur proc.

Added on April 20, 2007, 6:38 pm
QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 20 2007, 02:35 PM)
That is what happens to me....but some Intel boards can achieve 300Mhz FSB with TCCD....I think old boards like what we are using cannot schieve those results....damn, they should come out with at least a latest BIOS to maybe make it more compatible

Added on April 20, 2007, 5:24 pmMy god, 3.52Ghz put 1.775V in BIOS and stress with 1.7V also cannot stable, hang instead doh.gif

Looks like its the limit of my proc already.....celaka mad.gif
Northwood stock Vcore supposed to be at 1.525 isn't it? u pushed to 1.775..!!i was like OMG rclxub.gif i read somewhre inside dis forum tht northwood max shud be at 1.6V at most only. if not,the proc cant last long.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 20 2007, 06:38 PM
k!nex
post Apr 20 2007, 11:21 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 20 2007, 07:22 PM)
Well, my proc won't last long to begin with
I have even gone to 1.9V max in my BIOS for my previous proc to boot at 3.6Ghz, it was a 2.4B proc smile.gif

max should be at 1.6V won't get you stable at high clockspeeds, u still need to go higher. Plus with the crappy flunctuating of the Vcore.....its even more crappy
1.9V!!!! rclxub.gif how can u manage to cool ur proc?need water cooling kit?i saw at PC fair Ipoh,the Gigabyte brand one priced ard 500++ but their normal cooler only 90++ bucks.i tot i'm the only one wif a 40bucks PSU thts y Vcore fluctuating so much.i din expect u've a branded PSU and yet u hv the same prob... blink.gif

BTW,the new coolers which are labeled 'FOR CORE 2 DUO AND ATHLON64 X2' ,actually our old P4 can use?i saw one at digital mall All IT.if i'm not mistaken,its name is Evercool Mars( bloody huge cooler(looks like an oversized onion priced at 200++).i'm quite interested since my stock one cant bring down enuf temperature when i clock to 2.9Ghz.
k!nex
post Apr 20 2007, 11:38 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 20 2007, 11:30 PM)
Vcore flunctuate its because of the mobo.....I can't do anything about it unless I do some Vmod which I dunno how to do sweat.gif

my 1.9V 1 ah, using air cooling loh, boot into Windows, print screen, save then restart comp tongue.gif Well that was last time ler, now scared to go adi...LOL

And btw, I went down by 1 Mhz FSB and prime again with 1.7V in BIOS, Windows at 1.62V at 3.51Ghz, miraculously no problems up till now, 3 hours and 48 minutes...large ffts Orthos with priority 9 doh.gif
gratz to u since ur pc is running faster le rclxms.gif actually i dun feel like using Orthos priority 9 to test stability.most of the time we dun need tht 100% stress from our CPU.even wif Hyper Thread,most of time, my max load is only ard 90% at most.and most new games also dun even utilize 100% processing power from the CPU.for me,as long as my PC wont auto restart when i'm into hardcore gaming den its not a problem for me even though it cant pass 24 hrs Orthos priority 9.different ppl see things in different perspective though. biggrin.gif
k!nex
post Apr 28 2007, 12:38 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Apr 27 2007, 06:44 PM)
Speedfan can detect my the fan's RPMs and motherboard voltages, but it doesn't give me any options to increase or decrease the fan speed. sad.gif My fan doesn't spin faster during primes, just stays at 2700 RPM max.

If it's really noisy as you said, well let's just see if I can take it tongue.gif
i'm using northwood 2.4C.my stock fan reported in Everest can reach till 3.6k rpm.actually it doesn't depend on CPU temperature if i'm not mistaken.its due to ur mobo temperature.when my mobo hits 50++ degrees,the fan will rotate surpass 3k rpm.for me,not so much of noise,my case fans are much noisier but i put the tower on the floor,so it doesn't bothers me much.

currently doing burn-in for my CPU.FSB 250X12=3.00Ghz now running 1:1 wif KVR PC2700.boot time much better than stock :-D. u guys are right,1 ghz FSB really helps but i notice that HT doesn't contribute much.i just wish i've 2Mb L2 cache on my Northwood.aihzz.
k!nex
post Apr 28 2007, 11:31 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

since pengster post his SuperPI, i'll post mine also :-D
P4 2.4C @ 2.9Ghz(242X12) on stock cooling
1Gb Dual Channel PC2700 running 1:1 at 3-4-4-8
80Gb SATA Maxtor Diamond Max 7200rpm

k!nex
post Apr 30 2007, 02:28 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 29 2007, 03:40 PM)
wao....38s 1m. nice result. thumbup.gif mine fastest only 40.6s
walao...urs also 40.6 sec.now i'm trying very hard to beat urs thumbup.gif

anyways, i tried 250Mhz wif my RAM and FSB, can boot to windows, can idle many days without restart,BUT run PCMark05 also freeze within 5minutes.Vdimm at 2.85V.my mobo can support up to 3.3V on Vdimm.now i wanna noe wats the limit of my RAM.

ur mobo is 865 or 875 chipset?is it 865 chipset hv lesser OC capability than 875 series?

This post has been edited by k!nex: Apr 30 2007, 02:30 AM
k!nex
post May 3 2007, 01:58 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

thts the Extreme Edition..but then 865 chipset series mobo can support it or not? in my mobo manual, it stated tht it only supports northwood and prescort.tht TS there mention 42-43 C on idle,but then i feel its quite hot also at stock.he's using hyper 47 cooler.shud be below 34C for the type of cooler for normal proc at idle at stock setting.
k!nex
post Jun 25 2007, 09:21 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 25 2007, 01:55 PM)
I Cute? sweat.gif How much i need to buck to get a reliable ones? brand doesnt matter.
dis afternoon i went LYP.seems tht silverstone has 400Watt+ PSU.not very expensive.130 at most.but u can bargain for a better price.u just using a 6800xt.which is not a powerful card.6800gt and 6800ultra's smaller brother :-D
try enlight brand.they're also true power series.quite reliable since those p3 days.

last time i log in here was kabukiawie just fixed his 7300GT.i just bought a 7600GS.i dunno y.performance was pityful compare to his 7300GT since he also can score 9k wif 3dmark03.Mine only 9700+ mark(sound test not including since i using creative vibra).

tht I-GREEN PSU has 85% efficiency.acbel has 80% efficiency.but i feel tht I-GREEN is way too expensive compare to acbel and silverstone.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 25 2007, 09:26 PM
k!nex
post Jun 27 2007, 06:12 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 25 2007, 09:34 PM)
Is your 7600GS the DDR2 version? If your 7600GS is only DDR2, i believe your speed is 400/800 compared to kabukiawie's DDR3 at 500/1400

Mine was a 7600GS DDR2 previously and replaced with a 7600GS DDR3 (500/1450) after RMA. The speed difference? Night and day, bro.  icon_idea.gif
u're lucky ...DDR2 change DDR3.u're rite,mine is DDR2 coz nowadays i cant find any AGP 7600gs ddr3 already.7600GT DDR3 is 120+bucks more(550+ bucks is quite costly for me).my 7600gs clocked at 527/852 now.the best i can do without getting artifacts.
kabukiawie,ur 7300GT is damm good.500/1400 is the best u can push?i wonder how much u bought it?mine is 400 bucks.i saw other 7300GT DDR3 clocked at 400/1000 priced at 330+ like dat now.

u guys are right also.vista dun hv good drivers yet for games.if u go check out other benchmarks website.vista give less fps compare to xp wif the 100% same hardware.if u wan tht aero interface,might as well use existing vista den download the vista transformation pack from the 'software' thread in this forum.

Added on June 27, 2007, 6:17 pm
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 27 2007, 08:46 AM)
not more than 220+ sad.gif it won allowed i change to cas3, so currently running at cas2.5
i feel tht ur mobo is limiting u.not ur RAM.maybe u try find a newer BIOS upgrade.gratz to u for getting a hold on a 2.8C.did u use the tweak865 utility to enable performance mode for ur RAM when u benchmark using superPI?i heard it gives abit of results.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 27 2007, 06:17 PM

0.0520sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:04 PM