INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

k!nex
post Jun 27 2007, 08:15 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Jun 27 2007, 06:19 PM)
I tried the Palit 7300GT prior to buying that bloody expensive 7600GT for AGP. I think the 7300GT is clocked too aggressively because I had problems the first 3 mins after installing it. Artifacts, hang-ups etc. It's priced right, but I have doubts over reliability and compatibility in an AGP port (not sure whether it has to use the PCIE to AGP bridge). Maybe just a defective card. In the end, I RMA'ed and exchanged for the 7600GT. No problems ...
u mean palit 7300GT sonic edition rite?actually i also wanted to buy tht one at first.its priced at 310 after discount at LYP.i can remember tht the box written there core 400,memory 1000 DDR3.if u say till like dat,lucky i din buy tht 7300.i went for 7600 just because of the 12 pixel pipeline vs the 8 pixel pipeline tht 7300 has.

yea, i agree 7600GT AGP version is so expensive.seems tht u also bought winfast,same brand as my 7600gs rclxms.gif

Added on June 27, 2007, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 27 2007, 07:37 PM)
7300GT DDR3 (500/1400) is stock. with better cooling, I think can go (600/1600). He bought the card plus shipping to Kuching is around RM400.

Added on June 27, 2007, 7:38 pm

Might just be your bad luck, bro. I RMA's mine twice for my GS!  sweat.gif
RMA twice but u gain urself DDR3 over DDR2. well worth it if u ask me biggrin.gif

anyways,i've a question for u.i saw ur siggy,ur laptop which has ATI mobile Radeon.
do u noe dat mobile catalyst 7.6 driver has came out? did u try download it?i tried.but my browser says FILE NOT FOUND.

Added on June 27, 2007, 8:23 pm
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jun 27 2007, 07:00 PM)
just for advice... for my pentium 4 640 which happens to be a 3.2Ghz 2MB and 800mhz chip, i am using a stock cooler at the moment and its idling at55 degrees . I do know that the prescott cores are hot but for advice since i believe there will be expert advisors here, what can i do to reduce the idle temp to around 40 degrees.

And iat the moment i can only afford HSF sorta cooling. WHat do you guys/ girls suggest me to get?

Thank you for advice:)

On another note, i notice that my printer and usb ports are heating up, what do you suggest that i do to cool this down as well?
i'm not an expert here though.but before u spend any cash on coolers.check:
1. Is ur casing very near to the wall?
2. Is ur CPU fan clogged wif dust?
3. Is ur casing ventilation fan spoilt/clogged wif dust?

IF all ur answers are no,then u try open the side of the casing.put on ard 2 hrs.see wats the temp at idle.

actually wat cooler to get depends on ur budget.state ur budget so we can help u better biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 27 2007, 08:23 PM
k!nex
post Jun 29 2007, 01:15 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 28 2007, 11:56 AM)
i use GALAXY 7300GT oced version. 500/1400. smile.gif

i not using beta bios and currently using the latest official bios. i have use tweak865 to enable the performance mode. help a bit in superpi 1m by 0.02s+-. but not so impressive as i not able oc it high enough and the superpi result not as good as last my 2.4 prescott last time. in other application it does faster maybe becoz the higher fsb abd HT.

another thing wan ask u.do u play C&C3 Tiberium Wars ?ur rig can put 'HIGH' graphic setting or not(i mean during battle its still smooth)?i quite curious to noe.
no wonder so expensive.400 bucks is alot for a 7300GT series.ur prescott more powerful actually due to the 1MB L2 cache compare to 512kb(Northwood).ALL games benefit from the extra L2 cache.the 800 FSB wont help much.proof is tht new 1333FSB C2D vs 1066FSB C2D.only 3-5% improvements.

Added on June 29, 2007, 1:22 am
QUOTE(laksamana @ Jun 28 2007, 10:32 AM)
If I recall correctly, the Palit 7300GT is clocked at 500/1400. Very aggressive, but I do note that there are some users who have been successful with it.

7600GT AGP = damn expensive and bottlenecked by CPU. But, I read somewhere that the price is high because only 2 companies manufacture the AGP version, which is EVGA (or is it XFX) and WinFast. So far, I must say that WinFast is a pretty good brand despite my earlier doubts.
actually no.MSI also has AGP 7600GT. BUT its a DDR2 version.i've seen it at LYP selling at 468.but i searched the whole LYP,they only hv winfast brand for DDR3 AGP 7600GT.EVGA brand is rare here.XFX only mass available for PCI-E version.i dun feel tht 7600GT is bottlenecked by CPU.

Actually i upgrade to 7600GS from my FX5600 just to get ready for the starcraft2 game which is on STAR newspaper IN-TECH section few weeks ago.it looks promising.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 29 2007, 01:24 AM
k!nex
post Jul 1 2007, 04:16 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jun 30 2007, 01:02 PM)
Yeah the seller refunded me..very pro of him....just that this whole incident is very unfortunate lor....poor dude...
u're lucky tht he refunded u.coz actually the proc is working,but its not fast only.anyways,wat happened to ur 6800? still unsold?u're planning to get a quad core kentsfield is it?

oh yea guys,another question.i need another opinion.i wan buy a new PSU.ard 300+bucks range.wat i've noted are:

Acbel 500Watt -300 bucks
Silverstone Strider ST56F 560Watt -350 bucks
maybe Cooler Master Real Power Series

which one would u recommend? and pls state reason y?
i wan a PSU which has very stable 12V and gives my proc stable Vcore.my cheap PSU Vcore can fluctuate up to 0.050V when operating even at idle.thts limiting me from my OC.i've settled much on my RAM problem as i managed to squeeze till 256MhzX2 from my KVR PC2700 BT-J RAM after installing some RAM heatsinks.now the problem is my VCORE!!!!

my PC auto restarts when VCore drop below 1.550V.actually i set my BIOS at 1.6V.VCore currently can fluctuate between 1.548-1.600.if i were to set my Vcore higher by a notch,it would be 1.7V already.very dangerous to me.but i've seen ppl in other forums using air cooling did tht before at 1.7V for a northwood.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 1 2007, 04:33 AM
k!nex
post Jul 1 2007, 11:27 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jul 1 2007, 03:26 PM)
i'd go for the Strider 560w.known to be a great PSU and also a stable one. biggrin.gif
i noe abt tht.but the thing is i'm planning to get a crossfire ATI 2600XT DDR4 in future when quad core become mainstream.the strider 560W only has 2 12V rails,but acbel 500W has 3 12V rails(plus tht cute LCD screen :-D) very hard to choose actually coz both have good comments from reviewers at other forums.but i've seen forumers here whos using strider 560W said tht they feel sort of electric current flowing on their casing itself when they on heaters at home.

Added on July 1, 2007, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 1 2007, 11:06 PM)
Normally if a processor is deemed too slow performance wise, it will KO anytime soon~~

My friend's 2.8C also had the same symptom, was able to get into Windows and went to the command line interface and typed something, have to wait a solid 2 seconds then only the words came out. So he guess nothing wrong and go clean his rig, then can't boot up the proc anymore, undetetcted....so RMA the proc, then his mobo kong along with it....
wow! how come mobo can kong together wif the proc?? i guess its heavily OCed till the capasitors died.but then 2.8c is only 4 years at most. so fast die?

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 1 2007, 11:29 PM
k!nex
post Jul 2 2007, 05:54 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

urgent question here...
dis may sound abit noob from me.
after listening pengster suggestion, i went to get the Silverstone Strider 560W PSU

a big problem now is:
the ATX connector from the PSU has 24 pins.BUT my MSI 865PE Neo 2 S mobo ATX connector only has 20 pins.so it cant fit.so u guys hv any solution for dis??
k!nex
post Jul 2 2007, 08:17 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jul 2 2007, 05:57 PM)
Take a good look at the ATX connector on your PSU...you should be able to detach the 4 last connectors to turn it into a 20 pin ATX connector...most PSU have this feature...even powerlogic.
thank u very much for ur reply.now its fixed le.tht silverstone PSU's 24 pin ATX plug cannot detach the 4 pins.wat i did was:

the scenario is like dis.dunno u all understand or not dis pic.its just tht the PSU ATX plug too big so i just ignore the first 4 connectors.BUT the first 4 connectors occupy one of my IDE connector on my mobo which is exactly next to the ATX connector.i had to strecth tht plastic around the IDE connector so tht the PSU ATX plug can snap nicely onto the mobo ATX connector.so tht IDE connector cannot be used already.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 2 2007, 08:19 PM
k!nex
post Jul 5 2007, 10:59 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Jul 5 2007, 03:03 PM)
Comparing Northwood n Prescott, the different on the L2 cahce is that significant to achieve a better result in SuperPi? hmm.gif

Btw, last time i do manage to squezze around 39.97sec on 260Mhz. The result achieve using my previous MAX3. Too bad the board is gone case. sad.gif
L2 cache amount directly reflects on gaming capability.and remember.Northwood only till SSE2.Prescort has SSE3.for me,100 Mhz increment in total clock speed is 100 mark like dat in 3D03.

Added on July 6, 2007, 1:16 am
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 5 2007, 10:39 PM)
Haha,the OMEGA driver i found out is no good one. Sucks in playing CNC3. mad.gif I updated the omega driver to the 3.8.36 version also the same problem.Looks like the ATI card is not so stable in playing game. doh.gif Last time i played Carbon also it can't stand the o/c speed and jumped back to default speed in the half of my game. mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
ur 9550 can put 'high' graphic setting? if can means u hv a very good driver already.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 6 2007, 01:16 AM
k!nex
post Jul 11 2007, 12:52 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 10 2007, 07:44 PM)
Just home from work! LOL! Oh yea.. Do consider before lower range gc. But cos it will gona be mine last boost for current rig ma, so plan to get something good. drool.gif But not sure current system can support or nt. hmm.gif

Yup.. 3.45Ghz is perfectly normal. Run on this speed for pass 3 months and nothing happen. Prime with Orthos with Gromacs core @ priority 9 for 12hrs plus still alive. But just thing get mess up when i push another 5mhz.

Ic.. Thanks for telling kabukiawie. Will try to adjust abit later on. Hehe.. 3.0E dead at 3.45Ghz..? hmm.gif I think this procs should be can go further then 3.4ghz.
Oh yea ray, i was running on default vdimm. 2.8v at this moment. didnt touch the vcore and vdimm yet. So, how much do i need to adjust? 0.5v? Heh.. First time touch vdimm and vcore, so better ask before do. cool.gif

Added on July 10, 2007, 7:47 pm@pengster

lol.. Im temporary working at pc shop, i spotted the Galaxy 7900GS Standard version dealer price only 5xx. Thats y i plan to grab it lo.. for 76 series.. 4xx can get already lo! brows.gif
abt vcore and vdimm.if u hv a prescort,max vcore on aircooling is 1.6V,if u hv a northwood,max vcore is 1.7V.for DDR1,max Vdimm recommended is 2.8V,but if u wan go higher,2.85V also can.but not recommended tht u go any higher than tht coz ur RAM will be too hot, den ur pc will hang due to RAM overheating.
k!nex
post Jul 16 2007, 12:43 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jul 15 2007, 04:43 PM)
all my rams are Kingston KVRs leh..and before using the P4P800x,it worked well without problems with the MSI Neo2-V 865PE.

now everything is alright at stock.will try to oc again and see what happens again laugh.gif
seriously though, the MSI Neo2 series dun hv problems wif RAM compatibility.infact its quite good for normal use.but OC wise,its not as good as Asus.my Neo2-S hardly hit 250FSB stable for everyday usage.

Anyone tried Transformers:The Game wif P4 478?mine during stages is ok.but the cutscenes are laggy though.i'm sure not GC problem.proc slow. loading also slow.

Added on July 16, 2007, 12:51 am
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jul 13 2007, 02:22 PM)
just a simple spec only:

P4 3.2E (artic freezer4)
Intel 865perl mobo  doh.gif
2*512mb transcend
80 gig WD, samsung Dvd drive,
zalman 400 wat silent PSU
Galaxy 6600gt AGP
(waiting for my 7800gs and TR xp90  smile.gif )

edit:typo
if u upgrade to 7800GS also, u'll only get better 3rdMark.overall gaming also wont hv a so significant performance gain.ur proc is bottlenecking the 7800GS.if wan upgrade,the best for p4 is only 256MB 7600GT DDR3 if wan minimise proc bottleneck(unless u hv p4 gallatin)

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 16 2007, 12:54 AM
k!nex
post Jul 19 2007, 10:02 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 19 2007, 08:25 PM)
Haha.. Hm.. I think that is old stock la. Since lying on the deck and collect dusk. sweat.gif Hm.. Antec not bad huh.. But just the price is too high. Haha.

Sang.. Ur proc also D0 stepping? Heheh.. Nice proc. Can hit very high OC result owh. Btw, i just lower mine into 3.5Ghz due cannot run on 1:1 ratio. LOL!
nice prescort u hv there.SuperPI 1M how much wif 1:1 setting?alwiz try to get 1:1.get 5:4 also got big difference in superPI and even 3Dmark.proc run slower nvm as long as RAM can keep up wif the speed.try loosen ur timing to go higher.Vdimm for most DDR1 at best is alwiz 2.8v if u wan OC.
k!nex
post Jul 19 2007, 10:20 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 18 2007, 11:51 AM)
Lol.. P4P800 Deluxe the most can go for vdimm is 2.85v only! laugh.gif yup.. Planning to push up to 3.6Ghz. Hope my cooling can help me make it. My idle for 3.5Ghz is around 38 - 40'c. Full load during priming wont go more then 50'c. Hehe.. I think the temp can get cooler if i got a better casing and better air flow.
if i were u,i'll go for higher Vcore like 1.6V.monitor temp while using orthos.if temp <60C,den OC higher.P4 throttles down at around 80C.if u use Hynix chip,alwiz aim for higher bandwidth.no point aim for good timing.i've lousy timing, but i can go high frequency.no need use those super expensive HyperX RAM.and one more thing,i noticed tht when ur RAMs get too hot, ur pc will hang,so i suggest stick to 2.8V as Vdimm.try get those RAM heatspreader and install urself.i bought 6.50bucks each only from ALL IT.i think raymond also using.got abit of difference:-D

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 19 2007, 10:25 PM
k!nex
post Jul 23 2007, 05:59 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 22 2007, 09:43 PM)
LOL.. Wellcome to old sch thread! laugh.gif As u had read from guru's around here, i guess ya roughly whats OC is what's the thing u really need. Just for me, i will suggest u get a good and stable power supply before u start any OC job. biggrin.gif
Lol.. I thought is was 270Mhz! Thats incredible! I wish i could get to 4Ghz as well. But unfortunately my cap palang UPS and ram stopping for hit that target! sweat.gif
tht day u wrote abt increasing FSB 2 Mhz at a time slowly right?it works it seems.it is better than jumping 5 Mhz at a time.can hit higher clock speed.
normally i do it at night den leave pc on for orthos 9 hrs like dat.proven ur method is effective rclxms.gif

Added on July 23, 2007, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Jul 23 2007, 05:57 PM)
how to check whether my agp/pci frequency is locked to 66/33 mhz in windows..any software to view them besides sisoft sandra..my bios didn't show the frequency n i dunno where to look it sandra sweat.gif
depends on wat type of motherboard u're using.state ur motherboard brand and model pls

Added on July 23, 2007, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(KaVaS @ Jul 22 2007, 02:25 PM)
thanX bro..can u teach me wat i need to change (i mean the value) in order to overclock..i scare later i go change anything wrong in bios setting and my mobo or processor spoil..tongue.gif.
since u're a beginner,dun play wif Vcore and Vdimm yet.slowly increase FSB only .IF cannot POST.normally MSI mobo(i'm MSI mobo user but not ur model), when u press reset 4-5 times after u realise u cannot POST,den ur setting will be reset to default.if cannot,den no big deal,use the reset jumper in ur mobo.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 23 2007, 06:15 PM
k!nex
post Aug 1 2007, 11:03 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Aug 1 2007, 07:14 PM)
guys, want to build a simple htpc using my p4,
but donno which microatx mobos are still being sold. wanna be prepared before going down to kl. any mobo's have svideo out built in? btw, mine is s478..
y wan buy micro atk?buy the normal atk better.go garage sale and find better.s478 mobo is obsolete already.now only hv L775 mobo everywhere.
k!nex
post Aug 2 2007, 04:02 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Aug 2 2007, 09:01 AM)
i received a gift of a partial s478 rig that i manage to salvage some of the parts such as the CPU and mobo.  i checked the asus mobo, its only written P4P800 without any specific details. anyway, manage to bring up the 3.0E up to 3.45Ghz with 230FSB, upped the VDIMM to 2.75V and VCore to 1.575V for stability. The proc is a northwood 30 cappers! Rig running in 4 x 512MB DDR400, dual channel.

i am a bit puzzled by the temp read in the bios. no matter load or idle, it always stays around 43-47C with my properly seated Zalman cooler. suspicious of the temp accuracy reading, maybe need to update the mobo bios.
for ur mobo, the best u can do is only 2.75V for ur Vdimm and 1.575V for Vcore?its an Asus...how come so limited?shud be able to clock 240+FSB easily.its ur proc hang or it auto reboot when u do orthos in an hour??auto reboot means Vcore not enuf or Vcore fluctuates too much.if hang,for my pc is coz my RAM overheat.its quite hard to get a good fan RAM cooler even in kl.too expensive.FYI, my Vdimm is 2.85V most of the time.mobo can go till 3.3Vdimm.
k!nex
post Aug 2 2007, 11:48 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 2 2007, 10:49 PM)
yalo....cry.gif cry.gif max only till the minimum of theirs. at least till 2.8v la cry.gif.....over 3v then we called it extreme.  laugh.gif

but so far i quite satisfied with my puny p4p800x.smile.gif serve me well for few years. this october will be the 3rd birthday for my 478, rclxm9.gif
nolaa.mine is 2.5Vdimm minimum,max 3.3V.Vcore minimum 1.525V, max 2.1V
at least u're better than me,u only 3 years. i'm stucked wif my S478 for 4years already after august dis year.
k!nex
post Aug 4 2007, 11:15 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Aug 3 2007, 09:24 PM)
damn sad lah 2.68v.wonder whats the max Vdimm for my old MSI mobo  laugh.gif

so far have been using my s478 for 4 years already.quite satisfied with it if not for the poor oc-ing im getting.will try to cool down the rams and see if there's any improvement.  biggrin.gif
if ur old mobo is a MSI Neo2 series wif 865 chipset,den ur max Vdimm i can confirm is 3.3V. problem is,MSI mobo OC capability not so good no matter how high u set voltage.mine hit the wall at FSB 245.
k!nex
post Aug 4 2007, 11:20 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Aug 4 2007, 04:10 PM)
mine 13400 with 7600gs ddr3 600/800, 3dmark03, cpu@3.30Ghz, FSB220. for 3dmark05, i got 6k, but score is not everything, as long as your games are smooth. try the 94.24WHQL drivers, might help. The latest 100series drivers are not as good as the 90series for the geforce 7 family, as far has i have tested. and just for fun, i got 18.5k in 3dmark01.  tongue.gif  cheers.
wow!ur 7600GS can hit 600Mhz wif ur core.mine same chipset as u,but different RAM only.but most 7600GS owners cant set above 550Mhz core coz sure got artifacts.ur score is so much better.mine is 9.9k wif 7600GS DDR2 527/426,3Dmark03,cpu@2.95Ghz,FSB 245 using 94.24 drivers from Leadtek.i only get 16k for 3dmark01 pro.

0.0470sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:19 AM